Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/1/2026 has been received; Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,178 & claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,207,702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are in regards to similar claim matter even though different term language is used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10, 11 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis (USPN 112,439).
Regarding Claim 1, Francis discloses a rapid-entry shoe (Figures 1 & 2) comprising: a base (base, see annotated Figure 2 below); an upper (a) coupled to the base and defining a shoe opening (Figure 2); a deformable element (b) coupled to the upper; and a heel piece (d & heel piece, see annotated Figure 2 below) configured to direct a user's foot into the rapid-entry shoe; wherein the deformable element comprises a first anchor at a first end (c, on one side) and a second anchor at a second end (c, on the other side) ;wherein the deformable element extends continuously about a heel portion of the upper between the first anchor and the second anchor (Figure 2); wherein the first anchor and the second anchor are coupled to opposing sides of the base (Figure 2); wherein the deformable element has a deformable element cross section (cross-section b, see annotated Figure 2 below) at a rearmost portion between the first anchor and the second anchor; wherein at least one of the first anchor and the second anchor has an anchor cross section (cross-section c, see annotated Figure 2 below) that is larger than the deformable element cross section; wherein the deformable element is configured to have an uncollapsed configuration in which the deformable element holds the heel portion of the upper in a closed position to secure the user's foot in the rapid-entry shoe (Page. 1, lines 54-61); wherein in the uncollapsed configuration the shoe opening has a first size and in the collapsed configuration the shoe opening has a second size that is larger in the circumference that the first size (Page. 1, lines 47-53) and wherein the deformable element may be deformed downward by an opening force to a collapsed configuration to permit rapid entry of the user's foot into the rapid-entry shoe (Page 1, lines 47-53). Francis does not specifically disclose wherein in the uncollapsed configuration the shoe opening has a first size and in the collapsed configuration the shoe opening has a second size that is at least one inch larger in the circumference that the first size. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of opening range for the opening in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of opening sufficiently to permit the foot to pass entirely into the shoe, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the opening range involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 2, Francis discloses the heel piece is coupled to the deformable element (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Francis discloses the heel piece is coupled to the upper (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Francis discloses at least a portion of the deformable element is disposed on an outer surface of the upper (exposed, see annotated Figure 2 below).
Regarding Claim 5, Francis discloses the deformable element comprises a material stiffener (inasmuch is understood by material stiffener, the deformable element is made of a metallic spring which is a material stiffener since it is a stiff material).
Regarding Claim 10, Francis does not specifically the deformable element is comprised of a polymer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material of the deformable element as claimed, since it is well within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Also, such a modification would be considered a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In other words, using a polymer would have been an "obvious to try" approach because the use of such a material that is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding Claim 11, Francis discloses the deformable element is preloaded in the uncollapsed configuration (Page. 1, lines 54-61).
Regarding Claim 17, Francis discloses a rapid-entry shoe (Figures 1 & 2) comprising: a base (base, see annotated Figure 2 below); an upper (a) coupled to the base and defining a shoe opening (Figure 2); a deformable element (b) coupled to the upper; and a heel piece (d & heel piece, see annotated Figure 2 below) configured to direct a user's foot into the rapid-entry shoe; wherein the deformable element comprises a first anchor at a first end (c, on one side) and a second anchor at a second end (c, on the other side);wherein the deformable element extends continuously about a heel portion of the upper between the first anchor and the second anchor (Figure 2); wherein the first anchor and the second anchor are coupled to opposing sides of the base (Figure 2); wherein the deformable element is configured to have an uncollapsed configuration in which the deformable element holds the heel portion of the upper in a closed position to secure the user's foot in the rapid-entry shoe (Page. 1, lines 54-61); wherein the deformable element may be deformed downward by an opening force to a collapsed configuration to permit rapid entry of the user's foot into the rapid-entry shoe (Page 1, lines 47-53). Francis does not specifically disclose wherein in the collapsed configuration the deformable element exhibits a return force toward an uncollapsed configuration of between about one pound-force and about ten pound-force; wherein the shoe opening in the collapsed configuration is at least five percent larger than the shoe opening in the uncollapsed configuration; and wherein the deformable element transitioned from the collapsed configuration to the uncollapsed configuration when released in less than a second. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the deformable element have a return force, collapse at least five percent larger than the shoe opening and be released within a second since in usual arrangement, spring-like elements spring back with a return force, within moments, which would be less than a second and thus would collapsed at the percentage as claimed.
