DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Final action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of July 7, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the objection to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Specifically, applicant argues:
Prong 1 of Revised Step 2A
In the instant case, the Office action alleges that the claims are directed to an abstract idea because they are directed to a mental process. Office action, p. 5. Thus, of these three different groupings, it appears that the rejection attempts to identify claim 1 as allegedly falling under category (c) above, but does not allege that the claims recite a mathematical concept under category (a) or a method of organizing human activity under category (b). However, no mental process is recited in claim 1.
Claim 1 recites an apparatus including at least one processor circuit to be programmed by machine-readable instructions to "output the setup information via a user interface, the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target load restoration metric." As such, the allegation that claim 1 is directed to a mental process is clearly mistaken. Therefore, contrary to the assertions in the Office action, claim 1 does not recite judicial exception. As a result, the Office has not properly identified any abstract idea set forth in the claim. Accordingly, claim 1 is patent eligible under Prong One of Revised Step 2A.
Prong 2 of Revised Step 2A
Moreover, although the Office action has not identified a proper judicial exception, even if it had, claim 1 provides a practical application of any judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on any such judicial exception.
For example, claim 1 of the instant application sets forth an "apparatus comprising: interface circuitry; machine-readable instructions; and at least one processor circuit to be programmed by the machine-readable instructions to: obtain sensor data from one or more sensors of a vehicle, the sensor data representative of distances to ground at respective locations of the vehicle; determine a pitch of the vehicle based on the sensor data; determine, based on the pitch, a load restoration metric associated with the vehicle; generate setup information based on a comparison of the load restoration metric to a target load restoration metric of the vehicle; and output the setup information via a user interface, the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target toad restoration metric."
The claimed apparatus is structured to implement a practical solution to the problem of achieving a target load restoration for a vehicle using existing image- based and/or radar-based sensors of the vehicle. (Specification, para. [0017]). By determining the load restoration using existing image-based and/or radar-based sensors of the vehicle, the claimed invention can "eliminate the need for installing designated sensors (e.g., ride height sensors, load sensors, etc.) for detecting the load restoration, thus reducing part costs and/or weight associated with the vehicle." (Specification, para. [0018]). Further, by providing setup information to assist an operator during a trailer setup procedure, the claimed invention "can ensure that a target load restoration for the vehicle is achieved, thus improving steering and/or maneuverability of the vehicle and the trailer during operation." (Specification, para. [0018]). Outputting setup information to instruct an operator to adjust a load- distributing trailer hitch, as set forth in claim 1, can be highly advantageous in producing a vehicle having a target load restoration and, thus, improved steering and maneuverability, and is highly beyond what can be performed by human with a pen and a paper.
While claim 1 offers an unmistakably practical application of technology, it also provides no risk whatsoever of pre-empting the use of any judicial exception. Rather, it is unambiguously limited to a practical application of technology that provides a meaningful limit on any judicial exception that could be imagined as present, and can in no way be reasonably seen to be a mere drafting effort seeking to monopolize any judicial exception. As such, the claim is not directed to a judicial exception and is patent eligible at Prong Two of Revised Step 2A. Thus, the § 101 rejection is in error.
Step 2B - Claim 1 Amounts to significantly More than an Abstract Idea
Even assuming an abstract idea is present in claim 1 and claim 1 is not directed to a practical application, which are points not conceded, claim 1 includes an "additional element (or combination of elements) [that] is a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field." MPEP 2106.05(d).
In BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the Federal Circuit held that a claim directed to a content filtering system for filtering content retrieved from an Internet computer network is patent eligible. The BASCOM court considered whether a claim including an abstract idea included additional elements amounting to significantly more when the claim limitations were considered in combination (827 F.3d at 1349), and agreed that "an inventive concept can be found in the ordered combination of claim limitations that transform the abstract idea of filtering content into a particular, practical application of that abstract idea" (Id. at 1352). The Bascom court found eligibility based on the particular arrangement of elements claimed.
