DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 with respect to Claims 1, 5, 8, 11-14, and 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made over JI in view of Onggosanusi (US 20200186281 A1) (newly cited prior art), hereinafter referred as Onggosanusi in further view of FAN.
On page 8, Argument A, the applicant contends that JI does not teach limitation of transmitting, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of a link adaptation capability associated with wireless communication between the UE and a wireless node because “the office action relies on Ji's "channel state feedback" operation and resulting report as allegedly disclosing the claimed indication of a link adaptation capability and Ji describes the channel state feedback operation as generating a report for the eNB to manage the connection between the UE and eNB.” JI (P. 0022) expressly discloses UE 115 having transceiver 225 and states that transceiver is “configured to transmit and/or receive data.” The UE may “perform uplink and/or downlink communication functionalities via the transceiver.” JI (P. 0032) also describes the UE generating channel state feedback report and providing it back to the eNB via the inner report. Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection based on the teaching of the Ji reference
As per indication of a link adaptation capability, the examiner directs the applicant's attention that during examination, a claim must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation does not mean the broadest possible interpretation, and the construction must be consistent with what and how the inventor describes the invention in the specification (MPEP 2111; see also MPEP 2111.01). The Examiner interprets “link adaptation capability” as a capability of the UE associated with adapting one or more communication parameters for a wireless link, including a capability associated with a supported number of transmission layers. JI (P. 0048) teaches “The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput.” Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized Ji’s RI, which indicates the number of transmission layers the UE is capable of supporting, as an indication of a link adaptation capability of the UE.
On page 8-9, Argument B, the applicant further contends that JI does not teach or suggest the limitation of receive, via the at least one transceiver and after the indication is transmitted, configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the apparatus because “the office action relies on Ji's disclosure of "determining a block error rate (BLER) target value to be used in a channel state feedback operation" as allegedly disclosing this limitation and Ji expressly assigns that determination to the UE. JI (P. 0030) expressly teaches that the eNB has an independent link-adaptation process with its own BLER target as it states “The outer loop may include a BLER target to be maintained by the eNB.” Ji (P. 0030) further teaches that the eNB filters BLER based on adjustment to the scheduled MCS and/or MIMO type. Therefore, “a first BLER associated with a link adaptation process independent of the apparatus (UE)” is taught because the eNB’s outer-loop BLER target is independent of the UE’s inner-loop process.
As per receive, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER), JI shows the UE receiving information from eNB and that the UE determines connection-related information based on signals received from the eNB, but does not explicitly teach that the eNB’s outer-loop BLER target itself is transmitted to or received by the UE. However, the examiner relied on Oggosnusi (P. 0006) that teaches the transceiver, receiving configuration information and target BLER together.
On page 9-10, Argument C, the applicant also contends that JI does not teach or suggest the limitation of transmit, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of a UE- recommended metric that is based on the first BLER because “the office action relies on Ji's CQI, PMI, and RI as allegedly disclosing the claimed UE-recommended metric.” As the applicant stated JI (P. 0032) discloses that its “channel state feedback report may include CQI, PMI, and RI and that its dynamically set UE BLER target may affect the CQI calculation.” JI (P. 0037 and 0041) also states “through this selection of the BLER target, the UE 115 may provide information to the eNB 110 through a resulting CQI value that is determined from this dynamically set BLER target. The channel state feedback report, particularly the CQI value, may have a dependency upon the dynamically set BLER target…the channel state feedback report may include information that is directly (or indirectly) affected by the dynamically set BLER target.” Therefore JI gives a BLER target, determines CQI, CQI included in UE report and reporting transmitted to eNB via UE transceiver. The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s argument that JI CQI is not based on the claimed first BLER because JI’s BLER is internally determined by the UE. However, after combining JI with Onggosanusi, the system teaches configuration of a target BLER for CSI reporting and expressly teaches that a required/target BLER is used a s areference for calculating CQI (Onggosanusi P. 0127). Thus, in the combination, the configured target BLER taught by Onggosanusi is used as the BLER reference for determining the CQI, and JI teaches transmitting the resulting CQI from the UE to the eNB. Accordingly, the combination teaches transmitting the claimed UE-recommended metric based on the first BLER.
