DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to the application 19/037,833 filed on 01-27-2025. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4 Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is recited " adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone,"
attempts to define the subject-matter in terms of the result to be achieved (adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone,), without stating the essential features to achieve the result claimed.
Claim 1, It is not clear how adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone,
5 Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 is recited " adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone,"
attempts to define the subject-matter in terms of the result to be achieved (adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone,), without stating the essential features to achieve the result claimed.
Claim 9, It is not clear how adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Neoran et al. (US20200162817) in view of Kubo. (US 2009/0041265).
Consider claim 1, Neoran teaches an audio signal processing device for processing a surround audio signal(see fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of harmonic addition circuits corresponding to a plurality of channels(see fig. 1), respectively, and configured to perform an operation on a first surround audio signal, the plurality of channels forming at least some of channels constituting the first surround audio signal(see figs. 2-5a and paragraph [0084-[0091]), wherein the operation of each harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits (see figs. 2-5a)includes: adding(see fig. 1(130)), to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone, and outputting the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signa(see figs. 1-6 and paragraph [00105-[0133]); but Neoran does not explicitly teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal.
However, Kubo teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal (see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155])
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Kubo in to the teaching of Neoran to provide a sound signal processing device causes an amplifier to amplify a low frequency signal and synthesizes the amplified low frequency signal with a middle or high frequency signal so as to output the resultant output signal. A gain control section controls a gain of the amplifier on the basis of an amplitude of the output signal. As a result, it is possible to amplify the low frequency signal without any clipping in a receiving end device and without any unstable volume of a middle or high frequency component.
Consider claims 2 and 3, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein the operation of each harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits further includes: generating the harmonic signal in the predetermined band having the bass component of the signal as the fundamental tone, adjusting a magnitude of the generated harmonic signal having a gain according to a direction corresponding to a corresponding channel, and adding the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain to the signal of the corresponding channel of the first surround audio signal, to output the signal of the corresponding channel added with the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain, and the direction corresponding to the corresponding channel is a direction of a position of a speaker with respect to a listener in a case where the signal of the channel is output from the speaker(see figs. 2-5a and paragraph [0084-[0091]); and the audio signal processing device wherein: a first direction is defined as a diagonally frontward left direction, a second direction is defined as a diagonally frontward right direction, a third direction is defined as a left direction or a diagonally backward left direction, and a fourth direction is defined as a right direction or a diagonally backward right direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include at least four channels including a channel corresponding to the first direction, a channel corresponding to the second direction, a channel corresponding to the third direction, and a channel corresponding to the fourth direction, one harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits is provided in correspondence with each of the four channels, and the gain according to the first direction and the second direction is larger than the gain according to the third direction and the fourth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]).
Consider claims 4 and 5, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein: a fifth direction is defined as a front center direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include a channel corresponding to the fifth direction, one harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits is provided in correspondence with the channel corresponding to the fifth direction, and the gain according to the third direction and the fourth direction is larger than the gain according to the fifth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155])..
Consider claims 5 and 6, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein the predetermined band includes a band between 2 kHz and 3 kHz(see figs. 1-6 and paragraph [00105-[0133]); and the audio signal processing device further comprising: a downmixer configured to generate a stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]).
Consider claims 7 and 8, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device further comprising: a surround audio signal generator configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a stereo audio signal(see figs. 2-5a and paragraph [0084-[0091]); and the audio signal processing device further comprising: a surround audio signal generator configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a first stereo audio signal; and a downmixer configured to generate a second stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]).
Consider claim 9, Neoran teaches an audio signal processing device for processing a surround audio signal(see figs. 2-5a and paragraph [0084-[0091]), comprising :a memory configured to store a program; and a processor configured to execute the program stored in the memory, wherein the program which, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform(see figs. 1-5a and paragraph {0175]), with respect to
a plurality of harmonic addition circuits corresponding to a plurality of channels(see fig. 1), respectively, and configured to perform an operation on a first surround audio signal, the plurality of channels forming at least some of channels constituting the first surround audio signal(see figs. 2-5a and paragraph [0084-[0091]), wherein the operation of each harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits (see figs. 2-5a)includes: adding(see fig. 1(130)), to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone, and outputting the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signa(see figs. 1-6 and paragraph [00105-[0133]); but Neoran does not explicitly teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal.
However, Kubo teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal (see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155])
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Kubo in to the teaching of Neoran to provide a sound signal processing device causes an amplifier to amplify a low frequency signal and synthesizes the amplified low frequency signal with a middle or high frequency signal so as to output the resultant output signal. A gain control section controls a gain of the amplifier on the basis of an amplitude of the output signal. As a result, it is possible to amplify the low frequency signal without any clipping in a receiving end device and without any unstable volume of a middle or high frequency component.
