DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's previous election of Species 2, Fig 16 & Sub-species A, Fig 1-10 is noted.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 16 ¶5-Page 17 ¶2, filed 06/10/2026, with respect to NSDP rejections and the terminal disclaimer filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The NSDP rejections of 03/18/2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 6-11, 25-29, and 31-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2: claim 2 states: “wherein, in order to perform the parameter determining function, the operation assisting function determines at least one of the following function parameters:
lubricant temperature;
lubricant flow rate;
lubricant differential pressure at a lubricant filter; and
lubricant level in at least one lubricant supply line.”.
This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not explain how in order to perform the parameter determining function, the operation assisting function determines one of the function parameters listed in claim 2. There is no description of steps or an algorithm where by determining one of the parameters listed in claim 2, the parameter determining function recited in claim 1 is allowed to be performed. The SPEC merely repeats the language of claim 2 without explaining how determining one of the function parameters listed allows the parameter determining function to be performed.
Regarding Claim 3: claim 3 states: “wherein the compressor operating function additionally includes a protective function, and in order to perform the protective function, at least one additional parameter determining function is performed, in which at least one of the function parameters is compared with at least one corresponding reference parameter”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not explain any particular relationship between a protective function included in the compressor operating function, and an additional parameter determining function that allows the compressor operating function which is a parameter determining function (as recited in claim 1) to be performed.
Regarding Claim 4: claim 4 states: “wherein, in order to perform the parameter determining function, the operation assisting function determines at least one of the following function parameters:
pressure of the gaseous medium on an input side of the screw compressor;
temperature of the gaseous medium on the input side of the screw compressor;
pressure of the gaseous medium on an output side of the screw compressor;
a position of the at least one control slider;
speed of rotation of a drive motor;
voltage at the drive motor; and
current consumption of the drive motor.”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not explain how having the operating assisting function determine one of the listed function parameters allows the parameter determining function recited in claim 1 to be performed.
Regarding Claim 6: claim 6 states: “wherein a further the compressor operating function additionally includes a protective function, and in order to perform the protective function, at least one additional parameter determining function is performed”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not explain how performing an additional parameter determining function, allows the compressor operating function which is a parameter determining function (as recited in claim 1) to be performed.
Regarding Claim 7: claim 7 states: “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also a control function, and in order to perform the control function, at least one of the following units is controlled :a control slider drive; a motor controller; a lubricant cooling unit; an injection element for compressed medium for the purpose of additional cooling; a slider controller for the at least one control slider.”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not explain how controlling one of the units listed in claim 7 allows the operation assisting function/control function/parameter determining function recited in claim 1 to be performed. Furthermore, Applicant has not pointed to where support is found for the claim language in the original disclosure, nor does there appear to be written description support for the amended claim language of claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8: claim 8 states: “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also an operating state predetermining function”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not describe how the controller is able to perform what is recited in claim 8 in combination with what has already be recited in claim 1. Furthermore, Applicant has not pointed to where support is found for the claim language in the original disclosure, nor does there appear to be written description support for the amended claim language of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9: claim 9 states: “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also an operating state monitoring function, and for the purpose of performing the operating state monitoring function, a result of at least one protective function is recorded”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not describe how the controller is able to perform what is recited in claim 9 in combination with what has already been recited in claim 1. Furthermore, Applicant has not pointed to where support is found for the claim language in the original disclosure, nor does there appear to be written description support for the amended claim language of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 25: claim 25 states: “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also an operating state monitoring function, and for the purpose of performing the operating state monitoring function, a function parameter determined by the parameter determining function and/or a control operation of at least one control function and/or at least one protective function is recorded over time.”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not describe how the controller is able to perform what is recited in claim 25 in combination with what has already been recited in claim 1. Furthermore, Applicant has not pointed to where support is found for the claim language in the original disclosure, nor does there appear to be written description support for the amended claim language of claim 25.
Regarding claim 26: Applicant has not identified where in the SPEC the amended language of claim 26 as amended has is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim language “in order to perform the parameter determining function, the operating assisting function determines at least one of the following function parameters: lubricant temperature; lubricant flow rate; lubricant differential pressure at a lubricant filter; and lubricant level in at least one lubricant supply line.” in the application as filed.
