DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-49 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not mention the limitations “a corresponding key alias, a corresponding lock alias”. Specification only mentions “The master key can update the lock with the slave key public identifier (e.g., a phone number) and the slave key can then update its private identifier to the lock upon a first access.” in Para. 45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)21-24, 27, 33-34, 36-37, 46-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkjan (US 20120086548 A1) in view of Hart et al. (US 20120096909 A1).
In regard to claim 21, Kirkjan teaches Non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations configured to execute an access control application: the access control application (Kirkjan, Para. 35, the access control system includes an application program for creating a domain file and/or lock configuration files that can be stored on a computer or on electronic keys) configured to: store at least one key identifier linked to a corresponding key alias, wherein the key alias is available to a user of the access control application and is configured to be stored in at least one memory component of a handheld electronic apparatus (Kirkjan, Fig. 10; Para. 40, The public identifier of a lock or key can be readily available to a person. For example, the public identifier can be printed on the lock or key, or it may be visible in some other way. The key access information for a lock can be stored, for example, in a lock configuration file. In some embodiments, a domain file links the lock configuration file to a lock (for example, to an alias of the lock) and associates one or more keys with a user name or alias. The admin application can be configured to translate or interpret lock aliases and key aliases into identifiers associated with the locks and keys, respectively), wherein an access control application user interface is configured to be output on a display of the handheld electronic apparatus (Kirkjan, Fig. 10, Para. 70, The interface 1000 includes a keys portion 1002 that shows a list of keys in a domain. A user can identify the keys by a key alias, by a public identifier (Key_ID#), or by key type (master or slave). The keys portion 1002 includes interface elements for adding keys to the domain, removing keys from the domain, changing the key type, and/or other functionality); store at least one lock identifier linked to a corresponding lock alias, wherein the lock alias is available to the user of the access control application and is configured to be stored in the at least one memory component (Kirkjan, Fig. 10; Para. 40, The public identifier of a lock or key can be readily available to a person. For example, the public identifier can be printed on the lock or key, or it may be visible in some other way. The key access information for a lock can be stored, for example, in a lock configuration file. In some embodiments, a domain file links the lock configuration file to a lock (for example, to an alias of the lock) and associates one or more keys with a user name or alias. The admin application can be configured to translate or interpret lock aliases and key aliases into identifiers associated with the locks and keys, respectively); communicate with a first electronic lock associated with a first electronic key (Kirkjan, Para. 51, the key microcontroller 302 can communicate with the lock microcontroller 320 via the lock interface 306, and the USB transceiver 304 can be inactive or disabled), wherein the first electronic lock is associated with the at least one lock identifier and the first electronic key is associated with the at least one key identifier (Kirkjan, Para. 47, locks are programmed during manufacturing with an identifier (such as, for example, a public identifier). Master keys and slave keys can be programmed during manufacturing with a public identifier and a private identifier); and authenticate the first electronic key with the first electronic lock based at least in part on the first authentication data and second authentication data stored in memory on the first electronic lock (Kirkjan, Para. 46, after collecting private identifiers from the keys in the domain, the lock is set up to provide access when one of the master or slave keys is inserted into the lock (210). For example, the public identifier in the key access information on the lock can be compared with the public identifier sent by the key. In some embodiments, the lock determines whether the private identifier of a key is present in key access information stored in the memory of the lock), wherein, in response to authentication of the first electronic key, the first electronic lock is configured to actuate a lock mechanism of the first electronic lock in accordance with the lock actuation command (Kirkjan, Para. 46, if the private identifier is present in the lock memory, the lock actuates an electronic latch to provide access).
Kirkjan does not teach communicating with a first electronic lock associated with a first electronic key via at least one wireless interface of the handheld electronic apparatus, transmit a lock actuation command to the first electronic lock; transmit first authentication data associated with at least one of a private identifier or a public identifier stored in the at least one memory component.