…
Claim 1 of the instant application contains a unique, ordered combination of elements that set forth an apparatus that can achieve a target load restoration for a vehicle "by providing setup information to assist an operator during a trailer setup procedure (e.g., during adjustment of hitch settings of the load-distributing hitch)." (Specification, para. [0018]). By outputting setup information via a user interface to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch to reduce a difference between a load restoration metric and a target load restoration metric, the particular arrangement of elements in claim 1 of the instant application results in a technical improvement by ensuring that a target load restoration for the vehicle is achieved, thus improving steering and/or maneuverability of the vehicle and the trailer during operation. (Specification, para. [0018]). Further, by determining the load restoration using existing image-based and/or radar-based sensors of the vehicle, the particular arrangement of elements in claim 1 eliminates the need for installing designated sensors (e.g., ride height sensors, load sensors, etc.) for detecting the load restoration, thus reducing weight associated with the vehicle. Specification, para. [0018]).
Additionally, the USPTO's August 4, 2025, memorandum on evaluating subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101 expressly cautions examiners not to expand the "mental process" grouping to encompass claim limitations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind. See Reminders on Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility of Claims under 35 U.S.C. 5101 (Aug. 4, 2025), pp. 2-3. The memorandum also reminds that a subject matter eligibility rejection should only be made when it is more likely than not (i.e., by more than a 50% likelihood) that the claim is ineligible. Id. at p. 5. Here, the present claims recite operations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind, including generating and outputting setup information via a user interface. The human mind is not equipped to output setup information via a user interface. Accordingly, consistent with the USPTO's 2025 memorandum, the claims do not recite a "mental process" and should not be characterized as abstract ideas.
The Examiner’s Response
The Examiner has carefully considered applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that “Prong 1 of Revised Step 2A In the instant case, the Office action alleges that the claims are directed to an abstract idea because they are directed to a mental process. Office action, p. 5. Thus, of these three different groupings, it appears that the rejection attempts to identify claim 1 as allegedly falling under category (c) above, but does not allege that the claims recite a mathematical concept under category (a) or a method of organizing human activity under category (b). However, no mental process is recited in claim 1. Claim 1 recites an apparatus including at least one processor circuit to be programmed by machine-readable instructions to "output the setup information via a user interface, the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target load restoration metric." As such, the allegation that claim 1 is directed to a mental process is clearly mistaken. Therefore, contrary to the assertions in the Office action, claim 1 does not recite judicial exception. As a result, the Office has not properly identified any abstract idea set forth in the claim. Accordingly, claim 1 is patent eligible under Prong One of Revised Step 2A.” and “Additionally, the USPTO's August 4, 2025, memorandum on evaluating subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101 expressly cautions examiners not to expand the "mental process" grouping to encompass claim limitations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind. See Reminders on Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility of Claims under 35 U.S.C. 5101 (Aug. 4, 2025), pp. 2-3. The memorandum also reminds that a subject matter eligibility rejection should only be made when it is more likely than not (i.e., by more than a 50% likelihood) that the claim is ineligible. Id. at p. 5. Here, the present claims recite operations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind, including generating and outputting setup information via a user interface. The human mind is not equipped to output setup information via a user interface. Accordingly, consistent with the USPTO's 2025 memorandum, the claims do not recite a "mental process" and should not be characterized as abstract ideas.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Applicant asserts the steps in claim 1, such as “determine a pitch of the vehicle based on the sensor data”, “determine, based on the pitch, a load restoration metric associated with the vehicle”, and “a comparison of the load restoration metric to a target load restoration metric of the vehicle” could not be performed in the human mind, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations can reasonably be performed by a human mentally or with aid of pen and paper.
