DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 07/15/2026.
Claims 1-7 and 21-33 are under examination.
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 01/27/2025 have been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 22-23 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3, 22-23 and 29-30 recite the limitation "the confidential data". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1. 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore (US 2020/0320211 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moore discloses: A computer-implemented method for managing encrypted data in a decentralized system, comprising: receiving, at an electronic device, a linear sequence comprising metadata stored in plain text and the encrypted data [par. 0039, “A copy of the team linear sequence 160, 170 and the space linear sequence 190, 192, 194 can be distributed to all the devices 110-160”, par. 0040, “The metadata contained in the team linear sequence 160, 170 and the space linear sequence 190, 192, 194 can be stored in plain text, while the remainder of the data can be encrypted”], wherein the encrypted data includes at least one of files, filesystems, or messages [par. 0034, “encrypted data can include a file, a file system”]; storing the metadata in plain text while maintaining encryption of the encrypted data [par. 0040, “The metadata contained in the team linear sequence 160, 170 and the space linear sequence 190, 192, 194 can be stored in plain text, while the remainder of the data can be encrypted”]; receiving a request to access the encrypted data [par. 0103, “the processor can receive a request to access the encrypted data”]; verifying authority to access the encrypted data by analyzing the metadata stored in plain text [par. 0040, “The metadata… can be stored in plain text… The metadata can include authority information, policy information, roles, etc., stored within the team linear sequence 160, 170 and the space linear sequence”, par. 0104, “the processor can determine whether the user making the request has an authority to access the encrypted data by computing the authority recorded in the linear sequence as shown in FIGS. 8, 9, and 10A-B. To compute the authority, the processor can check the linear sequence from an initial block to a last block to determine user roles and authority associated with each role, and to compare the request from the user to the user role. In other words, the processor can manage access to the encrypted data by the cryptographic user ID by checking that the access by the cryptographic user ID is permitted by the authority recorded in the linear sequence”]; accessing an encryption key associated with the encrypted data [par. 0119, “a message encrypted using the AES key can be distributed to the devices within the space…”]; and decrypting, using the encryption key, only a portion of the at least one of files, filesystems, or messages that is associated with the verified authority [par. 0093, “The encrypted data 1130 can be encrypted using an Advanced Encryption Standard (AES), a symmetric-key algorithm using the same key for both encrypting and decrypting the data”, par. 0035, “Access to encrypted data can be granted upon verifying that the cryptographic user ID requesting the access has the authority encompassing the access”, par. 0040, “The filesystems, files, and/or messages can only be accessed by knowing the encryption key used in encrypting the data”].
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Moore further discloses the confidential data further comprises filenames associated with the files or filesystems [par. 0040, “filenames can be a part of the confidential data if the encrypted data includes files and/or filesystems”].
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Moore further discloses verifying the authority comprises: determining a space associated with the confidential data; identifying encryption keys associated with the space; and limiting access to only the confidential data within the identified space [par. 0034, “Each space 180, 182, 184 can have encrypted data that can be made accessible only to the space members”, par. 0041, “if the attacker gains control of the encryption key associated with space 182, the attacker would only be able to access confidential data within the space 182, not the confidential data within spaces 184 and 180”, par. 0093, “The encrypted confidential data 1130 can be stored on the devices 1100-1120 and the server 1140. The AES key can be known only to the devices 1100-1120 that have the authority to access the encrypted data 1130”].
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Moore further discloses the linear sequence comprises: a team linear sequence defining team member identities and authorities [par. 0042, “a team linear sequence and a space linear sequence. A team linear sequence 200 can be used to track identities of team members and their authority in a team”]; and a space linear sequence forming a secure compartment admitting a subset of team members [par. 0042, “A space linear sequence 210 can be used to form a secure compartment which can admit a subset of the team members”], wherein the space linear sequence relies on the team linear sequence to determine policy within the space [par. 0042, “The space linear sequence 210 can rely on the team linear sequence 200 to determine policy within the space”].
