DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jens Andersen et al., KR101357978B1.
Independent claim 1, Andersen discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute information processing comprising: generating a mesh of a primary object in a virtual space based on primary voxel data for each primary voxel defined in a primary voxel space, which is a voxel space set in the virtual space (i.e. Massively multiplayer online (MMO) games including interactions of virtual objects – p. 3, Para 2; defining a subset of virtual three-dimensional objects in the simulation – p. 3, Para 12);
when a removal event occurs for at least some of a plurality of primary voxels in the primary voxel space, updating the primary voxel data of a removal target voxel, which is a primary voxel where the removal event has occurred, so as to remove at least a portion of the primary object that corresponds to the removal target voxel (i.e. The game environment may vary in the degree of use of its physics objects, and hence in its subsequent destructiveness…Other objects with "soft geometry" can move in collisions and be completely destroyed – p. 3, Para 10);
when the removal event occurs, determining whether a broken piece generation condition is satisfied based on property data related to the removal target voxel among property data that represents a property of a primary object for each primary voxel (i.e. The game environment may vary in the degree of use of its physics objects, and hence in its subsequent destructiveness. Some objects, such as icon buildings, may have "hard geometry", and these objects may show temporary surface damage, but they do not move and are not destroyed – p. 3, Para 10).
when it is determined that the broken piece generation condition is satisfied, generating sub-voxel data and generating a mesh of a sub-object in the virtual space based on the sub-voxel data, the sub-voxel data being voxel data of the sub-object defined for each sub-voxel defined in a sub-voxel space, and the sub-voxel space being set in the virtual space and different from the primary voxel space (i.e. In one implementation, when a flexible geometric object is destroyed, the object creates different types of fragments to convey damage. Fragments can be particles that are temporary beings and physical objects that can be persistent. -p. 4, Para 12); and
outputting, to a display device, an image of the mesh of the primary object and the mesh of the sub-object in the virtual space (Fig. 1).
Claim 2, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1,wherein the information processing further comprises: setting a color and/or pattern of a mesh of the primary object based on appearance data that defines the color and/or pattern of the primary object for each primary voxel (i.e. rules are applied to manage physics objects. In such implementations, the interaction of physics objects is not indicated by the first set of certain rules, but rather by appearance – p. 3, Para 4; When a car crashes, its hood and engine show surface damage and deterioration. The engine block also shows scratches that scratch the surface and further show particles, e.g. sparks and sounds, e.g. sputtering, from the damage. When the engine block is finally destroyed, the destruction can be transferred to the appearance of the engine block by large changes along with new objects that can be created to simulate the destruction of the engine block. Through all of these changes, physical object models can be updated to reflect and render the visual changes that objects undergo. – p. 6, Para 9).
Claim 3, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein: the appearance data is data representing a texture; and the texture represented by the appearance data related to a certain primary voxel is applied to a mesh, of the meshes of the primary object, that is generated based on the voxel data of the certain primary voxel (i.e. rules are applied to manage physics objects. In such implementations, the interaction of physics objects is not indicated by the first set of certain rules, but rather by appearance – p. 3, Para 4; When a car crashes, its hood and engine show surface damage and deterioration. The engine block also shows scratches that scratch the surface and further show particles, e.g. sparks and sounds, e.g. sputtering, from the damage. When the engine block is finally destroyed, the destruction can be transferred to the appearance of the engine block by large changes along with new objects that can be created to simulate the destruction of the engine block. Through all of these changes, physical object models can be updated to reflect and render the visual changes that objects undergo. – p. 6, Para 9).
Claim 4, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the appearance data set for the sub-voxel related to the sub-object is determined based on the appearance data set for a removed portion of the primary object (i.e. When a car crashes, its hood and engine show surface damage and deterioration. The engine block also shows scratches that scratch the surface and further show particles, e.g. sparks and sounds, e.g. sputtering, from the damage. When the engine block is finally destroyed, the destruction can be transferred to the appearance of the engine block by large changes along with new objects that can be created to simulate the destruction of the engine block. Through all of these changes, physical object models can be updated to reflect and render the visual changes that objects undergo. – p. 6, Para 9).
