Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 7 the specification twice recites “-0C”. Zero degrees C cannot be negative.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“thin walled heat-exchanger”
“insulated lines”
“controller”
“test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the filed drawings are not legible and it is not possible to determine what components are present in the drawing. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: it appears that multiple reference numbers in the drawings include Valve 1, PT-1, RV1, Vent 2, Pump 1, RV2, PT-2, PT-3, PT-4, TC-4, Vent 1 are in the drawings but at not in the specification. Further, while this is intended to include all components found in the drawings, due to the above legibility issues with the drawings, this may not be a complete list of all drawing components not shown in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “thin walled heat exchanger” and “insulated lines” which lacks written description in the specification in such a way to reasonably convey that application has possession of the claimed invention. While the claims can provide support for these limitations that would result in them being considered written description, they are provide in the claim as part of a list of non-linked element and a such it is not clear that applicant has support to the presence of such a component as what part of or where in the claimed invention these components would be is not described. Although the term “vacuum jacketed lines” is used in the specification, it is used to refer to a component that it is not clear is the same as the insulated lines as claimed as it refers to parts of the heat target or evaporator which is not claimed nor further described in the specification
Claim 4 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which lacks written description in the specification in such a way to reasonably convey that application has possession of the claimed invention. The instant specification recites “the device is attached to a mirror which is sensitive to vibration or thermal distortion is desired” and “test article is attached to a silicon mirror” but this provides no explanation or definition of what “attached” refers to in this context or provides any explanation or showing of the scope of attached and there is no showing of the mirror in the drawings. Further “a test article” is not defined by the specification and it the lack of clarity of the scope of “test article” results in the claim also being considered to lack written description as “test article” in this context can refer to a large number of disparate and unrelated items.
Claim 5 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which lacks written description in the specification in such a way to reasonably convey that application has possession of the claimed invention. The instant specification recites “the device is attached to a mirror which is sensitive to vibration or thermal distortion is desired” and “test article is attached to a silicon mirror” but this provides no explanation or definition of what “attached” refers to in this context or provides any explanation or showing of the scope of attached and there is no showing of the mirror in the drawings. Further “a test article” is not defined by the specification and it the lack of clarity of the scope of “test article” results in the claim also being considered to lack written description as “test article” in this context can refer to a large number of disparate and unrelated items.
Claim 6 recites “thin walled heat exchanger” and “insulated lines” which lacks written description in the specification in such a way to reasonably convey that application has possession of the claimed invention. While the claims can provide support for these limitations that would result in them being considered written description, they are provide in the claim as part of a list of non-linked element and as such it is not clear that applicant has support to the presence of such a component as what part of or where in the claimed invention these components would be is not described. Although the term “vacuum jacketed lines” is used in the specification, it is used to refer to a component that it is not clear is the same as the insulated lines as claimed as it refers to parts of the heat target or evaporator which is not claimed nor further described in the specification.
Claim 9 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which lacks written description in the specification in such a way to reasonably convey that application has possession of the claimed invention. The instant specification recites “the device is attached to a mirror which is sensitive to vibration or thermal distortion is desired” and “test article is attached to a silicon mirror” but this provides no explanation or definition of what “attached” refers to in this context or provides any explanation or showing of the scope of attached and there is no showing of the mirror in the drawings. Further “a test article” is not defined by the specification and it the lack of clarity of the scope of “test article” results in the claim also being considered to lack written description as “test article” in this context can refer to a large number of disparate and unrelated items.
Claim 10 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which lacks written description in the specification in such a way to reasonably convey that application has possession of the claimed invention. The instant specification recites “the device is attached to a mirror which is sensitive to vibration or thermal distortion is desired” and “test article is attached to a silicon mirror” but this provides no explanation or definition of what “attached” refers to in this context or provides any explanation or showing of the scope of attached and there is no showing of the mirror in the drawings. Further “a test article” is not defined by the specification and it the lack of clarity of the scope of “test article” results in the claim also being considered to lack written description as “test article” in this context can refer to a large number of disparate and unrelated items.
