DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 01/27/2025; 09/24/2025; 10/29/2025; 01/20/2026.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
STORAGE MEDIUM, INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS, SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR RESTORING AN OBJECT TO WHICH A CHANGE HAS BEEN MADE IN A VIRTUAL SPACE.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, Line 3 objected to because of the minor typographical error "... a range of the virtual space" to refer to one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims it respectively depends on.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5, 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi, (“Izumi”) [] in view of Tsuda et al. (“Tsuda”) [US-2004/0023717-A1], further in view of Shimamura et al. (“Shimamura”) [US-2013/0244740-A1]
Regarding claim 1, Izumi discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute information processing (Izumi- Fig. 21 and ¶0209-0214, at least disclose In the computer, a central processing unit (CPU) 301, a read only memory (ROM) 302, and a random access memory (RAM) 303 are connected to each other by a bus 304 […] The storage unit 308 includes a hard disk, a RAM disk, a nonvolatile memory, or the like […] To perform the series of pieces of processing described above, the computer configured as described above causes the CPU 301 to, for example, load a program stored in the storage unit 308 into the RAM 303 via the input/output interface 305 and the bus 304 and then execute the program), wherein:
the information processing apparatus stores voxel data related to a plurality of voxels related to a restorable object in a virtual space (Izumi- ¶0050, at least discloses Data of the generated 3D models (hereinafter, also referred to as 3D model data) of a large number of objects is stored in a predetermined storage device; ¶0060, at least discloses The distribution server 23 stores 3D model data supplied from the generation device 22, and transmits the 3D model data to a reproduction device 25 via a network 24 in response to a request from the reproduction device 25; ¶0070, at least discloses The generation device 22 is an image processing apparatus that generates 3D model data of an object in accordance with a viewpoint (virtual viewpoint) of a viewer, and the reproduction device 25 is an image processing apparatus that produces an object image based on the 3D model data generated by the generation device 22 and causes the display device 26 to display the object image; ¶0102, at least discloses The voxel processing unit 43 projects, in accordance with the camera parameters, the N silhouette images supplied from the silhouette extraction unit 42, and uses a Visual Hull method for carving out a three-dimensional shape to generate (restore) the three-dimensional shape of the object [a plurality of voxels related to a restorable object]. The three-dimensional shape of the object is represented by voxel data indicating, for example, for each three-dimensional grid (voxel), whether the grid belongs to the object or not. The voxel data representing the three-dimensional shape of the object is supplied to the mesh processing unit 44), and reference data that serves as a reference for the restorable object (Izumi- ¶0075-0076, at least disclose The 3D shape data of the object is, for example, mesh data in which the 3D shape of the subject is represented by a polygon mesh represented by connections between vertices of triangles (triangular patches) as illustrated in FIG. 4. In order to generate an object image to be displayed on the display device 26 in accordance with a viewpoint (virtual viewpoint) of a viewer, the reproduction device 25 pastes, in the 3D shape of the object represented by the polygon mesh, color information (RBG value) based on a plurality of texture images captured by a plurality of imaging devices 21; ¶0092, at least discloses The generation device 22 generates and provides data represented by a polygon mesh as 3D shape data indicating the 3D shape of an object, and the generation device 22 generates and adds a visibility flag for each triangular patch of the polygon mesh; ¶0103, at least discloses The mesh processing unit 44 converts the voxel data representing the three-dimensional shape of the object supplied from the voxel processing unit 43 into a polygon mesh data format that can be easily rendered by a display device), and
the information processing (Izumi- Fig. 2 and ¶0054, at least disclose image processing system) comprising:
when a change event has occurred for the restorable object, updating the voxel data related to the restorable object (Izumi- ¶0011, at least discloses an image of a 3D model of a subject is generated on the basis of 3D shape data containing a determination result that is the 3D shape data of the 3D model to which the determination result indicating whether the subject is captured in a texture image is added; ¶0102, at least discloses The voxel processing unit 43 projects, in accordance with the camera parameters, the N silhouette images supplied from the silhouette extraction unit 42, and uses a Visual Hull method for carving out a three-dimensional shape to generate (restore) the three-dimensional shape of the object [change event has occurred for the restorable object] The three-dimensional shape of the object is represented by voxel data indicating, for example, for each three-dimensional grid (voxel), whether the grid belongs to the object or not. The voxel data representing the three-dimensional shape of the object is supplied to the mesh processing unit 44. The mesh processing unit 44 converts the voxel data representing the three-dimensional shape of the object supplied from the voxel processing unit 43 into a polygon mesh data format [updating the voxel data] that can be easily rendered by a display device);
generating a mesh for the restorable object based on the voxel data (Izumi- ¶0103, at least disclose the mesh processing unit 44 converts the voxel data representing the three-dimensional shape of the object supplied from the voxel processing unit 43 into a polygon mesh data format that can be easily rendered by a display device); and
generating an image of the virtual space including an image obtained by rendering the mesh of the restorable object so as to output the generated image to a display device (Izumi- ¶0049-0051, at least disclose On the distribution side, a predetermined imaging space is imaged from the outer periphery thereof with a plurality of imaging devices, and thus a plurality of captured images is obtained […] The captured images are constituted by, for example, a moving image. Then, with the use of the captured images obtained from the plurality of imaging devices in different directions, 3D models of a plurality of objects to be displayed in the imaging space are generated […] the 3D model of a predetermined object among the large number of objects existing in the imaging space stored in the predetermined storage device is transmitted in response to a request from the reproduction side, and is reproduced and displayed on the reproduction side […] The reproduction side can make a request for only an object to be viewed among a large number of objects existing in an imaging space, and cause a display device to display the object. For example, the reproduction side assumes a virtual camera having an imaging range that coincides with a viewing range of a viewer, makes a request for, among a large number of objects existing in the imaging space, only objects that can be captured by the virtual camera, and causes the display device to display the objects. The viewpoint of the virtual camera can be set to any position so that the viewer can see the field from any viewpoint in the real world; ¶0103, at least disclose the mesh processing unit 44 converts the voxel data representing the three-dimensional shape of the object supplied from the voxel processing unit 43 into a polygon mesh data format that can be easily rendered by a display device).