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated.
Moore further discloses the team linear sequence comprises a first block defining a policy specifying roles and authorities [par. 0043, “The initial block 205 of the team linear sequence 200 can define a policy for the team. A policy can specify a role and an authority associated with the role”]; and the space linear sequence comprises blocks defining events including addition of users to the space and addition of encrypted data to the space [par. 0048, “Block 215 of the space linear sequence 210 can include an event such as addition of a user to the space, addition of encrypted data to the space”].
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Moore further discloses detecting a compromise of an encryption key associated with a first space; maintaining encryption of confidential data in other spaces using different encryption keys; and limiting the compromise to only the confidential data within the first space [par. 0034, “Each space 180, 182, 184 can have encrypted data that can be made accessible only to the space members”, par. 0041, “ if the attacker gains control of the encryption key associated with space 182, the attacker would only be able to access confidential data within the space 182, not the confidential data within spaces 184 and 180. If an attacker obtains Ellen's private key, the attacker would only be able to access confidential data within the space 184, and not spaces 180 and 182. Thus, by compartmentalizing authority and access to spaces 180, 182, 184, the breach of the system can be confined”, par. 0093, “The encrypted confidential data 1130 can be stored on the devices 1100-1120 and the server 1140. The AES key can be known only to the devices 1100-1120 that have the authority to access the encrypted data 1130”].
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Moore further discloses accessing the encryption key comprises: verifying that a requesting user's cryptographic user ID has authority encompassing the requested access; and denying access to the confidential data when the requesting user's cryptographic user ID lacks the authority [par. 0035, “Access to encrypted data can be granted upon verifying that the cryptographic user ID requesting the access has the authority encompassing the access”, par. 0036, “if user Ellen's cryptographic user ID requests to write to the encrypted data, user Ellen's cryptographic user ID will be denied the access to write to the encrypted data because user Ellen's cryptographic user ID lacks the authority”].
Regarding claim 21, it recites limitations like claim 1. The reason for the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 22, it recites limitations like claim 2. The reason for the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 23, it recites limitations like claim 3. The reason for the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 24, it recites limitations like claim 4. The reason for the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 25, it recites limitations like claim 5. The reason for the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 26, it recites limitations like claim 6. The reason for the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 27, it recites limitations like claim 7. The reason for the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 28, it recites limitations like claim 1. The reason for the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 29, it recites limitations like claim 2. The reason for the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 30, it recites limitations like claim 3. The reason for the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 31, it recites limitations like claim 4. The reason for the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 32, it recites limitations like claim 5. The reason for the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 33, it recites limitations like claim 6. The reason for the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20230274020 A1 USING A TRUSTED AUTHORITY TO ENFORCE ENCRYPTION LEVELS/AUTHENTICATION LEVELS IN A BLOCKCHAIN
US 20220210061 A1 ACCESS CONTROL AND OWNERSHIP TRANSFER OF DIGITAL CONTENT USING A DECENTRALIZED CONTENT FABRIC AND LEDGER
US 20210182423 A1 SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUSES FOR STORING PII INFORMATION VIA A METADATA DRIVEN BLOCKCHAIN USING DISTRIBUTED AND DECENTRALIZED STORAGE FOR SENSITIVE USER INFORMATION
US 20200380141 A1 PRIVATE DATA PROCESSING
US 20200204876 A1 METADATA DISTRIBUTION AND MANAGEMENT VIA TRANSACTIONAL BLOCKCHAIN TECHNOLOGY
US 20200120023 A1 DECENTRALIZED CONTENT FABRIC
US 11664099 B1 Decentralized Data Collection For Clinical Trials
US 11470093 B1 User Authentication And Data Encryption Systems And Methods
US 20200412806 A1 METHODS, APPARATUSES, AND COMPUTER PROGRAM PRODUCTS FOR MANAGEMENT OF DATA DELETION REQUESTS BASED ON GEOGRAPHICALLY DISTRIBUTED DATA
/JASON CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431