Claims 2-3, 7-8 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a series of components that are part of the claimed system but does not provide any connection between those components or how they relate which renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. The list includes two components which are not described further in the specification beyond what is claimed which also renders those components specifically indefinite, whereas although the term “vacuum jacketed lines” is used in the specification, it is used to refer to a component that it is not clear is the same as the insulated lines as claimed as it refers to parts of the heat target or evaporator which is not claimed nor further described in the specification. For the purpose of examination, these limitations are understood that there is a liquid nitrogen source, a pump for the liquid nitrogen, a heat exchanger which exchanges heat between liquid nitrogen and the coolant, a sensor, a controller and somewhere in the system a thin wall heat exchanger and insulated lines.
Claim 1 recites “a eutectic alkene or alkane” which is considered indefinite. The term eutectic is understood in the art to refer to a mixture which has a melting point lower than the individual components; however as claimed it is unclear if claim 1 is requiring a mixture of alkenes or alkanes, only one component and the term eutectic is not further limiting the claim, as a eutectic fluid as best understood would not be an “alkene or alkane” but a mixture of alkenes and/or alkanes. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the “eutectic alkene or alkane” includes at least two disparate refrigerant components.
Claim 3 recites “two or more selected from the group consisting of propane, propene, butane, and propene/butene’ which is considered indefinite because it renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. The use of “/” in the claim makes the list in the claim read as “propane, propene, butane, and either propene or butane” which makes it unclear if this is a requirement in the claim language that regardless of what component is chosen propene and butene must be chosen, or that at least one of those components must be chosen, but as the claims require two or more components, and only list three components, the additional “propene/butane” in the claim makes it unclear what is required. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the “eutectic alkene or alkane” includes two separate alkenes or alkanes.
Claim 4 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which is considered indefinite as the scope and bounds of the claim is unclear. The specification does not define or further explain what qualifies as a “test article” which term is very broad in the art and can refer to a multitude of things including but not limited to biological samples being tested or intended to be tested, equipment that needs to be cooled to be used for testing, and a myriad of other possible configurations. Further, it is unclear what is required for the test article to be “attached” to the distortion sensitive mirror and in this context “attached’ can have multiple meanings, none of which are further explained by the specification. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that as long as there is a component that is being cooled that can be either utilized to perform testing or testing can be performed on it, the limitation is met and that as long as that component can be or is known to be associated with a mirror that would be sensitive to distortion the limitation is met.
Claim 5 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which is considered indefinite as the scope and bounds of the claim is unclear. The specification does not define or further explain what qualifies as a “test article” which term is very broad in the art and can refer to a multitude of things including but not limited to biological samples being tested or intended to be tested, equipment that needs to be cooled to be used for testing, and a myriad of other possible configurations. Further, it is unclear what is required for the test article to be “attached” to the distortion sensitive mirror and in this context “attached’ can have multiple meanings, none of which are further explained by the specification. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that as long as there is a component that is being cooled that can be either utilized to perform testing or testing can be performed on it, the limitation is met and that as long as that component can be or is known to be associated with a mirror that would be sensitive to distortion the limitation is met.
Claim 6 recites a method of providing series of components that are part of the claimed system but does not provide any connection between those components or how they relate which renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. The list includes two components which are not described further in the specification beyond what is claimed which also renders those components specifically indefinite, whereas although the term “vacuum jacketed lines” is used in the specification, it is used to refer to a component that it is not clear is the same as the insulated lines as claimed as it refers to parts of the heat target or evaporator which is not claimed nor further described in the specification. The claims also do not provide any method steps of using those components, to achieve the method as claimed. For the purpose of examination, these limitations are understood that there is a liquid nitrogen source, a pump for the liquid nitrogen, a heat exchanger which exchanges heat between liquid nitrogen and the coolant, a sensor, a controller and somewhere in the system a thin wall heat exchanger and insulated lines.
Claim 6 recites “said heat exchanger” which is considered indefinite as it is unclear what heat exchanger is being referred to. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood to refer to the “a heat exchanger”.
Claim 6 recites “a eutectic alkene or alkane” which is considered indefinite. The term eutectic is understood in the art to refer to a mixture which has a melting point lower than the individual components; however as claimed it is unclear if claim 1 is requiring a mixture of alkenes or alkanes, only one component and the term eutectic is not further limiting the claim, as a eutectic fluid as best understood would not be an “alkene or alkane” but a mixture of alkenes and/or alkanes. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the “eutectic alkene or alkane” includes two separate alkenes or alkanes.
