Double Patenting
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/20/2026 has been approved. Therefore, the non-statutory double patenting rejections of record have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US2017/0244021 A1, Reference of Record).
In regards to claim 1, Han et al. teaches in Figs 1 and 2 a bulk acoustic wave device comprising: A first electrode (121);
A second electrode (125);
A piezoelectric layer (123) between the first electrode and the second electrode; and
A raised frame structure (170) including a first raised frame layer (171) and a second raised frame layer (172), the second raised frame layer overlapping a portion of the first raised frame layer, and the first raised frame layer (171) extending further inward towards a middle section of the bulk acoustic wave device than the second raised frame layer (see Fig. 2);
Based on Fig. 2 the first raised frame layer (171) includes a non-gradient portion (i.e. non sloped portion) with a substantially uniform thickness and a gradient portion (i.e. taper portion) with a tapered thickness, and the second raised frame layer (172) includes a second non-gradient portion (i.e. non-sloped portion) with a substantially uniform thickness and a second gradient portion (i.e. taper portion) with a tapered thickness.
In regards to claim 9, based on Fig. 1 an active region where the first electrode (121) overlaps the second electrode (125), the active region including the middle area, and the raised frame structure (171) positioned outside the middle area of the active region (i.e. located on an edge portion of the resonator), the combined thickness of the first electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the second electrode being taken at the middle area of the active region.
Han et al. does not teach: in regards to claim 1, wherein the second raised frame layer having a higher acoustic impedance than the first raised frame layer.
However, Han et al. teaches in Paragraphs [0067] and [0101] that the first and second frame layers can be made from different material selected from aluminum nitride (AlN), lead zirconate titanate (PZT), silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), gold (Au), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), tungsten (W), or aluminum (Al).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Han et al. and have designed the first raised frame layer to be made from silicon oxide and the second raised frame layer to be made from molybdenum because such a modification would have been one of the limited design considerations when choosing the materials for the first and second raised frame layers (See Paragraphs [0067] and [0101]). As an obvious consequence of the modification, the second raised frame layer will be made from molybdenum which will have a higher acoustic impedance than the first raised frame layer made from silicon oxide.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 10, the most relevant prior art reference is the modification of Han et al. as discussed above. However, Han et al. does not teach in regards to claim 10, wherein the first raised frame layer is between the first electrode and the second electrode. Therefore, the applicants’ claimed invention has been determined to be novel and non-obvious. By virtue of dependency from claim 10, claims 11-20 have also been determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the applicant response, the applicant made the argument that the 35 USC 103 combination of record of Han et al. does not teach the amended claim 1 language of wherein “a first raised frame layer that includes a first non-gradient portion with a substantially uniform thickness and a first gradient portion with a tapered thickness and a second raised frame layer that includes a second non-gradient portion with a substantially uniform thickness and a second gradient portion with a tapered thickness”.
The examiner finds this remark not persuasive. As discussed above, the examiner has detailed how Han et al. teaches claim 1 as amended, furthermore, the examiner note that the amended claimed language added to claim 1 was previously presented claim 3, which was previously rejected (note that claim 3 has been amended to include different limitations). Therefore, the examiner has maintained the rejection of record since the modification of Han et al. as discussed above, teaches the claimed invention as amended.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843