Further, Applicant asserts that “Prong 2 of Revised Step 2A Moreover, although the Office action has not identified a proper judicial exception, even if it had, claim 1 provides a practical application of any judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on any such judicial exception. … The claimed apparatus is structured to implement a practical solution to the problem of achieving a target load restoration for a vehicle using existing image- based and/or radar-based sensors of the vehicle. … Further, by providing setup information to assist an operator during a trailer setup procedure, the claimed invention "can ensure that a target load restoration for the vehicle is achieved, thus improving steering and/or maneuverability of the vehicle and the trailer during operation." (Specification, para. [0018]). Outputting setup information to instruct an operator to adjust a load- distributing trailer hitch, as set forth in claim 1, can be highly advantageous in producing a vehicle having a target load restoration and, thus, improved steering and maneuverability, and is highly beyond what can be performed by human with a pen and a paper. While claim 1 offers an unmistakably practical application of technology, it also provides no risk whatsoever of pre-empting the use of any judicial exception. Rather, it is unambiguously limited to a practical application of technology that provides a meaningful limit on any judicial exception that could be imagined as present, and can in no way be reasonably seen to be a mere drafting effort seeking to monopolize any judicial exception. As such, the claim is not directed to a judicial exception and is patent eligible at Prong Two of Revised Step 2A. Thus, the § 101 rejection is in error.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although, the claim recites the limitation of “obtain sensor data …”, “generate setup information”, and “output the setup information via a user interface, the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target load restoration metric”, the additional details do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The obtaining step does not elevate this limitation from insignificant extra-solution data gathering. The generating and outputting steps do not elevate this limitation from insignificant extra-solution activity. The improvement recited in the claims is merely to the processing of information, not to a computer itself, which is thus an improved mental process, not an improvement to the computer or technology. An improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea (see Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a *new* abstract idea is still an abstract idea"). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Furthermore, Applicant asserts that “Step 2B - Claim 1 Amounts to significantly More than an Abstract Idea Even assuming an abstract idea is present in claim 1 and claim 1 is not directed to a practical application, which are points not conceded, claim 1 includes an "additional element (or combination of elements) [that] is a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field." MPEP 2106.05(d). … Claim 1 of the instant application contains a unique, ordered combination of elements that set forth an apparatus that can achieve a target load restoration for a vehicle "by providing setup information to assist an operator during a trailer setup procedure (e.g., during adjustment of hitch settings of the load-distributing hitch)." (Specification, para. [0018]). By outputting setup information via a user interface to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch to reduce a difference between a load restoration metric and a target load restoration metric, the particular arrangement of elements in claim 1 of the instant application results in a technical improvement by ensuring that a target load restoration for the vehicle is achieved, thus improving steering and/or maneuverability of the vehicle and the trailer during operation. (Specification, para. [0018]). Further, by determining the load restoration using existing image-based and/or radar-based sensors of the vehicle, the particular arrangement of elements in claim 1 eliminates the need for installing designated sensors (e.g., ride height sensors, load sensors, etc.) for detecting the load restoration, thus reducing weight associated with the vehicle. Specification, para. [0018]).” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner submits that the claims do not recite any specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity in the field. Moreover, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere performance of an action is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Therefore, the rejection of such claims under 35 USC § 101 rejection is maintained herein.