However, Hart teaches communicating with a first electronic lock associated with a first electronic key via at least one wireless interface of the handheld electronic apparatus (Hart, Para. 36, The microprocessor of the electronic lock 110 and the communication device 120 communicate with each other by modulating an established RF field. It is to be understood that the electronic lock and the communication device are preferably remote from each other. That is, the power delivered from the communication device to the electronic lock is remotely (wirelessly) delivered), transmit a lock actuation command to the first electronic lock (Hart, Para. 36, the communication device 120 of the present invention delivers power to its antenna, where a current is induced and transmitted to the electronic lock 110, to be received by the at least one antenna); transmit first authentication data associated with at least one of a private identifier or a public identifier stored in the at least one memory component (Hart, Para. 37, an authentication exchange then takes place between the communication device 120 and the electronic lock 110. The microprocessor of the electronic lock 110 controls a solenoid or other actuating mechanism, such as a DC motor, to actuate (engage/disengage) the locking member; Para. 67-69, The electronic lock then receives the public key of the communication device and validates that it was correctly signed with the CCKMS private key. The lock subsequently prepares a symmetric encryption key and a unique identifying number for the communication device, encrypts the key and number with the public key of the communication device, and then transmits it to the communication device. The communication device decrypts the symmetric key and unique identifying number using its private key. The symmetric key is then used to generate a One Time Password and transmits that to the electronic lock with the unique identifying number of the communication device. Finally, the electronic lock internally looks up the identifying number, the access control list and the unique symmetric key for that device. Once the One Time Password provided is validated, the locking member may be actuated).
Kirkjan and Hart are analogous art because they both pertain to electronic locking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wireless keys to actuate electronic locks (as taught by Hart) resulting in predictable result of enhancing functionality.
In regard to claim 22, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 21, further comprising computer-executable instructions that configure the at least one processor to execute at least one administrative application configured to: manage access of at least one electronic lock and at least one electronic key for at least one domain via a management user interface; and manage electronic key access information for the at least one electronic lock comprising at least one lock identifier and at least one key identifier (Kirkjan, Para. 69, the admin application displays administration options for an access control system (914) and receives input from the user indicating what changes should be made to the domain file and/or lock configuration files. The changes can include, for example, assigning or editing locks in the domain (919), editing keys (such as, for example, slave keys or master keys) or key users in the domain (918) and other domain-specific key access information such as linking a public key identifier to a key user's alias name (918) and a lock identifier to a lock's alias name (919). In some embodiments, the domain file is a file that enables the admin application to manage and to link the lock configuration files for each lock (920). The lock configuration files contain key access information for each lock that determines what keys have access privileges for locks in the domain).
In regard to claim 23, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 22, wherein the at least one administrative application is further configured to communicate and synchronize at least a portion of one or more domain configuration files or lock configuration files with a second handheld electronic apparatus and provide one or more lock access privileges to the second handheld electronic apparatus (Kirkjan, Para. 41, a newly created or reconfigured lock configuration file is transferred to a master key (204). In some embodiments, a user connects the master key to a computer, and the user causes the computer to copy one or more lock configuration files containing the key access information for the domain to a memory on the master key or keys associated with the domain).
In regard to claim 24, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 23, wherein the key alias and the lock alias are modifiable and available to a user of the at least one administrative application (Kirkjan, Para. 72, The lock configuration file portions 1006, 1008 provide interface elements that allow a user to create and/or modify lock configuration files containing key access information for individual locks. The lock associated with each lock configuration file portion can be identified by lock identifier and/or lock alias. Each portion 1006, 1008 identifies keys that have access privileges for a lock by key alias, key type, other identifiers, and/or other lock configuration file properties. In some embodiments, the lock configuration file portions 1006, 1008 include interface elements for deleting key access privileges, adding key access privileges, updating a lock configuration file, and/or other functionality).