On page 10-11, Argument D, the applicant also contends that JI does not teach or suggest the limitation of the ordered exchange required by claim 1. Claim 1 requires the UE to first transmit the capability indication, then receive the configuration information comprising the first BLER, and then transmit the UE-recommended metric based on that first BLER. Ji instead describes the UE selecting a BLER target and using that target in generating a channel state feedback report. After combining JI with Onggosanus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the UE transmit its indication of link-adaptation capability before receiving the CSI reporting configuration because JI teaches using UE-proved information in performing link adaptation, while Onggosanusi teaches that the BS controls subsequent CSI reporting by configuring the UE and further recognizes UE-recommended CSI-reporting parameters. Onggosanusi (P. 0170) “decoding configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) reporting. The configuration information includes a CQI table selection and a target block error rate (BLER). Following successful decoding of the CSI reporting configuration information, the UE calculates and transmits the CSI that includes a channel quality indicator (CQI). Paragraph 174 states “Subsequently” and Paragraph 177 states “while shown as a series of steps, various steps in each figure could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, occur multiple times, or not be performed in one or more embodiments” which expressly tells the person of ordinary skill in the art that the CSI configuration procedure is not limited to the illustrated ordering. Thus, it would have been obvious for the BS to receive the UE’s capability/recommendation before selecting and transmitting the corresponding CSI reporting configuration, so that the BS could configure the UE in accordance with information supplied by the UE. The UE would thereafter calculate and transmit CQI according to the received configuration, as expressly taught by Onggosanusi.
With regards to claims 5-6, and 12, the Applicant did not make any arguments regarding the Fan reference; the examiner is therefore maintaining the reference. See below the new rejection of the stated claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI (U.S. Patent No 2019/0036829), hereinafter referred as JI et al in view of Onggosanusi (US 20200186281 A1), hereinafter referred as Onggosanusi.
Regarding claim 1, JI substantially discloses an apparatus, for wireless communication, comprising:
At least one transceiver; at least one memory, individually or in combination, having instructions (UE may include a processor, a memory arrangement, a display device, an input/output (IO) device, transceivers; p. 0017)(The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022);
and at least one processor, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (UE may include a processor, a memory arrangement, a display device, an input/output (IO) device, transceivers. The processor may be configured to execute a plurality of applications of the UE; JI p. 0017-0018);
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of a link adaptation capability associated with wireless communication between the apparatus and a wireless node (The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022)(channel state feedback (“indication”) operation generating a report for the Node B (eNB) and associated with a link adaptation operation; p. 0026, 0032, 0035, 0037) (The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput (equates link adaptation capability; p. 0048);
comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the apparatus (The outer loop may include a BLER target to be maintained by the eNB 110. The BLER target may vary for different channel scenarios such as being Doppler dependent. The channel state feedback operation may have an estimation at the UE 115 that is not always reliable. Therefore, the eNB 110 may filter the BLER of the UE 115 based upon adjustments to the MCS type and/or a multiple-in multiple-out (MIMO) type that is scheduled for the UE 115 by the eNB (the eNB’s outer-loop BLER target is independent of the UE’s inner-loop process); JI p. 0030)
JI does not explicitly teach receive, via the at least one transceiver after the indication is transmitted, configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the apparatus
JI partially teach transmit, via the at least one transceiver an indication of an apparatus-recommended metric that is based on the first BLER (the channel state feedback (“indicator”) reports from the UE and may include connection parameters and metrics such as a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indication (RI)…the BLER target value may be a basis upon which the channel state feedback operation is performed, particularly in determining the CQI to be included in the channel state feedback report.; JI p. 0032)(Through this selection of the BLER target, the UE 115 may provide information to the eNB 110 through a resulting CQI value that is determined from this dynamically set BLER target; p. 0037)(the channel state feedback report, particularly the CQI value, may have a dependency upon the dynamically set BLER target… the channel state feedback report may include information that is directly (or indirectly) affected by the dynamically set BLER target; JI p. 0041).
