DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim requires the selection of a single item “a sensor”. However, it allows the selection of “combinations thereof” which is more than one sensor. Because it is impossible to select a plural combination of sensors while strictly meeting the limitation of having only “a sensor”, the scope of the claim is inherently ambiguous and indefinite.
Claims 5 and 17 contains the trademark/trade name “Thread”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the Thread protocol and Thread network and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 20 contains the trademark/trade name WiFi. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe WiFi and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-11, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasichainula et al. (US 20230262281 A1) in view of Dass et al. (US 20230100850 A1) in further view of Murali et al. (US 20190149343 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11 Kasichainula discloses:
A mesh network, comprising: (Paragraph [0085], “FIG. 11 illustrates an example edge computing environment 1100 including different layers of communication, starting from an endpoint layer 1110a (also referred to as “sensor layer 1110a”, “things layer 1110a”, or the like) including one or more IoT devices 1111 (also referred to as “endpoints 1110a” or the like) (e.g., in an Internet of Things (IoT) network, wireless sensor network (WSN), fog, and/or mesh network topology);”)
a plurality of drones; (Paragraph [0088], “The intermediate nodes 1110b include UE 1112a, UE 1112b, and UE 1112c… UE 1112c is illustrated as a flying drone or unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). However, the UEs 1112 may be any mobile or non-mobile computing device…” and paragraph [0086], “which are arranged to provide network connectivity to the UEs 1110 via respective links 1103a” The UEs 1112 may be any including plurality of drones.)
wherein the plurality of drones is configured to communicate with each other … over a first protocol, the first protocol using IPv6 mesh connectivity at a first bandwidth; (Paragraph [0092], “The UEs 1110 may further directly exchange communication data via… WiFi based links or a personal area network (PAN) based links (e.g., [IEEE802154] based protocols including ZigBee, IPv6 over Low power Wireless Personal Area Networks (6LoWPAN), WirelessHART, MiWi, Thread, and/or the like;”)
Kasichainula does not disclose:
and a border router;
wherein at least one drone of the plurality of drones operates as a router and at least one drone of the plurality of drones operates as an end device, the router being configured to communicate with the border router and with the end device and the end device being configured to communicate only with the router;
and wherein the border router is configured to communicate with an external network over a second protocol using a second bandwidth,
Dass discloses:
and a border router; (Paragraph [0080], “A border router may be a router device that can forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network…”)
wherein at least one drone of the plurality of drones operates as a router and at least one drone of the plurality of drones operates as an end device, the router being configured to communicate with the border router and with the end device and the end device being configured to communicate only with the router; (Paragraph [0080], “A border router may be a router device that can forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network…” and paragraph [0081], “The end device may primarily communicate with a single router device and may not forward packets to and/or for other network devices…” and paragraph [0083], “border routers interconnect with a Thread network as well as support Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections…a border router may be in simultaneous communication with multiple devices over Thread” The claim describes the functionality of devices in a Thread network. Kasichainula already established that drones can use thread and as such can be assigned these roles (leader, border, end, etc.).)
and wherein the border router is configured to communicate with an external network over a second protocol using a second bandwidth, (Paragraph [0080], “A border router may be a router device that can forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network (e.g., such as a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth network, and/or other types of networks).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drones of Kasichainula with the border routers of Dass. One would have been motivated to do this to “forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network (e.g., such as a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth network, and/or other types of networks).” (Dass [0080]).
Kasichainula and Dass does not disclose:
the second bandwidth being greater than the first bandwidth.
Murali discloses:
the second bandwidth being greater than the first bandwidth. (Paragraph [0009], “With four edge nodes (reducing throughput by 4), and where WIFI data throughput is 10 Mbps peak (at 1/6000 duty cycle) and Bluetooth throughput is 250 Kbps (at 1/500 duty cycle)” The throughput for WIFI is greater than Bluetooth (thread).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the iot system of Kasichainula to give WIFI and higher throughput than Bluetooth. One would have been motivated to do this is to reduce transmission time and have a higher data transfer capacity.
