DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2-5, 6-8, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-4, 8-10, and 11-16 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,209,842. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 17 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,320,241. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,209,842. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 5-7 anticipate claims 1, 15-17 of the instant application.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,320,241. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 anticipate claims 1-17 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the optical element" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should note that claims 2-17 are held as indefinite because of their dependency from claim 1. Applicant could amend claim 1 to replace “the optical element” with --the movable optical element-- to overcome the rejection.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the upper surface" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should note that claims 4-5 are held as indefinite because of their dependency from claim 3.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the upper surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should note that claim 8 is held as indefinite because of their dependency from claim 7.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the upper surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should note that claims 13-14 are held as indefinite because of their dependency from claim 12.
All claims should be revised carefully to correct all other deficiencies similar to the ones noted above. In light of the above, the claims will be further treated on the merits as best understood only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamilton (US 8,919,026).
Regarding claim 1, Hamilton discloses a rifle scope comprising: a scope body 12; a movable optical element 248 defining an optical axis connected to the scope body; a turret 22 comprising (A) a turret screw defining a screw axis and operably connected to the optical element for adjusting the optical axis in response to rotation of the screw (Fig. 9b), (B) a turret chassis subassembly 88 (Fig. 3), and (C) a turret cap 308 at least partially overlapping the turret chassis subassembly (Fig. 9a and 9b); and a zero point adjustment subassembly comprising (a) a zero cap 266 connected to the turret screw (Fig. 9a and 9b), and (b) a locking mechanism releasably securing the zero cap and the turret (Not labeled but shown in Fig. 12; portion engage the v groove; “A flat blade screwdriver is inserted into the slot 444 on the top 442 of the turret screw 446 to make the adjustment nee the outer knob is disengaged from the V-groove 592 in the micro adjuster.”).
Regarding claim 15, Hamilton discloses wherein the turret chassis subassembly comprises: a spiral cam mechanism 160 having a cam pin 126 engaged thereto, the spiral cam mechanism defining a first stop surface and a second stop surface, each positioned for engagement by the stop element, wherein the first stop surface and send stop surface are connected by a channel which at least partially overlaps itself (very clearly seen in Fig. 5b and 9b).
Regarding claim 16, Hamilton discloses a rotation indicator 138 connected to the stop element (Fig. 9b).
Regarding claim 17, Hamilton discloses wherein the turret is an elevation turret (Abstract: “turret may be an elevation turret or a windage turret”)
Claim(s) 1, 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamilton (US 2017/0268851).
Regarding claim 1, Hamilton discloses a rifle scope (Fig. 1, 15, 24, 28, 27 - see scope with first and second top knob 600 and 700 ; Fig. 1 and 13) a movable optical element defining an optical axis connected for the scope body (248, Fig. 4, 13; para[0056], ‘a scope body, that encloses a movable optical element 248 shown in FIG. 13); a turret (22, Fig. 1, 13, 24, 26, 27) comprising a turret screw defining a screw axis and operably connected to the optical element for adjusting the optical axis In response to rotation of the screw (38, Fig. 1, 13, 24, 25, 27 - see turret screw 38) defining a screw axis and operably connected to the optical element 246 for adjusting the optical axis; a turret chassis subassembly (230, Fig. 1, 7A, 7B, 13, 24), and a turret cap at least partially overlapping the turret chassis subassembly (268, Fig. 24, 26, 27) and a Zero point adjustment subassembly (600, 700, Fig. 24, 28, 27) comprising (a) zero cap connected to the turret screw (702, Fig, 24, 26, 27), and a locking mechanism releasably securing the zero cap and the turret (602, 706, Fig. 24, 26, 27 - see locking mechanism comprising dial 602 and top locking gear 706).
Regarding claim 15, Hamilton discloses wherein the turret chassis subassembly comprises: a spiral cam mechanism 160 having a cam pin 126 engaged thereto, the spiral cam mechanism defining a first stop surface and a second stop surface, each positioned for engagement by the stop element, wherein the first stop surface and send stop surface are connected by a channel which at least partially overlaps itself (very clearly seen in Fig. 27).
Regarding claim 16, Hamilton discloses a rotation indicator 138 connected to the stop element (Fig. 27).
Regarding claim 17, Hamilton discloses wherein the turret is an elevation turret (Abstract: “turret may be an elevation turret or a windage turret”)
Conclusion
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641