In regard to claim 27, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 22, wherein the handheld apparatus is configured to require user authentication prior to accessing the at least one administrative application or the access control application (Kirkjan, Para. 69, The admin application may prompt the user to enter a password associated with the domain file, if any (912). If the password does not match, then the admin application can default to creating a new domain file (908). After creating a domain file or getting a password match, the admin application displays administration options for an access control system (914) and receives input from the user indicating what changes should be made to the domain file and/or lock configuration files).
In regard to claim 33, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 22 wherein the electronic key access information comprises at least one key identifier for each handheld electronic apparatus that has access privileges to the first electronic lock (Kirkjan, Para. 46, the public identifier in the key access information on the lock can be compared with the public identifier sent by the key. In some embodiments, the lock determines whether the private identifier of a key is present in key access information stored in the memory of the lock. In some embodiments, if the private identifier is present in the lock memory, the lock actuates an electronic latch to provide access).
In regard to claim 34, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 21, wherein the public identifier is accessible to a user of the handheld electronic apparatus (Kirkjan, Para. 40, The public identifier of a lock or key can be readily available to a person).
In regard to claim 36, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 21, wherein the access control application is configured to not use buttons to transmit the lock actuation command to the first electronic lock (Hart, Para. 36, In use, the communication device 120 of the present invention delivers power to its antenna, where a current is induced and transmitted to the electronic lock 110, to be received by the at least one antenna. The microprocessor of the electronic lock 110 and the communication device 120 communicate with each other by modulating an established RF field. It is to be understood that the electronic lock and the communication device are preferably remote from each other).
In regard to claim 37, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 21, wherein the at least one wireless interface is configured to communicate via at least one of near-field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, WIFI, 4G, or 5G (Hart, Para. 35, The NFC-enabled communication device 120 acting as the remote power source is preferably a mobile phone (such as those currently produced by Nokia.RTM., BENq.RTM. and Samsung.RTM.), or a phone enabled with MicroSD NFC memory cards).
In regard to claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 21 as stated above.
In regard to claim 47, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 22 as stated above.
In regard to claim 48, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 23 as stated above.
In regard to claim 49, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 24 as stated above.
Claim(s) 26 and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkjan (US 20120086548 A1) in view of Hart et al. (US 20120096909 A1) and further in view of Piccirillo et al. (US 20090256676 A1).
In regard to claim 26, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 22, wherein the at least one administrative application is further configured to: wherein the access control system create and manage at least one of domain configuration files or lock configuration files via the access control system (Kirkjan, Para. 35, the access control system includes an application program for creating a domain file and/or lock configuration files that can be stored on a computer or on electronic keys. In some embodiments, the access control system can be subdivided into domains so that key access information for groups of electronic locks and keys to be managed more efficiently), and synchronize at least a portion of at least one of domain configuration files or lock configuration files between the at least one administrative application and the access control system (Kirkjan, Para. 41, a newly created or reconfigured lock configuration file is transferred to a master key (204). In some embodiments, a user connects the master key to a computer, and the user causes the computer to copy one or more lock configuration files containing the key access information for the domain to a memory on the master key or keys associated with the domain).
Combination of Kirkjan and Hart do not teach wherein the at least one administrative application is further configured to: wirelessly communicate with an access control system, wherein the access control system comprises one or more remote computing systems accessible over a network using an account-based system; wherein the lock configuration files and the domain configuration files are stored on the one or more remote computing systems of the access control system.