JI’s CQI is not based on the claimed first BLER.
However, Onggosanusi in an analogous art teaches receive, via the at least one transceiver after the indication is transmitted, configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the apparatus (The UE includes a transceiver and a processor operably connected to the transceiver. The transceiver is configured to receive configuration information for reporting CSI. The processor is configured to decode the configuration information and calculate the CSI. The transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI including a CQI. The configuration information includes a selection of a CQI table and a target block error rate (BLER); Onggosanusi p. 0006)(Subsequently (“after”); Onggosanusi p. 0174)(while shown as a series of steps, various steps in each figure could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, occur multiple times, or not be performed in one or more embodiments; Onggosanusi p. 0177)(for ordering)
and, transmit, via at least one transceiver an indication of an apparatus-recommended metric that is based on the first BLER (If required/target BLER value is used as a reference for calculating CQI, different CQI tables associated with different bitwidths (payload sizes) can also be associated with different required/target BLER values. If several target BLER values are possible, this required/target BLER can be configured, that is, selected from a set of possible values; Onggosanusi p. 0127)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of JI with the teachings of Onggosanusi by configuring the transceiver to receive configuration information
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ transceiver (UE) receiving configuration information and a target BLER in the system of JI because Onggosanusi teaches required/target BLER value is used as a reference for calculating CQI, different CQI tables associated with different bitwidths (payload sizes) can also be associated with different required/target BLER values (Onggosanusi p. 0127).
Regarding claim 2, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JI also discloses wherein the first BLER comprises a target BLER or a dynamic BLER (the exemplary embodiments may utilize a dynamic BLER target for the channel state feedback operation; JI p. 0035, 0037, 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 3, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JI also discloses wherein the first BLER is different from a second BLER associated with a second link adaptation process performed by the apparatus (when the UE determines the use of data traffic only, a first BLER target may be set. When the UE determines the use of voice traffic only, a second BLER target may be set; JI p. 0037).
Regarding claim 4, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. JI also discloses wherein the first BLER comprises a wireless node-specific BLER, and the second BLER is an apparatus-specific BLER (User equipment (UE) connected to a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network via an evolved Node B (eNB): determining a type of wireless traffic being utilized by the UE based upon at least one application executed on the UE and determining BLER target value; JI p. 0003-0005, 0015-0017, 0037).
Regarding claim 7, it is a contingent limitation. Therefore, in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JI also discloses wherein the configuration information further comprises an indication of at least one of:
(i) a first threshold condition associated with a scheduling rate (BLER targets when an average BLER changes to a degree sufficiently large enough (“threshold”) to trigger the MCS adjustment. The outer scheduling may particularly relate to a scheduling adjustment (“rate”) such as a MCS to resource block JI p. 0030-0032),
(ii) a second threshold condition associated with a spectral efficiency of the apparatus (The filtering of the spectral efficiency (SE) may be of importance in the CQI/PMI/RI reporting in the channel state feedback operation as the reporting may reflect how fast the UE may respond to the channel or related spectral efficiency changes; JI p.0050-51), or
(iii) a time duration associated with one or more of the first threshold condition or the second threshold condition.
Regarding claim 8, in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. JI also discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
generate the apparatus-recommended metric based on satisfaction of both the first threshold condition and the second threshold condition for the time duration (BLER targets when an average BLER changes to a degree sufficiently large enough to trigger the MCS adjustment. The outer scheduling may particularly relate to a scheduling adjustment such as a MCS to resource block (p. 0030-0032). The filtering of the spectral efficiency (SE) may be of importance in the CQI/PMI/RI reporting in the channel state feedback operation as the reporting may reflect how fast the UE may respond to the channel or related spectral efficiency changes (p. 0050-0051)).
Regarding claim 9, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JI also discloses wherein the apparatus-recommended metric comprises one or more of:
a modulation coding scheme (MCS), a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layer, a transport block (TB) size, and a concurrent scheduling scheme for apparatus-level control-plane and user-plane information (the inner scheduling may also be a scheduling based upon the MCS, a number of RBs, and MIMO types associated with the UE p. 0030. 0032, 0049).
