DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The application contains claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-20, 22-25, all examined and rejected.
Response to Amendment
It is acknowledged that claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 1, 20, 23 and 24 were amended. Claims 5, 13 and 21 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-20, 22-25 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12737425. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitation from 12737425 fully anticipate the claims from the instant Application see mapping below.
Instant Application 19/038072
U.S. Patent No. 12737425
Claims 1, 9 and 17 recite:
… generating a query vector based at least in part on a query received from a client computing device;
generating a user account vector different from the query vector, wherein the user account vector is generated based at least in part on a user account associated with the client computing device;
generating a combined vector by concatenating the query vector and the user account vector;
generating an output vector based at least in part on the combined vector, wherein the output vector is generated by processing the combined vector using a transformer-based large language model (LLM);
obtaining, based at least in part on the query, a plurality of item vectors, wherein each item vector of the plurality of item vectors corresponds to a respective item;
comparing the output vector to the plurality of item vectors to generate respective similarity scores;
ordering the plurality of item vectors in accordance with the similarity scores to establish an ordered plurality of item vectors;
and causing the client computing device to display, in accordance with the ordered plurality of item vectors, respective affordances for a plurality of items that correspond to the ordered plurality of item vectors.
Claim 1 recite: receiving a query, wherein the query is associated with a user account, and the user account is associated with a user account vector;
generating a query vector based at least in part on the query;
(from above and claim 4): a user account vector… the user account vector is generated based at least in part on… the user account
(from claim 5): concatenating the query vector to the user account vector
generating an output vector based at least in part on the query vector and the user account vector; (from claim 6): output vector is generated based at least in part on the query vector and the user account vector using a transformer-based large language model (LLM)
obtaining, based at least in part on the query, a plurality of digital asset vectors, wherein each digital asset vector of the plurality of digital asset vectors corresponds to a respective digital asset;
comparing the output vector to the plurality of digital asset vectors to generate respective similarity scores for the plurality of digital asset vectors;
filtering the plurality of digital asset vectors in accordance with the similarity scores to establish a filtered plurality of digital asset vectors;
and displaying, in accordance with the filtered plurality of digital asset vectors, respective affordances for the respective digital assets that correspond to the filtered plurality of digital asset vectors.
The corresponding dependent claims are rejected for the sabe reasons above as they depend on rejected independent claims 1, 9 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pastor et al. (US 20190294690 A1) in view of Doddapaneni et al. "User embedding model for personalized language prompting." 10 Jan 2024), Heitz et al. (US 20120290621 A1) and Arora et al. (US 20210241343 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pastor discloses:
a method for performing searches, the method comprising, by a server computing device: generating a query vector based at least in part on a query received from a client computing device, generating a user account vector different from the query vector, wherein the user account vector is generated based at least in part on a user account associated with the client computing device; generating a combined vector by concatenating the query vector and the user account vector; generating an output vector based at least in part on the combined vector, wherein the output vector is generated by processing the combined vector using a transformer-based large language model (LLM), at least by (paragraph [0150] where the taste vector associated with the user identifier is the recited user account is associated with a user account vector, paragraph [0153] further describes receiving “suggestion characteristic data 232 of the playlist character suggestions 230 that have been selected by the user” and paragraph [0154] describes representing the suggestion characteristic data as the seed vector, as shown above, the seed vector represents user selected playlist that the user is requested suggestions for (query) and also the user’s taste vector associated with the user account, so at very least, the seed vector represents the output vector where the seed vector represents the combination of user’s request and user account preferences, which is used to identify and recommend media content items based on the similar vectors. However, Pastor does not: (a) generating a query vector… (b) generating a user account vector different from the query vector… (c) generating a combined vector by concatenating the query vector and the user account vector; (d) and the seed vector is not generating an output vector based at least in part on the combined vector …generated by processing the combined vector using a transformer-based large language model (LLM);
obtaining, based at least in part on the query, a plurality of item vectors, wherein each item vector of the plurality of item vectors corresponds to a respective item, at least by (paragraph [0156] “vectors for other media content items… corresponding vectors include vectors that represent different types of data elements”)
comparing the output vector to the plurality of item vectors to generate respective similarity scores, at least by (paragraph [0156-0158] “compare the seed vector with other corresponding vectors… determines vectors that are similar to the seed vector… similarity or comparison measurement can be used to compare two vectors”; where the similarity or comparison measurement is the generated respective similarity scores)
at least by (paragraph [0159] “determines media content items based on the similar vectors”
and causing the client computing device to display, in accordance with the at least by (paragraph [0159-0160] “Once one or more similar vectors are identified at the operation 438, at least some of the media content items associated with the similar vectors can be identified and determined as recommended media content items for the current playlist…update the current playlist with at least one of the recommended media content items.”)