Regarding claims 2 and 16 Kasichainula does not disclose:
wherein the first bandwidth is 250 Kbps or less.
Murali discloses:
wherein the first bandwidth is 250 Kbps or less. (Paragraph [0009], “With four edge nodes (reducing throughput by 4), and where WIFI data throughput is 10 Mbps peak (at 1/6000 duty cycle) and Bluetooth throughput is 250 Kbps (at 1/500 duty cycle)” The throughput for WIFI is greater than Bluetooth (thread).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the iot system of Kasichainula to give WIFI and higher throughput than Bluetooth. One would have been motivated to do this is to reduce transmission time and have a higher data transfer capacity.
Regarding claims 3 Kasichainula does not disclose:
wherein the second bandwidth is at least 40 Kbps.
Murali discloses:
wherein the second bandwidth is at least 40 Kbps. (Paragraph [0009], “With four edge nodes (reducing throughput by 4), and where WIFI data throughput is 10 Mbps peak (at 1/6000 duty cycle) and Bluetooth throughput is 250 Kbps (at 1/500 duty cycle)” The throughput for WIFI is greater than Bluetooth (thread).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the iot system of Kasichainula to give WIFI and higher throughput than Bluetooth. One would have been motivated to do this is to reduce transmission time and have a higher data transfer capacity.
Regarding claim 5 and 17 Kasichainula discloses:
wherein the first protocol is Thread. (Paragraph [0092], “The UEs 1110 may further directly exchange communication data via… WiFi based links or a personal area network (PAN) based links (e.g., [IEEE802154] based protocols including ZigBee, IPv6 over Low power Wireless Personal Area Networks (6LoWPAN), WirelessHART, MiWi, Thread, and/or the like;”)
Regarding claim 10 Kasichainula does not disclose:
wherein each drone of the plurality of drones is capable of operating as a router and as an end device and wherein the first protocol determines whether each drone operates as a router or as an end device.
Das discloses:
wherein each drone of the plurality of drones is capable of operating as a router and as an end device and wherein the first protocol determines whether each drone operates as a router or as an end device. (Paragraph [0079], “Within the Thread protocol, devices may be either a router device or an end device.” And paragraph [0082], “FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a Thread network with leader routers and border routers, according to some embodiments. As shown, leader router 506 may connect to other routers 516 as well as border router 526 and end devices 536.” The claim is just describing known Thread protocol in which it determined how the drones or iot device operates.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drones of Kasichainula with the border routers of Dass. One would have been motivated to do this to “forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network (e.g., such as a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth network, and/or other types of networks).” (Dass [0080]).
Regarding claim 20 Kasichainula does not disclose:
wherein the second protocol is WiFi.
Dass discloses:
wherein the second protocol is WiFi. (Paragraph [0079], “A router device may forward packets for network devices (e.g., such as end devices and/or other router devices)…” and paragraph [0080], “A border router may be a router device that can forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network (e.g., such as a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth network, and/or other types of networks).” While Kasichainula discloses Thread protocol they do not disclose border routers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drones of Kasichainula with the border routers of Dass. One would have been motivated to do this to “forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network (e.g., such as a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth network, and/or other types of networks).” (Dass [0080]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasichainula et al. (US 20230262281 A1) in view of Dass et al. (US 20230100850 A1) in further view of Murali et al. (US 20190149343 A1 in further view of Khattak et al. ((2023). Performance Evaluation of an IEEE 802.15.4-Based Thread Network for Efficient Internet of Things Communications in Smart Cities. Applied Sciences, 13(13), 7745.)
Regarding claim 4 Kasichainula, Dass and Murali does not disclose:
wherein a median network latency from the end device to the border router is 100 ms or less.