Regarding Claim 27: claim 27 states: Applicant has not identified where in the SPEC the amended language of claim 27 as amended has is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim language “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is a parameter determining function and, in order to perform the parameter determining function, the operation assisting function determines at least one of the following function parameters: temperature of the gaseous medium on the output side of the screw compressor; temperature of the drive motor; and phasing of the drive motor”. Additionally, the SPEC does not describe, how by using the operation assisting function to determine one of: temperature of the gaseous medium on the output side of the screw compressor; temperature of the drive motor; and phasing of the drive motor – allows the parameter determining function to be performed as claimed. Additionally, the SPEC does not describe how the controller is able to perform what is recited in claim 27 in combination with what has already be recited in claim 26.
Regarding claim 28: claim 28 states: “wherein the compressor operating function is also a protective function, and in order to perform the protective function, at least one additional parameter determining function is performed, in which at least one of the function parameters is compared with at least one corresponding reference parameter, such that if a value of the at least one of the function parameters exceeds or falls below that of the at least one corresponding reference parameter, a warning message is given and/or the screw compressor is switched off.”. This subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because the SPEC does not disclose performing an additional parameter determining function in order to perform the compressor operating function/protective function as recited in claim 28. Additionally, the SPEC does not describe how the controller is able to perform what is recited in claim 28 in combination with what has already be recited in claim 26.
Regarding Claim 31: Applicant has not identified where in the SPEC the amended language of claim 31 as amended has is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim language “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also a control function” in the application as filed.
Regarding claim 32: Applicant has not identified where in the SPEC the amended language of claim 32 as amended has is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim language “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also an operating state predetermining function” in the application as filed.
Regarding claim 33: Applicant has not identified where in the SPEC the amended language of claim 33 as amended has is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim language “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also an operating state monitoring function, and for the purpose of performing the operating state monitoring function, a result of at least one protective function is recorded.” in the application as filed.
Regarding Claim 49: Applicant has not identified where in the SPEC the amended language of claim 49 as amended has is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim language “wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is also an operating state monitoring function, and for the purpose of performing the operating state monitoring function, a function parameter determined by the parameter determining function and/or a control operation of at least one control function is recorded over time.” in the application as filed.
Claims 26-29, 31-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 26: Claim 26 recites the limitation "the operating assisting function" in Line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,12-14,17 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102220979 in view of Caillat USPN 5820349 and Pillis USPN 4609329. Examiners Note: For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiners submitted English translation of CN 102220979, submitted with this office action, is referenced hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1: CN 102220979 discloses the limitations: A compressor unit (the compressor unit is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising:
a screw compressor (1, Fig 1, Line 126-135) having a compressor housing (compressor housing = rotor shell of compressor 1, Fig 1, Line 126-135) that has a screw rotor chamber arranged in the compressor housing (screw rotor chamber = space inside the rotor shell where the male and female rotors are located, Fig 1, Line 126-135);
at least one screw rotor that is arranged in the screw rotor chamber (male and female screw rotors, Fig 1, Line 126-135), and is mounted on the compressor housing to be rotatable about a screw rotor axis (given what is shown in Fig 1, the pair of screw rotors would inherently be rotatably mounted on the compressor housing in order for the screw rotors to operate as intended; the rotation axis of the male screw rotor & the rotation axis of the female screw rotor = the claimed screw rotor axis; the male & female screw rotors each rotate about the axis) and to receive a gaseous medium (air) having an initial volume (i.e. uncompressed volume) that is supplied by way of a low-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing (low pressure chamber = space inside the rotor shell/compressor housing that receives air from flowpath 10, Fig 1, Line 126-135), and to discharge the gaseous medium, compressed to a final volume (i.e. compressed volume), in a region of a high-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing (region of a high pressure chamber = space inside the rotor shell/compressor housing that communicates with discharge port 4, Fig 1, Line 136-150); and
wherein the screw compressor has a compressor operational control unit (compressor operational control unit = controller 20, Line 175-207) configured to perform a compressor operating function (compressor operating function = parameter determining function = determining several different parameters to control operation of the system of the compressor unit, Line 175-207), which is an operation assisting function that assists at least one operation of the compressor unit (it assists with several operations of the system of the compressor unit, such as setting the motor speed of the compressor, Line 185-195); and
wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is a parameter determining function (as explained above the compressor operating function/operation assisting function IS a parameter determining function, Line 175-207), and in order to perform the parameter determining function, the parameter determining function determines the following function parameters:
temperature of the gaseous medium on the output side of the screw compressor (determines the temperature of compressed air sensed by sensor 24 and/or 23, Line 175-207);
temperature of the drive motor (determines the temperature of the motor sensed by motor thermometer 25, Line 175-207).