Izumi does not explicitly disclose reference data representing a reference value of a parameter included in the voxel data; when a restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object for which the change event has occurred, executing a restoration process of gradually changing the restorable object by returning a value of a parameter included in a plurality of voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data.
However, Tsuda discloses
reference data representing a reference value of a parameter included in the voxel data (Tsuda- ¶0013-0014, at least disclose calculating internal density of the metaballs at vertexes of voxels which divide an interior of the three-dimensional imaginary space into a large number of portions […] and vertex coordinates of polygons are calculated based upon the internal density of the metaballs at the vertexes of the voxels and a predetermined threshold to compose the game character by the game character composer; ¶0093, at least discloses because a player has a sense of incongruity if the bending-back of the character c when the bullet ball BB hits the character c is rendered by one frame, a rotation of the rotation amount A=39.86/10 (degrees) is rendered by 10 frames (forward rotation angle per unit time Aa=39.86/10=3.986 (degrees)) and the coordinate position is recovered (returned) to the original coordinates position (obtained in step 112) for the node N by 30 frames (backward rotation angle per unit time Ar=39.86/30=1.32 (degrees)));
a parameter included in a plurality of voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data (Tsuda- ¶0174, at least discloses determination is made in the bullet ball-related processing about whether the bullet ball BB hit either one of the node-member balls NB (step 114), and when the determination is affirmative, the torque T at the hit point H is calculated as the impact magnitude in the metaball update processing, and the rotation angle per frame, namely an displacement amount per frame of the node N is calculated (step 256), and the node assigned ball NB is disposed to the node N whose coordinate position is corrected (step 257). Then, the density h(r) is calculated according to the equation (2) for each vertex of the voxel Vx from the reference position of the metaball MB in the minimum direction and the maximum direction of the voxel index of the voxel Vx according to the calculation equation expressing a solid shape thereof in the density distribution processing (step 122), and the vertex coordinates of the polygons are calculated on the basis of the density h(r) of the metaball MB at the vertex coordinates of the voxel Vx and the predetermined threshold (step 124) in the marching cube processing, so that the character c is composed);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi to incorporate the teachings of Tsuda, and apply internal density into Izumi’s teachings in order reference data representing a reference value of a parameter included in the voxel data; a parameter included in a plurality of voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data.
Doing so would impact that the game character which is rendered according to the motion data receives can be rendered dynamically and realistically.
The prior art does not explicitly disclose, but Shimamura discloses
when a restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object for which the change event has occurred, executing a restoration process of gradually changing the restorable object by returning a value of a parameter (Shimamura- ¶0007-0009, at least disclose when another one of the player objects on the friend team has attacked the player object, performs subtraction on the life of the attacked player object, and causes a restoration object for restoring the life to appear in the virtual space. The restoration process unit, under a condition that any one of the player objects on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, restores the life of the player object having acquired the restoration object […] when the player object has attacked another player object, it is possible to perform subtraction on the life of the attacked player object, and also cause a restoration object for restoring the life to appear […] when the player object attacked by the other player object on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, the restoration process unit may restore the life of the player object; ¶0011, at least discloses when the player object in the incapable-of-attack state has acquired the restoration object, restores the life and recovering the player object to a state where the attack execution unit is capable of causing the player object to make an attack; ¶0025, at least discloses when another one of the player objects on the friend team has taken the predetermined action on the player object, changes the predetermined parameter of the player object on which the predetermined action has been taken, and causes a restoration object for restoring the predetermined parameter to appear in the virtual space. The restoration process unit, under a condition that any one of the player objects on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, restores the predetermined parameter of the player object having acquired the restoration object; ¶0085, at least discloses a game may be performed where each player character has a predetermined parameter (for example, a parameter for making a special attack), and the progression of the game depends on the predetermined parameter […] when the predetermined parameter has become a certain value or greater (or less), the special attack can be made. If one of the player characters is subjected to a predetermined operation of one of the enemy characters, the predetermined parameter decreases (or increases). If one of the player characters is subjected to a predetermined operation of another one of the player characters on the friend team, the predetermined parameter of the player character is reduced (or increased), and an item for restoring the parameter is also caused to appear in the game space. Then, if the player character acquires the item, the predetermined parameter is restored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda to incorporate the teachings of Shimamura, and apply causing a restoration object for restoring the life to appear in the virtual space into Izumi/Tsuda’s teachings in order when a restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object for which the change event has occurred, executing a restoration process of changing the restorable object by returning a value of a parameter included in a plurality of voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data.