Khattak discloses:
wherein a median network latency from the end device to the border router is 100 ms or less. (Figure 20 and 6.5 Experiment 5: Round Trip Time, “Figure 20 shows that the RTT increases with an increase in the number of hops and the lowest RTT is observed with one-hop communication, i.e., less than 20 ms.” From the drawings provided there does not seem to be a wide number of hops and there does not seem to be any indication from the specification that scaling it will keep the latency 100 ms or less.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kasichainula, Dass and Murali with the Thread network of Khattak. One would have been motivated to do this to “extended coverage or communication between the leader node and child nodes” (Khattak paragraph 1 section 7. Recommendations.)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasichainula in view of Dass in further view of Murali in further view of MICHIELSEN et al. (US 20210068198 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Kasichainula, Dass and Murali does not disclose:
wherein the first protocol is configured to implement a new drone in the mesh network and update communication paths between the plurality of drones and the border router in 60 seconds or less.
MICHIELSEN discloses:
wherein the first protocol is configured to implement a new drone in the mesh network and update communication paths between the plurality of drones and the border router in 60 seconds or less. (Paragraph [0028], “BLE and ZigBee combined radio is used as an example for providing improved commissioning. However, the present invention is equally applicable to any other combination of single-hop technology (e.g. BLE, Infrared (IR), near field communication (NFC), wireless local area communication (Wi-Fi)) with multi-hop technology (e.g. ZigBee PRO, Thread…” and paragraph [0042], “Upon the writing action to the “Join ZigBee network” GATT characteristic, the new combo radio device 22 enters its ZigBee commissioning state in step 305 and will stay in that state for a pre-defined amount of time (e.g. 30 seconds). During this state, the new combo radio device 22 will look for ZigBee networks and when found will try to join that network. To make step 305 more robust, the app of the commissioning device 10 can provide data via the GATT characteristic that helps the new combo radio device 22 to uniquely identify the ZigBee network that it should join (e.g. provide the ZigBee personal area network identification (PAN ID) of the bridge device 25), and ignore other networks.” It is a fundamental and well known, to an ordinary person in the art, principle of multi-hop mesh networking that the act of joining causes the network to update the communication paths. Further, Threads and ZigBee are protocols that require exchanging link establishment messages to discover the new node and update its routing table. Thus, Michielsen disclosing the new node implementation in 30 seconds also teaches the path update.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kasichainula, Dass and Murali to utilize the thread protocol and update communication paths in 30 seconds as taught by Michelsen. One would have been motivated to do this to increase the responsiveness and reliability of newer devices joining the network.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasichainula in view of Dass in further view of Murali in further view of Beegum et al. (IEEE, "Optimized Routing of UAVs Using Bio-Inspired Algorithm in FANET: A Systematic Review," in IEEE Access, vol. 11, pp. 15588-15622, 2023)
Regarding claim 7 Kasichainula, Dass and Murali does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of drones is configured to move in topologies that avoid partitioning of the mesh network.
Beegum discloses:
wherein the plurality of drones is configured to move in topologies that avoid partitioning of the mesh network. (B. Hierarchical (cluster-based) routing Protocols 2)Bio-Inspired Paragraph 5, “In addition, utilizing BIA in clustering UAV nodes produces an efficient route plan that establishes reliable communication between the nodes. The Red Deer Optimization Algorithm Inspired Clustering-based Routing Protocol (RDOAICRP) [17] uses a route discovery function that considers the number of neighbouring nodes, the measurement of separation between the UAVs, and remaining energy guarantees efficient communication. It determines the remaining power of each node to maintain the cluster functioning.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kasichainula, Dass and Murali with Beegum’s routing protocol. One would have been motivated to keep the UAVs a cluster through routing protocol to keep the coordinated sensing and cooperative mission.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasichainula in view of Dass in further view of Murali in further view of Marvelmind Robotics (Starter Set NIA-SmallDrone - Precise indoor positioning system for autonomous robots and drones)
Regarding claim 8 Kasichainula, Dass and Murali does not disclose:
wherein each drone of the plurality of drones is battery powered and weighs 100 grams or less.
Marvelmind Robotics discloses:
wherein each drone of the plurality of drones is battery powered and weighs 100 grams or less. (Content: “mobile beacon – for event lighter version, we recommend to remove the housing and replace the original battery with a light 100mAh battery. The minimum weight that we achieved was 8.7g designed for precise (±2cm) indoor tracking of small and light drones (under 100g)” the product page discloses a drone starter set design for small and light drones.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kasichainula, Dass and Murali with Marvelmind Robotics’ light weight drones. One would have been motivated to do this to lower power consumption.