Examiner notes that the rejection has been modified reflecting the amendments most recently submitted by applicant.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Weston and Rogness.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 1, 8, and 15 are directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Do claims 1, 8, and 15 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claims are directed toward a machine and a process which falls within one of the statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Are the claims directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
The independent claims (claims 1, 8, and 15) recite the limitation of “determine/determining a pitch of the vehicle based on the sensor data”, “determine/determining, based on the pitch, a load restoration metric associated with the vehicle”, and “a comparison of the load restoration metric to a target load restoration metric of the vehicle”. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation, as drafted, can reasonably be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, otherwise considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea. For example, the claim limitations encompass a person looking at (observing) the data and determines a pitch of the vehicle; determines a load restoration metric associated with the vehicle based on the pitch; and compares the load restoration metric to a target load restoration metric of the vehicle. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). As such, the claim encompasses a user (person) simply determining a pitch of the vehicle based on the sensor data; determining, based on the pitch, a load restoration metric associated with the vehicle; and comparing the load restoration metric to a target load restoration metric of the vehicle in his/her mind or by a human using a pen and paper. The mere nominal recitation of an apparatus (claim 1), interface circuitry (claim 1), machine-readable instructions (claims 1 and 8), at least one processor circuit (claims 1 and 8), a user interface (claims 1, 8, and 15), or at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium (claim 8) does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 do not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim(s) recites additional elements of “obtain/obtaining sensor data from one or more sensors of a vehicle, the sensor data representative of distances to ground at respective locations of the vehicle”, “generate/generating setup information”, “output/outputting the setup information, the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target load restoration metric”, an apparatus (claim 1), interface circuitry (claim 1), machine-readable instructions (claims 1 and 8), at least one processor circuit (claims 1 and 8), a user interface (claims 1, 8, and 15), and at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium (claim 8). The obtaining step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving/gathering data) and amount to no more than data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The generating and outputting steps are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post-solution actions, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The “a user interface” in claims 1, 8, and 15 are claimed generically and operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Regarding the additional limitation(s) of “an apparatus” in claim 1, “interface circuitry” in claim 1, “machine-readable instructions” in claims 1 and 8, “at least one processor circuit” in claims 1 and 8, and “at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium” in claim 8, the Examiner submits the limitations are merely tool(s) being used to perform the abstract idea (or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer). Further, the “an apparatus”, “interface circuitry”, “machine-readable instructions”, “at least one processor circuit”, and “at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium” are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The component(s) merely automate(s) the aforementioned step(s) and thus do/does not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”. See MPEP 2106.05(f). These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of computers. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224-26 (2014). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
The claim(s) does/do not recite any specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity in the field. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “the apparatus”, “the interface circuitry”, “the machine-readable instructions”, “the at least one processor circuit”, “the user interface”, and “the at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium” amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere performance of an action is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function.
CONCLUSION
Thus, since claims 1, 8, and 15 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 1, 8, and 15 are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Examiner additionally notes claims 2, 3, and 5-7 depend from claim 1, claims 9, 10, and 12-14 depend from claim 8, and claims 16, 17, 19, and 20 depend from claim 15.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 5-7, 9, 10, 12-14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more. Each of the claimed limitations either expand upon or add either 1) new mental process, 2) a new additional element, 3) previously presented mental process, and/or 4) a previously presented additional element.
As such, claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al., US 2023/0410528 A1, hereinafter referred to as Weston, in view of Rogness et al., US 2021/0390307 A1, hereinafter referred to as Rogness, respectively.
As to claim 1, Weston teaches an apparatus comprising:
interface circuitry (see at least paragraphs 48-50, Weston);
machine-readable instructions (see at least paragraph 57, Weston); and
at least one processor circuit to be programmed by the machine-readable instructions to (see at least paragraph 23 and 57, Weston):
obtain sensor data from one or more sensors of a vehicle (see at least paragraph 35 regarding the cameras 110, 112A, 112B are devices that capture live images used by the load manager 108. … providing sensor data to enable the load manager 108 to determine the load on the vehicle 100. See also at least paragraph 42 regarding receiving data from the sensors of the vehicle 100, including the cameras 110, 112A, 112B, Weston), the sensor data representative of distances to ground at respective locations of the vehicle (see at least FIGS. 3A-3B and paragraphs 25-26 regarding ride height information received from ride height sensors. See also at least paragraphs 84-93, Weston);
