DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 9, 13-17, 23, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 2026/0113227) in view of Goto (JP 2014131112).
2. As per claim 1, Shin teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (Shin, ¶0008 “ … processor … memory …”), the at least one processor is configured to: obtain a configuration for uplink discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) communication (Shin, ¶0006 “… DFT-s-OFDM …”. Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art at the time of the invention to obtain or receive configuration for uplink DFT-s-OFDM communication for the benefit of enhancing communication – see Goto JP 2014131112 for example claim section), wherein the configuration for the uplink DFT-s-OFDM communication indicates a set of resource blocks (RBs) for a transmission of at least one signal (Shin, ¶0070 “… indication …”), wherein the set of RBs includes a plurality of resource elements (REs) including a set of supported REs or at least one additional RE (Shin, ¶0071 “… resource element …”); and transmit the at least one signal in accordance with the configuration for the uplink DFT-s-OFDM communication (Shin, ¶0069).
3. Claim 27 is similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
4. As per claim 2, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the set of supported REs is a DFT-sized set of Res (Shin, ¶0071).
5. Claim 28 is similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
6. As per claim 3, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the DFT-sized set of REs comprises a number of REs that is an integer product of at least one of 2, 3, or 5 or an integer product of powers of at least one of 2, 3, or 5 (Shin, ¶0075).
7. Claim 29 is similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
8. As per claim 9, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of REs comprises a maximum number of RE allocated or supported by the UE for transmitting the at least one signal under OFDM communication (Shin, ¶0071).
9. As per claim 13, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from a network entity, the configuration for the uplink DFT-s-OFDM communication (Shin, ¶0008).
10. As per claim 14, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration for the uplink DFT-s- OFDM communication is based on a communication specification (Shin, ¶0008).
11. As per claim 15, Shin teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (Shin, ¶0008), the at least one processor is configured to: configure a user equipment (UE) for uplink discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) communication (Shin, ¶0006. Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art at the time of the invention to obtain or receive configuration for uplink DFT-s-OFDM communication for the benefit of enhancing communication – see Goto JP 2014131112 for example claim section), wherein the configuration for the uplink DFT-s-OFDM communication indicates a set of resource blocks (RBs) for a transmission of at least one signal (Shin, ¶0070), wherein the set of RBs includes a plurality of resource elements (REs) including a set of supported REs or at least one additional RE (Shin, ¶0071); and receive the at least one signal configured in accordance with the configuration for the uplink DFT-s-OFDM communication (Shin, ¶0069).
12. Claim 30 is similarly analyzed as claim 15 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
13. As per claim 16, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the set of supported REs is a DFT- sized set of Res (Shin, ¶0071).
14. As per claim 17, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the DFT-sized set of REs comprises a number of REs that is an integer product of at least one of 2, 3, or 5 or an integer product of powers of at least one of 2, 3, or 5 (Shin, ¶0070).
15. As per claim 23, Shin in view of Goto teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of REs comprises a maximum number of RE allocated or supported by the UE for transmitting the at least one signal under OFDM communication (Shin, ¶0071).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 4-8, 10-12, 18-22 and 24-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635