DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: receiving unit (Figure 1A, 28, paragraph 0063, any interface to receive meets the limitation or Figure 4, 410)and storing unit (Figure 1, 28, paragraph 0063 – encoded picture data storage device, or Figure 4, 460, paragraph 0169) in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foreign Reference provided by the Information Disclosure Statement filed 02/28/2025 (JP 2017-510100 and hereafter referred to as “Sharp”).
Regarding Claim 1, Sharp discloses a video decoding method comprising:
receiving an encoded bitstream include a first syntax element and quantized coefficients (Page 6, last paragraph to Page 7, end of paragraph, Page 8, 4th paragraph-Page 9, paragraph 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph),
obtaining the first syntax element used to determine a maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in each coded layer video sequence (CLVS) referring to a current sequence parameter set (SPS) (Page 11, Table 3, Page 8, 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Page 13, 3rd paragraph, Page 35, first-third paragraphs), wherein a value of the first syntax element is in a range of 0 to a first value (Page 11, Table 3), wherein the first value is the value of a second syntax element used to determine the maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in a layer in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to a video parameter set (VPS) when the second syntax element is referred to by a sequence parameter set (SPS) (Page 16, 4th paragraph, Page 27, last line to Page 28, first four paragraph);
applying an inverse quantization on the quantized coefficients to obtain dequantized coefficients (Page 9, 4th paragraph, Figure 3A);
obtaining a reconstructed residual block based on the dequantized coefficients (Page 6, last paragraph to Page 7, end of paragraph, Page 8, 4th paragraph-Page 9, paragraph 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Figure 3A); and
obtaining a decoded picture based on the first syntax element and the dequantized coefficients (Figure 3, Figure 4, Page 11, Table 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Sharp discloses obtaining decoding capability information based on the value of the first syntax element, and decoding the bitstream based on the decoding capability information n (Page 3, dpb parameter, Figure 1, figure 6, Figure 7A- Figure 7B, Page 14-15, last line to page 14 first 2 lines).
Regarding Claim 6, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Sharp discloses, wherein the second syntax element is in the VPS (Page 16, 4th paragraph, Page 27, last line to Page 28, first four paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 7, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Sharp discloses wherein the first syntax element is in the SPS (Page 11, Table 3, Page 8, 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Page 13, 3rd paragraph, Page 35, first-third paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 8, Sharp discloses a video encoding method comprising:
determining whether a second syntax element is referred to by a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein the second syntax element is used to determine a maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in a layer in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to a video parameter set (VPS) (Page 11, Table 3, Page 8, 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Page 13, 3rd paragraph, Page 35, first-third paragraphs);
determining a value of a first syntax element used to determine the maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in each coded layer video sequence (CLVS) referring to the current SPS, based on a range of the first syntax element, wherein the range is from 0 to a first value, and wherein the first value is the value of the second syntax element when it is determined that the second syntax element is referred to by the SPS (Page 16, 4th paragraph, Page 27, last line to Page 28, first four paragraph);
obtaining transform coefficients of a residual block (Page 7, 5th-7th paragraphs, Page 8, 4th paragraph to Page 9, 4th paragraph, Figure 2A, Figure 2B, Figure 3A);
performing quantization on the transform coefficients to obtain quantized coefficients (Page 7, 5th-7th paragraphs, Page 8, 4th paragraph to Page 9, 4th paragraph, Figure 2B, Figure 3A); and
encoding the value of the first syntax element and the quantized coefficients into an encoded bitstream (Page 7, last paragraph, Figure 2A, Figure 2B).