Regarding claim 10, in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. JI also discloses wherein the apparatus-recommended metric comprises an absolute value or a relative value associated with each of the one or more of the MCS, the MIMO layer, the TB size, and the concurrent scheduling scheme. (the MCS may be defined to enable different levels of coding rates and modulation orders as may be defined in a predetermined transport block size (TBS). TBS table may be used in transport block size tables as defined in the CQI table. the BLER target value may also be varied using the Channel Quality indicator (CQI) value (CQI is a relative measure) that is determined; p. 0048-0051)
Regarding claim 11, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JI also discloses wherein the apparatus-recommended metric is transmitted via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), a radio resource control (RRC) message, or a channel state information (CSI) report (generating a channel state feedback report to be transmitted to the eNB, the channel state feedback report including the channel state information (p. 0003-0005). Baseband signal processing operations as may be utilized such as a UE registration, a channel signal information transmission, a radio resource management, a connected discontinuous reception functionality (p. 0024)).
Regarding claim 13, in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JI also discloses wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the indication of the link adaptation capability(The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022)(channel state feedback (“indication”) operation generating a report for the Node B (eNB) and associated with a link adaptation operation; p. 0026, 0032, 0035, 0037) (The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput (equates link adaptation capability; p. 0048);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability (The UE includes a transceiver and a processor operably connected to the transceiver. The transceiver is configured to receive configuration information for reporting CSI. The processor is configured to decode the configuration information and calculate the CSI. The transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI including a CQI. The configuration information includes a selection of a CQI table and a target block error rate (BLER); Onggosanusi p. 0006)(Subsequently (“after”); Onggosanusi p. 0174)(while shown as a series of steps, various steps in each figure could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, occur multiple times, or not be performed in one or more embodiments; Onggosanusi p. 0177)(for ordering);
and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the indication of the apparatus-recommended metric, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE) (The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022)(channel state feedback (“indication”) operation generating a report for the Node B (eNB) and associated with a link adaptation operation; p. 0026, 0032, 0035, 0037) (The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput (equates link adaptation capability; p. 0048).
Regarding claim 14, JI substantially discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: At least one transceiver; at least one memory, individually or in combination, having instructions (UE may include a processor, a memory arrangement, a display device, an input/output (IO) device, transceivers; p. 0017)(The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022);
and at least one processor, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (UE may include a processor, a memory arrangement, a display device, an input/output (IO) device, transceivers. The processor may be configured to execute a plurality of applications of the UE; JI p. 0017-0018);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of a link adaptation capability associated with wireless communication between the apparatus and a wireless node (The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022)(channel state feedback (“indication”) operation generating a report for the Node B (eNB) and associated with a link adaptation operation; p. 0026, 0032, 0035, 0037) (The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput (equates link adaptation capability; p. 0048);
comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the apparatus (The outer loop may include a BLER target to be maintained by the eNB 110. The BLER target may vary for different channel scenarios such as being Doppler dependent. The channel state feedback operation may have an estimation at the UE 115 that is not always reliable. Therefore, the eNB 110 may filter the BLER of the UE 115 based upon adjustments to the MCS type and/or a multiple-in multiple-out (MIMO) type that is scheduled for the UE 115 by the eNB (the eNB’s outer-loop BLER target is independent of the UE’s inner-loop process); JI p. 0030)
JI does not explicitly teach transmit, via the at least one transceiver after the indication is received, configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the apparatus
JI partially teach receive, via the at least one transceiver an indication of an apparatus-recommended metric that is based on the first BLER (the channel state feedback (“indicator”) reports from the UE and may include connection parameters and metrics such as a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indication (RI)…the BLER target value may be a basis upon which the channel state feedback operation is performed, particularly in determining the CQI to be included in the channel state feedback report.; JI p. 0032)(Through this selection of the BLER target, the UE 115 may provide information to the eNB 110 through a resulting CQI value that is determined from this dynamically set BLER target; p. 0037)(the channel state feedback report, particularly the CQI value, may have a dependency upon the dynamically set BLER target… the channel state feedback report may include information that is directly (or indirectly) affected by the dynamically set BLER target; JI p. 0041).