Consider claims 10 and 11, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein the processor performs the process further including: generating the harmonic signal in the predetermined band having the bass component of the signal as the fundamental tone, adjusting a magnitude of the generated harmonic signal having a gain according to a direction corresponding to a corresponding channel, and adding the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain to the signal of the corresponding channel of the first surround audio signal, to output the signal of the corresponding channel added with the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain, wherein the direction corresponding to the corresponding channel is a direction of a position of a speaker with respect to a listener in a case where the signal of the channel is output from the speaker(see figs. 2-5a and paragraph [0084-[0091]); and the audio signal processing device wherein: a first direction is defined as a diagonally frontward left direction, a second direction is defined as a diagonally frontward right direction, a third direction is defined as a left direction or a diagonally backward left direction, and a fourth direction is defined as a right direction or a diagonally backward right direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include at least four channels including a channel corresponding to the first direction, a channel corresponding to the second direction, a channel corresponding to the third direction, and a channel corresponding to the fourth direction, the process is performed with respect to each of the four channels, and the gain according to the first direction and the second direction is larger than the gain according to the third direction and the fourth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155])..
Consider claims 12 and 13, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein: a fifth direction is defined as a front center direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include a channel corresponding to the fifth direction, the process is performed with respect to the channel corresponding to the fifth direction, and the gain according to the third direction and the fourth direction is larger than the gain according to the fifth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]); and the audio signal processing device wherein the predetermined band includes a band between 2 kHz and 3 kHz(see figs. 1-6 and paragraph [00105-[0133])..
Consider claims 14 and 15, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device as claimed in claim 9, further comprising :a downmixer, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate a stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal received from the processor(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]); and the audio signal processing device further comprising: a surround audio signal generator, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a stereo audio signal and supply the first surround audio signal to the processor(see figs. 2-5a and paragraph [0084-[0091]).
Consider claim 16, Neoran as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device further comprising: a surround audio signal generator, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a first stereo audio signal and supply the first surround audio signal to the processor; and a downmixer, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate a second stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal received from the processor(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]).
10. Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tracey et al. (US2018/0350339) in view of Kubo. (US 2009/0041265).
Consider claim 1, Tracey teaches an audio signal processing device for processing a surround audio signal(see figs.1- 2 and paragraph [0031-[0034]), comprising:
a plurality of harmonic addition circuits corresponding to a plurality of channels, respectively, and configured to perform an operation on a first surround audio signal, the plurality of channels forming at least some of channels constituting the first surround audio signal(see figs.1- 2 and paragraph [0031-[0041]),
wherein the operation of each harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits includes:
adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone, and outputting the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signa(see figs.2-7 and paragraph [0042]-[0046]), but Tracey does not explicitly teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal.
However, Kubo teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal (see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155])
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Kubo in to the teaching of Tracey to provide a sound signal processing device causes an amplifier to amplify a low frequency signal and synthesizes the amplified low frequency signal with a middle or high frequency signal so as to output the resultant output signal. A gain control section controls a gain of the amplifier on the basis of an amplitude of the output signal. As a result, it is possible to amplify the low frequency signal without any clipping in a receiving end device and without any unstable volume of a middle or high frequency component.
Consider claims 2 and 3, Tracey as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein the operation of each harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits further includes: generating the harmonic signal in the predetermined band having the bass component of the signal as the fundamental tone, adjusting a magnitude of the generated harmonic signal having a gain according to a direction corresponding to a corresponding channel, and adding the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain to the signal of the corresponding channel of the first surround audio signal, to output the signal of the corresponding channel added with the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain, and the direction corresponding to the corresponding channel is a direction of a position of a speaker with respect to a listener in a case where the signal of the channel is output from the speaker(see figs.2-7 and paragraph [0042]-[0046]); and the audio signal processing device wherein: a first direction is defined as a diagonally frontward left direction, a second direction is defined as a diagonally frontward right direction, a third direction is defined as a left direction or a diagonally backward left direction, and a fourth direction is defined as a right direction or a diagonally backward right direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include at least four channels including a channel corresponding to the first direction, a channel corresponding to the second direction, a channel corresponding to the third direction, and a channel corresponding to the fourth direction, one harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits is provided in correspondence with each of the four channels, and the gain according to the first direction and the second direction is larger than the gain according to the third direction and the fourth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]).
Consider claims 4 and 6, Tracey as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device, wherein: a fifth direction is defined as a front center direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include a channel corresponding to the fifth direction, one harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits is provided in correspondence with the channel corresponding to the fifth direction, and the gain according to the third direction and the fourth direction is larger than the gain according to the fifth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]); and the audio signal processing device further comprising: a downmixer configured to generate a stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal(see figs.2-7 and paragraph [0042]-[0046]).
Consider claims 7 and 8, Tracey as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device further comprising: a surround audio signal generator configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a stereo audio signal(see figs.1-7 and paragraph [0031-[0041]); and the audio signal processing device comprising: a surround audio signal generator configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a first stereo audio signal; and a downmixer configured to generate a second stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal(see figs.1-7 and paragraph [0031-[0041]).