Doing so would provide a novel game as a game that a plurality of players play while cooperating with each other.
Regarding claim 2, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the restoration process is executed when it is determined that the restoration condition is satisfied at a second timing subsequent to a first timing, the second timing being determined based on the first timing at which the change event has occurred (Izumi- ¶0215, at least discloses The steps may be executed in parallel, or at a necessary timing such as when called; Shimamura- ¶0097-0098, at least disclose The information processing section 12 performs an initial process (step S101). In the initial process, for example, the player characters 81 are placed at predetermined positions in the game space, and the enemy characters 95 are placed at predetermined positions in the game space […] Subsequently, the information processing section 12 performs a movement process (step S102). In the movement process, for example, the position of each player character 81 is updated on the basis of the operation data from the corresponding controller 20, and the position of each enemy character 95 is updated in accordance with a predetermined algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsuda to incorporate the teachings of Izumi/Shimamura, and apply subsequent movement process into Tsuda’s teachings in order wherein the restoration process is executed when it is determined that the restoration condition is satisfied at a second timing subsequent to a first timing, the second timing being determined based on the first timing at which the change event has occurred.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 3, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein:
the change event is that a player object is arranged on the restorable object in the virtual space (Izumi- Fig. 1 and ¶0050, at least disclose the imaging space is set to a field of a soccer stadium, and players and the like on the field are imaged by the plurality of imaging devices arranged on a stand side constituting the outer periphery of the field. When reconstruction of 3D models is performed, for example, a player, a referee, a soccer ball, and a soccer goal on the field are extracted as objects, and a 3D model is generated (reconstructed) for each object; Tsuda- Fig. 23 and ¶0073, at least disclose a bullet ball-related processing subroutine for processing a bullet ball BB shot when a player attacks the character c is carried out. As shown in FIG. 23, a player can attack the character c by operating the input apparatus 3 to shoot a bullet ball BB. Namely, as shown in FIG. 2, a player can shoot a bullet ball BB by operating the + shaped direction button set of the input apparatus 3 to locate a cursor on the character c and push the circular button 33; Shimamura- ¶0097-0098, at least disclose In the initial process, for example, the player characters 81 are placed at predetermined positions in the game space, and the enemy characters 95 are placed at predetermined positions in the game space […] In the movement process, for example, the position of each player character 81 is updated on the basis of the operation data from the corresponding controller 20, and the position of each enemy character 95 is updated in accordance with a predetermined algorithm.); and
when the change event occurs, the voxel data is updated so as to remove a portion of the restorable object that includes a position at which the player object is arranged (Izumi- Fig. 1 and ¶0050, at least disclose the imaging space is set to a field of a soccer stadium, and players and the like on the field are imaged by the plurality of imaging devices arranged on a stand side constituting the outer periphery of the field. When reconstruction of 3D models is performed, for example, a player, a referee, a soccer ball, and a soccer goal on the field are extracted as objects, and a 3D model is generated (reconstructed) for each object; Tsuda- Fig. 23 and ¶0073, at least disclose a bullet ball-related processing subroutine for processing a bullet ball BB shot when a player attacks the character c is carried out. As shown in FIG. 23, a player can attack the character c by operating the input apparatus 3 to shoot a bullet ball BB. Namely, as shown in FIG. 2, a player can shoot a bullet ball BB by operating the + shaped direction button set of the input apparatus 3 to locate a cursor on the character c and push the circular button 33; Shimamura- ¶0097-0098, at least disclose In the initial process, for example, the player characters 81 are placed at predetermined positions in the game space, and the enemy characters 95 are placed at predetermined positions in the game space […] In the movement process, for example, the position of each player character 81 is updated on the basis of the operation data from the corresponding controller 20, and the position of each enemy character 95 is updated in accordance with a predetermined algorithm).
