DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 8 September 2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending;
Claims 1, 5 and 11 are currently amended;
Claims 2-4, 6-10 and 12-16 were previously presented;
Claims 1-16 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8 September 2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive. The claims use broad terms such as cap to describe structural elements and broad terms such as “attached to” to describe structural relationships. Terms like “attached to”, “connected to”, “coupled to” does not require direct contact connections. Every structural element in De Meio and Ostgaard are either directly or indirectly attached to one another. “Cap”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, is an element placed above something.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Meio et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,664,558).
As to Claim 1, De Meio discloses a jacket leveling tool comprising:
A substantially cylindrical central body (1) comprising a central longitudinal axis;
A plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9) disposed about the central body (1);
A radial skirt (5) attached to a lower portion of an exterior surface of the central body (1) and to a lower portion of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9);
A radial collar (10) disposed about an upper portion of the exterior surface of the central body (1) and attached to an upper end of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9);
A cap (13) attached to an upper end of the central body (1); and
First and second links (11) attached (via 10) to the cap (13).
As to Claim 2, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein the radial skirt (5) further comprises a plurality of radially extending fins (6).
As to Claim 3, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders further comprise an extension member (Rod of 9) connected (via 1) to one of the plurality of radially extending fins (6).
As to Claim 4, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). De Meio also discloses further comprising pins (Pairs of pins 6’ corresponding to links 11) configured to engage the first and second links (11).
As to Claim 5, De Meio discloses a system for leveling a jacket leg surrounding a pile of an offshore structure, the system comprising:
The pile (18, 19, 20) comprising a hollow interior space with a central longitudinal axis;
A jacket leveling tool comprising:
A substantially cylindrical central body (1) disposed within the hollow interior space of the pile (18, 19, 20);
A plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9) disposed about the body;
A radial skirt (5) attached to a lower portion of an exterior surface of the central body (1) and to a lower portion of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9);
A radial collar (10) disposed about an upper portion of the exterior surface of the central body (1) and attached to an upper end of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9);
A cap (13) attached to an upper end of the central body (1); and
First and second links (11) attached (via 10) to the cap (13);
A substantially cylindrical jacket (21) disposed around the pile (18, 19, 20) and comprising an inner surface and an outer surface.
As to Claim 6, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein the radial skirt (5) further comprises a plurality of radially extending fins (6).
As to Claim 7, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 6 (Refer to Claim 6 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9) further comprise an extension member (Rod of 9) connected (via 1) to one of the plurality of radially extending fins (6).
As to Claim 8, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). De Meio also discloses further comprising pins (Pairs of pins 6’ corresponding to links 11) configured to engage the first and second links (11).
As to Claim 9, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein the jacket further (21) comprises first and second connection points attached to the outer surface.
As to Claim 10, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein the pins are configured to connect (via 12) the first link (One of 11) to the first connection point and the second link (Another of 11) to the second connection point.
As to Claim 11, De Meio discloses a method of leveling a jacket leg surrounding a pile of an offshore structure, the method (The method steps are capable of being performed by the structure of De Meio) comprising:
Placing a substantially cylindrical jacket (21) around the pile (18, 19, 20) comprising a hollow interior space;
Placing within the pile (18, 19, 20) a jacket leveling tool comprising:
A substantially cylindrical central body (1) disposed within the hollow interior space of the pile (18, 19, 20);
A plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9) disposed about the central body (1);
A radial skirt (5) attached to a lower portion of an exterior surface of the central body (1) and to a lower portion of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9);
A radial collar (10) disposed about an upper portion of the exterior surface of the central body (1) and attached to an upper end of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9);
A cap (13) attached to an upper end of the central body (1); and
First and second links (11) attached (via 10) to the cap (13);
Connecting (via 12 and 18) the first and second links (11) to an outer surface of the jacket (21); and
Injecting hydraulic fluid into one or more of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (9).
As to Claim 12, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein the step of connecting the first and second links (11) to an outer surface of the jacket comprises the insertion of pins (Pairs of pins 6’ corresponding to links 11).
As to Claim 13, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). De Meio also discloses further comprising the step of removing the jacket leveling tool from the jacket (21) and the pile (18, 19, 20).
As to Claim 14, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein the step of removing the jacket leveling tool comprises withdrawing a pin (Pairs of pins 6’ corresponding to links 11) from the first and second links (11).
As to Claim 15, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein the step of removing the jacket leveling tool further comprises lifting the cap (13) away from the pile (18, 19, 20).
