DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over submitted prior arts Wang (CN201383874) in view of Brengel et al. (2020/0037674).
As to claim 1, Wang teaches a system comprising:
a wearable audio playback device (Figs. 1 & 3, earphone 12) comprising:
an audio transducer (Fig. 5, speaker Y and microphone 35); and
a wireless power receiver (L2 (33)); and
an accessory power device (remote controller 11) configured to be worn by the user, the accessory power device comprising:
a network interface (Figs. 1, 2 & 4, [0033] - The remote control shown in Figure 4 primarily functions to provide wireless power to the headphones, transmit data wirelessly, connect to portable audio devices and chargers, expand functionality, and control the headphones remotely);
an energy storage component (battery 28);
a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 4, L1);
one or more processors (Fig. 4); and
data storage having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the accessory power device (Fig. 4 and related texts, [0033] - The remote control shown in Figure 4 primarily functions to provide wireless power to the headphones, transmit data wirelessly, connect to portable audio devices and chargers, expand functionality, and control the headphones remotely. The internal circuit board contains a wireless power supply transmitter module, a central processor, an audio input switch, a Bluetooth transceiver 1, and a digital recorder/playback circuit) to perform operations comprising:
transmitting, via the wireless power transmitter (Figs. 1 & 2 - 11, 4 – L1), power from the accessory power device (portable remote controller 11) to the wireless power receiver (Fig. 1, 12; Fig. 5, L2) of the wearable audio playback device (Figs. 1 & 3, earphone 12);
receiving, via the network interface, audio content (Fig. 6 – audio connecting cord to connect multimedia audio equipment; [0033] - an audio input socket and a function expansion socket 25, Bluetooth transceiver 1); and
causing the wearable audio playback device to play back the audio content via the audio transducer (Fig. 5 and related texts; [0006, 0033] - When the headset/earphone receives a Bluetooth signal, the audio processor automatically shuts down or reduces the microphone sensitivity, allowing the user to wirelessly listen to phone calls and other portable multimedia audio without being affected. It adaptively functions as a Bluetooth headset, Bluetooth earphone, Bluetooth hearing aid, and Bluetooth noise canceller, with a wide range of applications; audio content may be recorded conversation content stored in the digital record player circuit).
Wang does not explicitly suggest audio playback device configured to be worn in and over an ear of a user. However, it would have been obvious that audio playback device such as headphones, earphone, earbuds, or hearing aids devices worn over the ear of user for the purpose of delivering more consistent sound quality by placing drivers closer to the ear canal, reducing environmental noise and improving bass response. This is especially important for users seeking immersive audio experiences or those with hearing needs, where precise sound delivery is critical.
Brengel teaches the headphones may be over the ear headphones including a holder or band 16 designed to be placed over the head of a user 22 to hold ear speakers 17 over the user's ears. The ear speakers 17 are connected to a connection and control module 19 mounted on (i.e., embedded in) a shirt 29 (i.e., a t-shirt, sweatshirt, or jacket) through a wire 18 (Fig. 5 and [0043]); and wireless charger 23 may be embedded into the shirt 29 or may be mounted onto the shirt 29 [0047]; charging pads 26 that are mounted (i.e., embedded) on the shoulder area of the user's shirt 29 (Fig. 7, [0054]); accordingly, the user 22 may conveniently charge his/her headphones by resting them around his/her neck on his/her shoulders ([0056]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Brengel into the teachings of Wang for the purpose of permitting the user 22 to charge the headphones on the go, while they are not being used, [0056]; and placing an external device 25 in the device pocket 24 and the wireless power receivers 28 of the headphones are placed on the wireless charging pads 26 mounted on the shirt 29, then electrical power may be simultaneously transmitted from the photovoltaic cells 21 through the wire 20 to the wireless charger 23 and from the photovoltaic cells 21 through the wire 27 to the wireless charging pads 26. Thus, simultaneous wireless charging of a plurality of external devices can be achieved with the shirt 29, [0057].
As to claims 2, 10, and 16, Wang teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 9, and the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the wearable audio playback device comprises one or more of: in-ear earbuds (Figs. 3-4, earphone 12), on-ear headphones, over-ear headphones, or smart glasses or a headset with integrated audio output.