However, Piccirillo teaches wherein the at least one administrative application is further configured to: wirelessly communicate with an access control system (Piccirillo, Fig. 1; Para. The database server 20 is configured to manage the database 22, and to transfer information between the administrator microprocessor 18 and the database 22, according to any of the database standards or protocols known in the art. In one embodiment, the database server 20 is implemented on the administrator microprocessor 18, which is housed in a dedicated smart lock system computer), wherein the access control system comprises one or more remote computing systems accessible over a network using an account-based system (Piccirillo, Para. 72, the user interface 24 is a graphical user interface enabled by a web browser and the network 25 is the Internet. Alternatively, the user interface 24 may be a touch-tone or voice activated telephonic interface, a text-based command line interface, or any other means to observe and modify both the information contained within the database 22 and the operation of the administrator microprocessor 18); wherein the lock configuration files and the domain configuration files are stored on the one or more remote computing systems of the access control system (Piccirillo, Para. 71, The database 22 is configured to store information related to a plurality of locks 12 and a plurality of key cards 14 used in the lock system 10. In one embodiment, the lock system 10 includes a plurality of instances used by a plurality of entities having distinct customer identification numbers 66, and the system database 22 stores data associated with a plurality of locks 12 and a plurality of key cards 14 corresponding to each of the plurality of customer identification numbers 66. The database 22 is encrypted to protect the information stored therein. In one embodiment, the database 22 is encrypted by the administrator microprocessor 18 using the activity log key 56 stored only on each of the key cards 14).
Kirkjan, Hart, and Piccirillo are analogous art because they all pertain to access control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wireless communication with Database server (as taught by Piccirillo) resulting in predictable result of providing a wireless network between the locks and the database.
In regard to claim 28, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart do not specifically teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 27, wherein the user authentication for the access control application is biometric authentication.
However the concept of using biometric authentication is well known in the art as also taught by Piccirillo. Piccirillo teaches rather than using an account-and-password validation for the user interface, biometric information may be collected for validation by the user interface (Para. 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known authentication method with another (as taught by Piccirillo) resulting in predictable result of authenticating the user.
In regard to claim 29, Combination of Kirkjan, Hart, and Piccirillo teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 26, wherein the access control application is further configured to send a notification to the access control system indicating a current status of the first electronic lock (Piccirillo, Para. 56, The pending delete file 108 stores a plurality of lock serial numbers 70 and a corresponding plurality of pre-delete dates and times 112 indicating, for each lock serial number 70, the most recent entry of the corresponding lock activity log 60 that has been copied from the card activity log 106 to the database 22. Accordingly, at any given time the card activity log 60 corresponding to each lock serial number 70 should contain only entries having dates and times later than the pre-delete date and time 112 corresponding to the lock serial number 70. In another embodiment (not shown) the card activity log 106 may provide the functionality of the pending delete file 108, by retaining the latest entry of each lock activity log 60 when the card activity log 106 is copied to the database 22).
In regard to claim 30, Combination of Kirkjan, Hart, and Piccirillo teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 26, wherein the at least one administrative application is configured to communicate via text message (Piccirillo, Para. 72, he user interface 24 may be a touch-tone or voice activated telephonic interface, a text-based command line interface, or any other means to observe and modify both the information contained within the database 22 and the operation of the administrator microprocessor 18).
In regard to claim 31, Combination of Kirkjan, Hart, and Piccirillo teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 30, wherein the text message is received by a second electronic apparatus (Piccirillo, Para. 72, he user interface 24 may be a touch-tone or voice activated telephonic interface, a text-based command line interface, or any other means to observe and modify both the information contained within the database 22 and the operation of the administrator microprocessor 18)..
In regard to claim 32, Combination of Kirkjan, Hart, and Piccirillo teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 26, wherein the access control system is further configured to send a notification that an electronic lock is accessible by a second access control application of a second handheld electronic apparatus (Kirkjan, Para. 38, the second domain 122 includes a master key 124 that has administrative privileges for all of the locks 130, 132, 134, 136 in the second domain 122. The second domain 122 also includes slave keys 126, 128 that have access privileges to some of the locks. Keys in the access control system 100 illustrated in FIG. 1 can belong to more than one domain).
Claim(s) 25 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkjan (US 20120086548 A1) in view of Hart et al. (US 20120096909 A1) and further in view of Kuenzi et al. (US 20130257590 A1).
In regard to claim 25, Combination of Kirkjan and Hart do not specifically teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 22, wherein the at least one administrative application is configured to output on a touch screen display of the handheld electronic apparatus.
