DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s filing filed on 01/27/2025. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-12, 14-18 and 23-25 are currently presented in the instant application. Claims 13 and 19-22 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2025 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 01/27/2025 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The specification submitted on 01/27/2025 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 17 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US Pub. No.: 2022/0376747).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a communication device, comprising an antenna assembly, a determiner, and a signal converter (see figures 1-4 and 7A), wherein
the antenna assembly comprises a carrier structure and a plurality of antenna units arranged on an outer wall of the carrier structure (see figures 1-4 and 7A, [0093], it is clearly seen that the antennas is on the structure frames);
the determiner is configured to determine one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter, according to strengths of signals received by the plurality of antenna units from a base station (see figures 1-4, plurality of antenna 241, network information is included RSSI, CPE 10 convert the 5G signal to WIFI signal to support mobile terminal 30, processor 22 measure and determine the RSSI to select transceiver group antenna according to the RSSI signal, [0042, , 0052, 0055-0059, 0073]); and
the signal converter is configured to convert a signal received by the signal converter, for access by a terminal of a user (see figures 1-4, plurality of antenna 241, CPE 10 convert the 5G signal to WIFI signal to support mobile terminal 30, [0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu further teaches each of the strengths of the signals comprises at least a signal reception power; or wherein the signal converter is a 5G CPE (see [0042, 0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu further teaches each antenna unit comprises a first oscillator and a second oscillator, and the first oscillator has an operational frequency less than an operational frequency of the second oscillator (see figures 3-4, plurality of RF circuit 242, each support different frequency which require different oscillator in each transceiver, [0050-0054]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu further teaches the carrier structure is a hollow-out structure comprising a plurality of carrier portions connected together sequentially, and each of the plurality of carrier portions has one of the plurality of antenna units arranged thereon (see figures 1 and 7A, [0093]).
Regarding claim 23, Liu further teaches determining, by the determiner, one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter, according to the strengths of the signals received by the plurality of antenna units from the base station; and converting, by the signal converter, the signal received by the signal converter, for access by a terminal of a user (see figures 1-4, plurality of antenna 241, network information is included RSSI, CPE 10 convert the 5G signal to WIFI signal to support mobile terminal 30, processor 22 measure and determine the RSSI to select transceiver group antenna according to the RSSI signal, [0042, , 0052, 0055-0059, 0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. No.: 2022/0376747) in view of Liu et al. (US Patent No.: 12,640,476, hereinafter, “Liu-2”).
Regarding claim 6, Liu disclosed transceiver with osccilator, but fails to teach in each antenna unit, the first oscillator and the second oscillator are arranged side by side, and a height of the first oscillator in a direction away from the carrier structure is greater than a height of the second oscillator in the direction away from the carrier structure. However, Liu-2 teaches in each antenna unit, the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged side by side, and a height of the first antenna in a direction away from the carrier structure is greater than a height of the second antenna in the direction away from the carrier structure (see figure 1D, col.9, ln.1-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liu-2 into view of Liu in order to save space and cost saving.
Regarding claim 7, after combine, Liu teaches plurality of oscillator. Liu-2 further teaches in each antenna unit, the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged side by side, and the second antenna is located between two first antenna (see figure 1D, col.9, ln.1-12).
Regarding claim 8, after combine, Liu teaches plurality of oscillators. Liu-2 further teaches each antenna unit comprises a plurality of second antenna and a plurality of first isolation members which are arranged on the carrier structure and in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of second antennas, and an orthogonal projection of each second antenna on the carrier structure is located in an area defined by an orthogonal projection of a corresponding first isolation member on the carrier structure (see figure 1D, col.9, ln.1-12).