Regarding Claim 9, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 8 and 16 respectively. Sharp discloses the encoding the bitstream comprises encoding decoding capability information into the bitstream based on the value of the first syntax element (Page 21, paragraph 0316, Page 21-22, paragraph 0319, Page 23, paragraph 0363, 0366-0367, Page 2, paragraph 0031, Page 14, paragraph 0222, Page 15, paragraph 0236, Table 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 8. Sharp discloses, wherein the second syntax element is in the VPS (Page 16, 4th paragraph, Page 27, last line to Page 28, first four paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 12, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 8. Sharp discloses wherein the first syntax element is in the SPS (Page 11, Table 3, Page 8, 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Page 13, 3rd paragraph, Page 35, first-third paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 13, Sharp discloses an apparatus for storing an encoded bitstream, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a receiving unit configured to receive an encoded bitstream, the encoded bitstream including a first syntax element and quantized coefficients (Page 6, last paragraph to Page 7, end of paragraph, Page 8, 4th paragraph-Page 9, paragraph 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph),
wherein the first syntax element is used to determine a maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in each coded layer video sequence (CLVS) referring to a current sequence parameter set (SPS) (Page 11, Table 3, Page 8, 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Page 13, 3rd paragraph, Page 35, first-third paragraphs), wherein a value of the first syntax element is in a range of 0 to a first value, wherein the first value is the value of a second syntax element being used to determine the maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in a layer in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to a video parameter set (VPS) when the second syntax element is referred to by a sequence parameter set (SPS) (Page 16, 4th paragraph, Page 27, last line to Page 28, first four paragraph); and
a storing unit configured to store the encoded bitstream (Page 4, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 13 respectively. Sharp discloses herein the bitstream further includes decoding capability information dependent on the value of the first syntax element (Page 3, dpb parameter, Figure 1, figure 6, Figure 7A- Figure 7B, Page 14-15, last line to page 14 first 2 lines).
Regarding Claim 18, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 13. Sharp discloses, wherein the second syntax element is in the VPS (Page 16, 4th paragraph, Page 27, last line to Page 28, first four paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 19, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 13. Sharp discloses wherein the first syntax element is in the SPS (Page 11, Table 3, Page 8, 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Page 13, 3rd paragraph, Page 35, first-third paragraphs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp in view of Seregin et al (US 2021/0235124 and hereafter referred to as “Seregin”).
Regarding Claim 3, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 2. Sharp does not explicitly disclose the limitation. Seregin discloses wherein the decoding capability information comprises a decoded picture buffer (DPB) syntax element, the decoding the bitstream based on the decoding capability information comprises configuring a DPB based on the value of the DPB syntax element; and further comprising decoding the bitstream using the DPB to reconstruct a video sequence (Page 10, paragraph 0093-0094, Page 21, paragraph 0173, Page 22, paragraph 0190). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sharp to include the missing limitations as taught by Seregin in order to more efficiently implement video coding techniques (Page 1, paragraph 0003) as disclosed by Seregin.
Regarding Claim 4, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 2. Sharp does not explicitly disclose the limitation. Seregin discloses wherein the decoding capability information comprises a decoded picture buffer (DPB) syntax element, the decoding the bitstream based on the decoding capability information comprises decoding the bitstream based on determining that a DPB satisfies a requirement specified by the value of the DPB syntax element to reconstruct a video sequence (Page 10, paragraph 0093-0094, Page 21, paragraph 0173, Page 22, paragraph 0190). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sharp to include the missing limitations as taught by Seregin in order to more efficiently implement video coding techniques (Page 1, paragraph 0003) as disclosed by Seregin.
Regarding Claim 15, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 14. Sharp does not explicitly disclose the limitation. Seregin discloses the decoding capability information comprises a decoded picture buffer (DPB) syntax element used for configuring a DPB (Page 10, paragraph 0093-0094, Page 21, paragraph 0173, Page 22, paragraph 0190). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sharp to include the missing limitations as taught by Seregin in order to more efficiently implement video coding techniques (Page 1, paragraph 0003) as disclosed by Seregin.
Regarding Claim 16, Sharp discloses all the limitations of Claim 14. Sharp does not explicitly disclose the limitation. Seregin discloses the decoding capability information comprises a decoded picture buffer (DPB) syntax element used for decoding the bitstream when determining that a DPB used satisfies a requirement specified by the value of the DPB syntax element (Page 10, paragraph 0093-0094, Page 21, paragraph 0173, Page 22, paragraph 0190). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sharp to include the missing limitations as taught by Seregin in order to more efficiently implement video coding techniques (Page 1, paragraph 0003) as disclosed by Seregin.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,410 in view of Sharp.
