DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. US 20230261696.
CLAIM 1
PARK et al. discloses: A power receiving apparatus ( claim 11, wireless power receiver) comprising: a receiving unit configured to receive a digital ping from a power transmission apparatus; a transmission unit configured to transmit, after receiving the digital ping, a first packet including identification information (a configuration packet including first control information related to whether the wireless power receiver supports an authentication function) and a second packet indicating configuration information of the power receiving apparatus, the configuration information including information indicating whether authentication functionality is supported by the power receiving apparatus (wireless power transmitter during a negotiation phase, a capability packet including second control information and a potential power value of the wireless power transmitter, wherein the second control information is related to whether the wireless power transmitter supports the authentication function; and transmit, to the wireless power transmitter during a power transfer phase, an authentication request message.); a negotiation unit configured to negotiate with a power transmission apparatus after receiving an acknowledgment for the second packet from the power transmission apparatus; and an authentication unit configured to perform processing of authentication in a case where the power transmission apparatus supports the authentication.
CLAIMS 2,3
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the authentication unit transmits, in the processing of the authentication, a packet of GET_CERTIFICATE defined in WPC (Wireless Power Consortium) standard to the power transmission apparatus.
[0315] The authentication request message includes GET_DIGESTS (i.e. 4 bytes), GET_CERTIFICATE (i.e. 8 bytes), and CHALLENGE (i.e. 36 bytes).
CLAIM 4
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the digital ping is a ping to wake up the power receiving apparatus.
[0180] In the ping phase (520), if the wireless power transmitter detects the presence of an object, the transmitter activates (or Wakes up) a receiver…
CLAIM 5
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein information indicating whether the authentication functionality is supported is stored in bit 6 of bank 2 of a configuration packet defined in WPC (Wireless Power Consortium) standard.
PARK et al. supports [0255] In the present specification, Qi standard of WPC as standard technology is exemplified, but the technical scope of the present invention includes an embodiment of authentication based on other standards as well as Qi standard, Since PARK et al. supports the Q1 standard the authentication function packet configuration is defined by the WPC and therefore is disclosed.
CLAIM 6
PARK et al. discloses: The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein information indicating that the authentication functionality is supported is "1", and the information indicating that the authentication functionality is not supported is "0".
PARK et al. teaches, in claim 6, wherein the first control information has a length of 1-bit, wherein the first control information has a value of ‘0’ for the wireless power receiver not supporting the authentication function, wherein the first control information has a value of ‘1’ for the wireless power receiver supporting the authentication function.
CLAIM 7
PARK et al. discloses: A method for a power receiving apparatus comprising: receive a digital ping from a power transmission apparatus; transmitting, after receiving the digital ping, a first packet including identification information and a second packet indicating configuration information of the power receiving apparatus, the configuration information including information indicating whether authentication functionality is supported by the power receiving apparatus; negotiating with a power transmission apparatus after receiving an acknowledgment for the second packet from the power transmission apparatus; and performing processing of authentication in a case where the power transmission apparatus supports the authentication. The power receiving apparatus in claim 1 inherently discloses the method for the power receiving apparatus since its method of operating is inherently the method claimed in claim 7.
CLAIM 8
PARK et al. disclose: The method according to claim 7, wherein, in processing of the authentication, a packet of GET_CERTIFICATE defined in WPC (Wireless Power Consortium) standard is transmitted to the power transmission apparatus. (PARK et al. supports the WPC standard (see claims 2,3, rejections above)
CLAIM 9
PARK et al. discloses: The method according to claim 7, wherein the digital ping is a ping to wake up the power receiving apparatus. (see claim 4 rejection above)
CLAIM 10
PARK et al. discloses the claimed invention except for a non-transitory computer program configured to execute the method claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to program a computer to execute the method, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1-10 of Application No.19038516. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-10 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims1-10 of copending Application No. 19038516 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
February 2, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836