JI’s CQI is not based on the claimed first BLER.
However, Onggosanusi in an analogous art teaches transmit, via the at least one transceiver after the indication is received, configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the apparatus (The UE includes a transceiver and a processor operably connected to the transceiver. The transceiver is configured to receive configuration information for reporting CSI. The processor is configured to decode the configuration information and calculate the CSI. The transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI including a CQI. The configuration information includes a selection of a CQI table and a target block error rate (BLER); Onggosanusi p. 0006)(Subsequently (“after”); Onggosanusi p. 0174)(while shown as a series of steps, various steps in each figure could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, occur multiple times, or not be performed in one or more embodiments; Onggosanusi p. 0177)(for ordering)
and, receive, via at least one transceiver an indication of an apparatus-recommended metric that is based on the first BLER (. If required/target BLER value is used as a reference for calculating CQI, different CQI tables associated with different bitwidths (payload sizes) can also be associated with different required/target BLER values. If several target BLER values are possible, this required/target BLER can be configured, that is, selected from a set of possible values; Onggosanusi p. 0127)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of JI with the teachings of Onggosanusi by configuring the transceiver to receive configuration information
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ transceiver (UE) receiving configuration information and a target BLER in the system of JI because Onggosanusi teaches required/target BLER value is used as a reference for calculating CQI, different CQI tables associated with different bitwidths (payload sizes) can also be associated with different required/target BLER values (Onggosanusi p. 0127).
Regarding claim 15, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. JI also discloses wherein the first BLER comprises a target BLER or a dynamic BLER (the exemplary embodiments may utilize a dynamic BLER target for the channel state feedback operation; p. 0035, 0037, 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 16, in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. JI also discloses wherein the first BLER is different from a second BLER associated with a second link adaptation process performed by the wireless node (when the UE determines the use of data traffic only, a first BLER target may be set. When the UE determines the use of voice traffic only, a second BLER target may be set; p. 0037).
Regarding claim 17, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. JI also discloses wherein the first BLER comprises an apparatus-specific BLER, and the second BLER is a wireless node-specific BLER (User equipment (UE) connected to a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network via an evolved Node B (eNB): determining a type of wireless traffic being utilized by the UE based upon at least one application executed on the UE p. 0003-0005, 0015-0017, 0037).
Regarding claim 18, it is a contingent limitation. JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. JI also discloses wherein the configuration information further comprises an indication of at least one of:
(i) a first threshold condition associated with a scheduling rate (BLER targets when an average BLER changes to a degree sufficiently large enough (“threshold”) to trigger the MCS adjustment. The outer scheduling may particularly relate to a scheduling adjustment (“rate”) such as a MCS to resource block p. 0030-0032),
(ii) a second threshold condition associated with a spectral efficiency of the wireless node (The filtering of the spectral efficiency (SE) may be of importance in the CQI/PMI/RI reporting in the channel state feedback operation as the reporting may reflect how fast the UE may respond to the channel or related spectral efficiency changes; p.0050-0051), or
(iii) a time duration associated with one or more of the first threshold condition or the second threshold condition.
Regarding claim 19, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. JI also discloses wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the indication of the link adaptation capability(The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022)(channel state feedback (“indication”) operation generating a report for the Node B (eNB) and associated with a link adaptation operation; p. 0026, 0032, 0035, 0037) (The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput (equates link adaptation capability; p. 0048);;
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability(The UE includes a transceiver and a processor operably connected to the transceiver. The transceiver is configured to receive configuration information for reporting CSI. The processor is configured to decode the configuration information and calculate the CSI. The transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI including a CQI. The configuration information includes a selection of a CQI table and a target block error rate (BLER); Onggosanusi p. 0006)(Subsequently (“after”); Onggosanusi p. 0174)(while shown as a series of steps, various steps in each figure could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, occur multiple times, or not be performed in one or more embodiments; Onggosanusi p. 0177)(for ordering);;
and receive, via the at least one transceiver, the indication of the wireless node-recommended metric, wherein the apparatus is configured as a network entity (The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022)(channel state feedback (“indication”) operation generating a report for the Node B (eNB) and associated with a link adaptation operation; p. 0026, 0032, 0035, 0037) (The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput (equates link adaptation capability; p. 0048).