determine a pitch of the vehicle based on the sensor data (see at least paragraphs 41-43 regarding determining the pitch of the vehicle 100. See also at least paragraphs 84-93 regarding the grade determiner circuitry 204 determines the surface grade. For example, the grade determiner circuitry 204 can determine the grade the vehicle 100 is disposed on based on the information from the cameras 112A, 112B. For example, the grade determiner circuitry 204 can compare the angle of the driving surface as viewed by the front-facing camera 112A and/or the rear-facing camera 112B. In some examples, the grade determiner circuitry 204 can determine the pitch of the vehicle 100, Weston);
determine, based on the pitch, a load restoration metric associated with the vehicle (see at least FIGS. 3A-3B and paragraphs 84-93 regarding determining if a load change has been detected. For example, the load change detector circuitry 206 can, via the cameras 110, 112A, 112B, detect significant changes in the load on the vehicle 100. Additionally or alternatively, the load change detector circuitry 206 can detect a load change via a user input via the user interface 106 and/or a mobile device associated with a user. In other examples, the load change detector circuitry 206 can detect load changes by any other suitable means (e.g., other optical sensors, etc.). The image analyzer circuitry 208 determine a second ride height based on identified features. For example, the image analyzer circuitry 208 can identify the vertical displacement between the identified visual features (e.g., the vertical displacement 508 of FIG. 5, the vertical displacement 608 of FIG. 6, etc.) using the known size of the identified features and pixel scaling. In some such examples, the second ride height can be determined based on the determined vertical displacement via geometry and/or a look-up table. In other examples, the image analyzer circuitry 208 can determine the second ride height based on any other suitable technique, Weston);
generate setup information based on a comparison of the load restoration metric to a target load restoration metric of the vehicle (see at least paragraphs 84-98 regarding the image analyzer circuitry 208 can identify the vertical displacement between the identified visual features (e.g., the vertical displacement 508 of FIG. 5, the vertical displacement 608 of FIG. 6, etc.) using the known size of the identified features and pixel scaling. In some such examples, the second ride height can be determined based on the determined vertical displacement via geometry and/or a look-up table. In other examples, the image analyzer circuitry 208 can determine the second ride height based on any other suitable technique. The load determiner circuitry 210 determines the vehicle load based on the change in the vehicle ride height. For example, the load determiner circuitry 210 can determine the change in deflection of the suspension components 104A, 104B, 104C, 104D based on the sensor data received from the cameras 110, 112A, 112B. The alert generator circuitry 212 determines if an alert is to be generated based on the load. For example, the alert generator circuitry 212 can generate an alert, Weston); and
output the setup information via a user interface (see at least paragraph 34 regarding if the load condition satisfies a threshold, the load manager 108 can generate an alert to indicate to a user of the vehicle 100. See also at least paragraphs 84-98 regarding generating an alert. For example, the alert generator circuitry 212 can generate an alert to be presented via the user interface 106, Weston).
Weston does not explicitly teach the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target load restoration metric.
However, such matter is taught by Rogness (see at least paragraphs 119-130 regarding the indicator system 800 detects (e.g., via the sensor interface 804) the load imparted on the hitch 608 by the trailer tongue 906 and compares (e.g., via the parameter analyzer 810) the load to an example threshold load (e.g., a value corresponding to a proportion of a weight of the trailer 902). After properly loading the trailer 902, the indicator system 800 can further inform the person 900 of the trailer load status via the example mobile device 120, for example, if a position of second vehicle 904 relative to the trailer 902 changes during use of the first vehicle 104. In particular, the mobile device 120 may generate and/or display a warning to the person in response to indicator system 800 determining that the load imparted on the hitch 608 no longer satisfies the threshold load. For example, the mobile device 120 can generate an augment reality environment (e.g., the augmented reality environment 308 of FIG. 3, the augmented reality environment 402 of FIG. 4, etc.) that includes a warning indicating the load threshold is not satisfied (e.g., the warning 310 of FIG. 3, the warning 404 of FIG. 4, etc.). In some examples, the example hitch 608 is a weight distributing hitch having one or more arms 910 (FIG. 9B) (one of which is shown in this example) extending therefrom to carry out front axle load restoration for the vehicle 104. The arm(s) 910 of the illustrated example are adjustably coupled to at least a portion of the trailer 902 to generate a torque and apply the torque to the hitch 608 and the first vehicle 104. In particular, the person 900 increases or decreases the torque by adjusting one or more of chains, cables, brackets, etc. that couple the arm(s) 910 to the portion of the trailer 902, thereby increasing or decreasing a load imparted on a front axle of the first vehicle 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Rogness which teaches the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target load restoration metric with the system of Weston as both systems are directed to a system and method for determining a load condition of a vehicle based on sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having the setup information to instruct an operator to adjust at least one of a load bar or a chain of a load-distributing trailer hitch coupled to the vehicle to reduce a difference between the load restoration metric and the target load restoration metric and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Weston.