CN 102220979 is silent regarding the limitations: the controller determining phasing (rotation direction) of the motor. The prior art of Caillat USPN 5820349 which is directed to a controller for a screw compressor (Column 1 Line 10-24) like CN 102220979, is noted.
However, Caillat USPN 5820349 does disclose the limitations:
a screw compressor (i.e. screw compressor described at Line 10-24); wherein the screw compressor has an operational control unit (164,152,156, Column 4 Line 32-48, Column 3 Line 57-Column 4 Line 15) configured to perform a parameter determining function (i.e. determine if the motor is rotating in the reverse direction), and in order to perform the parameter determining function, the parameter determining function determines the function parameter: phasing of the motor (determine rotation direction of the motor as described in Column 4 Line 65-Column 5 Line 62, in particular Column 5 Line 42-62).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the compressor drive shaft and the controller 20 of CN 102220979 with the position sensor 172 and operational control unit (164,152,156) of Caillat USPN 5820349 in order to detect reverse rotation, and apply a braking torque to the compressor rotor to oppose the reverse rotation, thereby reducing the adverse effects otherwise caused by sudden high speed reverse rotation of the compressor components (Column 5 Line 49-62).
CN 102220979 is silent regarding the limitations: at least one control slider arranged in a slider channel of the compressor housing, and which is adjacent to the at least one screw rotor, the at least one control slider being movable in a direction of displacement parallel to the screw rotor axis and being configured such that the at least one control slider affects the final volume and/or the initial volume. The prior art of Pillis USPN 4609329 which is directed to a screw compressor like CN 102220979, is noted.
However, Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses the limitations:
a screw compressor 10 having a compressor housing (50,48,11,12,13) that has a screw rotor chamber (15,16) arranged in the compressor housing (Figs 1-3, Column 2 Line 24-37);
at least one screw rotor (18 and/or 19) that is arranged in the screw rotor chamber (Fig 3), and is mounted on the compressor housing (Figs 1-3, Column 2 Line 24-37) to be rotatable about a screw rotor axis (axis of 18 and/or axis of 19) and to receive a gaseous medium (refrigerant) having an initial volume (volume of refrigerant in inlet passageway 25) that is supplied by way of a low-pressure chamber (inlet passageway 25) arranged in the compressor housing (as seen in Fig 1), and to discharge the gaseous medium, compressed to a final volume (compressed volume of refrigerant in discharge passageway 28), in a region of a high-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing (region of a high pressure chamber = discharge passageway 28); and
at least one control slider (slide valve 32) arranged in a slider channel (recess 30) of the compressor housing (as understood from Fig 1 and Fig 4, & Column 2 Line 48-65), and which is adjacent to the at least one screw rotor (see Fig 1 and Column 2 Line 24-57), the at least one control slider being movable in a direction of displacement (direction of displacement = left right direction in Fig 1) parallel to the screw rotor axis (slide valve 32 moves in recess 30, and recess 30 is parallel to bores 15,16 and thus is parallel to the axis of 18 and/or 19; thus the slider 32 is movable parallel to the screw rotor axis as claimed) and being configured such that the at least one control slider 32 affects the final volume and/or the initial volume (volumetric capacity is varied by moving the slide valve 32, varying the amount of refrigerant which is compressed (i.e. the initial volume which is acted on by the compressor and/or the position of the slide valve controls the maximum pressure attained by the compressed gas prior to it reaching discharge port 29 Column 3 Line 55-Column 4 Line 2; thus the position of the slide valve 32 would inherently affect the final volume (e.g. the volume of the refrigerant in discharge passageway 28)).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing of the screw compressor of CN 102220979 with the slider channel 30 and the slide valve 32 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to be able to adjust the compression ratio and the maximum pressure attained by the compressor in a known manner (Column 3 Line 55-63).
Regarding Claim 12: CN 102220979 as modified by Caillat USPN 5820349 and Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 1. CN 102220979 is silent regard the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit is provided with a communication unit for exchanging data with external devices.
However Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (98,110,112) is provided with a communication unit (= connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114; ¶0032 in the specification of the instant application states “such an exchange of data with external device might be … an exchange of data with a display”; thus the prior art of Pillis addresses the claim within the same confines as the instant application) for exchanging data with external devices (i.e. exchanging data with a display 114, Column 4 Line 43-51).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller 20 of CN 102220979 with the connection (i.e. connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114) and the external device 114 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to provide a readout of the measured signals which are received by the controller (Column 5 Line 38-57, Column 4 Line 47-51).
Regarding Claim 13: Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the communication unit (connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114) exchanges the data by a wired route or wirelessly (since a wired connection or a wireless connection are the only types of known connections for electric components in the art, thus the connection in the Prior art of Pillis inherently is either a wired connection or a wireless connection).
Regarding Claim 14: CN 102220979 as modified by Caillat USPN 5820349 and Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 1. CN 102220979 is silent regard the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit is provided with at least one display unit that shows at least one performance state of the compressor operating function or a result thereof.
However Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (= 98,110,112) is provided with at least one display unit 114 that shows at least one performance state of the compressor operating function (since Pillis teaches at Column 5 Line 38-57, Column 4 Line 47-51 the readout on display 114 provides information based on the signals received by the control unit; it follows that in the combination of CN 102220979 as modified by Caillat USPN 5820349 and Pillis USPN 4609329 – the display 114 of Pillis would provide information based on the signals (i.e. temperature of the gaseous medium on the output side of the screw compressor, temperature of the drive motor, and phasing of the drive motor) received by the controller of CN ‘979 as modified by Caillat).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller 20 of CN 102220979 with the connection (i.e. connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114) and the external device 114 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to provide a readout of the measured signals which are received by the controller (Column 5 Line 38-57, Column 4 Line 47-51).
Regarding Claim 17: CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses the limitations: wherein the screw compressor has two screw rotors (CN – male and female screw rotors, Fig 1, Line 126-135) that are arranged in the screw rotor chamber (CN – Line 126-135), are mounted on the compressor housing to be rotatable about the respective screw rotor axis (CN – given what is shown in Fig 1, the pair of screw rotors would inherently be rotatably mounted on the compressor housing in order for the screw rotors to operate as intended; the male rotor rotates about the axis of the male rotor and the female rotor rotates about the axis of the female rotor), engage in one another by their helical contours (CN – as known in the art; also Pillis provides evidence in Fig 3 & Column 2 Line 24-57 that screw compressors like CN ‘979 have the features claimed) and each interact with compression wall surfaces that are adjacent to and partly surround the helical contours (CN – as known in the art; also Pillis provides evidence at Fig 3 & Column 2 Line 24-57 that screw compressors like CN ‘979 have the features claimed) in order to receive the gaseous medium having the initial volume that is supplied by way of the low-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing and to discharge the gaseous medium, compressed to the final volume, in the region of the high-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing, in that the gaseous medium is enclosed, at low pressure and with the initial volume, in compression chambers formed between the helical contours and the compression wall surfaces adjacent thereto, and is compressed to the final volume at high pressure (as known in the art; also Pillis provides evidence at Column 3 Line 45-54 that screw compressors like CN ‘979 have the features claimed), wherein the at least one control slider, which is arranged in the slider channel of the compressor housing (Pillis – arranged in recess 30, Column 2 Line 52-65), is adjacent to both screw rotors (Pillis – see Fig 1 and Column 2 Line 24-57) by slider compression wall surfaces (Pillis – surfaces 35 of slide valve 32 in confronting relation with the outer peripheries of rotors 18,19, Column 2 Line 48-65), and is movable in the direction of displacement parallel to the two screw rotor axes of the two screw rotors (Pillis – as explained above), and is configured such that the at least one control slider affects the final volume and/or the initial volume (Pillis – volumetric capacity is varied by moving the slide valve 32, varying the amount of refrigerant which is compressed (i.e. the initial volume which is acted on by the compressor and/or the position of the slide valve controls the maximum pressure attained by the compressed gas prior to it reaching discharge port 29 Column 3 Line 55-Column 4 Line 2; thus the position of the slide valve 32 would inherently affect the final volume (e.g. the volume of the refrigerant in discharge passageway 28)).