However the concept of having output one a touch screen display is well known in the art as also taught by Kuenzi. Kuenzi teaches a mobile device 105 may be employed by system 300. As shown, mobile device 105 may include a display screen 170, such as a touch screen, LCD screen or the like, and mobile device 105 may be capable of executing a software application or program that implements functions consistent with this disclosure (Para. 45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a touch screen display (as taught by Kuenzi) resulting in predictable result of outputting information to the user.
In regard to claim 35, Combination of Kirkjan, Hart, and Kuenzi teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 21, wherein the access control application is configured to include at least one virtual button in an access control user interface to receive the lock actuation command from a user, wherein the access control user interface is configured to be output on a touch screen display of the handheld electronic apparatus (Kuenzi, Para. 38, if user 155 subsequently wishes to open lock 230, user 155 may display key bar code 240 on mobile device 105, press only the open button 218 and scan key bar code 240 into image reader 220 to unlock lock 230. In such embodiments, lock control 150 may be configured to recognize key bar code 240 as a virtual key for a specific period of time (e.g., for the length of time that a hotel-guest user 155 has reserved a room) or until key bar code 240 is deactivated as a virtual key for lock 230 (e.g., until user 155 checks out of a hotel and a central control system communicates with lock control 150 to change the key information, which cancels key bar code 240 as a virtual key)).
Claim(s) 38-40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 20120096909 A1) in view of Kirkjan (US 20120086548 A1).
In regard to claim 38, Hart teaches a handheld electronic apparatus (Hart, Fig. 1, The communication device 120; Para. 35, The NFC-enabled communication device 120 acting as the remote power source is preferably a mobile phone (such as those currently produced by Nokia.RTM., BENq.RTM. and Samsung.RTM.), or a phone enabled with MicroSD NFC memory cards) comprising: at least one memory component comprising computer-executable instructions, a rechargeable battery configured to supply energy to components of the apparatus (Hart, Para. 34, The remote power source is preferably a near field communication (NFC) enabled device 120 that is self powered by means of a battery unit (or similar), and capable of building a NFC field in close proximity), one or more electromagnetic radiation sources configured to transmit a wireless signal to one or more an electromagnetic radiation receivers (Hart, Para. 36, the communication device 120 of the present invention delivers power to its antenna, where a current is induced and transmitted to the electronic lock 110, to be received by the at least one antenna), a display (Hart, Para. 77, The communication device can then display the audit trail on its screen and/or transmit the information to another storage location, such as a web site or data base); and at least one processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to execute an access control application, wherein the access control application is configured to: output a user interface on the display (Hart, Para. 77, The communication device can then display the audit trail on its screen and/or transmit the information to another storage location, such as a web site or data base); communicate with a first electronic lock associated with a first electronic key via the one or more electromagnetic radiation sources (Hart, Para. 36, The microprocessor of the electronic lock 110 and the communication device 120 communicate with each other by modulating an established RF field. It is to be understood that the electronic lock and the communication device are preferably remote from each other. That is, the power delivered from the communication device to the electronic lock is remotely (wirelessly) delivered), transmit a lock actuation command to the first electronic lock (Hart, Para. 36, the communication device 120 of the present invention delivers power to its antenna, where a current is induced and transmitted to the electronic lock 110, to be received by the at least one antenna); transmit first authentication data associated with at least one private identifier or public identifier stored in the at least one memory component (Hart, Para. 37, an authentication exchange then takes place between the communication device 120 and the electronic lock 110. The microprocessor of the electronic lock 110 controls a solenoid or other actuating mechanism, such as a DC motor, to actuate (engage/disengage) the locking member; Para. 67-69, The electronic lock then receives the public key of the communication device and validates that it was correctly signed with the CCKMS private key. The lock subsequently prepares a symmetric encryption key and a unique identifying number for the communication device, encrypts the key and number with the public key of the communication device, and then transmits it to the communication device. The communication device decrypts the symmetric key and unique identifying number using its private key. The symmetric key is then used to generate a One Time Password and transmits that to the electronic lock with the unique identifying number of the communication device. Finally, the electronic lock internally looks up the identifying number, the access control list and the unique symmetric key for that device. Once the One Time Password provided is validated, the locking member may be actuated); wherein, in response to authentication of the first electronic key, the first electronic lock is configured to actuate a lock mechanism of the first electronic lock in accordance with the lock actuation command (Hart, Para. 37, an authentication exchange then takes place between the communication device 120 and the electronic lock 110. The microprocessor of the electronic lock 110 controls a solenoid or other actuating mechanism, such as a DC motor, to actuate (engage/disengage) the locking member).