As to claim 2, Weston teaches wherein the one or more sensors include at least one of a B-pillar camera, a B-pillar radar sensor, a lidar sensor, a front camera, a rear camera, or a blind spot radar sensor (see at least FIGS. 1& 3A-3B and paragraph 29 regarding the vehicle 100 includes an example user interface 106, an example load manager 108, an example underbody camera 110, an example front-facing camera 112A, and an example rear-facing camera 112B, Weston).
As to claim 3, Weston teaches wherein the sensor data is first sensor data, the pitch is a first pitch, the distances to ground are first distances to ground when the vehicle is loaded (see at least FIG. 3B and paragraph 52. See also at least paragraphs 84-98 regarding the grade determiner circuitry 204 can compare the angle of the driving surface as viewed by the front-facing camera 112A and/or the rear-facing camera 112B. In some examples, the grade determiner circuitry 204 can determine the pitch of the vehicle 100. The load change detector circuitry 206 determines if a load change has been detected. For example, the load change detector circuitry 206 can, via the cameras 110, 112A, 112B, detect significant changes in the load on the vehicle 100. Additionally or alternatively, the load change detector circuitry 206 can detect a load change via a user input via the user interface 106 and/or a mobile device associated with a user. The sensor interface circuitry 202 captures a second image. The image analyzer circuitry 208 determine a second ride height based on identified features, Weston), and one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to: obtain second sensor data from the one or more sensors, the second sensor data representative of second distances to ground at the respective locations when the vehicle is unloaded (see at least FIG. 3A and paragraph 51. See also at least paragraphs 84-98 regarding the grade determiner circuitry 204 can compare the angle of the driving surface as viewed by the front-facing camera 112A and/or the rear-facing camera 112B. In some examples, the grade determiner circuitry 204 can determine the pitch of the vehicle 100. The sensor interface circuitry 202 captures a first image prior to loading the vehicle 100. The image analyzer circuitry 208 determines a first ride height based on identified features, Weston); determine a second pitch of the vehicle based on the second sensor data (see at least paragraphs 84-98 regarding the grade determiner circuitry 204 can determine the grade the vehicle 100 is disposed on based on the information from the cameras 112A, 112B. For example, the grade determiner circuitry 204 can compare the angle of the driving surface as viewed by the front-facing camera 112A and/or the rear-facing camera 112B. In some examples, the grade determiner circuitry 204 can determine the pitch of the vehicle 100, Weston); and determine the load restoration metric based on a difference between the first pitch and the second pitch (see at least paragraphs 84-98. See also at least paragraphs 104-105 regarding the comparatively large deflection of the suspension component 104C causes the sprung mass of the vehicle 100 to undergo the roll rotation 908 and the pitch rotation 910. In some examples, by measuring the angular position and vertical displacement of the features 806A, 806B relative to the optical centerlines 801A, 801B, the load manager 108 can determine the relative deflection of each of the suspension components 104A, 104B, 104C, 104D. After determining the relative deflection of each of the suspension components 104A, 104B, 104C, 104D, the roll rotation 908 and the pitch rotation 910 of the sprung mass of the vehicle 100 can be determined. For example, a difference between the average deflection of the driver-side suspension components (e.g., the suspension components 104A, 104C, etc.) and the passenger-side suspension components (e.g., the suspension components 104B, 104B, etc.) can cause a rotation about the longitudinal axis 902 and a difference between the average deflection of the front suspension components (e.g., the suspension components 104A, 104B, etc.) and the rear suspension components (e.g., the suspension components 104C, 104D, etc.) cause a rotation about the horizontal axis 904, Weston).