As to claims 3, 11, and 17, Wang does not explicitly discuss the system of claim 1, the method of claim 9, and the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the accessory power device comprises a housing configured to be worn about a user’s neck, on a user’s wrist, on a user’s head, clipped onto a user’s clothing, fastened to a user’s ear, or integrated into smart glasses.
Brengel teaches wireless charger 23 may be embedded into the shirt 29 or may be mounted onto the shirt 29 [0047]; charging pads 26 that are mounted (i.e., embedded) on the shoulder area of the user's shirt 29 (Fig. 7, [0054]); accordingly, the user 22 may conveniently charge his/her headphones by resting them around his/her neck on his/her shoulders ([0056]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Brengel into the teachings of Wang for the purpose of permitting the user 22 to charge the headphones on the go, while they are not being used, [0056]; and placing an external device 25 in the device pocket 24 and the wireless power receivers 28 of the headphones are placed on the wireless charging pads 26 mounted on the shirt 29, then electrical power may be simultaneously transmitted from the photovoltaic cells 21 through the wire 20 to the wireless charger 23 and from the photovoltaic cells 21 through the wire 27 to the wireless charging pads 26. Thus, simultaneous wireless charging of a plurality of external devices can be achieved with the shirt 29, [0057].
As to claims 4, 12, and 18, Wang teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 9, and the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the wireless power receiver comprises a coil (Fig. 3, induction coil 33), and wherein transmitting, via the wireless power transmitter, energy from the accessory power device to the wireless power receiver of the wearable audio playback device involves electromagnetic coupling between the wireless power transmitter and the coil (Figs. 4-5 – transmission of power between coils L1 and L2).
As to claims 5, 13, and 19, Wang teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 9, and the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein causing the wearable audio playback device to playback the audio content via the audio transducer comprises transmitting the audio content to the wearable audio playback device using a wireless power transfer signal emitted by the wireless power transmitter as a carrier wave (claim 4 – Bluetooth device for data transmission of recorded digital conversations).
As to claims 6, 14, and 20, Wang teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 9, and the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the causing the wearable audio playback device to playback the audio content via the audio transducer comprises transmitting the audio content to the wearable audio playback device via the network interface ([0006, 0033] – digital recorder/playback unit recorded content stored in the digital record player circuit have been received via an interface of remote controller 11).
As to claim 8, Wang does not explicitly discuss the system of claim 1, wherein the energy storage component of the accessory power device comprises a first energy storage component, and wherein the wearable audio playback device comprises a first energy storage component, and wherein the wearable audio playback device comprises a second energy storage component having a lower energy storage capacity than the first energy storage component. However, Wang teaches the wearable audio playback device earphone 12 has no energy storage component beside internal capacitors of digital circuits (claim 1 and [0033]); and an energy storage component 28 of the accessory power device 11; hence it would have been obvious that the wearable audio playback device earphone 12 having a lower energy storage capacity than energy storage component 28 of the accessory power device remote control 11 (claim 1 and [0033]).
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Furthermore, Wang teaches the central processor is a central processing integrated circuit that processes input commands and outputs control signals to control various functions of the headphones ([0012]; Keyboard input commands are processed by the central processor to output control signals. Commands control the activation of the wireless power transmission module; command controls the selection of Bluetooth transceiver 1 or an external Bluetooth device for data transmission with the headset; command controls the audio input switch, selecting the audio input port for data transmission with the headset via Bluetooth transceiver 1; command controls the digital recorder/playback unit for recording or playback of live or online calls; command controls the function expansion port to function as a multimedia radio, eavesdropping device, or walkie-talkie ([0033])).
4. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN201383874) and Brengel et al. (2020/0037674) in view of Wallis et al. (2010/0159895).
As to claim 7, Wang and Brengel do not explicitly discuss the system of claim 1, wherein transmitting, via the wireless power transmitter, power from the accessory power device to the wireless power receiver of the wearable audio playback device comprises transmitting less than 1 watt of power.
Wallis teaches in regards to wireless communication, the femtocell devices 110 include a range of 50 meters (m) to 100 m and transmit at a power less than or equal to 1 Watt (W) ([0023]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wallis into the teachings of Wang and Brengel for the purpose of using cellular radio technologies with femtocell devices connect to, for example, broadband networks for femtozone areas are geographic locations associated with low-powered (e.g., 1 Watt or less) cellular radio systems, [0014].
Conclusion
/QUYNH H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693