Regarding claim 4, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the restoration process is executed when it is determined that the restoration condition is satisfied (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis) in response to an operation by a player (Tsuda- ¶0093, at least discloses a player has a sense of incongruity if the bending-back of the character c when the bullet ball BB hits the character c is rendered by one frame, a rotation of the rotation amount A=39.86/10 (degrees) is rendered by 10 frames (forward rotation angle per unit time Aa=39.86/10=3.986 (degrees)) and the coordinate position is recovered (returned) to the original coordinates position (obtained in step 112) for the node N by 30 frames (backward rotation angle per unit time Ar=39.86/30=1.32 (degrees)); Shimamura- ¶0073, at least discloses even if one of the player characters has accidentally attacked another one of the player characters on the friend team, the attacked player character can restore a life).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi to incorporate the teachings of Tsuda and Shimamura, and apply the attacked player character into Izumi’s teachings in order when it is determined that the restoration condition is satisfied in response to an operation by a player.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 5, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the reference data represents the reference value for each of a plurality of voxels related to the restorable object (Tsuda- ¶0174, at least discloses determination is made in the bullet ball-related processing about whether the bullet ball BB hit either one of the node-member balls NB (step 114), and when the determination is affirmative, the torque T at the hit point H is calculated as the impact magnitude in the metaball update processing, and the rotation angle per frame, namely an displacement amount per frame of the node N is calculated (step 256), and the node assigned ball NB is disposed to the node N whose coordinate position is corrected (step 257). Then, the density h(r) is calculated according to the equation (2) for each vertex of the voxel Vx from the reference position of the metaball MB in the minimum direction and the maximum direction of the voxel index of the voxel Vx according to the calculation equation expressing a solid shape thereof in the density distribution processing (step 122), and the vertex coordinates of the polygons are calculated on the basis of the density h(r) of the metaball MB at the vertex coordinates of the voxel Vx and the predetermined threshold (step 124) in the marching cube processing, so that the character c is composed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Tsuda and Shimamura, and apply the density of the metaball into Izumi/Shimamura’s teachings in order the reference data represents the reference value for each of a plurality of voxels related to the restorable object.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 12, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the reference data represents a reference value of a parameter representing density to be used for generating the mesh from among parameters included in the voxel data (Tsuda- ¶0013-0014, at least disclose calculating internal density of the metaballs at vertexes of voxels which divide an interior of the three-dimensional imaginary space into a large number of portions […] and vertex coordinates of polygons are calculated based upon the internal density of the metaballs at the vertexes of the voxels and a predetermined threshold to compose the game character by the game character composer; ¶0093, at least discloses because a player has a sense of incongruity if the bending-back of the character c when the bullet ball BB hits the character c is rendered by one frame, a rotation of the rotation amount A=39.86/10 (degrees) is rendered by 10 frames (forward rotation angle per unit time Aa=39.86/10=3.986 (degrees)) and the coordinate position is recovered (returned) to the original coordinates position (obtained in step 112) for the node N by 30 frames (backward rotation angle per unit time Ar=39.86/30=1.32 (degrees)); ¶0174, at least discloses determination is made in the bullet ball-related processing about whether the bullet ball BB hit either one of the node-member balls NB (step 114), and when the determination is affirmative, the torque T at the hit point H is calculated as the impact magnitude in the metaball update processing, and the rotation angle per frame, namely an displacement amount per frame of the node N is calculated (step 256), and the node assigned ball NB is disposed to the node N whose coordinate position is corrected (step 257). Then, the density h(r) is calculated according to the equation (2) for each vertex of the voxel Vx from the reference position of the metaball MB in the minimum direction and the maximum direction of the voxel index of the voxel Vx according to the calculation equation expressing a solid shape thereof in the density distribution processing (step 122), and the vertex coordinates of the polygons are calculated on the basis of the density h(r) of the metaball MB at the vertex coordinates of the voxel Vx and the predetermined threshold (step 124) in the marching cube processing, so that the character c is composed);
when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data is updated so as to change the parameter representing density (Tsuda- ¶0013-0014, at least disclose calculating internal density of the metaballs at vertexes of voxels which divide an interior of the three-dimensional imaginary space into a large number of portions […] and vertex coordinates of polygons are calculated based upon the internal density of the metaballs at the vertexes of the voxels and a predetermined threshold to compose the game character by the game character composer; ¶0093, at least discloses because a player has a sense of incongruity if the bending-back of the character c when the bullet ball BB hits the character c is rendered by one frame, a rotation of the rotation amount A=39.86/10 (degrees) is rendered by 10 frames (forward rotation angle per unit time Aa=39.86/10=3.986 (degrees)) and the coordinate position is recovered (returned) to the original coordinates position (obtained in step 112) for the node N by 30 frames (backward rotation angle per unit time Ar=39.86/30=1.32 (degrees)); ¶0174, at least discloses determination is made in the bullet ball-related processing about whether the bullet ball BB hit either one of the node-member balls NB (step 114), and when the determination is affirmative, the torque T at the hit point H is calculated as the impact magnitude in the metaball update processing, and the rotation angle per frame, namely an displacement amount per frame of the node N is calculated (step 256), and the node assigned ball NB is disposed to the node N whose coordinate position is corrected (step 257). Then, the density h(r) is calculated according to the equation (2) for each vertex of the voxel Vx from the reference position of the metaball MB in the minimum direction and the maximum direction of the voxel index of the voxel Vx according to the calculation equation expressing a solid shape thereof in the density distribution processing (step 122), and the vertex coordinates of the polygons are calculated on the basis of the density h(r) of the metaball MB at the vertex coordinates of the voxel Vx and the predetermined threshold (step 124) in the marching cube processing, so that the character c is composed); and