Hart does not specifically teach at least one key identifier linked to a corresponding key alias, and at least one lock identifier linked to a corresponding lock alias; wherein the first electronic lock is associated with the at least one lock identifier and the first electronic key is associated with the at least one key identifier; and authenticate the first electronic key with the first electronic lock based at least in part on the first authentication data and second authentication data stored in memory on the electronic lock.
However Kirkjan teaches at least one key identifier linked to a corresponding key alias, and at least one lock identifier linked to a corresponding lock alias (Kirkjan, Fig. 10; Para. 40, The public identifier of a lock or key can be readily available to a person. For example, the public identifier can be printed on the lock or key, or it may be visible in some other way. The key access information for a lock can be stored, for example, in a lock configuration file. In some embodiments, a domain file links the lock configuration file to a lock (for example, to an alias of the lock) and associates one or more keys with a user name or alias. The admin application can be configured to translate or interpret lock aliases and key aliases into identifiers associated with the locks and keys, respectively); wherein the first electronic lock is associated with the at least one lock identifier and the first electronic key is associated with the at least one key identifier (Kirkjan, Para. 47, locks are programmed during manufacturing with an identifier (such as, for example, a public identifier). Master keys and slave keys can be programmed during manufacturing with a public identifier and a private identifier); and authenticate the first electronic key with the first electronic lock based at least in part on the first authentication data and second authentication data stored in memory on the electronic lock (Kirkjan, Para. 46, after collecting private identifiers from the keys in the domain, the lock is set up to provide access when one of the master or slave keys is inserted into the lock (210). For example, the public identifier in the key access information on the lock can be compared with the public identifier sent by the key. In some embodiments, the lock determines whether the private identifier of a key is present in key access information stored in the memory of the lock).
Hart and Kirkjan are analogous art because they both pertain to electronic locking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use authentication process (as taught by Kirkjan) resulting in predictable result of authenticating the device before providing access.
In regard to claim 39, Combination of Hart and Kirkjan teach the handheld electronic apparatus of claim 38 further comprising computer- executable instructions that configure the at least one processor to execute at least one administrative application configured to: manage access of at least one electronic lock and at least one electronic key for at least one domain via a management user interface; and manage electronic key access information for the at least one electronic lock comprising at least one lock identifier and at least one key identifier (Kirkjan, Para. 69, the admin application displays administration options for an access control system (914) and receives input from the user indicating what changes should be made to the domain file and/or lock configuration files. The changes can include, for example, assigning or editing locks in the domain (919), editing keys (such as, for example, slave keys or master keys) or key users in the domain (918) and other domain-specific key access information such as linking a public key identifier to a key user's alias name (918) and a lock identifier to a lock's alias name (919). In some embodiments, the domain file is a file that enables the admin application to manage and to link the lock configuration files for each lock (920). The lock configuration files contain key access information for each lock that determines what keys have access privileges for locks in the domain), wherein the at least one administrative application is configured to require user authentication prior to modification of at least one domain file stored on the handheld electronic apparatus, at least one lock configuration file handheld electronic apparatus, or access to the at least one administrative application (Kirkjan, Para. 69, The admin application may prompt the user to enter a password associated with the domain file, if any (912). If the password does not match, then the admin application can default to creating a new domain file (908). After creating a domain file or getting a password match, the admin application displays administration options for an access control system (914) and receives input from the user indicating what changes should be made to the domain file and/or lock configuration files).
