DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
In particular, Specification, para. [0027], discloses “existing efforts have attempted to develop various automated pipelines to synthesize large datasets. Specifically, most methods first use large language models (LLMs) to modify the text descriptions of original images. The original images and modified texts are then input into various pre-trained diffusion models to automatically generate edited images. FIG. 1 illustrates an example schematic for generating 100 an edited image by using LLM.” Accordingly, FIG. 1 is illustrating an existing effort of using LLM to generate edited images, and should be labeled as Prior Art.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 14, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. 20240331235 A1 to Smock et al. in view of Zhang (Zhang et al., MAGICBRUSH: A Manually Annotated Dataset for Instruction-Guided Image Editing).
Regarding claim 1, Smock discloses A method comprising:
obtaining a model input comprising an original image and an editing instruction (Smock, FIG. 2, showing a model input including input image 202 and natural language text to edit the image 204); and
determining a model output by inputting the model input into a trained editing model (Smock, FIG. 2, showing output molecular image 206 as a model output by inputting the model input into machine learning model 104 as a trained editing model),
wherein the model output comprises an edited image corresponding to the model input (Smock, FIG. 2, showing the output molecular image 206 comprises an edited image corresponding to the model input (the hydroxyl group being removed)),
wherein the trained editing model is determined based on a training dataset comprising a plurality of positive and negative sample pairs (Smock, para. [0047], disclosing an architecture 400 of a machine learning model that generates molecular images in response to natural language text, including modification of existing images using natural language input, para. [0048], disclosing the machine learning model can be a specifically-trained pair-wise language model, para. [0049], disclosing the architecture 400 includes a text encoder 402, para. [0054], disclosing the text encoder 402 may be trained with Contrastive Language-Image Pre-Training (CLIP), para. [0055], disclosing the CLIP model is trained on a large-scale dataset of image-text pairs and learned to predict whether a given image and text snippet belong to the same concept or not, the pretraining process of CLIP involves training the model on a large dataset of image-text pairs, using a contrastive loss, function, and the contrastive learning involves contrasting positive pairs of image-text inputs with negative pairs, indicating the positive pair can correspond to image-text snippet belong to the same concept, and negative pair can correspond to image-text snippet do not belong to the same concept), wherein a positive sample in a positive and negative sample pair comprises a right instruction, and edited sample data, and wherein a negative sample in the positive and negative sample pair comprises a wrong instruction, and the edited sample data (Smock, para. [0055], disclosing the CLIP model is trained on a large-scale dataset of image-text pairs and learned to predict whether a given image and text snippet belong to the same concept or not, the pretraining process of CLIP involves training the model on a large dataset of image-text pairs, using a contrastive loss, function, and the contrastive learning involves contrasting positive pairs of image-text inputs with negative pairs, indicating the positive pair can correspond to image-text snippet belong to the same concept (text snippet corresponding to the right instruction, and the image corresponding to the edited sample data), and negative pair can correspond to image-text snippet do not belong to the same concept (text snippet corresponding to the wrong instruction, and the image corresponding to the edited sample data)).
However, Smock does not expressly disclose wherein a positive sample in a positive and negative sample pair comprises original sample data, and wherein a negative sample in the positive and negative sample pair comprises the original sample data.
On the other hand, Zhang discloses samples in a training dataset comprises original sample data, an instruction, and edited sample data (Zhang, Figure 1, showing annotated real image editing triplets (source image, instruction, target image). Because Smock discloses a training dataset including positive and negative pairs, combining Smock and Zhang could allow the positive/negative pairs including source image as the original sample data, right/wrong instruction, target image as the edited sample data. Therefore, Smock in view of Zhang would teach a training dataset comprising a plurality of positive and negative sample pairs wherein a positive sample in a positive and negative sample pair comprises original sample data, a right instruction, and edited sample data, and wherein a negative sample in the positive and negative sample pair comprises the original sample data, a wrong instruction, and the edited sample data.