As to claim 5, Weston does not explicitly teach detecting, based on the sensor data, whether a condition associated with the vehicle has occurred, the condition to include at least one of a trailer being coupled to the vehicle, the vehicle coming to a stop, a load on the trailer being adjusted, or the trailer swaying relative to the vehicle; or determining the load restoration metric in response to the detection of the condition.
However, Rogness teaches detecting, based on the sensor data, whether a condition associated with the vehicle has occurred, the condition to include at least one of a trailer being coupled to the vehicle, the vehicle coming to a stop, a load on the trailer being adjusted, or the trailer swaying relative to the vehicle (see at least paragraphs 119-130 regarding the indicator system 800 detects (e.g., via the sensor interface 804) the load imparted on the hitch 608 by the trailer tongue 906 and compares (e.g., via the parameter analyzer 810) the load to an example threshold load (e.g., a value corresponding to a proportion of a weight of the trailer 902). In the illustrated example of FIG. 9A, the indicator system 800 enables the light(s) 602, 604, 616 to generate a predetermined visual indicator based on a magnitude of the load imparted on the hitch 608 relative to a magnitude of the threshold load, which can visually indicate to the person 900 when the trailer 902 is properly loaded and/or a degree to which the trailer 902 is improperly loaded. As the person 900 adjusts a position of the second vehicle 904 relative to the trailer 902, the indicator system 800 monitors the load of the hitch 608 for changes therein and determines (e.g., via the adjustment calculator 812) adjustments for the light(s) 602, 604, 616 in response); and determining the load restoration metric in response to the detection of the condition (see at least paragraphs 119-130 regarding as the load approaches the threshold load, the indicator system 800 increases (or decreases) the frequency at which the light(s) 602, 604, 616 blink, which may visually indicate to the person 900 that weight distribution of the trailer 902 is improving. In some examples, the indicator system 800 ceases blinking (e.g., maintains an intensity of or deactivates) the light(s) 602, 604, 616 in response to the load satisfying the threshold load, which may visually indicate to the person 900 that the second vehicle 904 is properly positioned on the trailer 902).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Rogness which teaches detecting, based on the sensor data, whether a condition associated with the vehicle has occurred, the condition to include at least one of a trailer being coupled to the vehicle, the vehicle coming to a stop, a load on the trailer being adjusted, or the trailer swaying relative to the vehicle; and determining the load restoration metric in response to the detection of the condition with the system of Weston as both systems are directed to a system and method for determining a load condition of a vehicle based on sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of detecting, based on the sensor data, whether a condition associated with the vehicle has occurred, the condition to include at least one of a trailer being coupled to the vehicle, the vehicle coming to a stop, a load on the trailer being adjusted, or the trailer swaying relative to the vehicle; and determining the load restoration metric in response to the detection of the condition and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Weston.
As to claim 6, Weston does not explicitly teach wherein, in response to a determination that the target load restoration metric is satisfied, the setup information is to inform the operator that the target load restoration metric is satisfied.
However, such matter is taught by Rogness (see at least paragraphs 119-130 regarding as the load approaches the threshold load, the indicator system 800 increases (or decreases) the frequency at which the light(s) 602, 604, 616 blink, which may visually indicate to the person 900 that weight distribution of the trailer 902 is improving. In some examples, the indicator system 800 ceases blinking (e.g., maintains an intensity of or deactivates) the light(s) 602, 604, 616 in response to the load satisfying the threshold load).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Rogness which teaches wherein, in response to a determination that the target load restoration metric is satisfied, the setup information is to inform the operator that the target load restoration metric is satisfied with the system of Weston as both systems are directed to a system and method for determining a load condition of a vehicle based on sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having the setup information is to inform the operator that the target load restoration metric is satisfied in response to a determination that the target load restoration metric is satisfied and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Weston.