Claim 1 of instant application
Corresponds to claim 1 of 12,250,410
A video decoding method comprising:
receiving an encoded bitstream include a first syntax element and quantized coefficients;
obtaining the first syntax element used to determine a maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in each coded layer video sequence (CLVS) referring to a current sequence parameter set (SPS),
wherein a value of the first syntax element is in a range of 0 to a first value,
wherein the first value is the value of a second syntax element used to determine the maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in a layer in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to a video parameter set (VPS) when the second syntax element is referred to by a sequence parameter set (SPS);
applying an inverse quantization on the quantized coefficients to obtain dequantized coefficients;
obtaining a reconstructed residual block based on the dequantized coefficients; and
obtaining a decoded picture based on the first syntax element and the dequantized coefficients.
A method of decoding a video or picture bitstream implemented by a decoding device, the method comprising:
obtaining a first syntax element used to determine a maximum number of temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in each coded layer video sequence (CLVS) referring to a current sequence parameter set (SPS) comprising syntax elements that apply to a video sequence,
wherein a value of the first syntax element is in a range of 0 to a first value,
wherein the first value is a value of a second syntax element used to determine the maximum number of the temporal sublayers that is allowed to be present in a layer in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to a video parameter set (VPS) when the second syntax element is referred to by the SPS; and
decoding the bitstream based on the value of the first syntax element, wherein the first value is a preset value when the second syntax element is not referred to by the SPS.
The instant application’s receiving an encoded bitstream include a first syntax element and quantized coefficients; applying an inverse quantization on the quantized coefficients to obtain dequantized coefficients; obtaining a reconstructed residual block based on the dequantized coefficients; and obtaining a decoded picture based on the first syntax element and the dequantized coefficients” are additional limitations. Sharp discloses receiving an encoded bitstream include a first syntax element and quantized coefficients (Page 6, last paragraph to Page 7, end of paragraph, Page 8, 4th paragraph-Page 9, paragraph 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph),applying an inverse quantization on the quantized coefficients to obtain dequantized coefficients (Page 9, 4th paragraph, Figure 3A); obtaining a reconstructed residual block based on the dequantized coefficients (Page 6, last paragraph to Page 7, end of paragraph, Page 8, 4th paragraph-Page 9, paragraph 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph, Figure 3A); and obtaining a decoded picture based on the first syntax element and the dequantized coefficients (Figure 3, Figure 4, Page 11, Table 2 and 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify US 12,550,410 to include the missing limitations as taught by Sharp to improve coding efficiency.
Claim 2-4, 5, 6-9,10,11-12, 13-19 of the instant application corresponds to Claims 2-4, 1, 5-8, 7,9-10, 1-7 of US 12,550,410 respectively.
Regarding Claim 8, the instant application’s “obtaining transform coefficients of a residual block; performing quantization on the transform coefficients to obtain quantized coefficients; and encoding the value of the first syntax element and the quantized coefficients into an encoded bitstream” are additional limitations. Sharp discloses obtaining transform coefficients of a residual block (Page 7, 5th-7th paragraphs, Page 8, 4th paragraph to Page 9, 4th paragraph, Figure 2A, Figure 2B, Figure 3A); performing quantization on the transform coefficients to obtain quantized coefficients (Page 7, 5th-7th paragraphs, Page 8, 4th paragraph to Page 9, 4th paragraph, Figure 2B, Figure 3A); and encoding the value of the first syntax element and the quantized coefficients into an encoded bitstream (Page 7, last paragraph, Figure 2A, Figure 2B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify US 12,550,410 to include the missing limitations as taught by Sharp to improve coding efficiency.
Regarding Claim 13, the instant application’s “a receiving unit configured to receive an encoded bitstream, the encoded bitstream including a first syntax element and quantized coefficient and a storing unit configured to store the encoded bitstream” are additional limitations. Sharp discloses a receiving unit configured to receive an encoded bitstream, the encoded bitstream including a first syntax element and quantized coefficients (Page 6, last paragraph to Page 7, end of paragraph, Page 8, 4th paragraph-Page 9, paragraph 4th paragraph, Page 5, first paragraph), and storing unit configured to store the encoded bitstream (Page 4, 2nd paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify US 12,550,410 to include the missing limitations as taught by Sharp to improve coding efficiency.
Conclusion
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
February 17, 2026