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock and Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide training dataset for instruction -guided real image editing to produce better images according to human evaluation, as suggested by Zhang (see Zhang, Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Smock in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the right instruction is determined for a pair of the original sample data and the edited sample data by using a vision-language model (Smock, para. [0054], disclosing Contrastive Language-Image Pre-Training (CLIP), which is a type of neural network architecture that is capable of learning a joint representation of images and text, para. [0055], disclosing the CLIP model is trained to predict whether a given image and text snippet belong to the same concept or not, Zhang, Figure 1, showing annotated real image editing triplets (source image, instruction, target image), p. 6, 1st para., disclosing using different models including VQGAN-CLIP, HIVE, InstructPix2Pix, etc. to generate training set according to baseline requirements of global and local descriptions, indicating combining Smock and Zhang could use the models such as CLIP can be a vision-language model to determine the right instruction (the text snippet belong to the same concept with the source image(original sample data) and target image (edited sample data)). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock and Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide training dataset for instruction -guided real image editing to produce better images according to human evaluation, as suggested by Zhang (see Zhang, Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Smock in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the vision-language model is selected from a plurality of candidate vision-language models based on model capability for image understanding (Smock, para. [0054], disclosing Contrastive Language-Image Pre-Training (CLIP), which is a type of neural network architecture that is capable of learning a joint representation of images and text, para. [0055], disclosing the CLIP model is trained to predict whether a given image and text snippet belong to the same concept or not, Zhang, Figure 1, showing annotated real image editing triplets (source image, instruction, target image), p. 6, 1st para., disclosing using different models including VQGAN-CLIP, HIVE, InstructPix2Pix, etc. to generate training set according to baseline requirements of global and local descriptions, 2nd para., disclosing evaluation metrics for text-image alignment between local descriptions and generated images CLIP embeddings, indicating one of the models as a vision-language model can be selected based on model capability for image understanding for global and local descriptions (text-image alignment between local descriptions and generated images CLIP embeddings can indicate the model’s capability for image understanding to align the text and image)). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock and Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide training dataset for instruction -guided real image editing to produce better images according to human evaluation, as suggested by Zhang (see Zhang, Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Smock in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: inputting the original image into a variational autoencoder to determine a latent representation of the original image (Smock, para. [0057], disclosing an image encoder receives input contains a molecular image combined with natural language text and generates an image embedding in a latent space, para. [0058], disclosing the image encoder takes an input image and output a lower-dimensional representation of the image, para. [0070], disclosing an autoencoder creates a compressed representation of an input molecular image, called the latent representation, which can then be used to generate new images); and inputting the editing instruction and the latent representation into the trained editing model to obtain the model output (Smock, para. [0071], disclosing the input image and text pair passed through the diffusion model consisting of the text encoder and the image encoder, the diffusion model maps these embeddings into the latent representation 412, using a projection head, which consists of one or more fully connected layers. The latent revision 412 is then interpreted by image decoder 414 to generate an output molecular image).
Regarding claim 10, it recites similar limitations of claim 1 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 10. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 14, it recites similar limitations of claim 5 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 5 rejection is applied to reject claim 14. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 15, it recites similar limitations of claim 6 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 6 rejection is applied to reject claim 15. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 18, it recites similar limitations of claim 9 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 9 rejection is applied to reject claim 18. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 19, it recites similar limitations of claim 1 but in a non-transitory computer readable medium form. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 19. In addition, Smock discloses non-transitory computer readable medium (Smock, para. [0076], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 20, it recites similar limitations of claim 9 but in a non-transitory computer readable medium form. The rationale of claim 9 rejection is applied to reject claim 20. In addition, Smock discloses non-transitory computer readable medium (Smock, para. [0076], FIG. 5).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smock in view of Zhang as applied to claim(s) 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 118333125 A to Yuan et al.
Regarding claim 2, Smock in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1. However, Smock or Zhang does not expressly disclose further comprising: obtaining the trained editing model which is determined by the following: determining a positive noise and a negative noise based on the positive and negative sample pair; determining a training loss based on the positive noise and the negative noise; and determining the trained editing model based on the training loss.
On the other hand, Yuan discloses obtaining the trained editing model which is determined by the following: determining a positive noise and a negative noise based on the positive and negative sample pair (Yuan, Translation, para. [n0004], disclosing adding noise to each positive sample and each negative sample through the diffusion process of the fine-tined model, and predicting and removing the noise added to each positive sample and each negative sample during the diffusion process through the reverse diffusion process of the fine-tuned model, indicating the added noise and the predicted noise to the positive/negative sample can correspond to the positive/negative noise determined based on the positive sample and the negative sample as the positive and negative sample pair); determining a training loss based on the positive noise and the negative noise (Yuan, Translation, para. [n0004], disclosing calculating the matching loss of each positive sample based on the added noise and the predicted noise corresponding to each positive sample, and calculating the non-matching loss of each negative sample based on the added noise and the predicted noise corresponding to each negative sample, indicating the matching loss and the non-matching loss can correspond to a training loss determined based on the added noise and the predicted noise corresponding to each positive sample (positive noise) and the added noise and the predicted noise corresponding to each negative sample (negative noise)); and determining the trained editing model based on the training loss (Yuan, Translation, para. [n0004], disclosing optimizing the model parameters of the fine-tuned model based on the matching loss of each positive sample and the non-matching loss of each negative sample to complete the fine-tuning training of the fine-tuned model).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock in view of Zhang with Yuan. The suggestion/motivation would have been for fine-tuning an image generation model, as suggested by Yuan (see Yuan, Translation, para. [n0004]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Smock, Zhang, and Yuan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the training loss comprises: a first loss associated with the positive noise, and a second loss for contrastive supervision (Yuan, Translation, para. [n0004], disclosing calculating the matching loss of each positive sample based on the added noise and the predicted noise corresponding to each positive sample, and calculating the non-matching loss of each negative sample based on the added noise and the predicted noise corresponding to each negative sample, indicating the matching loss can correspond to a first loss associated with the positive noise, and the non-matching loss can correspond to a second loss for contrastive supervision). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock in view of Zhang with Yuan. The suggestion/motivation would have been for fine-tuning an image generation model, as suggested by Yuan (see Yuan, Translation, para. [n0004]).