Regarding claim 18, further teaches the antenna assembly further comprises a feeding network connected to both the first transmission line and the second transmission line of each of the plurality of antenna units, and the feeding network is arranged in a cavity of the carrier structure (see figure 1D, col.9, ln.1-12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9-12, 14-16 and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the determiner comprises a plurality of signal couplers, a plurality of signal detectors connected in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of signal couplers, a controller, and a first selector; the plurality of signal couplers are connected in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of antenna units, each signal coupler is configured to couple a part of a signal received by the antenna unit connected to the signal coupler to a corresponding signal detector, and transmit another part of the signal to the first selector; each signal detector is configured to detect a signal received by the signal detector to acquire the strength of the signal from the base station; the controller is configured to generate a corresponding control signal according to received strengths, which are detected by the plurality of signal detectors, of the signals from the base station, and transmit the control signal to the first selector; and the first selector is configured to determine the one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter according to the control signal, and communicatively connect the one of the plurality of antenna units to the signal converter.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the determiner comprises a plurality of signal couplers, a plurality of signal preprocessors connected in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of signal couplers, a signal strength reader, a first selector, a controller, and a second selector; the plurality of signal couplers are connected in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of antenna units, each signal coupler is configured to couple a part of a signal received by the antenna unit connected to the signal coupler to a corresponding signal preprocessor, and transmit another part of the signal to the first selector; each signal preprocessor is configured to preprocess a signal received by the signal preprocessor; the second selector is configured to connect the plurality of signal preprocessors to the signal strength reader in turn, under control of the controller; the signal strength reader is configured to read signals output from the second selector under the control of the controller, and to determine the strengths of the signals received by the plurality of antenna units from the base station; the controller is configured to generate a corresponding control signal according to received strengths, which are read by the signal strength reader, the signals from the base station, and transmit the corresponding control signal to the first selector; and the first selector is configured to determine the one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter according to the control signal, and communicatively connect the one of the plurality of antenna units to the signal converter.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the first oscillator comprises a first reference electrode, a first radiation structure, and a first transmission line; and the first reference electrode is arranged on the carrier structure and has therein a first hollow-out portion, the first radiation structure penetrates through the first hollow-out portion and is arranged on the carrier structure, and the first transmission line is connected to the first radiation structure.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the second oscillator comprises a second reference electrode, a second radiation structure, and a second transmission line; and the second reference electrode is arranged on the carrier structure and has therein a second hollow-out portion, the second radiation structure penetrates through the second hollow-out portion and is arranged on the carrier structure, and the second transmission line is connected to the second radiation structure.
Regarding claim 24, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the determining, by the determiner, one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter, according to the strengths of the signals received by the plurality of antenna units from the base station comprises: coupling, by each signal coupler, a part of the signal received by the antenna unit connected to the signal coupler to a corresponding signal detector, and transmitting, by the signal coupler, another part of the signal to a first selector; detecting, by the signal detector, the signal received by the signal detector to acquire the strength of the signal from the base station; generating, by a controller, a corresponding control signal according to received strengths, which are detected by signal detectors, of the signals from the base station, and transmitting, by the controller, the control signal to the first selector; and determining, by the first selector, the one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter according to the control signal, and communicatively connecting, by the first selector, the one of the plurality of antenna units to the signal converter.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the determining, by the determiner, one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter, according to the strengths of the signals received by the plurality of antenna units from the base station comprises: coupling, by each signal coupler, a part of the signal received by the antenna unit connected to the signal coupler to a corresponding signal preprocessor, and transmitting, by the signal coupler, another part of the signal to a first selector; preprocessing, by each signal preprocessor, the signal received by signal preprocessor; controlling, by a controller, a second selector to connect signal preprocessors to a signal strength reader in turn, and reading, by the signal strength reader, the signals output from the second selector to determine the strengths of the signals received by the plurality of antenna units from the base station; generating, by the controller, a corresponding control signal according to the received strengths, which are read by the signal strength reader, of the signals from the base station, and transmitting, by the controller, the control signal to the first selector; and determining, by the first selector, the one of the plurality of antenna units to be in communication connection with the signal converter according to the control signal, and communicatively connecting, by the first selector, the one of the plurality of antenna units to the signal converter.
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649