In regard to claim 40, Combination of Hart and Kirkjan teach the handheld electronic apparatus of claim 38, wherein at least one of the one or more electromagnetic radiation sources are configured to communicate via near-field communication or Bluetooth with the first electronic lock (Hart, Para. 35, The NFC-enabled communication device 120 acting as the remote power source is preferably a mobile phone (such as those currently produced by Nokia.RTM., BENq.RTM. and Samsung.RTM.), or a phone enabled with MicroSD NFC memory cards).
In regard to claim 42, Combination of Hart and Kirkjan teach the handheld electronic apparatus of claim 38, wherein the one or more electromagnetic radiation sources are configured to transmit a wireless digital data signal (Hart, Para. 37, an authentication exchange then takes place between the communication device 120 and the electronic lock 110) and a wireless power signal to an electromagnetic radiation receiver of the first electronic lock (Hart, Para. 36, In use, the communication device 120 of the present invention delivers power to its antenna, where a current is induced and transmitted to the electronic lock 110, to be received by the at least one antenna. The microprocessor of the electronic lock 110 and the communication device 120 communicate with each other by modulating an established RF field. It is to be understood that the electronic lock and the communication device are preferably remote from each other. That is, the power delivered from the communication device to the electronic lock is remotely (wirelessly) delivered), the digital data signal comprising the first authentication data (Hart, Para. 55-56, the authentication process is based on the concept of public/private keys) and the wireless power signal configured to provide power to the electronic lock sufficient to actuate a lock mechanism within the first electronic lock between a locked state and an unlocked state (Hart, Para. 28, The electronic lock 110 further preferably includes at least one antenna, capable of drawing power transmitted from a remote power source, such as a near field communication device 120. The antenna is preferably a 13.56 MHz (or higher) compact antenna; Para. 38, The actuating mechanism draws its power from one or more capacitors associated with the at least one antenna within the electronic lock 110, which is received from the RF field remotely generated by the remote power source; Para. 47, The at least one antenna may also preferably include an adjustable regulator circuit to assist in the prevention of voltage drop and power loss, providing constant voltage over the required time to actuate the locking member).
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 20120096909 A1) in view of Kirkjan (US 20120086548 A1) and further in view of Piccirillo et al. (US 20090256676 A1).
In regard to claim 41, Combination of Hart and Kirkjan teach the handheld electronic apparatus of claim 39 further comprising computer- executable instructions that configure the at least one processor to wirelessly communicate and synchronize at least a portion of the key access information with a second handheld apparatus (Kirkjan, Para. 41, a newly created or reconfigured lock configuration file is transferred to a master key (204). In some embodiments, a user connects the master key to a computer, and the user causes the computer to copy one or more lock configuration files containing the key access information for the domain to a memory on the master key or keys associated with the domain).
Combination of Hart and Kirkjan do not specifically teach wirelessly communicate and synchronize at least a portion of the key access information with a second handheld apparatus.
However, Piccirillo teaches wirelessly communicate with an access control system (Piccirillo, Fig. 1; Para. The database server 20 is configured to manage the database 22, and to transfer information between the administrator microprocessor 18 and the database 22, according to any of the database standards or protocols known in the art. In one embodiment, the database server 20 is implemented on the administrator microprocessor 18, which is housed in a dedicated smart lock system computer),
Kirkjan, Hart, and Piccirillo are analogous art because they all pertain to access control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wireless communication with a second device (as taught by Piccirillo) resulting in predictable result of providing a wireless network between the locks and the database.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and above mentioned 112 rejection is resolved.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 43-45, Hart teaches the at least one antenna may also preferably include an adjustable regulator circuit to assist in the prevention of voltage drop and power loss, providing constant voltage over the required time to actuate the locking member (Para. 47) but does not teach the limitation of claims 43-45. Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claim limitations.
Conclusion
/SHARMIN AKHTER/
Examiner, Art Unit 2689