Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticapted by Penmatsa et al 10,217,278, hereinafter, Penmatsa.
In regards to claim 1, Penmatsa teaches, one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute information processing comprising (abstract)
Techniques for simulating three dimensional spaces, such as terrain, are disclosed herein. In some cases, a three dimensional volume may be identified and a two dimensional area corresponding to the three dimensional volume may be determined. A plurality of layers may be associated with the two dimensional area, with each of the plurality of layers including at least one third dimension value and at least one layer characteristic. A subset of the plurality of layers, having at least one similar layer characteristic, may be combined into a combined layer associated with the two dimensional area. The association between the two dimensional area and the associated combined layer may then be stored and/or rendered into image data to be presented to a user.
generating a mesh of an object in a virtual space based on voxel data for each voxel defined in a voxel space that is set in the virtual space; “The terrain model may be rendered using, for example, a voxel-based mesh generation technique.” (col. 14, lines 16-24)(fig. 6 (620-624)
obtaining first material data and second material data as material data that defines a color and/or pattern of the object defined for each voxel; (fig. 8 816) (col. 6, lines 34-67)
(a) before a change event that changes an appearance of the object occurs, setting a color and/or pattern (col. 4 ,lines 31-45) of a mesh of the object based on the first material data, (fig. 9 (902)) and (fig. 5 504-542)) (col. 4 ,lines 31-45)
(b) after the change event occurs (fig. 9 after 906 and 908), when the second material data is associated with the first material data that is set for change target voxels, which are voxels at a position at which the change event has occurred, setting, based on the second material data, a color and/or (Examiner notes because of the “or” operator only one element is need to read on the prior art) pattern of a mesh that is generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels and that corresponds to a portion of a surface of the object (fig. 9 (916/910) (fig. 6-7 716/702); and
outputting an image of the mesh of the object in the virtual space on a display device (fig. 9 (912))
In regards to claim 11, Penmatsa teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute information processing, the information processing comprising(col. 14, lines 16-24)(fig. 6 (620-624): generating a mesh of an object in a virtual space based on voxel data for each voxel defined in a voxel space that is set in the virtual space; (fig. 8 816) (col. 6, lines 34-67)
before a removal event in which a portion of the object is removed occurs, rendering a first color and/or pattern on the mesh of the object; and outputting an image of the mesh of the object in the virtual space on a display device, (col. 4 ,lines 31-45)
wherein: after the removal event occurs (fig. 9 after 906 and 908),, the voxel data is updated so that a portion of the object is removed; and a second color and/or pattern different from the first color and/or pattern is rendered on a mesh of an exposed portion of the object that is exposed as a result of the removal and a mesh for at least a portion around the mesh of the exposed portion(fig. 9 (916/910) (fig. 6-7 716/702);.
In regards to claim 16, Penmatsa teaches information processing system, comprising one or more processors that are configured to execute information processing comprising: generating a mesh of an object in a virtual space based on voxel data for each voxel defined in a voxel space that is set in the virtual space; (col. 14, lines 16-24)(fig. 6 (620-624)obtaining first material data and second material data as material data that defines a color and/or pattern of the object defined for each voxel; (fig. 8 816) (col. 6, lines 34-67)
(a) before a change event that changes an appearance of the object occurs, setting a color and/or pattern of a mesh of the object based on the first material data, and (col. 4 ,lines 31-45)
(b) after the change event occurs, when the second material data is associated with (fig. 9 after 906 and 908), the first material data that is set for change target voxels, which are voxels at a position at which the change event has occurred, setting, based on the second material data, a color and/or pattern of a mesh that is generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels and that corresponds to a portion of a surface of the object; and (fig. 9 (916/910) (fig. 6-7 716/702);
outputting an image of the mesh of the object in the virtual space on a display device. (fig. 9 (912))
In regards to claim 17, Penmatsa teaches information processing apparatus comprising one or more processors that execute information processing comprising: generating a mesh of an object in a virtual space based on voxel data for each voxel defined in a voxel space that is set in the virtual space(col. 14, lines 16-24)(fig. 6 (620-624); obtaining first material data and second material data as material data that defines a color and/or pattern of the object defined for each voxel; (fig. 8 816) (col. 6, lines 34-67)
(a) before a change event that changes an appearance of the object occurs, setting a color and/or pattern of a mesh of the object based on the first material data, and (col. 4 ,lines 31-45)
(b) after the change event occurs, when the second material data is associated with the first material data that is set for change target voxels, (fig. 9 after 906 and 908), which are voxels at a position at which the change event has occurred, setting, based on the second material data, a color and/or pattern of a mesh that is generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels and that corresponds to a portion of a surface of the object; and (fig. 9 (916/910) (fig. 6-7 716/702);
outputting an image of the mesh of the object in the virtual space on a display device. (fig. 9 (912))
In regards to claim 18, Penmatsa teaches information processing method performed on an information processing system, the information processing method comprising: generating a mesh of an object in a virtual space based on voxel data for each voxel defined in a voxel space that is set in the virtual space(col. 14, lines 16-24)(fig. 6 (620-624); obtaining first material data and second material data as material data that defines a color and/or pattern of the object defined for each voxel; (fig. 8 816) (col. 6, lines 34-67)
(a) before a change event that changes an appearance of the object occurs, setting a color and/or pattern of a mesh of the object based on the first material data(col. 4 ,lines 31-45), and
(b) after the change event occurs, when the second material data is associated with the first material data that is set for change target voxels, which are voxels at a position at which the change event has occurred, (fig. 9 after 906 and 908), setting, based on the second material data, a color and/or pattern of a mesh that is generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels and that corresponds to a portion of a surface of the object; (fig. 9 (916/910) (fig. 6-7 716/702); and
outputting an image of the mesh of the object in the virtual space on a display device. (fig. 9 (912))
In regards to claim 2, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein: when a removal event in which at least a portion of the object is removed occurs, the voxel data related to removal target voxels where the removal event has occurred is updated so that at least a portion of the object is removed in the removal target voxels; and the information processing further comprises: determining that the change event has occurred in at least one of voxels around the removal target voxels(fig. 6 and 7 700-710) (fig. 9 (906)).
