DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. US20230261696.
CLAIMS 1,7
PARK et al. discloses a device and method for performing authentication in wireless power transmission system wherein he discloses: a power receiving apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive a digital ping from a power transmission apparatus (claim 1, a pink phase);
a transmission unit configured to transmit, after receiving the digital ping, a packet (claim 1, configuration packet)
indicating configuration information of the power receiving apparatus, the configuration
information including information indicating whether authentication functionality is supported by
the power receiving apparatus (claim 1, authentication function);
a negotiation unit configured to negotiate with a power transmission apparatus after
receiving an acknowledgment for the packet from the power transmission apparatus (claim 1, negotiation phase); and
an authentication unit configured to perform processing of authentication in a case where the
power transmission apparatus supports the authentication (claim 1, authentication request).
Claims 2,3,8
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the authentication unit transmits, in the processing of the authentication, a packet of GET_CERTIFICATE defined in WPC (Wireless Power Consortium) standard to the power transmission apparatus.
[0330] Thereafter, in order to obtain a certificate chain of the wireless power transmitting device, the wireless power receiving device transmits GET_CERTIFICATE to the wireless power transmitting device (S1810). Here, the GET_CERTIFICATE may be set by an offset and a length. The GET_CERTIFICATE is used for reading a segment of a target certificate chain.
CLAIMS 4,9
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the digital ping is a ping to wake up the power receiving apparatus.
The digital pink is inherently is a wakeup call since the packet indicating configuration is sent to the transmitter indicating the receiver is ready to receive power.
CLAIM 5
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein information indicating whether the authentication functionality is supported is stored in bit 6 of bank 2 of a configuration packet defined in WPC (Wireless Power Consortium) standard.
[0275] The certificate type is configured with, for example, 6 bits, may represent that the corresponding certificate is any one of a root certificate/intermediate certificate/leaf certificate, represent a certificate of the wireless power transmitting device or a certificate of the wireless power receiving device, and represent all of two information.
CLAIM 6
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein information indicating that the authentication functionality is supported is "1", and the information indicating that the authentication functionality is not supported is "0".
[0012] In another aspect, the target device may be a wireless power receiving device, the first packet may be a configuration packet of the wireless power receiving device, and the indication information may be configured with 1 bit and may indicate support or non-support of an authentication function of the wireless power receiving device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. US 20230261696.
CLAIM 10
PARK et al. discloses a method comprising: receive a digital ping from a power transmission apparatus; transmitting, after receiving the digital ping, a packet indicating configuration information of the power receiving apparatus, the configuration information indicating whether authentication functionality is supported by the power receiving apparatus; negotiating with a power transmission apparatus after receiving an acknowledgment for the packet from the power transmission apparatus; and performing processing of authentication in a case where the power transmission apparatus supports the authentication.
PARK et al. does not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the above method.
PARK et al. discloses the claimed invention except for programing a computer to execute the above method. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to automate the invention, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
January 30, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836