Regarding Claim 18, Francis discloses wherein in the uncollapsed configuration the shoe opening has a first size and in the collapsed configuration the shoe opening has a second size that is larger in the circumference that the first size (Page. 1, lines 47-53) Francis does not specifically disclose wherein in the uncollapsed configuration the shoe opening has a first size and in the collapsed configuration the shoe opening has a second size that is at least one inch larger in the circumference that the first size. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of opening range for the opening in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of opening sufficiently to permit the foot to pass entirely into the shoe, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the opening range involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 19, Francis discloses the sole portion includes a footbed, and wherein the deformable element is positioned above the footbed in both the uncollapsed and the collapsed configuration (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Francis discloses a topline of the shoe opening is spaced from the footbed in both the uncollapsed and the collapsed configuration (Figures 1 & 2).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis (USPN 112,439) in view of Rickert (USPN 921,461).
Regarding Claim 5, Francis does not specifically disclose the deformable element comprises a material stiffener. However, Rickert discloses a deformable element (7) comprises a material stiffener (4’ & additional rubber on top of deformable element & 4’). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the tape, as taught by Rickert, to the deformable element of Francis, in order to be able to provide a gripping means when the shoe is worn.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Francis and Rickert disclose the material stiffener is shaped to flare when the deformable element is in the collapsed configuration (as modified, when the deformable element is in the collapsed configuration the material stiffener is capable of flaring to widen for entry).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Francis and Rickert disclose the material stiffener comprises a concavity along a rear edge when the deformable element is in the collapsed configuration (as modified, when the deformable element is in the collapsed configuration the material stiffener is capable of having a concavity along a rear edge).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Francis and Rickert disclose at least a portion of the material stiffener is disposed on an outer surface of the upper (Rickert, Figure 4).
Claims 9 & 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis (USPN 112,439) in view of McDonald (USPN 5,319,869).
Regarding Claim 9, Francis does not specifically disclose the deformable element further comprises a base structure coupled to the base that extends substantially horizontally around a periphery of the heel portion of the upper below the deformable element to form a closed perimeter with the deformable element. However, McDonald discloses a base structure coupled to the base that extends substantially horizontally around a periphery of the heel portion of the upper (7) to provide increased rearfoot stability and control (Col. 2, line 67- Col. 3, line 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the base structure of McDonald, to the shoe of Francis, in order to provide increased rearfoot stability and control. Therefore, the combination of Francis and McDonald discloses forming a closed perimeter with the deformable element and base structure.
Regarding Claim 12, Francis discloses a rapid-entry shoe (Figures 1 & 2) comprising: a base (base, see annotated Figure 2 below); an upper (a) coupled to the base and defining a shoe opening (Figure 2); a deformable element (b) coupled to the upper; and a heel piece (d and heel piece, see annotated Figure 2 below) configured to direct a user's foot into the rapid-entry shoe; wherein the deformable element comprises a first anchor at a first end (c, on one side) and a second anchor at a second end (C, on the other side); wherein the deformable element extends continuously about a heel portion of the upper between the first anchor and the second anchor (Figure 2); wherein the first anchor and the second anchor are coupled to opposing sides of the base (Figure 2); wherein the deformable element is configured to have an uncollapsed configuration in which the deformable element holds the heel portion of the upper in a closed position to secure the user's foot in the rapid-entry shoe (Page 1, lines 54-61); wherein the deformable element may be deformed downward by an opening force to a collapsed configuration to permit rapid entry of the user's foot into the rapid-entry shoe (Page 1, lines 47-53) wherein the deformable element transitions from the collapsed configuration to the uncollapsed configuration when released (Page 1, line 47-53). Francis does not disclose at least one of the first anchor and the second anchor extends rearwardly from the deformable element and wherein the deformable element transition from the collapsed. However, McDonald discloses a counter (7) extends rearwardly and is contoured to receive at least a portion of the heel portion of the upper to provide increased rearfoot stability and control (Col. 2, line 67- Col. 3, line 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the base structure of McDonald, to the shoe of Francis, in order to provide increased rearfoot stability and control. Therefore, the combination of Francis and McDonald discloses at least one of the first anchor and the second anchor extends rearwardly from the deformable element in a counter and is contoured to receive at least a portion of the heel portion of the upper when the deformable element is in the collapsed configuration. Francis does not specifically disclose the deformable element transitions from the collapsed configuration to the uncollapsed configuration when released in less than a second. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have to deformable element released within a second since in usual arrangement, spring-like elements spring back within moments, which would be less than a second.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Francis and McDonald disclose at least one of the first anchor and the second anchor is comprised of a portion of a heel counter of the rapid-entry shoe (as modified, Francis, Figure 2 & McDonald, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Francis and McDonald disclose the deformable element has a variable cross section along its length (Francis, Figure 2 due to the spiral structure).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Francis and McDonald disclose the deformable element comprises a tapering shape (Francis, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Francis and McDonald disclose the deformable element extends outward and rearward from the first anchor and outward and rearward from the second anchor such that a distance measured between opposing arms of the deformable element is greater at a location away from the base than the distance is at the base (Francis, Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732