The preliminary amendment filed 5/30/2025 has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 7/03/2025 and 11/17/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoelen et al. (US 2008/0093530) (hereinafter Hoelen).
Claim 9: Hoelen discloses an illumination apparatus comprising: an optical waveguide assembly that comprises: a side-emitting light waveguide (1, fig. 3),an optical protective coating (12, 17, fig. 3) surrounding at least a portion of the waveguide (top portion), and a photosensor (8, fig. 3) for detecting propagating light through the side-emitting light waveguide (1), and for producing a feedback signal (optical feedback, see para [0010]) based on the propagating light; a light source (RGB, fig. 3) for injecting the light into the side-emitting light waveguide (1) based on the feedback signal (see para [0010]); and a receptacle (15, fig. 3) in which a groove is formed (opening formed within 15, fig. 3), wherein the groove comprises a cross section that is keyed to a cross section of a portion of the optical waveguide assembly such that the portion of the optical waveguide assembly may be received into the groove in one orientation (see fig. 3).
Claim 10: Hoelen discloses the receptacle (15) comprises an automotive part (front lens is used, see para [0045]).
Claim 13: Hoelen discloses the optical waveguide assembly further comprises a base (5, fig. 3) to which the optical protective coating (12, 17) is coupled (5 coupled to 12, 17 via 1), wherein the portion of the optical waveguide assembly comprises a lengthwise portion of the base (see fig. 3).
Claim 14: Hoelen discloses the optical waveguide assembly further comprises a reflector (12, fig. 3)that is disposed between the optical protective coating and the base (lower portion of 12 is disposed between 17 and 5, fig. 3).
Claim 16: Hoelen discloses the cross section of the groove and the cross section of the lengthwise portion of the base are both polygonal-shaped (see fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, 11-12, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoelen et al. (US 2008/0093530) in view of Ye et al. (US 2012/0134169) (hereinafter Ye).
Claim 2: teaches an illumination apparatus, comprising: an elongated, side-emitting light waveguide (1, fig. 3) that comprises a first end (left end of 1 with RGB, fig. 3) and a second end (right end of 1 with 9, fig. 3); a light source (RGB, fig. 2) coupled to and configured to inject light into the first end of the waveguide (see fig. 3); a photosensor (8, fig. 3) (light sensor, see para [0036]) coupled to and configured to detect propagating light at the second end of the waveguide (see fig. 3), and produce one or more feedback signals (optical feedback, see para [0010]) based on the detected propagating light; and an electrical detector circuit (controller, see para [0038]) coupled to the photosensor (8), wherein the electrical detector circuit (controller, see para [0038]) is configured to receive, the one or more feedback signals (optical feedback, see para [0036]), and configured to monitor the propagating light with respect to one or more thresholds (stable over time, see para [0039]).
However, Hoelen fails to teach one or more wires, wherein the electrical detector circuit is configured to receive, via at least one of the one or more wires, the one or more feedback signals.
Ye teaches an elongated, side-emitting light waveguide (130, fig. 1A), a light source (121, fig. 1A), a photosensor (171, fig. 1A), and electrical detector circuit (172, fig. 1) coupled to the photosensor (171) via one or more wires (wires between 171 and 172, fig. 2), wherein the electrical detector circuit (172) is configured to receive, via at least one of the one or more wires (see fig. 1A), the one or more feedback signals (feedback module, see para [0025]).
Therefore, in view of Ye, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the electrical detector circuit to the photosensor via one or more wires where the electrical detector circuit is configured to receive, via at least one of the one or more wires, the one or more feedback signals, in order to provide a signal connection between the circuit and sensor.
Claim 3: Hoelen teaches the electrical detector circuit (controller, see para[0038]) is configured to monitor the propagating light by comparing the one or more feedback signals to the one or more thresholds (stable over time, see para [0039]), wherein the electrical detector circuit is further configured to provide, based on a comparison, output to an electrical control circuit that is configured to control how much light is injected by the light source based on the output (output of the illumination should be stable over time, see para [0039]).
Claim 4: Hoelen teaches an optical protective coating (12, 17, fig. 3) that at least partially surrounds (12 and 17 surrounds top part of 1, fig. 3) the waveguide (1); and an elongated base (5, fig. 3) to which the optical protective coating is coupled lengthwise (see fig. 2), wherein the elongated base (5) is configured to couple to a receptacle (15, fig. 3) of the illumination apparatus.
Claim 5: Hoelen teaches the receptacle (15) comprises a groove (opening of 15 receiving 5, fig. 3) that comprises a cross section that is keyed to a cross section of the elongated base so that the elongated base may be received into the groove in only one orientation when coupled to the receptacle (see fig. 3).
Claim 6: Hoelen teaches the receptacle (15) comprises an automotive part (front lens is used, see para [0045]).
Claim 7: Hoelen fails to teach the optical protective coating and the elongated base are co-extruded such that both form one integrated piece.
Hoelen discloses the claimed invention except for the optical protective coating and the elongated base are co-extruded such that both form one integrated piece. It has been held that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Claim 8: Hoelen teaches a first width of the optical protective coating (width of 12, 17, fig. 3)along a cross-section of the illumination apparatus is different than a second width of the elongated base along the cross-section.
Claim 11: Hoelen teaches an electrical detector circuit (controller, see para [0038]); and the electrical detector circuit that is configured to 1) receive, the feedback signal (feedback, see para [0036]) and 2) monitor the propagating light with respect to one or more thresholds (stable over time, see para [0039]).
However, Hoelen fails to teach one or more wires that include a first end coupled to the photosensor and a second end coupled to the electrical detector circuit; at least one of the wires.
