DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in FIG. 12 there is no line pointing out what reference character 121a is designating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the multiple permanent magnets" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 on which claim 13 depends only recites “a permanent magnet,” rather than a plurality of permanent magnets. A more appropriate claim limitation would be “multiple permanent magnets.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent No. 213817379 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang; provided by Applicant on 1/27/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a rotor (FIG. 2, 100) of a motor (Paragraph [0028]), comprising:
a support member (FIG. 2, 101);
a magnetic conduction member (FIG. 2, 102), provided on at least one side of the support member along an axial direction of the rotor and fixedly connected to the support member (Paragraph [0031]); and
a permanent magnet (FIG. 2, 103), connected to the magnetic conduction member (Paragraph [0030]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the support member has a protrusion (FIG. 2, 1012) and the magnetic conduction member has a groove (FIG. 2, 1022), the protrusion and the groove fitting with each other (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 3, wherein:
the protrusion is one of multiple protrusions provided at the support member, and the multiple protrusions extending along a radial direction of the rotor and are spaced apart along a circumferential direction of the rotor (FIG. 2, 1012); and
the groove is one of multiple grooves provided at the magnetic conduction member (FIG. 2, 1022), and the multiple grooves are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of protrusions (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 3, wherein:
the groove extends through the magnetic conduction member along the axial direction (FIG. 2, 1022).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches a motor (Paragraph [0028]), comprising the rotor according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Korean Patent No. 10-2019-0027183 to Han et al. (hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Zhang does not teach the magnetic conduction member being welded to the support member; and/or the permanent magnet being welded to the magnetic conduction member.
However, Han teaches a magnetic conduction member (FIG. 3, 210) being welded (Paragraph [0043]-[0046]) to a support member (FIG. 3, 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang with the teachings of Han to weld the magnetic conduction member to the support member to form a more resilient connection between the two.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 3.
Zhang does not teach the protrusion being welded to the groove.
However, Han teaches a protrusion (FIG. 3, 211) of a magnetic conduction member (FIG. 3, 210) welded (Paragraph [0043]-[0046]) to a groove (FIG. 3, 231a) of a support member (FIG. 3, 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang with the teachings of Han to weld the magnetic conduction member to the support member to form a more resilient connection between the two.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Chinese Patent No. 112564346 to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin; provided by Applicant on 10/28/2025).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic conduction member is ring-shaped (FIG. 2, 102).
Zhang does not teach multiple magnetic conduction sub-members, the magnetic conduction sub-members being annular sector-shaped and spaced apart along the circumferential direction of the rotor, and the permanent magnet being arranged between the adjacent magnetic conduction sub-members.
However, Lin teaches a ring-shaped magnetic conduction member comprising multiple magnetic conduction sub-members (FIG. 1, 2), the magnetic conduction sub-members being annular sector-shaped and spaced apart along the circumferential direction of the rotor (FIG. 1, 2), and the permanent magnet (FIG. 1, 12) being arranged between the adjacent magnetic conduction sub-members.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang with the teachings of Lin to provide a magnetic conduction sub-member modular construction that may be easier to assemble or reassemble in the case of repair.
Claims 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0320858 to Ishikawa et al. (hereinafter Ishikawa).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic conduction member is ring-shaped (FIG. 2, 102).
Zhang does not teach the magnetic conduction member having multiple accommodating chambers; the accommodating chambers extending through the magnetic conduction member along the radial direction of the rotor, and the multiple accommodating chambers being spaced apart along the circumferential direction of the rotor, each accommodating chamber being provided with the permanent magnet.
However, Ishikawa teaches a ring-shaped magnetic conduction member (FIG. 4, 71) having multiple accommodating chambers (FIG. 5, 61); the accommodating chambers extending through the magnetic conduction member along the radial direction of the rotor, and the multiple accommodating chambers being spaced apart along the circumferential direction of the rotor (FIG. 4, 71), each accommodating chamber being provided with the permanent magnet (FIG. 7, 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang with the teachings of Ishikawa to provide multiple accommodating chambers to better radially and circumferentially retain the permanent magnets in the magnetic conduction member.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Ishikawa teaches the rotor according to claim 8, wherein Ishikawa further teaches the accommodating chamber being annular sector-shaped (FIG. 4, 71), and the permanent magnet being annular sector-shaped (FIG. 4, 41) and fitting with the accommodating chamber (Paragraph [0099]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Ishikawa teaches the rotor according to claim 9.
Zhang does not teach the magnetic conduction member further having a hollow groove, the hollow groove being provided on at least one side of the accommodating chamber along the circumferential direction of the rotor; and the rotor further comprising a filling member, the filling member being made of a non-magnetic conduction material and filled in the hollow groove.