Pastor also fails to specifically describe: (e) ordering the plurality of item vectors, and displaying ordered items corresponding to the ordering of the item vectors
However, Doddapaneni teaches the above limitation(s):
(a) at least by (Sec. 2, “given a task instruction X, the LM embeds these tokens to a matrix Xe ∈ Rn× e” therefore the query/input is converted to an embedding representation (e.g. query vector)
(b) at least by (Sec. 2, “textual user history H = {hi}p i=1 is converted into embeddings U = {ui}p i=1 with SentenceT5 (Ni et al., 2022). Each history item ui is a composite of three distinct embeddings: (i) title & genre, (ii) rating, and (iii) description. The collective history of ‘p’ items is expressed as U ∈ Rp×3s, where s corresponds to the embedding dimension of SentenceT5. These embeddings undergo processing within a transformer network (UEM). To ensure dimension alignment with e, a linear projection layer is intro duced atop the transformer, mapping the dimension 3s to e, thereby yielding PrUEM(U) ∈ Rp× e” which describes user-history embedding U are processed by transformer UEM yielding PrUEM(U) (e.g. user history vector different from the query vector) (not user account vector)
(c) at least by (Sec. 2 “user and task prompts are concatenated with the input embedding, resulting in a unified embedding matrix, represented as [Pe; PrUEM(U);Xe] ∈ R(k+p+n)× e.”
(d) at least by (Sec. 2 futher describing after concatenation, “This composite embedding flows through the LM”, to produce Y)
And, Heitz teaches the above limitation (e) at least by (paragraph [0062-0063] “Using the resulting vectors (embeddings) in the embedding space, for a given input, it is possible to rank possible outputs of interest such that the highest-ranked outputs are the best semantic match for the given input. For example, the following ranking functions, f.sub.i(x), identify, for a given seed track, a number of songs that are similar to the seed track, and a number of artists who are similar to the artist who performed the seed track… ranked list of desired results (e.g., a ranked list of audio tracks that have auditory features that are similar to an auditory feature of a seed track”)
Furthermore, Arora teaches the modification from user history vectors to user account vectors at least by paragraph [0105] further describes generated “user embedding h.sub.u” where paragraph [0107-0110] further describes deep learning model generates “user embeddings 725” where the inference engine obtains the user embedding using a user identifier (user account) therefore the user embedding is the user account embedding
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seed vector of Pastor with Doddapaneni and Arora to provide the ability to generate the seed vector by using an LLM to process the concatenated query and user history/account embeddings to “handle significantly larger histories compared to traditional text-based approaches, resulting in improved predictive performance” (Doddapaneni, Sec. 5) and to “provide[ing] personalized recommendations through large-scale deep-embedding architecture” (Arora, para. 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Pastor with Heitz to provide a ranked list of audio tracks based on similarity calculations provided by Heitz to improve the user’s ability to access to more relevant content by “improv[ing] the sequencing of the playlist”, (Heitz, 0046).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Pastor further describes:
wherein the query comprises text content, image content, audio content, video content, or some combination thereof, at least by (paragraph [0090-0091, 0105] describes text content as “user can describe the playlist with a playlist title”, “words or phrases”; paragraph [0106] describes audio content as “media content attribute description 240 can include item description information and acoustic attribute information… identifies one or more media content item” therefore describes some combination of text and audio content, that are included into the suggestion characteristic data that forms the seed vector).