Ye teaches an electrical detector circuit (172), one or more wires (wires between 171 and 172) that include a first end coupled to the photosensor (171) and a second end coupled to the electrical detector circuit (172) that is configured to 1) receive, via at least one of the wires, the feedback signal (feedback, see para [0025]) and 2) monitor the propagating light with respect to one or more thresholds (controls light emitting state, see para [0025]).
Therefore, in view of Ye, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the electrical detector circuit to the photosensor via one or more wires where one or more wires that include a first end coupled to the photosensor and a second end coupled to the electrical detector circuit that is configured to receive, via at least one of the wires, the feedback signal, via at least one of the one or more wires, the one or more feedback signals, in order to provide a signal connection between the circuit and sensor.
Claim 12: Hoelen teaches the electrical detector circuit (controller, see para [0038]) is configured to monitor the propagating light by comparing the feedback signal to the one or more thresholds (adjust the color point, see para [0017]), wherein the electrical detector circuit (controller, see para [0038]) is further configured to provide output based on a comparison to an electrical control circuit (controller, see para [0038]) coupled to the light source (RGB) and configured to control how much light the light source injects into the side-emitting light waveguide (1) based on the output (output of the illumination system should be stable over time, see para [0039]).
Claim 15: Hoelen teaches the optical protective coating (12, 17) and the base (5) are formed as one integral unit (both 12, 17 and 5 are formed as an integral),
However, Hoelen fails to teach the optical protective coating and the base are made of a same material.
Hoelen in view of Ye discloses the claimed invention except for the optical protective coating and the base are made of a same material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the material of the base to include a reflective coating like that of the optical protective coating to increase light reflection, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 17: Hoelen teaches an optical waveguide-based side illuminating assembly, comprising: an elongated, side-emitting light waveguide (1, fig. 3);an elongated base (5, fig. 3) to which the waveguide (1) is attached lengthwise, a first end portion of the waveguide (left of 1, fig. 3) to a second end portion (right of 1 with 9, fig. 1) of the waveguide; and a photosensor (8, fig. 3) configured to detect propagating light in the first end portion of the waveguide,
However, Hoelen fails to teach the elongated base comprises one or more wires that extend lengthwise continuously from the first end portion to the second end portion, wherein the one or more of wires are coupled to electrical terminals of the photosensor.
Ye teaches an electrical detector circuit (172), one or more wires (wires between 171 and 172) that include a first end coupled to the photosensor (171) and a second end coupled to the electrical detector circuit (172) that is configured to 1) receive, via at least one of the wires, the feedback signal (feedback, see para [0025]) and 2) monitor the propagating light with respect to one or more thresholds (controls light emitting state, see para [0025]).
Therefore, in view of Ye, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the electrical detector circuit to the photosensor via one or more wires where the elongated base comprises one or more wires that extend lengthwise continuously from the first end portion of the waveguide to the second end portion of the waveguide, and wherein the one or more of wires are coupled to electrical terminals of the photosensor, in order to provide a signal connection between the circuit and sensor.
Claim 18: Hoelen teaches an electrical detector circuit (controller, see para [0038]) coupled to the photosensor (8), and configured to compare data from the photosensor to one or more thresholds (output of the illumination system should be stable over time, see para [0039]).
However, Hoelen fails to teach the one or more wires.
Ye teaches an elongated, side-emitting light waveguide (130, fig. 1A), a light source (121, fig. 1A), a photosensor (171, fig. 1A), and electrical detector circuit (172, fig. 1) coupled to the photosensor (171) via one or more wires (wires between 171 and 172, fig. 2), wherein the electrical detector circuit (172) is configured to receive, via at least one of the one or more wires (see fig. 1A), the one or more feedback signals (feedback module, see para [0025]).
Therefore, in view of Ye, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the electrical detector circuit to the photosensor via one or more wires, in order to provide a signal connection between the circuit and sensor.
Claim 19: Hoelen teaches a light source (RGB, fig. 3) configured to inject light into the second end portion of the waveguide (left end of 1, fig. 3); and an electrical control circuit (controller, see para [0038]) coupled to the light source (RGB) and configured to control how much light the light source injects into the second end portion of the waveguide responsive to output of the electrical detector circuit (output of the illumination system should be stable over time, see para [0039]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoelen et al. (US 2008/0093530) in view of Ye et al. (US 2012/0134169) as applied to claim(s) 17 above, and further in view of Rudisill et al. (US 2019/0036272) (hereinafter Rudisill).
Claim 20: Hoelen in view of Ye fails to teach the one or more wires are ferromagnetic wires.
Rudisill teaches ferromagnetic wires (ferromagnetic wire electrodes, see para [013]).
Therefore, in view of Rudisill, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the wires to be ferromagnetic wires, in order to allow magnetic attachment.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoelen et al. (US 2008/0093530) in view of Ye et al. (US 2012/0134169) as applied to claim(s) 17 above, and further in view of Magnan et al. (US 2014/0098564) (hereinafter Magnan).
Claim 21: Hoelen in view of Ye fails to teach a transparent optical protective coating that surrounds a side surface of the waveguide, wherein the transparent optical protective coating and the elongated base are extruded together to form one integral unit.
Magnan teaches a transparent optical protective coating (transparent protective layer, see para [0018]) that surrounds a side surface of the waveguide (202, fig. 4), wherein the transparent optical protective coating and the elongated base are extruded together to form one integral unit (see fig. 4).
Therefore, in view of Magnan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a transparent optical protective coating that surrounds a side surface of the waveguide where the transparent optical protective coating and the elongated base are extruded together to form one integral unit, in order to provide dust or scratch protection [Magnan, 0022].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matheson (US 2008/0048095) and Shikii et al. (US 2011/0148661) discloses a similar illumination apparatus.
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875