However, Ishikawa teaches a magnetic conduction member further having a hollow groove (FIG. 7, 73), the hollow groove being provided on at least one side of the accommodating chamber along the circumferential direction of the rotor (FIG. 5; 63, 61); and the rotor further comprising a filling member (FIG. 15, 31), the filling member being made of a non-magnetic conduction material and filled in the hollow groove (Paragraph [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang with the hollow groove and filling member of Ishikawa to create a more resilient connection between the support member and the magnetic conduction member (Paragraph [0115]) while not adversely affecting the magnetic flux of the rotor (Paragraph [0139]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Zhang does not teach the magnetic conduction member being provided on both sides of the support member along the axial direction, and the multiple permanent magnets being connected to the magnetic conduction member, and the rotor having a central plane, wherein the central plane is perpendicular to the axial direction, and the support member, the magnetic conduction member, and the multiple permanent magnets are symmetrically arranged with respect to the central plane.
However, Ishikawa teaches a magnetic conduction member (FIG. 4, 71) provided on both sides of a support member (FIG. 3, 30) along the axial direction, and multiple permanent magnets (FIG. 7, 41) being connected to the magnetic conduction member; and the rotor having a central plane, wherein the central plane is perpendicular to the axial direction, and the support member, the magnetic conduction member, and the multiple permanent magnets are symmetrically arranged with respect to the central plane (FIG. 6; FIG. 10).
Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang with the teachings of Ishikawa to provide the magnetic conduction member on both sides of the support member and connect permanent magnets to the magnetic conduction member to ensure a more resilient connection between the pieces of the rotor (Paragraph [0115]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Ishikawa and in further view of Chinese Patent No. 113381540 to Geng et al. (hereinafter Geng; provided by Applicant on 10/28/2025).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Ishikawa teaches the rotor according to claim 8.
Zhang in view of Ishikawa does not teach the accommodating chamber comprising a first sub-chamber and a second sub-chamber spaced apart along the axial direction, wherein the first sub-chamber is located on a side of the second sub-chamber facing away from the support member, and the first sub-chamber and the second sub-chamber are both provided with the permanent magnet.
However, Geng teaches an accommodating chamber comprising a first sub-chamber (FIG. 2, 3a) and a second sub-chamber (FIG. 2, 2a) spaced apart along the axial direction, wherein the first sub-chamber is located on a side of the second sub-chamber facing away from the support member, and the first sub-chamber and the second sub-chamber are both provided with the permanent magnet (Fig. 2; 3a, 2a; Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang in view of Ishikawa with the teachings of Geng to provide a first and second sub-chamber to have an improved torque generation (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Ishikawa and Geng teaches the rotor according to claim 11, wherein Geng further teaches both the first sub-chamber and the second sub-chamber being annular sector-shaped (FIG. 2; 3a, 2a; FIG. 1; 3a, 2a), a central angle corresponding to the first sub-chamber is smaller than a central angle corresponding to the second sub-chamber (FIG. 2; central angle of the width of 3a is smaller than a central angle of the width of 2a), and central planes of the first sub-chamber and the second sub-chamber disposed opposite each other along the axial direction overlap (FIG. 2; 2a, 3a; overlap in axial direction).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Chinese Patent No. 112152355 to Peng et al. (hereinafter Peng; provided by Applicant on 10/28/2025).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Zhang does not teach the support member comprising a support ring and a support plate, wherein the support ring is ring-shaped and extends along the axial direction, the support plate is plate-shaped and provided at an end of the support ring along the axial direction, and the magnetic conduction member sleeves the support ring; and along the axial direction, the support ring has a first end face far from a side of the support plate, the rotor has a second end face far from the side of the support plate, and a distance between the first end face and the support plate is smaller than a distance between the second end face and the support plate.
However, Peng teaches a support member comprising a support ring (FIG. 4, 201) and a support plate (FIG. 3, 1), wherein the support ring is ring-shaped and extends along the axial direction (FIG. 4, 201), the support plate is plate-shaped (FIG. 3, 3) and provided at an end of the support ring along the axial direction (FIG. 2; 1, 2), and the magnetic conduction member sleeves the support ring (FIG. 7, 3); and along the axial direction, the support ring has a first end face far from a side of the support plate (FIG. 1, 2), the rotor has a second end face far from the side of the support plate (FIG. 1, 3), and a distance between the first end face and the support plate is smaller than a distance between the second end face and the support plate (FIG. 1, distance between 1 and 2 is smaller than a distance between 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Zhang with the teachings of Peng to provide a support ring and plate to provide a more modular construction of the rotor that may be easier to assemble and reassemble in the case of repair.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834