As to Claim 16, De Meio discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). De Meio also discloses wherein an inner surface of the jacket (21) substantially abuts an outer surface of the pile (18, 19, 20).
Claims 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ostgaard (U.S. Patent No. 4,372,707).
As to Claim 1, Ostgaard discloses a jacket leveling tool comprising:
A substantially cylindrical central body (36) comprising a central longitudinal axis;
A plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50) disposed about the central body (36);
A radial skirt (52) attached to a lower portion of an exterior surface of the central body (36) and to a lower portion of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50);
A radial collar (Annotated Figure A, “radial collar”) disposed about an upper portion of the exterior surface of the central body (36) and attached to an upper end of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50);
A cap (32) attached to an upper end of the central body (36); and
First and second links (44) attached to the cap (32).
As to Claim 2, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein the radial skirt (52) further comprises a plurality of radially extending fins (48).
As to Claim 3, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders further comprise an extension member (Rod of 50) connected to one of the plurality of radially extending fins (48).
As to Claim 4, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses further comprising pins (Rods of Upper 50 engaging links 44) configured to engage the first and second links (44).
As to Claim 5, Ostgaard discloses a system for leveling a jacket leg surrounding a pile of an offshore structure, the system comprising:
The pile (28) comprising a hollow interior space with a central longitudinal axis;
A jacket leveling tool comprising:
A substantially cylindrical central body (36) disposed within the hollow interior space of the pile (28);
A plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50) disposed about the central body;
A radial skirt (52) attached to a lower portion of an exterior surface of the central body (36) and to a lower portion of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50);
A radial collar (Annotated Figure A, “radial collar”) disposed about an upper portion of the exterior surface of the central body (36) and attached to an upper end of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50);
A cap (32) attached to an upper end of the central body (36); and
First and second links (44) attached to the cap (32);
A substantially cylindrical jacket (Annotated Figure A, “jacket”) disposed around the pile (28) and comprising an inner surface and an outer surface.
As to Claim 6, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein the radial skirt (52) further comprises a plurality of radially extending fins (48).
As to Claim 7, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 6 (Refer to Claim 6 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50) further comprise an extension member (Rod of 50) connected to one of the plurality of radially extending fins (48).
As to Claim 8, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses further comprising pins (Rods of Upper 50 engaging links 44) configured to engage the first and second links (44).
As to Claim 9, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein the jacket (Annotated Figure A, “jacket”) further comprises first and second connection points attached to the outer surface.
As to Claim 10, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein the pins are configured to connect the first link (One of 44) to the first connection point (Area of jacket engaged by 44) and the second link (Another of 44) to the second connection point (Another area of jacket engaged by another 44).
As to Claim 11, Ostgaard discloses a method of leveling a jacket leg surrounding a pile of an offshore structure, the method (The method steps are capable of being performed by the structure of Ostgaard) comprising:
Placing a substantially cylindrical jacket (Annotated Figure A, “jacket”) around the pile (28) comprising a hollow interior space;
Placing within the pile (28) a jacket leveling tool comprising:
A substantially cylindrical central body (36) disposed within the hollow interior space of the pile (28);
A plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50) disposed about the central body (36);
A radial skirt (52) attached to a lower portion of an exterior surface of the central body (36) and to a lower portion of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50);
A radial collar (Annotated Figure A, “radial collar”) disposed about an upper portion of the exterior surface of the central body (36) and attached to an upper end of each of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50);
A cap (32) attached to an upper end of the central body (36); and
First and second links (44) attached to the cap (32);
Connecting the first and second links (44) to an outer surface of the jacket (Annotated Figure A, “jacket”); and
Injecting hydraulic fluid into one or more of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders (50).
As to Claim 12, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein the step of connecting the first and second links (44) to an outer surface of the jacket comprises the insertion of pins (Rods of Upper 50 engaging links 44).
As to Claim 13, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses further comprising the step of removing the jacket leveling tool from the jacket (Annotated Figure A, “jacket”) and the pile (28).
As to Claim 14, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein the step of removing the jacket leveling tool comprises withdrawing (i.e. retracting) a pin (Rods of Upper 50 engaging links 44) from the first and second links (44).
As to Claim 15, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein the step of removing the jacket leveling tool further comprises lifting the cap (32) away from the pile (28).
As to Claim 16, Ostgaard discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Ostgaard also discloses wherein an inner surface of the jacket (Annotated Figure A, “jacket”) substantially abuts an outer surface of the pile (28).
Figure A. Radial collar (Ostgaard)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678