Regarding Claim 22: CN 102220979 as modified by Caillat USPN 5820349 and Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 1. CN 102220979 does not disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit controls a control slider drive for the at least one control slider, and determines movement of the at least one control slider using a position determining unit.
However Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (= 98,110,112) controls a control slider drive (131,125,126; control of valve 131 controls the position of piston 46 and the position of slide valve 32 see Figure 1, Figure 4, and Column 4 Line 42-Column 6 Line 50) for the at least one control slider (Column 4 Line 52-68, Column 5 Line 7-10, Column 5 Line 29-66), and determines movement of the at least one control slider (determines position of slide valve 32) using a position determining unit (using potentiometer 94 and its moveable element 95 which engages rod 44 of slide valve 32 the controller indicates the position of the slide valve (Column 4 Line 28-51)).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller and the slide valve of CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 with the compressor operational control unit (= 98,110,112), control slider drive (131,125,126) and the position determining unit 94 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to be able to indicate the position of the slide valve (Column 4 Line 47-51).
Regarding Claim 23: Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (98,110,112) positions the at least one control slider (positions slide valve 32) with position control (the controller moves the slide valve by actuation of valve 131 and solenoids 125 & 126, movement of the slide valve is performed in response to a capacity control signal derived from the suction pressure transducer, Column 6 Line 7-44, thus position control based on the capacity control signal is performed).
Regarding Claim 24: Further Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein, when determining the positions of the at least one control slider (i.e. determining a correct position for slide valve 32 based on the capacity control signal, Column 5 Line 57- Column 6 Line 24), the compressor operational controller (98,110,112) takes into account at least one of the parameters: pressure level on the input side at low pressure (i.e. signal from suction pressure transducer 86, Column 6 Line 7-18), pressure level on the output side at high pressure; temperature of the gaseous medium on the input side at the low pressure; temperature of the gaseous medium on the output side of the screw compressor at high pressure; speed of rotation of the at least one screw rotor; power consumption of a drive motor; and parameters of the gaseous medium. Additionally, in the alternate, the language of the claim never requires the future events of “the position of the at least one control slider to be determined” to take place given the “when” language. Thus in the situation where the particular future event never occurs, then none of the limitations defining what happens when the future event occurs (e.g. “the compressor operational controller takes into account at least one or more of the parameters such as …”) would never take place. As a result of this the prior art would address all of the required claim elements in the same way as described in claim 22.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102220979 as modified by Caillat USPN 5820349 and Pillis USPN 4609329 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kienzle US 2015/0004015.
Regarding Claim 15: CN 102220979 as modified by Caillat USPN 5820349 and Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 1. CN 102220979 does not disclose the limitations: wherein the screw compressor has a controller housing in which the compressor operational control unit is arranged.
However Kienzle US 2015/0004015 does disclose the limitations: wherein the screw compressor (i.e. the compressor housing/ rotor shell of compressor 1 in Fig 1 of CN ‘979 | Kienzle – the compressor housing of screw compressor 10; the compressor housing = 11,12,14,16,22, Fig 5, ¶0088-¶0090) has a controller housing (18, Fig 5, ¶0089) in which the compressor operational control unit is arranged (¶0089).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the controller housing 18 of Kienzle US 2015/0004015 into the compressor housing of CN 102220979, in light of the teachings (¶0089) of Kienzle US 2015/0004015, in order to package the controller and the compressor as a single unit using a housing structure that is known in the art.
Regarding Claim 16: Kienzle US 2015/0004015 discloses the limitations: wherein the controller housing 18 is arranged on the compressor housing (as seen in Fig 5, the controller housing 18 is arranged on the compressor housing = 11,12,14,16,22 as claimed; thus in the combination of prior art, the controller housing 18 of Kienzle would be arranged on the compressor housing of CN 102220979).
Claim(s) 26,36-38,41 and 46-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102220979 in view of Pillis USPN 4609329.
