DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the election/restriction response filed on 07/27/2026. Claims 19-37 are pending. Claims 19 and 37 are independent. Claim 37 has been withdrawn from consideration by the applicant. Claim 28 is withdrawn by the examiner for the reason(s) stated below
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 19-36) and Species A (Figures 6-9) in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 37 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/27/2026.
Applicant indicated the claims 19-36 are readable on the elected species. However, claim 28 is not readable on the elected species (Species A, Figs. 6-9) by reciting “the at least one biocompatible film is provided with a precut line, the precut line being substantially aligned on the slit.” Instead, it is directed to the non-elected species, Species B (Figure 12). Therefore claim 28 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19, line 7, the limitation “the implantable surgical mesh” should be amended to --the surgical mesh-- to be consistent with the other claim limitations in claim 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the edge" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 21, 23, 25-27, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paul (US Pub. No.: 2012/0259348).
Regarding claims 19, 21, 23, 25-27, and 36, Paul discloses [claim 19] a device comprising: a surgical mesh (102, Figs 2 or 5 and Fig. 3) having a barbed face (106, Fig. 3 and Para. [0041]) defining a longitudinal axis between a first end and an opposite second end (Fig. 1), the surgical mesh configured to be implanted into a patient; at least one biocompatible film (302, Fig. 3 and Para. [0044]) shaped and dimensioned to cover a majority of barbs (304, Fig. 3) on the barbed face while leaving a portion of barbs uncovered on at least one of the first end or second end of the barbed face (Fig. 3 and Para. [0044]), the at least one biocompatible film being configured to be detached from the implantable surgical mesh and removed from the patient after the surgical mesh is correctly positioned in the patient (Para. [0044]-[0046]); [claim 21] wherein the at least one biocompatible film is made from biodegradable materials only (Para. [0044]-[0046]); [claim 23] wherein the at least one biocompatible film is shaped and dimensioned to leave portions of barbs uncovered on both the first end and the second end of the barbed face (Para. [0044]-[0046], the at least one biocompatible film is shaped and dimensioned to leave portions of barbs uncovered on both the first end and the second end of the barbed face once it is dissolved); [claim 25] wherein the surgical mesh includes a slit (Paras. [0037], [0005], and [0006] and Figs. 2 or 5) for allowing the passage of the spermatic cord; [claim 26] wherein the surgical mesh further includes a flap (202, Fig. 2 or 5), extending from the edge of the slit, the flap being intended to close the surgical mesh around the spermatic cord once the surgical mesh is implanted; [claim 27] wherein the at least one biocompatible film shows a flexibility allowing it to be folded to pass through the slit once the at least one biocompatible film is detached from the surgical mesh (Para. [0047], the at least one biocompatible film shows a flexibility which is fully capable to allow it to be folded to pass through the slit once the at least one biocompatible film is detached from the surgical mesh since as by physically cutting a portion of the film or mesh with film to fold it to pass through the slit); [claim 36] wherein the mesh has a globally oval shape (Fig. 2 or 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul (US Pub. No.: 2012/0259348) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Lecuivre et al. (US Pub. No.: 2014/0330295).
Regarding claim 20, Paul discloses all the limitations of claim 19 as taught above but fails to disclose that the at least one biocompatible film is non-porous.
Lecuivre teaches, in the same field of endeavor (surgical device with a coating), at least one biocompatible film (7, Fig. 9C) for covering barbs is non-porous (Paras. [0120] and [0121]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least one biocompatible film of Paul to be non-porous as taught by Lecuivre in order to maintain its integrity before its introducing into the delivery device (Lecuivre, Para. [0065]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul (US Pub. No.: 2012/0259348) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Roby et al. (US Pat. No.: 6,235,869).
Regarding claim 22, Paul discloses all the limitations of claim 19 and further discloses that the film is obtained via lamination (Para. [0046] and Fig. 3). However, Paul does not disclose that the material for forming the film is poly(glycolide-caprolactone-lactide-trimethylene carbonate).
Roby teaches, in the same field of endeavor (coating film for surgical articles), a coating film for a surgical article is formed of poly(glycolide-caprolactone-lactide-trimethylene carbonate) (see Abstract and Col. 2, line 58 – Col. 3, line 42).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least one biocompatible film of Paul to be formed of poly(glycolide-caprolactone-lactide-trimethylene carbonate) as taught by Roby, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul (US Pub. No.: 2012/0259348).
Regarding claim 24, Paul discloses all the limitations of claim 19 as taught above but fails to disclose that the film has a thickness ranging from about 15 microns to about 25 microns.
However, Paul discloses that the thickness can be 1.5 to 1.2 mm and other thickness can be used.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the thickness of the film to be ranging from about 15 microns to about 25 microns in order to accommodate different size of the barbs or naps, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140257517 A1 Deichmann; Thorsten et al. discloses a surgical implant having a mesh and barbed face.
US 20210085442 A1 Felder; John discloses a surgical implant having a mesh and barbed face.
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771