DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8 and 12) in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claim(s) are 1-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEXCEL COMPOSITES LTD (GB 2 545 326 A; herein after “HEXCEL”) in view of either one of Joshua (US 2008/277057 A1) or PPG Industries Ohio Inc (WO 2020/167642 A1).
Regarding claim 1 – 3 and 12, HEXCEL teaches a multilayer structure, comprising: an ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer layer (A) (see pages 10 lines 25-30, page 12, lines 1-35); and a carbon-fiber-reinforced plastic layer (B) (page 21 line 12 and onward).
However, HEXCEL fail to teach wherein the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer has a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 0 to 60 oC; glass transition temperature (Tg) of 0 to 45 oC; glass transition temperature (Tg) of 0 to 30 oC.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to composites, Joshua teaches composite material is typically cured at relatively high temperatures and pressures, in contrast to the operating conditions of the aircraft in which the fuselage skin typically encounters temperatures approaching -60°F. or lower at typical flight altitudes. Thus, engineering a damping material system that performs well at cold temperatures (normally requiring a very soft material) but can survive the heat and pressure when co-cured with the base material, may be particularly difficult. The ideal material that performs well at Such cold operating temperatures has a very low glass transition temperature (Tg). Such that it is in a soft transition phase at operating temperatures. Further, in order to use thin films of the damping material at these cold temperatures for low-weight applications, the modulus of elasticity of the material will typically be very low compared to the car bon/epoxy composite. Thus, the use of relatively soft mate rials to provide inherent damping within composite material structures may make it less stiff since the relatively soft damping material is Substantially less stiff than the typical plies of carbon fiber reinforced plastics (CFRP), sometimes also referred to as organic composite materials (see [0004]).
Additionally, PPG Industries Ohio Inc teaches damping properties for aircraft and spacecraft, and using prepolymer with a glass transition temperature for example less than -20 oC and having ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer as sound damping properties (see[0056], [0065]).
Based on the suggestion provided by secondary references, both Joshua and/or PPG Industries Ohio Inc, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the instant application to have modified HEXCEL with selecting/optimizing ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer with low glass transition temperature, as taught by Joshua and/or PPG Industries Ohio Inc, for the benefit of providing good damping properties as needed in the composite structure produced, with other functional properties (see [0004] of Joshua or [0056] of PPG Industries Ohio Inc).
As for claim 4 – 6, HEXCEL further teaches a second layer of EVOH copolymer (page 12 lines 15-20), which would inherently include same organic chain or formula as claimed, including both oxygen, nitrogen, or sulfur atom, and n representing as claimed 1 to 20 atoms.
As for claims 7 – 8, HEXCEL further teaches wherein the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer layer (A) is laminated onto at least one surface of the carbon-fiber-reinforced plastic layer (B) (see pages 10, lines 1 to page 21 lines 20); and PPG Industries Ohio Inc discloses wherein the multilayer structure is for an automobile part or an aircraft part ([339] and throughout).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2024/0199779 A1 – pertains to ethylene-vinyl alcohol polymer and an additional layer ([0074] discloses glass transition temperature).
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743