As to claim 8, Examiner notes claim 8 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 9, Examiner notes claim 9 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 10, Examiner notes claim 10 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 12, Examiner notes claim 12 recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 13, Examiner notes claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 15, Examiner notes claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 16, Examiner notes claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 17, Examiner notes claim 17 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 19, Examiner notes claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 20, Examiner notes claim 20 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al., US 2023/0410528 A1, hereinafter referred to as Weston, in view of Rogness et al., US 2021/0390307 A1, hereinafter referred to as Rogness, and further in view of WANG et al., CN 115743087 A, hereinafter referred to as WANG, respectively.
As to claim 4, Weston, as modified by Rogness, does not explicitly teach wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to, in response to a determination that the target load restoration metric is not satisfied, at least one of restrict a speed of the vehicle or lock the vehicle in a parked position.
However, such matter is taught by WANG (see at least paragraphs 10-32 regarding executing a pre-set rollover condition when it is determined that there is a deviation between the inclination angle of the cargo on the target vehicle and the initial angle of the cargo on the target vehicle, and the inclination angle of the cargo on the target vehicle satisfies a preset rollover condition. An anti-rollover strategy is provided to control the driving state of the target vehicle to prevent rollover of the target vehicle. When it is determined that there is a deviation between the inclination angle of the target vehicle's cargo and the initial angle of the target vehicle's cargo, and the inclination angle of the target vehicle's cargo is greater than or equal to a first preset angle and less than a second preset angle, executing a background alarm strategy, and limiting the steering direction and speed of the target vehicle, so as to prevent the target vehicle from rolling over).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of WANG which teaches wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to, in response to a determination that the target load restoration metric is not satisfied, at least one of restrict a speed of the vehicle or lock the vehicle in a parked position with the system of Weston, as modified by Rogness, as both systems are directed to a system and method for determining stability of a vehicle based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of restricting a speed of the vehicle in response to a determination that the target load restoration metric is not satisfied and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Weston as modified by Rogness.
As to claim 11, Examiner notes claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 18, Examiner notes claim 18 recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al., US 2023/0410528 A1, hereinafter referred to as Weston, in view of Rogness et al., US 2021/0390307 A1, hereinafter referred to as Rogness, and further in view of WATANABE et al., US 2020/0001855 A1, hereinafter referred to as WATANABE, respectively.
As to claim 7, Weston teaches causing storage of the load bar settings in a database (see at least paragraph 122 regarding uploading information related to the load change to the central server 116. For example, the network interface circuitry 214 can send information (e.g., the recorded ride height change, the determined load, the environmental conditions, etc.) to the central server 116 via the network 114. In other examples, the network interface circuitry 214 can send the information to the database by any other suitable means, Weston).
Weston, as modified by Rogness, does not explicitly teach identifying load bar settings based on image data included in the sensor data in response to the determination that the target load restoration metric is satisfied.
However, such matter is taught by WATANABE (see at least paragraph 65 regarding when the tow vehicle 10 stops, the setting unit 70 determines that the determination condition is satisfied, and changes the target angle to the reference angle determined in advance (for example, 0°). In a case where the passenger has input a new target angle while the target angle is maintained, the setting unit 70 may change the target angle to the new target angle. The setting unit 70 causes the steering control unit 55 to output a steering angle, which is calculated such that the hitch angle becomes the target angle, to control the steering unit 30. The setting unit 70 may detect the hitch angle based on the captured image from the imaging unit 14b, or may calculate the hitch angle by means of a sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of WATANABE which teaches identifying load bar settings based on image data included in the sensor data in response to the determination that the target load restoration metric is satisfied with the system of Weston, as modified by Rogness, as both systems are directed to a system and method for determining stability of a vehicle based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of identifying load bar settings based on image data included in the sensor data in response to the determination that the target load restoration metric is satisfied and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Weston as modified by Rogness.
As to claim 14, Examiner notes claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rational.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lindenthal et al. (US 20250065888 A1) regarding a system for determining at least one of a vehicle load and a trailer tongue load based on the change in vehicle height.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666