Regarding claim 11, it recites similar limitations of claim 2 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 11. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 12, it recites similar limitations of claim 3 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 12. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smock in view of Zhang as applied to claim(s) 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Pernus (Pernus et al., FICE: Text-conditioned fashion-image editing with guided GAN inversion).
Regarding claim 7, Smock in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1. However, Smock or Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein for a generation from the original sample data to the edited sample data, image layout and background are generated in an early stage, local object attributes are focused in a mid stage, and image details are focused in a later stage, with style changes throughout each of the early, mid, and later stages.
On the other hand, Pernus discloses wherein for a generation from the original sample data to the edited sample data, image layout and background are generated in an early stage, local object attributes are focused in a mid stage, and image details are focused in a later stage, with style changes throughout each of the early, mid, and later stages (Pernus, Fig. 2, showing initialization stage has image layout and background generated, the optimization stage has local object attributes being focused (pose, head, and clothes style), and the image stitching stage focused on image details (the head as in original image and the clothes as in the generated image), the style changes throughout each stages, the initialization stage has the style of the original clothes, the optimization stage has the generated style, and the image stitching stage has the combined style).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock in view of Zhang with Pernus. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a text-conditioned editing model that is capable of handling a wide variety of diverse text descriptions to guide the editing procedure, as suggested by Pernus (see Pernus, Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, it recites similar limitations of claim 7 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 7 rejection is applied to reject claim 16. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smock in view of Zhang as applied to claim(s) 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Brooks (Brooks et al., InstructPix2Pix: Learning to Follow Image Editing Instructions).
Regarding claim 8, Smock in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1. However, Smock or Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the wrong instruction is determined by a replacement of at least one phrase within the right instruction: quantities, spatial locations, or objects.
On the other hand, Brooks discloses wherein one instruction is determined by a replacement of at least one phrase within another instruction: quantities, spatial locations, or objects (Brooks, Figure 5, showing various instructions for editing the input image, one instruction can be determined by replacement of at least one phrase within another instruction: the objects (painting to sculpture) as the instruction “make it a Miro Painting” can be the replaced instruction for the edited image corresponding to the instruction “make it an Egyptian sculpture”, Figure 7, showing the instruction can be the replaced instruction by replacement of at least one phrase within the other instruction: the location (Paris vs. Hong Kong vs. Manhattan, vs. Prague) as the instruction “make it Paris” can be the replaced instruction for the edited image corresponding to the instruction “make it Hong Kong”). Because Zhang discloses modifying textural instructions for qualified target images as the result of image editing (see Zhang, p. 5, 2nd para.), indicating the right/wrong instruction can be respectively obtained by modifying the wrong/right instruction, combining Smock in view of Zhang with Brooks could suggest the wrong instruction for an edited image can be determined by a replacement of at least one phrase within the right instruction: spatial locations, or objects.
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock and Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide training dataset for instruction -guided real image editing to produce better images according to human evaluation, as suggested by Zhang (see Zhang, Abstract). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Smock in view of Zhang with Brooks. The suggestion/motivation would have been to perform many challenging edits, including replacing objects, changing seasons and weather, replacing backgrounds, modifying material attributes, converting artistic medium, and a variety of others, as suggested by Brooks (see Brooks, p. 5, Sec. 4, 1st para.).
Regarding claim 17, it recites similar limitations of claim 8 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 8 rejection is applied to reject claim 17. In addition, Smock discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions (Smock, paras. [0073] and [0076], FIG. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, none of the prior art references on the record, alone or in combination, discloses wherein the second loss is determined based on: a first distance between the positive noise and a true noise, and a second distance between the negative noise and the true noise.
Claim 13 recites similar limitations discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240303882 A1 to Zhang et al., discloses a feedback based instructional image editing framework that employs a diffusion process to follow user instruction for image editing.
/HAIXIA DU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611