Consider claim 9, Tracey teaches an audio signal processing device for processing a surround audio signal(see figs.1- 2 and paragraph [0031-[0034])comprising :
a memory configured to store a program; and a processor configured to execute the program stored in the memory, wherein the program which, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform(see figs.1- 2 and paragraph [0031-[0034]), with respect to
a plurality of harmonic addition circuits corresponding to a plurality of channels, respectively, and configured to perform an operation on a first surround audio signal, the plurality of channels forming at least some of channels constituting the first surround audio signal(see figs.1- 2 and paragraph [0031-[0041]),
wherein the operation of each harmonic addition circuit of the plurality of harmonic addition circuits includes: adding, to a signal of a channel of the first surround audio signal, a harmonic signal in a predetermined band having a bass component of the signal as a fundamental tone, and outputting the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signa(see figs.2-7 and paragraph [0042]-[0046]), but Tracey does not explicitly teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal.
However, Kubo teaches forming a second surround audio signal by replacing at least the signal of the channel of the first surround audio signal with the signal of the channel added with the harmonic signal (see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155])
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Kubo in to the teaching of Tracey to provide a sound signal processing device causes an amplifier to amplify a low frequency signal and synthesizes the amplified low frequency signal with a middle or high frequency signal so as to output the resultant output signal. A gain control section controls a gain of the amplifier on the basis of an amplitude of the output signal. As a result, it is possible to amplify the low frequency signal without any clipping in a receiving end device and without any unstable volume of a middle or high frequency component.
Consider claims 10 and 11, Tracey as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein the processor performs the process further including: generating the harmonic signal in the predetermined band having the bass component of the signal as the fundamental tone, adjusting a magnitude of the generated harmonic signal having a gain according to a direction corresponding to a corresponding channel, and adding the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain to the signal of the corresponding channel of the first surround audio signal, to output the signal of the corresponding channel added with the harmonic signal having the adjusted gain, wherein the direction corresponding to the corresponding channel is a direction of a position of a speaker with respect to a listener in a case where the signal of the channel is output from the speaker(see figs.2-7 and paragraph [0042]-[0046]); and the audio signal processing device wherein: a first direction is defined as a diagonally frontward left direction, a second direction is defined as a diagonally frontward right direction, a third direction is defined as a left direction or a diagonally backward left direction, and a fourth direction is defined as a right direction or a diagonally backward right direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include at least four channels including a channel corresponding to the first direction, a channel corresponding to the second direction, a channel corresponding to the third direction, and a channel corresponding to the fourth direction, the process is performed with respect to each of the four channels, and the gain according to the first direction and the second direction is larger than the gain according to the third direction and the fourth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155])....
Consider claims 12 and 14, Tracey as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device wherein: a fifth direction is defined as a front center direction, with respect to the listener, the channels constituting the first surround audio signal include a channel corresponding to the fifth direction, the process is performed with respect to the channel corresponding to the fifth direction, and the gain according to the third direction and direction is larger than the gain according to the fifth direction(In Kubo, see figs. 28-30 and paragraphs[0141]- [0155]); and the audio signal processing device further comprising: a downmixer, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate a stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal received from the processor(see figs.1-7 and paragraph [0031-[0041]).
Consider claims 15 and 16, Tracey as modified by Kubo teaches the audio signal processing device as claimed further comprising: a surround audio signal generator, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a stereo audio signal and supply the first surround audio signal to the processor(see figs.1-7 and paragraph [0031-[0041]); and the audio signal processing device further comprising: a surround audio signal generator, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate the first surround audio signal from a first stereo audio signal and supply the first surround audio signal to the processor; and a downmixer, coupled to the processor, and configured to generate a second stereo audio signal from the second surround audio signal received from the processor(see figs.1-7 and paragraph [0031-[0041]).
..
11. Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tracey et al. (US2018/0350339) as modified by Kubo. (US 2009/0041265) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Acharya (US 2019/0037334).
Consider claim 5, Tracey does not explicitly teaches the audio signal processing device, wherein the predetermined band includes a band between 2 kHz and 3 kHz.
However, Acharya teaches the audio signal processing device, wherein the predetermined band includes a band between 2 kHz and 3 kHz (see figs. 1-3 and paragraphs[0012]- [0015]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Acharya in to the teaching of Tracey and Kubo to provide a virtual surround sound on headphones using input audio. Embodiments herein relate to sound processing and more particularly to providing surround sound on headphones. Embodiments herein disclose a method and system for simulating surround sound on a headphone, by emulating multiple speakers in 3D space by processing audio using Head Related Transfer Function (HRTF) filters and other audio processing filters, wherein the input to the headphone is stereo input.
Consider claim 13 Tracey does not explicitly teaches the audio signal processing device, wherein the predetermined band includes a band between 2 kHz and 3 kHz.
However, Acharya teaches the audio signal processing device, wherein the predetermined band includes a band between 2 kHz and 3 kHz (see figs. 1-3 and paragraphs[0012]- [0015]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Acharya in to the teaching of Tracey and Kubo to provide a virtual surround sound on headphones using input audio. Embodiments herein relate to sound processing and more particularly to providing surround sound on headphones. Embodiments herein disclose a method and system for simulating surround sound on a headphone, by emulating multiple speakers in 3D space by processing audio using Head Related Transfer Function (HRTF) filters and other audio processing filters, wherein the input to the headphone is stereo input.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Yamada et al.(US 2009/0052695) are cited to show other related the AUDIO SIGNAL PROCESSING DEVICE
13. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 08-12-2026