In regards to claim 3, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein a color and/or pattern of at least one mesh is set based on the second material data (fig. 7 (702-722) (fig. 5 512), wherein the at least one mesh is generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels and a position of the at least one mesh has not changed before and after the removal event (fig. 7 (612)).
In regards to claim 4, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the information processing further comprises: when an impact-imparting event in which an impact is imparted on the object occurs, determining that the change event has occurred for voxels that are at positions based on the position at which the impact-imparting event has occurred.(fig. 6 and 7 618 to 626)
In regards to claim 5, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein a color and/or pattern of at least one mesh is set based on the second material data, wherein the at least one mesh is generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels and a position of the at least one mesh has not changed before and after the impact-imparting event. .(fig. 6 and 7 618 to 626 and outside area)
In regards to claim 6, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein: when the impact-imparting event has occurred a first number of times on the object, it is determined by the processor that the change event has occurred for voxels of the object in a range in accordance with the impact-imparting event; and the information processing further comprises (fig. 5 (528)): when the impact-imparting event has occurred a second number of times (fig. 9 for each event and updated iteration), which is larger than the first number of times, on the object, updating the voxel data related to removal target voxels of the object that are at positions based on the range in accordance with the impact-imparting event so that at least a portion of the object in the removal target voxels is removed; and when the impact-imparting event has occurred the second number of times on the object, it is determined by the processor that the change event has occurred for at least some of the voxels around the removal target voxels (col. 14-15, lines 44-15).
In regards to claim 7, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein: third material data is obtained by the processor; in response to occurrence of the change event for a first time, a color and/or pattern of a mesh of the object generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels that are at positions where the change event for the first time has occurred is set based on the second material data set for the change target voxels (fig. 4b (layers and characteristics 471 and 472)); and in response to occurrence of the change event for a second time for the change target voxels, when the third material data is associated with the second material data set for the change target voxels at positions where the change event for the second time has occurred, a color and/or pattern of a mesh of the object generated based on voxel data related to the change target voxels is set based on the third material data (fig. 4b and different layers down and fig. 5 (stack and layer properties).
In regards to claim 8, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein: the material data is related to property data that defines a property of the object for each voxel, and the property data associated with the first material data and the property data associated with the second material data are the same; and the information processing further comprises: setting a property of the object based on the property data (fig. 5 )502 to 512 and property data).
In regards to claim 9, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein: the material data includes data representing a texture (fig. 9 (902 and fig. 5 (502); and the information processing further comprises: generating an image of the object by applying, to a mesh that is generated based on the voxel data, a texture that is represented by the material data set for a voxel corresponding to the voxel data (fig. 6 to fig. 7 (elements) and fig. 9 910/916 and 912)).
In regards to claim 10, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 9, wherein an image of the object is generated by rendering a mesh that is generated based on voxel data of the change target voxels and voxel data of voxels that are different from the change target voxels so that there is a gradation from a texture represented by the first material data to a texture represented by the second material data (fig. 7 (700-704 to 718-722)).
In regards to claim 12, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the second color and/or pattern is rendered on a mesh that is for at least a portion around the mesh of the exposed portion and that is at least one mesh whose position has not changed before and after the removal event (fig. 7 not changed parts).
In regards to claim 13, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the information processing further comprises: obtaining property data that defines a property of the object for each voxel (fig. 6 600) and fig. 5 (properties down the hierarchy); and setting a property based on the property data for the object in which the first color and/or pattern or the second color and/or pattern is rendered on the mesh, wherein the property data corresponding to the mesh of the first color and/or pattern and the property data corresponding to the mesh of the second color and/or pattern are the same (col. 12-13 ,lines 48-35).
In regards to claim 14, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein a mesh that is generated based on the voxel data is rendered by using a texture that is associated with a voxel corresponding to the voxel data (fig. 6 for example 622 to fig. 7 700,702,704,706).
In regards to claim 15, Penmatsa teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein a mesh for at least a portion around the mesh of the exposed portion is rendered so that there is a gradation from the first color and/or pattern to the second color and/or pattern (fig. 6 624 to fig. 7 716,710,712, and 714 for example).
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622