Regarding claim 20, JI substantially discloses a method for wireless communication at a first wireless node, comprising:
transmitting an indication of a link adaptation capability associated with wireless communication between the first wireless node and a second wireless node (The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to transmit and/or receive data; JI p. 0022)(channel state feedback (“indication”) operation generating a report for the Node B (eNB) and associated with a link adaptation operation; p. 0026, 0032, 0035, 0037) (The RI may be an indicator that signals the eNB 105 of a number of transmissions layers the UE 115 is capable of supporting to maximize throughput (equates link adaptation capability; JI p. 0048);
JI does not explicitly teach receiving after the indication is transmitted, configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the first wireless node;
JI partially teach transmitting an indication of a first wireless node-recommended metric that is based on the first BLER (the channel state feedback (“indicator”) reports from the UE and may include connection parameters and metrics such as a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indication (RI)…the BLER target value may be a basis upon which the channel state feedback operation is performed, particularly in determining the CQI to be included in the channel state feedback report.; JI p. 0032)(Through this selection of the BLER target, the UE 115 may provide information to the eNB 110 through a resulting CQI value that is determined from this dynamically set BLER target; p. 0037)(the channel state feedback report, particularly the CQI value, may have a dependency upon the dynamically set BLER target… the channel state feedback report may include information that is directly (or indirectly) affected by the dynamically set BLER target; JI p. 0041).
JI’s CQI is not based on the claimed first BLER.
However, Onggosanusi in an analogous art receiving after the indication is transmitted, configuration information associated with the link adaptation capability, the configuration information comprising an indication of a first block error rate (BLER) associated with a first link adaptation process independent of the first wireless node;
(The UE includes a transceiver and a processor operably connected to the transceiver. The transceiver is configured to receive configuration information for reporting CSI. The processor is configured to decode the configuration information and calculate the CSI. The transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI including a CQI. The configuration information includes a selection of a CQI table and a target block error rate (BLER); Onggosanusi p. 0006)(Subsequently (“after”); Onggosanusi p. 0174)(while shown as a series of steps, various steps in each figure could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, occur multiple times, or not be performed in one or more embodiments; Onggosanusi p. 0177)(for ordering)
and, transmitting an indication of a first wireless node-recommended metric that is based on the first BLER (If required/target BLER value is used as a reference for calculating CQI, different CQI tables associated with different bitwidths (payload sizes) can also be associated with different required/target BLER values. If several target BLER values are possible, this required/target BLER can be configured, that is, selected from a set of possible values; Onggosanusi p. 0127)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of JI with the teachings of Onggosanusi by configuring the transceiver to receive configuration information
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ transceiver (UE) receiving configuration information and a target BLER in the system of JI because Onggosanusi teaches required/target BLER value is used as a reference for calculating CQI, different CQI tables associated with different bitwidths (payload sizes) can also be associated with different required/target BLER values (Onggosanusi p. 0127).
Claims 5-6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI in view of Onggosanusi in further view of FAN (U.S Patent No 2021/0160000).
Regarding claim 5, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, also discloses wherein the indication of the apparatus- recommended metric is a first indication associated with a quality of service (QoS) data flow (The UE may determine the traffic (“flow”) type based upon Quality of Service (QoS) Class Identifier (QCI) formats such as QCI1 for IMS voice, QCI5 for IMS signaling; p. 0036).
JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
output, prior to the configuration information being obtained, an indication of a preferred BLER associated with the first link adaptation process, wherein the preferred BLER is based on a QoS requirement associated with the QoS data flow.