Claim 5, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the property data set for the sub-voxel related to the sub-object is determined based on the property data set for a removed portion of the primary object (i.e. On the other hand, convenience store 26 and bank 22. The player bank 22 with a rigid private house 28 each have a flexible geometry, which in one implementation can be moved if they are damaged or collided, without destroying or damaging such features without excessive interruption of gameplay. It means that it can be achieved and therefore completely destroyed. Their damage or destruction may cause the creation of physical objects from their component parts. In one implementation, when a flexible geometric object is destroyed, the object creates different types of fragments to convey damage. Fragments can be particles that are temporary beings and physical objects that can be persistent. In the above example, the evil player character 32 enters the bank 22 and can find a safe along the wall behind the counter of the cashier. The character 32 can shoot at the counter to form holes and leave broken pieces. In this example, the evil player bank 22 has a rigid geometry, but the counter has a flexible geometry, which is destroyed after being damaged, creating physical objects in the form of, for example, wood chips – p. 4, Para 12).
Claim 6, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1,wherein the information processing comprises: determining, based on a type of the removal event that has occurred, the number of sub-objects to be generated, and when it is determined to generate a plurality of sub-objects, the sub-voxel data related to each sub-object is generated for each of the sub-voxel spaces independent of each other, and a mesh of the sub-object is generated in the virtual space based on the sub-voxel data (i.e. On the other hand, convenience store 26 and bank 22. The player bank 22 with a rigid private house 28 each have a flexible geometry, which in one implementation can be moved if they are damaged or collided, without destroying or damaging such features without excessive interruption of gameplay. It means that it can be achieved and therefore completely destroyed. Their damage or destruction may cause the creation of physical objects from their component parts. In one implementation, when a flexible geometric object is destroyed, the object creates different types of fragments to convey damage. Fragments can be particles that are temporary beings and physical objects that can be persistent. -p. 4, Para 12).
Claim 7, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1,wherein the setting of a condition to be used as the broken piece generation condition and/or the determination of whether the broken piece generation condition is satisfied are executed based on a type of the removal event that has occurred (i.e. Using module 61 with one or more object rule sets, it is possible to determine and / or define how and when non-physical objects are transitioned to be physics objects and physics to be non-physical objects, as well as Determine and / or define the consequences of actions, such as interactions between physics objects, interactions of physics and non-physical objects, and interactions of physics and environments – p. 5, Para 13; FIG. 1 also shows various potential physical objects, specifically automobile 36, bus 38 and wall 42. Wall 42 has a flexible geometry and can therefore be damaged or destroyed. 1 illustrates this embodiment and shows a wall of a broken configuration with components 42 ′, 43, 45 that have just been separated along with an explosion or other destructive force in the direction of an alternative arrow 47 – p. 5, Para 2).
Claim 8, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 7, wherein when the removal event occurs caused by an impact-imparting event in which an impact is imparted on the primary object, the type of the removal event is determined based on a type of the impact-imparting event (i.e. The player character can pick up the car and throw it toward the side of the apartment building, causing some concrete molding to break into pieces and fall off. The car leaves a crack on the road. In this example, the car and the awning are physical objects. The storefront has a flexible geometry and is therefore deformed, creating more glass particle effects. Concrete moldings have a flexible geometry, but the apartment building to which they are attached has a rigid geometry. Concrete moldings create broken concrete pieces, which are physics objects, and when a car falls to the ground, roads with rigid geometry suffer surface damage. – p. 8, Para 14).
Claim 9, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 8, wherein it is determined that different types of removal events have occurred between when a first impact-imparting event occurs caused by an action of making a collision object held by a player object collide with the primary object (i.e. For example, when a lightning bolt is thrown towards the player character, the characteristics of the lightning bolt weapon may be defined in the lookup table so that the player character is damaged by electric shock. – p. 5, Para 13) and when a second impact-imparting event occurs caused by an action in which the player object moves a collision object toward the primary object to cause the collision object to collide with the primary object (i.e. In a specific example, the wicked player character can pick up a passing car and throw it towards the front of the store, causing the front of the store to fall off and break his windows. – p. 8, Para 14).
Claim 10, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 8, wherein when an event in which the sub-object collides with the primary object is performed as the impact-imparting event, it is determined whether the removal event has occurred (i.e. Bunker's buildings are inherently flexible geometries, and many weaknesses, such as turrets, doors, etc., can be completely destroyed and, upon destruction, are configured to produce broken pieces, some or all of which can be physical objects. – p. 9, Para 1).
Claim 11, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein: the property data represents a strength of the primary object; and it is determined, based on a strength depending on the type of the removal event that has occurred and a strength that is represented by the property data set for the removal target voxel where the removal event has occurred, whether the broken piece generation condition is satisfied (i.e. The forces and events affecting such physics objects can range from minor collisions to large explosions. – p. 3, Para 5; The game environment may vary in the degree of use of its physics objects, and hence in its subsequent destructiveness. Some objects, such as icon buildings, may have "hard geometry", and these objects may show temporary surface damage, but they do not move and are not destroyed. Other objects with "soft geometry" can move in collisions and be completely destroyed – p. 3, Para 10).