when a restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object for which the change event has occurred (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis), the restoration process of gradually changing the restorable object is executed by returning a value of the parameter (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis) representing density included in the voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data (Shimamura- ¶0007-0009, at least disclose when another one of the player objects on the friend team has attacked the player object, performs subtraction on the life of the attacked player object, and causes a restoration object for restoring the life to appear in the virtual space. The restoration process unit, under a condition that any one of the player objects on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, restores the life of the player object having acquired the restoration object […] when the player object has attacked another player object, it is possible to perform subtraction on the life of the attacked player object, and also cause a restoration object for restoring the life to appear […] when the player object attacked by the other player object on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, the restoration process unit may restore the life of the player object; ¶0011, at least discloses when the player object in the incapable-of-attack state has acquired the restoration object, restores the life and recovering the player object to a state where the attack execution unit is capable of causing the player object to make an attack; ¶0025, at least discloses when another one of the player objects on the friend team has taken the predetermined action on the player object, changes the predetermined parameter of the player object on which the predetermined action has been taken, and causes a restoration object for restoring the predetermined parameter to appear in the virtual space. The restoration process unit, under a condition that any one of the player objects on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, restores the predetermined parameter of the player object having acquired the restoration object; ¶0085, at least discloses a game may be performed where each player character has a predetermined parameter (for example, a parameter for making a special attack), and the progression of the game depends on the predetermined parameter […] when the predetermined parameter has become a certain value or greater (or less), the special attack can be made. If one of the player characters is subjected to a predetermined operation of one of the enemy characters, the predetermined parameter decreases (or increases). If one of the player characters is subjected to a predetermined operation of another one of the player characters on the friend team, the predetermined parameter of the player character is reduced (or increased), and an item for restoring the parameter is also caused to appear in the game space. Then, if the player character acquires the item, the predetermined parameter is restored.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Tsuda and Shimamura, and apply the density of the metaball into Izumi/Shimamura’s teachings in order the reference data represents a reference value of a parameter representing density to be used for generating the mesh from among parameters included in the voxel data; when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data is updated so as to change the parameter representing density; and when a restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object for which the change event has occurred, the restoration process of gradually changing the restorable object is executed by returning a value of the parameter representing density included in the voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 17, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the information processing further comprises: moving and/or rotating the restorable object in the virtual space by moving and/or rotating a voxel space where the voxel related to the restorable object is set in the virtual space (Tsuda- ¶0090-0095, at least disclose As shown in FIG. 10, in the node coordinate correction processing subroutine, determination is made in step 302 about whether or not a rotation angle of the node assigned ball NB to be processed has already been calculated […] in order to express the bending-back of the character c, it is deemed that rotation is made about the node N1 which is a center node of the character c. Incidentally, respective components of the velocity vector VB (x, y, z) of the bullet ball BB calculated in step 146 may be used for the vector F as they are, or it may be calculated by multiplying the directional vector of the bullet ball BB calculated in step 146 and a predetermined scalar value together […] a forward rotation angle and a backward rotation angle per unit time ({fraction (1/60)} seconds) are calculated and memorized in the RAM.); and
when the restorable object is moved and/or rotated after the change event, the restoration process is executed using the voxel data related to the voxel space after the movement and/or rotation (Tsuda- ¶0090-0095, at least disclose As shown in FIG. 10, in the node coordinate correction processing subroutine, determination is made in step 302 about whether or not a rotation angle of the node assigned ball NB to be processed has already been calculated […] in order to express the bending-back of the character c, it is deemed that rotation is made about the node N1 which is a center node of the character c. Incidentally, respective components of the velocity vector VB (x, y, z) of the bullet ball BB calculated in step 146 may be used for the vector F as they are, or it may be calculated by multiplying the directional vector of the bullet ball BB calculated in step 146 and a predetermined scalar value together […] a forward rotation angle and a backward rotation angle per unit time ({fraction (1/60)} seconds) are calculated and memorized in the RAM […] a rotation angle counter rotc is incremented by 1 in order to grasp a rotation state of the current frame, and determination is made in the next step 310 about whether or not the rotation angle counter rotc is 10 or less. When the determination is affirmative, rotation is made in step 312 by the forward rotation angle Aa memorized in the RAM in step 306 regarding the motion data, which are obtained in step 112, of the node N to be processed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Tsuda, and apply the rotation state of the current frame into Izumi/Shimamura’s teachings for moving and/or rotating the restorable object in the virtual space by moving and/or rotating a voxel space where the voxel related to the restorable object is set in the virtual space; and when the restorable object is moved and/or rotated after the change event, the restoration process is executed using the voxel data related to the voxel space after the movement and/or rotation.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 18, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses an information processing apparatus (Izumi- Fig. 2 and ¶0070, at least disclose In the image processing system 1 configured as described above, 3D model data of objects […] The generation device 22 is an image processing apparatus that generates 3D model data of an object in accordance with a viewpoint (virtual viewpoint) of a viewer, and the reproduction device 25 is an image processing apparatus that produces an object image based on the 3D model data generated by the generation device 22 and causes the display device 26 to display the object image.), comprising:
one or more processors that are configured to execute information processing: and one or more memory (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis) that are configured to store voxel data related to a plurality of voxels related to a restorable object in a virtual space, and reference data that serves as a reference for the restorable object, representing a reference value of a parameter included in the voxel data (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis); wherein
the information processing (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis) comprising the functions of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses an information processing system (Izumi- Figs. 1-7 and ¶0070-0071, at least disclose In the image processing system 1 configured as described above, 3D model data of objects, among a large number of objects existing in an imaging space, corresponding to a viewer's viewpoint (virtual viewpoint) is generated by the generation device 22 and transmitted to the reproduction device 25 via the distribution server 23 […] features of the image processing system 1 will be described with reference to FIGS. 4 to 7. ), comprising:
one or more processors that are configured to execute information processing: and one or more memory (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis) that are configured to store voxel data related to a plurality of voxels related to a restorable object in a virtual space, and reference data that serves as a reference for the restorable object (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis), representing a reference value of a parameter included in the voxel data (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis); wherein
the information processing (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis) comprising the functions of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses an information processing method performed on an information processing system, the information processing method comprising the functions of claim 1.
7. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi in view of Tsuda, further in view of Shimamura, still further in view of Shen (“Shen”) [US-20210299560-A1]
Regarding claim 6, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein target voxels to be restored from among the voxels related to the restorable object (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis), and does not explicitly disclose, but Shen discloses the restorable object are successively designated based on a designation rule so as to restore the designated voxels (Shen - ¶0100, at least discloses the voxel blocks for filling the region corresponding to the feature point cloud may be voxel blocks of a uniform color, or the region may be filled with voxel blocks according to a preset color rule, or a color of the voxel blocks for filling the region corresponding to the feature point cloud may be determined according to a color of the to-be-acquired object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Shen, and apply the preset color rule into Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura’s teachings in order wherein target voxels to be restored from among the voxels related to the restorable object are successively designated based on a designation rule so as to restore the designated voxels.
Doing so would improve the efficiency and the accuracy of the object construction.
8. Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi in view of Tsuda, further in view of Shimamura, still further in view of Shen (“Shen”) [US-20210299560-A1], still further in view of Ladavac et al. (“Ladavac”) [US-2023/0394764-A1]
Regarding claim 7, Izumi in view of Tsuda, Shimamura and Shen, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 6, and does not explicitly disclose, but Ladavac discloses wherein the target voxels are successively designated along a restoration path set in the virtual space (Ladavac- ¶0054, at least discloses a number of unique intersection cases can be provided (e.g., stored and accessed in a lookup table of the system), each intersection case describing a different path of the surface (or the volume) through a voxel, e.g., indicating a different set of voxel edges (or other voxel line segments) that are intersected by the surface (or the volume). The intersection cases can based on different rotations and/or reflections of possible pathways of a surface through a voxel. For example, in the marching cubes technique, a set of 14 unique intersection cases describes all the possible edge intersections of a surface passing through the twelve edges of a voxel ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura/Shen to incorporate the teachings of Ladavac, and apply the pathways of a surface through a voxel into Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura/Shen’s teachings in order the target voxels are successively designated along a restoration path set in the virtual space.
Doing so would use a successive over-relaxation technique to reduce the errors.
Regarding claim 11, Izumi in view of Tsuda, Shimamura and Shen, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 6, and does not explicitly disclose, but Ladavac discloses wherein the target voxels are successively designated in a direction from inside to outside of the restorable object (Ladavac- ¶0011, at least discloses the operations include receiving input data that represents a surface that distinguishes an inside and an outside of a volume; ¶0046, at least discloses a represented object can have a volume, where the inside of the volume includes one or more materials of the object, and the outside of the volume is the environment in which the object is located).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura/Shen to incorporate the teachings of Ladavac, and apply the inside and an outside of a volume into Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura/Shen’s teachings in order the target voxels are successively designated in a direction from inside to outside of the restorable object.
Doing so would use a successive over-relaxation technique to reduce the errors.
9. Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi in view of Tsuda, further in view of Shimamura, still further in view of Penmatsa et al. (“Penmatsa”) [US-9737811-B1]
Regarding claim 13, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the reference data represents a reference value for the voxel from among parameters included in the voxel data (Tsuda- ¶0174, at least discloses determination is made in the bullet ball-related processing about whether the bullet ball BB hit either one of the node-member balls NB (step 114), and when the determination is affirmative, the torque T at the hit point H is calculated as the impact magnitude in the metaball update processing, and the rotation angle per frame, namely an displacement amount per frame of the node N is calculated (step 256), and the node assigned ball NB is disposed to the node N whose coordinate position is corrected (step 257). Then, the density h(r) is calculated according to the equation (2) for each vertex of the voxel Vx from the reference position of the metaball MB in the minimum direction and the maximum direction of the voxel index of the voxel Vx according to the calculation equation expressing a solid shape thereof in the density distribution processing (step 122), and the vertex coordinates of the polygons are calculated on the basis of the density h(r) of the metaball MB at the vertex coordinates of the voxel Vx and the predetermined threshold (step 124) in the marching cube processing, so that the character c is composed);
when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data is updated so as to change the parameter internal density of the metaballs at vertexes of voxels which divide an interior of the three-dimensional imaginary space into a large number of portions […] and vertex coordinates of polygons are calculated based upon the internal density of the metaballs at the vertexes of the voxels and a predetermined threshold to compose the game character by the game character composer; ¶0093, at least discloses because a player has a sense of incongruity if the bending-back of the character c when the bullet ball BB hits the character c is rendered by one frame, a rotation of the rotation amount A=39.86/10 (degrees) is rendered by 10 frames (forward rotation angle per unit time Aa=39.86/10=3.986 (degrees)) and the coordinate position is recovered (returned) to the original coordinates position (obtained in step 112) for the node N by 30 frames (backward rotation angle per unit time Ar=39.86/30=1.32 (degrees)); ¶0174, at least discloses determination is made in the bullet ball-related processing about whether the bullet ball BB hit either one of the node-member balls NB (step 114), and when the determination is affirmative, the torque T at the hit point H is calculated as the impact magnitude in the metaball update processing, and the rotation angle per frame, namely an displacement amount per frame of the node N is calculated (step 256), and the node assigned ball NB is disposed to the node N whose coordinate position is corrected (step 257). Then, the density h(r) is calculated according to the equation (2) for each vertex of the voxel Vx from the reference position of the metaball MB in the minimum direction and the maximum direction of the voxel index of the voxel Vx according to the calculation equation expressing a solid shape thereof in the density distribution processing (step 122), and the vertex coordinates of the polygons are calculated on the basis of the density h(r) of the metaball MB at the vertex coordinates of the voxel Vx and the predetermined threshold (step 124) in the marching cube processing, so that the character c is composed); and
when the restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object for which the change event has occurred, the restoration process of gradually changing the restorable object is executed by returning a value of the parameter included in the voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data (Tsuda- ¶0174, at least discloses determination is made in the bullet ball-related processing about whether the bullet ball BB hit either one of the node-member balls NB (step 114), and when the determination is affirmative, the torque T at the hit point H is calculated as the impact magnitude in the metaball update processing, and the rotation angle per frame, namely an displacement amount per frame of the node N is calculated (step 256), and the node assigned ball NB is disposed to the node N whose coordinate position is corrected (step 257). Then, the density h(r) is calculated according to the equation (2) for each vertex of the voxel Vx from the reference position of the metaball MB in the minimum direction and the maximum direction of the voxel index of the voxel Vx according to the calculation equation expressing a solid shape thereof in the density distribution processing (step 122), and the vertex coordinates of the polygons are calculated on the basis of the density h(r) of the metaball MB at the vertex coordinates of the voxel Vx and the predetermined threshold (step 124) in the marching cube processing, so that the character c is composed; Shimamura- ¶0007-0009, at least disclose when another one of the player objects on the friend team has attacked the player object, performs subtraction on the life of the attacked player object, and causes a restoration object for restoring the life to appear in the virtual space. The restoration process unit, under a condition that any one of the player objects on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, restores the life of the player object having acquired the restoration object […] when the player object has attacked another player object, it is possible to perform subtraction on the life of the attacked player object, and also cause a restoration object for restoring the life to appear […] when the player object attacked by the other player object on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, the restoration process unit may restore the life of the player object; ¶0011, at least discloses when the player object in the incapable-of-attack state has acquired the restoration object, restores the life and recovering the player object to a state where the attack execution unit is capable of causing the player object to make an attack; ¶0025, at least discloses when another one of the player objects on the friend team has taken the predetermined action on the player object, changes the predetermined parameter of the player object on which the predetermined action has been taken, and causes a restoration object for restoring the predetermined parameter to appear in the virtual space. The restoration process unit, under a condition that any one of the player objects on the friend team has acquired the restoration object, restores the predetermined parameter of the player object having acquired the restoration object; ¶0085, at least discloses a game may be performed where each player character has a predetermined parameter (for example, a parameter for making a special attack), and the progression of the game depends on the predetermined parameter […] when the predetermined parameter has become a certain value or greater (or less), the special attack can be made. If one of the player characters is subjected to a predetermined operation of one of the enemy characters, the predetermined parameter decreases (or increases). If one of the player characters is subjected to a predetermined operation of another one of the player characters on the friend team, the predetermined parameter of the player character is reduced (or increased), and an item for restoring the parameter is also caused to appear in the game space. Then, if the player character acquires the item, the predetermined parameter is restored).