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasichainula in view of Dass in further view of Murali in further view of Chilla et al. (US 20210349066 A1)
Regarding claims 9 and 13 Kasichainula, Dass and Murali does not disclose:
wherein each drone of the plurality of drones is equipped with a sensor selected from a group consisting of a light sensor, a proximity detector, a camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a smoke or gas detector, and combinations thereof.
Chilla discloses:
wherein each drone of the plurality of drones is equipped with a sensor selected from a group consisting of a light sensor, a proximity detector, a camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a smoke or gas detector, and combinations thereof. (Paragraph [0033], “the FDS or CO detection device may receive information from a first fire and/or CO sensor configured to measure CO concentration” and paragraph [0088], “An FDS device configured as the UAV may fly to a new location and/or take sensor readings while airborne so as to obtain information closer to a potential fire location.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kasichainula, Dass and Murali with Chilla’s CO sensor. One would have been motivated to do this to obtain “additional information about the detected carbon monoxide in the industrial facility… without risk to human life or safety.” (Chilla [0072]).
Regarding claim 12 Kasichainula does not disclose:
collecting sensor data using the plurality of drones, wherein relaying communications further comprises relaying the sensor data to the border router using the router.
Dass discloses:
wherein relaying communications further comprises relaying the sensor data to the border router using the router. (Paragraph [0079], “A router device may forward packets for network devices (e.g., such as end devices and/or other router devices)…” and paragraph [0080], “A border router may be a router device that can forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network (e.g., such as a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth network, and/or other types of networks).” While Kasichainula discloses Thread protocol they do not disclose border routers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drones of Kasichainula with the border routers of Dass. One would have been motivated to do this to “forward information between the Thread network and a non-Thread network (e.g., such as a Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth network, and/or other types of networks).” (Dass [0080]).
Chilla discloses:
collecting sensor data using the plurality of drones (Paragraph [0033], “the FDS or CO detection device may receive information from a first fire and/or CO sensor configured to measure CO concentration” and paragraph [0088], “An FDS device configured as the UAV may fly to a new location and/or take sensor readings while airborne so as to obtain information closer to a potential fire location.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasichainula’s IOT devices/drones with Chilla’s CO sensor. One would have been motivated to do this to obtain “additional information about the detected carbon monoxide in the industrial facility… without risk to human life or safety.” (Chilla [0072]).
Regarding claim 14 Kasichainula does not disclose:
wherein deploying the plurality of drones further comprises deploying the plurality of drones in a building.
Chilla discloses:
wherein deploying the plurality of drones further comprises deploying the plurality of drones in a building. (Paragraph [0088], “An FDS device configured as the UAV may fly to a new location and/or take sensor readings while airborne so as to obtain information closer to a potential fire location” and paragraph [0188], “he processor may send location information of the CO detection device to the communication network as part of the fire and/or CO warning message… the location information may include a location tag, such as stored in memory at the time of installation indicating a specific location within a building (e.g., floor, room number, etc.)…”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasichainula’s IOT devices/drones with Chilla’s CO sensor. One would have been motivated to do this to obtain “additional information about the detected carbon monoxide in the industrial facility… without risk to human life or safety.” (Chilla [0072]).
Regarding claim 15 Kasichainula does not disclose:
wherein the building is on fire.
Chilla discloses:
wherein the building is on fire. (Paragraph [0088], “An FDS device configured as the UAV may fly to a new location and/or take sensor readings while airborne so as to obtain information closer to a potential fire location” and paragraph [0188], “he processor may send location information of the CO detection device to the communication network as part of the fire and/or CO warning message… the location information may include a location tag, such as stored in memory at the time of installation indicating a specific location within a building (e.g., floor, room number, etc.)…”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasichainula’s IOT devices/drones with Chilla’s CO sensor. One would have been motivated to do this to obtain “additional information about the detected carbon monoxide in the industrial facility… without risk to human life or safety.” (Chilla [0072]).
Conclusion
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479