DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses a phrase which can be implied. For instance, line 4 recites “… the sound apparatus are also disclosed”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by You et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2020/0213699 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claim 1, You discloses a sound apparatus (See [0140]), comprising: an enclosure including an internal space; a sound generating module in the internal space of the enclosure (See [0151] – [0152]); and a coupling member partially provided between the enclosure and the sound generating module (See [0072] and [0143] – [0144]).
In regards to claim 2, You discloses the sound apparatus, further comprising an air gap between an edge portion of the sound generating module and the enclosure (See [0171] – [0172] and [0214]).
In regards to claim 3, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the sound generating module comprises: a vibration member; and a vibration apparatus connected to the vibration member and configured to vibrate the vibration member, and wherein the coupling member is partially provided between the vibration member and the enclosure (See [0049] and [0162]).
In regards to claim 4, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the coupling member is disposed between the enclosure and an edge portion which is adjacent to a short side of the vibration member and is not disposed between the enclosure and an edge portion which is adjacent to a long side of the vibration member (See [0055] and [0079]).
In regards to claim 5, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the enclosure comprises: a plate spaced apart from the sound generating module; and a sidewall portion between the plate and the sound generating module, and wherein the coupling member is between the vibration member and the sidewall portion of the enclosure (See [0138]; [0072]; and [0080] – [0081]).
In regards to claim 6, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the sidewall portion of the enclosure comprises: a first sidewall connected to a first edge portion which is adjacent to a first short side of the plate; a second sidewall connected to a second edge portion which is adjacent to a second short side of the plate; a third sidewall connected to a third edge portion which is adjacent to a first long side of the plate; and a fourth sidewall connected to a fourth edge portion which is adjacent to a second long side of the plate, and wherein the coupling member is between the vibration member and each of the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the enclosure (See [0138]).
In regards to claim 7, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the vibration member comprises: a first extension portion extending from a first short side of the vibration member; and a second extension portion extending from a second short side of the vibration member, wherein each of the first extension portion and the second extension portion comprises a region which is at least 1.5 or more times a short-side length of the vibration member from a center portion of the vibration member, and wherein the coupling member is disposed between the enclosure and each of the first extension portion and the second extension portion (See [0129] – [0130]).
In regards to claim 8, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the vibration member comprises a first region and a second region, wherein the vibration apparatus is configured to vibrate each of the first region and the second region of the vibration member, and wherein the coupling member is disposed at first and second edge portions which are adjacent to a short side of the vibration member and is disposed at third and fourth edge portions which are adjacent to a long side of the vibration member (See [0076] – [0077]).
In regards to claim 9, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the vibration apparatus comprises one or more vibration generators, and wherein each vibration generator comprises: a vibration part including a piezoelectric material; a first electrode part in a first surface of the vibration part; and a second electrode part in a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part (See [0179] – [0180]).
In regards to claim 10, You discloses the sound apparatus, wherein the enclosure further comprises an opening part connected to the internal space and overlapping the sound generating module (See [0153] and [0196]).
11. The sound apparatus of claim 10, wherein the enclosure further comprises a plurality of holes configured with the opening part therebetween (See [0198] and [0200]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over You et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2020/0213699 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). You does not specifically disclose a vehicular apparatus, however, it would have been obvious to include this apparatus in a sound apparatus of a vehicle.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
In regards to claim 12, You discloses a vehicular apparatus, comprising: an interior material exposed at an interior space (See [0076] and 0154]); and at least one or more sound generating apparatuses connected to the interior material and configured to output a sound to the interior space (See [0151] – [0152]), wherein the at least one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the sound apparatus of claim 1 (See [0140]).
In regard to claim 13, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, wherein the enclosure in the sound apparatus further comprises an opening part connected to the internal space (See [0172]).
In regards to claim 14, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, further comprising a connection member between the interior material and the enclosure in the sound apparatus, wherein the connection member comprises a hole overlapping the opening part (See [0153]).
In regards to claim 15, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, further comprising a connection member between the interior material and the enclosure in the sound apparatus, wherein the connection member comprises: a first connection member connected to a first edge portion which is adjacent to a first short side of the enclosure; and a second connection member connected to a second edge portion which is adjacent to a second short side of the enclosure (See [0076] – [0077]).
In regards to claim 16, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, wherein the enclosure in the sound apparatus further comprises an opening part connected to the internal space, wherein the opening part overlaps a region between the first connection member and the second connection member (See [0153] and [0196]).
In regards to claim 17, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, further comprising a gap member between the enclosure and the connection member (See [0171] – [0172] and [0214]).
In regards to claim 18, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, wherein the gap member comprises a material which differs from a material of the connection member (See [0076] and [0154]).
In regards to claim 19, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, wherein the interior material comprises an opening hole connected to the opening part of the enclosure, and wherein the enclosure further comprises a protrusion part protruding from the enclosure to surround the opening part and configured to be accommodated into the opening hole (See [0076] and [0154]).
In regards to claim 20, You discloses the vehicular apparatus, wherein the interior material comprises one or more materials of metal, wood, rubber, plastic, carbon, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, a mirror, and leather (See [0076] and [0154]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ham et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2022/0174398 A1) teach a vibration apparatus, apparatus and vehicle including the same.
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693