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Pastor further describes:
wherein the query vector is generated based at least in part on the query at least by (paragraph [0154] describes representing the suggestion characteristic data as the seed vector (e.g. query vector)
But Pastor and Heitz fails to specifically recite using a transformer-based large language model (LLM) to generate the vector
However, Doddapaneni teaches the above limitation(s) at least by (Sec. 2, “given a task instruction X, the LM embeds these tokens to a matrix Xe ∈ Rn× e” therefore the query/input is converted to an embedding representation (e.g. query vector)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seed vector of Pastor with Doddapaneni to provide the ability to generate the seed vector by using an LLM to process the concatenated query and user history/account embeddings to “handle significantly larger histories compared to traditional text-based approaches, resulting in improved predictive performance” (Doddapaneni, Sec. 5).
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Pastor further describes:
wherein the user account vector is generated based at least in part on: a first set item vectors that correspond to items marked as favorites under the user account, at least by (paragraph [0078] which describes description vectors that represent metadata representing “lists of favorite songs”)
a second set of item vectors that correspond to Decisions included in a library of items associated with the user account, at least by (paragraph [0150-0151] describes vectors that represent user preferences and tastes)
a third set of item vectors that correspond to items accessed by the user account within a first threshold period of time, paragraph [0150] describes a taste vector associated with user identifier that the represents the user’s “long term” tasted which describes a first threshold period of time.
and a fourth set of query vectors that correspond to queries provided in association with the user account within a second threshold period of time, at least by (paragraph [0150] “the taste vector can define the user's real-time listening taste.” where real-time describes a second threshold period of time)
As per claim(s) 5, 13 and 21, canceled.
As per claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and Pastor further describes:
wherein, and the transformer-based LLM implements a set of fully connected layers and a set of input normalization layers,at least by (paragraph [0154] the seed vector is the generated output vector based on the combined vector)
But Pastor and Heitz fails to specifically recite
However, Doddapaneni teaches the above limitation(s) at least by (Fig. 1 which describes the multi-head attention (e.g. fully connected layers) with Add & Norm (e.g. a set of input normalization layers, Sec. 3 further describes “3 transformer layers with 12 attention heads, 768d embeddings, and 2048d MLP layers”)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seed vector of Pastor with Doddapaneni to provide the ability to generate the seed vector by using an LLM to process the concatenated query and user history/account embeddings to “handle significantly larger histories compared to traditional text-based approaches, resulting in improved predictive performance” (Doddapaneni, Sec. 5).
As per claim 25, claim 1 is incorporated and Pastor further describes:
wherein the output vector includes novel generative content as a result of processing the combined vector using the transformer-based LLM, at least by (paragraph [0154] describes representing the suggestion characteristic data as the seed vector, as the out put vector) but fails to describe the output vector being from processing the combined vector using the transformer-based LLM,
However, Doddapaneni describes the above limitation at least by (Sec. 2 futher describing after concatenation, “This composite embedding flows through the LM”, to produce Y)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seed vector of Pastor with Doddapaneni to provide the ability to generate the seed vector by using an LLM to process the concatenated query and user history/account embeddings to “handle significantly larger histories compared to traditional text-based approaches, resulting in improved predictive performance” (Doddapaneni, Sec. 5).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12 and 14 recite equivalent claim limitations as claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 above, except that they set forth the claimed invention as a non-transitory computer readable storage medium; Claim(s) 17, 18, 19, 20 and 22 recite equivalent claim limitations as claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 4 and 6 above, except that they set forth the claimed invention as a server computing device; as such they are rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Claim(s) 7-8, 15-16, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pastor, Doddapaneni, Heitz and Arora further in view of Glesinger et al. (US 20240104305 A1).