However, FAN in an analogous art teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to (configured to perform communication with a UE, a processor, and a memory containing instructions that when executed cause the processor to perform any of the methods in the present disclosure; p. 0010, 0069-0070):
output, prior to the configuration information being obtained, an indication of a preferred BLER associated with the first link adaptation process, wherein the preferred BLER is based on a QoS requirement associated with the QoS data flow (wherein the first traffic (“flow”) is related to first service having a first quality of service (QoS) requirement, and the second traffic is related to second service having a second QoS requirement, at step; and applying a first link adaptation loop catering for the first QoS requirement to the first traffic at step, and applying a second link adaptation loop catering for the second QoS requirement to the second traffic at step. Said QoS requirement may comprise a target (“preferred”) Block Error Rate (BLER), allowable maximum delay, and/or other parameters related to service quality; p. 0034-0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, with the teachings of FAN by configuring the processors to cause the apparatus to output, an indication of a preferred BLER associated with the first link adaptation process, wherein the preferred BLER is based on a QoS requirement associated with the QoS data flow.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the steps of link adaptation in a wireless communication system based on QoS requirement of FAN in the system of JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, because FAN teaches that link adaptation in wireless communication utilizes QoS requirements applying a first link adaptation loop catering for the first QoS requirement to the first traffic, and applying a second link adaptation loop catering for the second QoS requirement to the second traffic (p. 0011).
Regarding claim 6, JI discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. JI also discloses wherein the first BLER is equal to the preferred BLER (wherein the third BLER value is equal to the second BLER value when the priority is to the voice portion, wherein the third BLER value is between the first and second BLER values when the priority is to the balance).
Regarding claim 12, JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, does not explicitly teach wherein the indication of the apparatus- recommended metric is a first indication associated with a first quality of service (QoS) data flow, and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
output a second indication of another apparatus-recommended metric associated with a second QoS data flow, wherein the other apparatus-recommended metric is based on the first BLER.
However, FAN in an analogous art teaches wherein the indication of the apparatus- recommended metric is a first indication associated with a first quality of service (QoS) data flow (wherein the first traffic (“data flow”) is related to first service having a first quality of service (QoS) requirement; p. 0034-0035), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
output a second indication of another apparatus-recommended metric associated with a second QoS data flow, wherein the other apparatus-recommended metric is based on the first BLER (and the second traffic (“data flow”) is related to second service having a second QoS requirement, at step; and applying a first link adaptation loop catering for the first QoS requirement to the first traffic at step, and applying a second link adaptation loop catering for the second QoS requirement to the second traffic at step. Said QoS requirement may comprise a target Block Error Rate (BLER); p. 0034-0035, 0051, 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, with the teachings of FAN by configuring the processors to output a second indication of another apparatus-recommended metric associated with a second QoS data flow, wherein the other apparatus-recommended metric is based on the first BLER.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the steps of link adaptation in a wireless communication system of FAN in the system of JI in view of Onggosanusi, as combined, because FAN teaches that link adaptation in wireless communication utilizes QoS requirements applying a first link adaptation loop catering for the first QoS requirement to the first traffic, and applying a second link adaptation loop catering for the second QoS requirement to the second traffic (p. 0011).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
The prior arts of record teach:
Sarkis et al (US 20190349051 A1) teaches procedures at user equipment (UEs) for performing channel state information (CSI) reporting and sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions based on an ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) block error rate (BLER) target and for reliably receiving PDCCH transmissions. For CSI reporting, a UE may be configured to generate a CSI report based on a BLER target and on received CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs), where the CSI-RSs may be transmitted on one or more groups of quasi co-located antenna ports. For SRS transmissions, a UE may be configured to transmit SRS based on an SRS configuration determined based on a BLER target. For receiving PDCCH transmissions, a UE may be configured to receive and combine DCI received from multiple base stations.
XU et al (US 20200313795 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE) may receive a configuration from a base station that indicates whether to use a first channel quality indicator (CQI) table from a first set of CQI tables associated with terrestrial network communications or whether to use a second CQI table from a second set of CQI tables associated with non-terrestrial network communications. The UE may transmit CQI feedback to the base station based at least in part on the configuration. The UE may transmit the CQI feedback using the first CQI table when the configuration indicates that the first CQI table is to be used or may transmit the CQI feedback using the second CQI table when the configuration indicates that the second CQI table is to be used.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYLUN A JACKSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112