Claim 12, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein: the property data represents a strength of the primary object; and when an impact-imparting event that imparts an impact on the primary object is performed, it is determined, based on a strength of the impact-imparting event, which is set according to the type of the impact-imparting event, and a strength represented by the property data, which is set for the primary voxel where the impact-imparting event has been performed, whether the removal event occurs (i.e. The forces and events affecting such physics objects can range from minor collisions to large explosions. – p. 3, Para 5; The game environment may vary in the degree of use of its physics objects, and hence in its subsequent destructiveness. Some objects, such as icon buildings, may have "hard geometry", and these objects may show temporary surface damage, but they do not move and are not destroyed. Other objects with "soft geometry" can move in collisions and be completely destroyed – p. 3, Para 10).
Claim 13, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the sub-voxel data is generated so that the sub-object has a size in accordance with the type of the removal event that has occurred (i.e. achieve these synergistic unexpected effects, physics objects have basic parameters such as size, shape, density, conditions such as whether they are mobile or non-moving, damaged or destroyed, and game effects – p. 3, Para 9
Claim 14, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein when it is determined that the broken piece generation condition is satisfied, a removed portion object that represents a removed portion of the primary object is generated, and the sub-object is generated by splitting the removed portion object into a plurality of pieces (i.e. In a specific example, the wicked player character can pick up a passing car and throw it towards the front of the store, causing the front of the store to fall off and break his windows. The player character can pick up the car and throw it toward the side of the apartment building, causing some concrete molding to break into pieces and fall off. The car leaves a crack on the road. In this example, the car and the awning are physical objects. The storefront has a flexible geometry and is therefore deformed, creating more glass particle effects – p. 8, Para 14; Fig. 1).
Claim 15, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the sub-voxel data is generated so that of all objects obtained by splitting the removed portion object into a plurality of pieces, an object that is larger than a lower limit value and smaller than an upper limit value is the sub-object (i.e. In one implementation, when a flexible geometric object is destroyed, the object creates different types of fragments to convey damage. Fragments can be particles that are temporary beings and physical objects that can be persistent. -p. 4, Para 12).
Claim 16, Andersen discloses the n non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein when the sub-object collides with the primary object, the primary voxel data is updated based on the sub-voxel data so that a portion corresponding to the sub-object is added to the primary object in the primary voxel space (i.e. Bunker's buildings are inherently flexible geometries, and many weaknesses, such as turrets, doors, etc., can be completely destroyed and, upon destruction, are configured to produce broken pieces, some or all of which can be physical objects. – p. 9, Para 1).
Claim 17, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the sub-voxel space is set in which a voxel of which a length of one side is shorter than the primary voxel is defined as the sub-voxel (i.e. Using module 61 with one or more object rule sets, it is possible to… Determine and / or define the consequences of actions, such as interactions between physics objects, interactions of physics and non-physical objects, and interactions of physics and environments – p. 5, Para 13; In one implementation, when a flexible geometric object is destroyed, the object creates different types of fragments to convey damage. Fragments can be particles that are temporary beings and physical objects that can be persistent. In the above example, the evil player character 32 enters the bank 22 and can find a safe along the wall behind the counter of the cashier. The character 32 can shoot at the counter to form holes and leave broken pieces. In this example, the evil player bank 22 has a rigid geometry, but the counter has a flexible geometry, which is destroyed after being damaged, creating physical objects in the form of, for example, wood chips – p. 4, Para 12).
Claim 18, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein directions of coordinate axes in the sub-voxel space are set independently of directions of coordinate axes in the primary voxel space (i.e. The player character can destroy several rows of chairs as well as supporting columns before falling back to the back wall and cracking the back wall during a collision. In this example, the chairs are physics objects, the columns are flexible geometry, and both of them break on impact. The back wall is a solid geometry, and its cracks are A / V effects to suggest damage – p, 8, Para 15, e.g. sub-objects/fragments, oriented to move in different directions than physical objects).
Claim 19, Andersen discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the primary object is a terrain object placed in the virtual space (i.e. Another area where damage effects may differ from open world game environments is stadiums, which are large terrain-based multiplayer areas – p. 8, Para 16).
Independent claim 20, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rational as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Independent claim 21, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rational as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Independent claim 22, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rational as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Conclusion
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615