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Pastor further describes:
wherein a given item vector of the plurality of item vectors is generated by: obtaining, at least by (paragraph [0077] “Acoustic metadata may also include spectral information such as melody, pitch, harmony, timbre, chroma, loudness, vocalness, or other possible features. Acoustic metadata may take the form of one or more vectors”)
obtaining, at least by (paragraph [0078] “Cultural metadata may be derived from expert opinion such as music reviews or classification of music into genres… Cultural metadata may take the form of one or more vectors”
and generating the item vector based at least in part on combining the first and second item vectors, at least by (paragraph [0080 and 0156] describes the vector(s) representing Acoustic metadata and Cultural metadata representing a particular content item, and in identifying a similarity to a seed vector, the vectors for each media content item are compared, as such vectors for the media content item, is the item vector describes that combines the items acoustic metadata vector and cultural metadata vector)
But Pastor and Heitz fails to specifically recite
However, Glesinger teaches the above limitations at least by (paragraph [0168] “semantic chains are converted to numeric-based representations by a vector embedding process such as a process that applies trained neural networks (e.g., Large Language Models or LLMs)”; and paragraph [0189] “application of statistical-based methods such as neural networks, including long short-term memory (LSTM) deep learning neural networks and/or associated variations of LSTM such as Gated Recurrent Units (GRUs), or transformer-based models”)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Pastor and Heitz with Glesinger to “search for subsets of the content that are most relevant to the one or more semantic chains” (e.g. combined vectors) through “application of statistical-based methods such as neural networks, including long short-term memory (LSTM) deep learning neural networks and/or associated variations of LSTM such as Gated Recurrent Units (GRUs), or transformer-based models”, (Glesinger, para. 0189); “improving the system's interpretations of content,” (Glesinger, para. 0199); and accuracy, “enabling increasingly complex and subtle inferences by the system,” (Glesinger, para. 0192).
As per claim 8, claim 7 is incorporated and Pastor further describes:
wherein, when the corresponding respective item comprises an audio file:the metadata comprises the following song properties: album, artist, title, track number, genre, year, duration, bitrate, sample rate, channels, composer, comment, copyright, encoder, language, publisher, original artist, album artist, disc number, lyrics, mood, tempo, key, ISRC (International Standard Recording Code),recording date, release date, label, BPM (beats per minute), performer, conductor, compilation, part of a set, podcast, podcast URL, podcast ID, podcast feed, episode number, episode ID, episode URL, cover art, custom tags, or some combination thereof, at least by (paragraph [0079] “ Explicit metadata may include album and song titles, artist and composer names, other credits, album cover art, publisher name and product number, and other information”
and the data content comprises the following song characteristics: melody, harmony, rhythm, tempo, meter, lyrics, chorus, verse, bridge, dynamics, instrumentation, arrangement, key, harmonic progression, timbre, form, texture, style, emotion, production, hook, groove, transition, or some combination thereof, at least by (paragraph [0077] “Acoustic metadata may include temporal information such as tempo, rhythm, beats, downbeats, tatums, patterns, sections, or other structures. Acoustic metadata may also include spectral information such as melody, pitch, harmony, timbre, chroma, loudness, vocalness, or other possible features”)
Claim(s) 15-16, recite equivalent claim limitations as claim(s) 6-8, above, except that they set forth the claimed invention as a non-transitory computer readable storage medium; Claim(s) 23-24, recite equivalent claim limitations as claim(s) 6-8, above, except that they set forth the claimed invention as a server computing device; as such they are rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baltescu et al. (US 20230252550 A1): paragraph [0031] “recommendation service 260-N may be configured to receive a text query (e.g., a learned representation that is representative of the text query, such as a text embedding, etc.), an image query (e.g., a learned representation that is representative of the content item with which the user interacted, such as an image embedding, etc.), and the like, and determine, identify, and/or retrieve recommended products based on the query.” Which describes text query -> text embedding (e.g. query embedding) and image query (content item with which the user interacted) -> image embedding (e.g. user interacted content/account) embedding. And further paragraph [0037] “ a linear transformation may be applied to each of the set of image embeddings and the set of text embeddings. The transformed embeddings may then be concatenated with a global token and passed through a transformer encoder.” Which describes claimed generating a combined vector by concatenating the query vector and the user account vector; generating an output vector based at least in part on the combined vector …generated by processing the combined vector using a transformer-based large language model (LLM);
Huang et al. (US 20230315781 A1): paragraph [0044] “The embedding generator 323 may then perform an element-wise product between the query item embedding 314 and the user embedding 322 to form the personalized item embedding 320.” Which describes claimed a combined vector by concatenating the query vector and the user account vector; generating an output vector based at least in part on the combined vector.
/DENNIS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164 09/28/2026