Regarding Claim 26: CN 102220979 discloses the limitations: A compressor unit (the compressor unit is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising:
a screw compressor (1, Fig 1, Line 126-135) having a compressor housing (compressor housing = rotor shell of compressor 1, Fig 1, Line 126-135) that has a screw rotor chamber arranged in the compressor housing (screw rotor chamber = space inside the rotor shell where the male and female rotors are located, Fig 1, Line 126-135);
at least one screw rotor that is arranged in the screw rotor chamber (male and female screw rotors, Fig 1, Line 126-135), and is mounted on the compressor housing to be rotatable about a screw rotor axis (given what is shown in Fig 1, the pair of screw rotors would inherently be rotatably mounted on the compressor housing in order for the screw rotors to operate as intended; the rotation axis of the male screw rotor & the rotation axis of the female screw rotor = the claimed screw rotor axis; the male & female screw rotors each rotate about the axis) and to receive a gaseous medium (air) having an initial volume (i.e. uncompressed volume) that is supplied by way of a low-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing (low pressure chamber = space inside the rotor shell/compressor housing that receives air from flowpath 10, Fig 1, Line 126-135), and to discharge the gaseous medium, compressed to a final volume (i.e. compressed volume), in a region of a high-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing (region of a high pressure chamber = space inside the rotor shell/compressor housing that communicates with discharge port 4, Fig 1, Line 136-150); and
wherein the screw compressor has a compressor operational control unit (compressor operational control unit = controller 20, Line 175-207) configured to perform a compressor operating function (compressor operating function = parameter determining function = determining several different parameters to control operation of the system of the compressor unit, Line 175-207), which is an operation assisting function that assists at least one operation of the compressor unit (it assists with several operations of the system of the compressor unit, such as measuring the oil temperature upstream of the oil cooler, Line 160-174); and
wherein the operation assisting function, that assists the at least one operation of the compressor unit, is a parameter determining function (i.e. determines the oil temperature upstream of the oil cooler), and in order to perform the parameter determining function, the operation assisting function determines at least one of the following function parameters:
lubricant temperature (Line 160-184). CN 102220979 is silent regarding the limitations: at least one control slider arranged in a slider channel of the compressor housing, and which is adjacent to the at least one screw rotor, the at least one control slider being movable in a direction of displacement parallel to the screw rotor axis and being configured such that the at least one control slider affects the final volume and/or the initial volume. The prior art of Pillis USPN 4609329 which is directed to a screw compressor like CN 102220979, is noted.
However, Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses the limitations:
a screw compressor 10 having a compressor housing (50,48,11,12,13) that has a screw rotor chamber (15,16) arranged in the compressor housing (Figs 1-3, Column 2 Line 24-37);
at least one screw rotor (18 and/or 19) that is arranged in the screw rotor chamber (Fig 3), and is mounted on the compressor housing (Figs 1-3, Column 2 Line 24-37) to be rotatable about a screw rotor axis (axis of 18 and/or axis of 19) and to receive a gaseous medium (refrigerant) having an initial volume (volume of refrigerant in inlet passageway 25) that is supplied by way of a low-pressure chamber (inlet passageway 25) arranged in the compressor housing (as seen in Fig 1), and to discharge the gaseous medium, compressed to a final volume (compressed volume of refrigerant in discharge passageway 28), in a region of a high-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing (region of a high pressure chamber = discharge passageway 28); and
at least one control slider (slide valve 32) arranged in a slider channel (recess 30) of the compressor housing (as understood from Fig 1 and Fig 4, & Column 2 Line 48-65), and which is adjacent to the at least one screw rotor (see Fig 1 and Column 2 Line 24-57), the at least one control slider being movable in a direction of displacement (direction of displacement = left right direction in Fig 1) parallel to the screw rotor axis (slide valve 32 moves in recess 30, and recess 30 is parallel to bores 15,16 and thus is parallel to the axis of 18 and/or 19; thus the slider 32 is movable parallel to the screw rotor axis as claimed) and being configured such that the at least one control slider 32 affects the final volume and/or the initial volume (volumetric capacity is varied by moving the slide valve 32, varying the amount of refrigerant which is compressed (i.e. the initial volume which is acted on by the compressor and/or the position of the slide valve controls the maximum pressure attained by the compressed gas prior to it reaching discharge port 29 Column 3 Line 55-Column 4 Line 2; thus the position of the slide valve 32 would inherently affect the final volume (e.g. the volume of the refrigerant in discharge passageway 28)).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing of the screw compressor of CN 102220979 with the slider channel 30 and the slide valve 32 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to be able to adjust the compression ratio and the maximum pressure attained by the compressor in a known manner (Column 3 Line 55-63).
Regarding Claim 36: CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 26. CN 102220979 is silent regard the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit is provided with a communication unit for exchanging data with external devices.
However Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (98,110,112) is provided with a communication unit (= connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114; ¶0032 in the specification of the instant application states “such an exchange of data with external device might be … an exchange of data with a display”; thus the prior art of Pillis addresses the claim within the same confines as the instant application) for exchanging data with external devices (i.e. exchanging data with a display 114, Column 4 Line 43-51).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller 20 of CN 102220979 with the connection (i.e. connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114) and the external device 114 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to provide a readout of the measured signals which are received by the controller (Column 5 Line 38-57, Column 4 Line 47-51).
Regarding Claim 37: Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the communication unit (connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114) exchanges the data by a wired route or wirelessly (since a wired connection or a wireless connection are the only types of known connections for electric components in the art, thus the connection in the Prior art of Pillis inherently is either a wired connection or a wireless connection).
Regarding Claim 38: CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 26. CN 102220979 is silent regard the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit is provided with at least one display unit that shows at least one performance state of the compressor operating function or a result thereof.
However Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (= 98,110,112) is provided with at least one display unit 114 that shows at least one performance state of the compressor operating function (since Pillis teaches at Column 5 Line 38-57, Column 4 Line 47-51 the readout on display 114 provides information based on the signals received by the control unit; it follows that in the combination of CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 – the display 114 of Pillis would provide information based on the signals (i.e. temperature of the lubricant) received by the controller of CN ‘979).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller 20 of CN 102220979 with the connection (i.e. connection between element 110 of the controller and display 114) and the external device 114 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to provide a readout of the measured signals which are received by the controller (Column 5 Line 38-57, Column 4 Line 47-51).
Regarding Claim 41: CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses the limitations: wherein the screw compressor has two screw rotors (CN – male and female screw rotors, Fig 1, Line 126-135) that are arranged in the screw rotor chamber (CN – Line 126-135), are mounted on the compressor housing to be rotatable about respective screw rotor axes (CN – given what is shown in Fig 1, the pair of screw rotors would inherently be rotatably mounted on the compressor housing in order for the screw rotors to operate as intended; the male rotor rotates about the axis of the male rotor and the female rotor rotates about the axis of the female rotor), engage in one another by their helical contours (CN – as known in the art; also Pillis provides evidence in Fig 3 & Column 2 Line 24-57 that screw compressors like CN ‘979 have the features claimed) and each interact with compression wall surfaces that are adjacent to and partly surround the helical contours (CN – as known in the art; also Pillis provides evidence at Fig 3 & Column 2 Line 24-57 that screw compressors like CN ‘979 have the features claimed) in order to receive the gaseous medium having the initial volume that is supplied by way of the low-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing and to discharge the gaseous medium, compressed to the final volume, in the region of the high-pressure chamber arranged in the compressor housing, in that the gaseous medium is enclosed, at low pressure and with the initial volume, in compression chambers formed between the helical contours and the compression wall surfaces adjacent thereto, and is compressed to the final volume at high pressure (as known in the art; also Pillis provides evidence at Column 3 Line 45-54 that screw compressors like CN ‘979 have the features claimed), wherein the at least one control slider, which is arranged in the slider channel of the compressor housing (Pillis – arranged in recess 30, Column 2 Line 52-65), is adjacent to both screw rotors (Pillis – see Fig 1 and Column 2 Line 24-57) by slider compression wall surfaces (Pillis – surfaces 35 of slide valve 32 in confronting relation with the outer peripheries of rotors 18,19, Column 2 Line 48-65), and is movable in the direction of displacement parallel to the two screw rotor axes of the two screw rotors (Pillis – as explained above), and is configured such that the at least one control slider affects the final volume and/or the initial volume (Pillis – volumetric capacity is varied by moving the slide valve 32, varying the amount of refrigerant which is compressed (i.e. the initial volume which is acted on by the compressor and/or the position of the slide valve controls the maximum pressure attained by the compressed gas prior to it reaching discharge port 29 Column 3 Line 55-Column 4 Line 2; thus the position of the slide valve 32 would inherently affect the final volume (e.g. the volume of the refrigerant in discharge passageway 28)).
Regarding Claim 46: CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 26. CN 102220979 does not disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit controls a control slider drive for the at least one control slider, and determines movement of the at least one control slider using a position determining unit.
However Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (= 98,110,112) controls a control slider drive (131,125,126; control of valve 131 controls the position of piston 46 and the position of slide valve 32 see Figure 1, Figure 4, and Column 4 Line 42-Column 6 Line 50) for the at least one control slider (Column 4 Line 52-68, Column 5 Line 7-10, Column 5 Line 29-66), and determines movement of the at least one control slider (determines position of slide valve 32) using a position determining unit (using potentiometer 94 and its moveable element 95 which engages rod 44 of slide valve 32 the controller indicates the position of the slide valve (Column 4 Line 28-51)).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller and the slide valve of CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 with the compressor operational control unit (= 98,110,112), control slider drive (131,125,126) and the position determining unit 94 of Pillis USPN 4609329 in order to be able to indicate the position of the slide valve (Column 4 Line 47-51).
Regarding Claim 47: Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses the limitations: wherein the compressor operational control unit (98,110,112) positions the at least one control slider (positions slide valve 32) with position control (the controller moves the slide valve by actuation of valve 131 and solenoids 125 & 126, movement of the slide valve is performed in response to a capacity control signal derived from the suction pressure transducer, Column 6 Line 7-44, thus position control based on the capacity control signal is performed).
Regarding Claim 48: Further Pillis USPN 4609329 does disclose the limitations: wherein, when determining the positions of the at least one control slider (i.e. determining a correct position for slide valve 32 based on the capacity control signal, Column 5 Line 57- Column 6 Line 24), the compressor operational controller (98,110,112) takes into account at least one of the parameters: pressure level on the input side at low pressure (i.e. signal from suction pressure transducer 86, Column 6 Line 7-18), pressure level on the output side at high pressure; temperature of the gaseous medium on the input side at the low pressure; temperature of the gaseous medium on the output side of the screw compressor at high pressure; speed of rotation of the at least one screw rotor; power consumption of a drive motor; and parameters of the gaseous medium. Additionally, in the alternate, the language of the claim never requires the future events of “the position of the at least one control slider to be determined” to take place given the “when” language. Thus in the situation where the particular future event never occurs, then none of the limitations defining what happens when the future event occurs (e.g. “the compressor operational controller takes into account at least one or more of the parameters such as …”) would never take place. As a result of this the prior art would address all of the required claim elements in the same way as described in claim 48.
Claim(s) 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Kienzle US 2015/0004015.
Regarding Claim 39: CN 102220979 as modified by Pillis USPN 4609329 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 26. CN 102220979 does not disclose the limitations: wherein the screw compressor has a controller housing in which the compressor operational control unit is arranged.
However Kienzle US 2015/0004015 does disclose the limitations: wherein the screw compressor (i.e. the compressor housing/ rotor shell of compressor 1 in Fig 1 of CN ‘979 | Kienzle – the compressor housing of screw compressor 10; the compressor housing = 11,12,14,16,22, Fig 5, ¶0088-¶0090) has a controller housing (18, Fig 5, ¶0089) in which the compressor operational control unit is arranged (¶0089).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the controller housing 18 of Kienzle US 2015/0004015 into the compressor housing of CN 102220979, in light of the teachings (¶0089) of Kienzle US 2015/0004015, in order to package the controller and the compressor as a single unit using a housing structure that is known in the art.
Regarding Claim 40: Kienzle US 2015/0004015 discloses the limitations: wherein the controller housing 18 is arranged on the compressor housing (as seen in Fig 5, the controller housing 18 is arranged on the compressor housing = 11,12,14,16,22 as claimed; thus in the combination of prior art, the controller housing 18 of Kienzle would be arranged on the compressor housing of CN 102220979).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record either alone or in combination does not teach or suggest the device recited in claim 18 including “wherein a position determining device is provided for the at least one control slider, in that the position determining device has a position indicator element coupled to the at least one control slider, wherein the position indicator element interacts with a detector element that extends parallel to the direction of displacement of the at least one control slider and along which the position indicator element is movable, and wherein the detector element is coupled to an evaluation device that determines a position of the position indicator element along the detector element” in combination with all the limitations of claim 1 and 17.
It is the Examiner’s opinion that modification of the available prior art in the claimed manner is neither contemplated nor foreseeable without the benefit of the disclosure of the instant invention. Accordingly claims 18-21 are allowable based on their dependency on allowable claim 18.
Conclusion
/CHARLES G FREAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/JOSEPH S. HERRMANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746