The prior art does not explicitly disclose, but Penmatsa discloses
a reference value for a material set for the voxel (Penmatsa- col 7, lines 11-17, at least discloses Layers of the terrain may be composed of different material, such as rock, water, grass, sand, free space, and so on. A destructibility value may be assigned to each layer of material, for example based on a preconfigured strength associated with each type of material or composition; col 8, lines 42-48, at least discloses the texture/layer characteristic information may be associated with a certain material or composition (e.g., rock, sand, soil, water, concrete, glass, free space or air, etc.). In some cases, the destructibility component 204 may access composition information stored in database 106/206 and set the destructibility value to be equal to a strength value associated with the given material of each layer […] the strength and or destructibility value for each layer may be modified by a third dimension, such as height, associated with each layer. For example, as thickness of some materials increase, so may the strength or destructibility value of a layer of that material. In other cases, the destructibility component 204 may set the strength value, for example based on a predetermined value accessed via a material database or table (not shown));
parameter representing material (Penmatsa- col 7, lines 11-17, at least discloses Layers of the terrain may be composed of different material, such as rock, water, grass, sand, free space, and so on. A destructibility value may be assigned to each layer of material, for example based on a preconfigured strength associated with each type of material or composition; col 8, lines 42-48, at least discloses the texture/layer characteristic information may be associated with a certain material or composition (e.g., rock, sand, soil, water, concrete, glass, free space or air, etc.). In some cases, the destructibility component 204 may access composition information stored in database 106/206 and set the destructibility value to be equal to a strength value associated with the given material of each layer […] the strength and or destructibility value for each layer may be modified by a third dimension, such as height, associated with each layer. For example, as thickness of some materials increase, so may the strength or destructibility value of a layer of that material. In other cases, the destructibility component 204 may set the strength value, for example based on a predetermined value accessed via a material database or table (not shown));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Penmatsa, and apply the layers of the terrain may be composed of different material into Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura’s teachings in order the reference data represents a reference value for a material set for the voxel from among parameters included in the voxel data; when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data is updated so as to change the parameter representing material; and when the restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object for which the change event has occurred, the restoration process of gradually changing the restorable object is executed by returning a value of the parameter representing material included in the voxel data having been updated to the reference value included in the reference data.
Doing so would provide an enhanced user experience.
Regarding claim 14, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data related to the restorable object is updated (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis), and does not explicitly disclose, but Penmatsa discloses the voxel data related to the restorable object is updated so as to reduce a range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object (Penmatsa- Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in range decreases) of the surface (the volume data) [Wingdings font/0xE0] so as to increase the range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Penmatsa, and apply the partial destruction of the surface into Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura’s teachings in order wherein when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data related to the restorable object is updated so as to reduce a range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object.
Doing so would provide an enhanced user experience.
Regarding claim 15, Izumi in view of Tsuda, Shimamura and Penmatsa, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein:
when the change event occurs for the restorable object (see Claim 14 rejection for detailed analysis), the range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object is reduced (see Claim 14 rejection for detailed analysis), and a separated object corresponding to the reduced portion is generated (Penmatsa- col 7, lines 41-60, at least discloses Based on the destructibility value associated with each affected area, the texture updating component 210 may modify the texture information associated with each affected area. In some cases, the texture updating component 210 may also update or modify the destructibility value of one or more of the affected areas); and
when the restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object (see Claim 14 rejection for detailed analysis), the restoration process is executed for the restorable object (see Claim 14 rejection for detailed analysis) while the restoration process is not executed for the separated object (Penmatsa- col 7, lines 41-60, at least discloses Based on the destructibility value associated with each affected area, the texture updating component 210 may modify the texture information associated with each affected area. In some cases, the texture updating component 210 may also update or modify the destructibility value of one or more of the affected areas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Penmatsa, and apply the update or modify the destructibility value of one or more of the affected areas into Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura’s teachings in order when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object is reduced, and a separated object corresponding to the reduced portion is generated; and when the restoration condition is satisfied for the restorable object, the restoration process is executed for the restorable object while the restoration process is not executed for the separated object.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 14 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 16, Izumi in view of Tsuda and Shimamura, discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data related to the restorable object is updated (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis), and does not explicitly disclose, but Penmatsa discloses the voxel data related to the restorable object is updated so as to increase the range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object (Penmatsa- Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in range decreases) of the surface (the volume data) [Wingdings font/0xE0] so as to increase the range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura to incorporate the teachings of Tsuda and Shimamura, and apply the partial destruction of the surface into Izumi/Tsuda/Shimamura’s teachings in order wherein when the change event occurs for the restorable object, the voxel data related to the restorable object is updated so as to increase the range of the virtual space occupied by the restorable object.
Doing so would provide an enhanced user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 1.
However in the context of claims 1, 6, 7 and 8 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does
not teach when the change event occurs, the voxel data is updated so as to remove a portion of the restorable object that includes a position at which the breaker object made contact; and
the restoration path is set, based on a position at which the breaker object contacted the restorable object, so as to extend in a direction in accordance with a contact direction. Therefore, Claim 8 in the context of claim 1, 6, 7 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 1.
However in the context of claims 1, 6, 7 and 9 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does
not teach during an overlapping period between a period in which the first restoration process is executed and a period in which the second restoration process is executed, restoration is done for voxels, as the target voxels, that are designated based on at least one of the first restoration region data and the second restoration region data. Therefore, Claim 9 in the context of claim 1, 6, 7 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 1.
However in the context of claims 1, 6, 7 and 10 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does
not teach the target voxels are designated from among those of the plurality of voxels related to the restorable object that overlap with the restoration region; and the target voxels are successively designated by moving the restoration region along the restoration path. Therefore, Claim 10 in the context of claim 1, 6, 7 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. They are as recited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/MICHAEL LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614