Claim 8 recites “two or more selected from the group consisting of propane, propene, butane, and propene/butene’ which is considered indefinite because it renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. The use of “/” in the claim makes the list in the claim read as “propane, propene, butane, and either propene or butane” which makes it unclear if this is a requirement in the claim language that regardless of what component is chosen propene and butene must be chosen, or that at least one of those components must be chosen, but as the claims require two or more components, and only list three components, the additional “propene/butane” in the claim makes it unclear what is required. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood such that at least two components are require from the list of propane, propene, and butane.
Claim 9 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which is considered indefinite as the scope and bounds of the claim is unclear. The specification does not define or further explain what qualifies as a “test article” which term is very broad in the art and can refer to a multitude of things including but not limited to biological samples being tested or intended to be tested, equipment that needs to be cooled to be used for testing, and a myriad of other possible configurations. Further, it is unclear what is required for the test article to be “attached” to the distortion sensitive mirror and in this context “attached’ can have multiple meanings, none of which are further explained by the specification. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that as long as there is a component that is being cooled that can be either utilized to perform testing or testing can be performed on it, the limitation is met and that as long as that component can be or is known to be associated with a mirror that would be sensitive to distortion the limitation is met.
Claim 10 recites “a test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror” which is considered indefinite as the scope and bounds of the claim is unclear. The specification does not define or further explain what qualifies as a “test article” which term is very broad in the art and can refer to a multitude of things including but not limited to biological samples being tested or intended to be tested, equipment that needs to be cooled to be used for testing, and a myriad of other possible configurations. Further, it is unclear what is required for the test article to be “attached” to the distortion sensitive mirror and in this context “attached’ can have multiple meanings, none of which are further explained by the specification. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that as long as there is a component that is being cooled that can be either utilized to perform testing or testing can be performed on it, the limitation is met and that as long as that component can be or is known to be associated with a mirror that would be sensitive to distortion the limitation is met.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (CN218884394), hereinafter referred to as Wei and further in view of Kopko et al. (US PG Pub 20140260376) hereinafter referred to as Kopko and further in view of Twelves et al. (US PG Pub 20190033020), hereinafter referred to as Twelves and Lindgren et al. (US PG Pub 20150322320), hereinafter referred to as Lindgren.
With respect to claim 1, Wei teaches a system of controlled cryogenic cooling at low pressure and low system vibration, said system comprising:
a liquid nitrogen source (liquid nitrogen via inlet pipe 3, paragraph 21);
a heat exchanger for allowing two fluids at different temperatures to exchange heat (heat exchanger 11 which condenses propylene against nitrogen, paragraph 15);
a pump (propylene pump);
another heat exchanger (liquid nitrogen circulating water heat exchanger 14, paragraph 23);
and a coolant comprising an alkene (propylene is the coolant).
Wei does not teach a sensor and controller.
Kopko teaches that a cooling system can have sensors and a controller to provide feedback to regulate operation of valves and other processes (paragraph 33).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Kopko provide control circuitry (a controller) and a sensor in the system of Wei since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing a controller and sensor would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of more efficient operation of the system by being able to react to changes that occur in the system and maintain the desired operating conditions.
Wei does not teach another heat exchanger is thin walled.
Twelves teaches that designing a thin walled heat exchanger can allow for increased heat transfer between heat exchange fluids (paragraph 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a thin walled heat exchanger as taught by Twelves as the another heat exchanger of Wei since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing a thin walled heat exchanger can increase the heat transfer between the fluids which would provide what is common knowledge in the art of an increase in efficiency of the heat exchanger which could result in less flow being needed or a smaller heat exchanger to achieve the same heat exchanger.
Wei does not teach insulated lines.
Kopko teaches that in freezing climates exposed piping should be insulated to prevent freezing damage (paragraph 89).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided insulated piping in the system of Wei based on the teaching of Kopko on any flow lines that could freeze if insulation was not provided in order to prevent freezing damage of those pipes.
Wei does not teach the coolant is a eutectic alkane or alkene as best understood in view of the rejection above.
Lindgren teaches a hydrocarbon refrigerant can be a mixture of propane and propene (abstract, paragraphs 11-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Lindgren provided in addition to propylene (propene and propylene are the same) to have also provided propane in the refrigerant that is being cooled in Wei as modified since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing a mixed refrigerant that includes both propane and propylene since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that using mixed refrigerants instead of single component refrigerants can result in improved overall performance of the refrigerant system.
With respect to claim 3, Wei as modified teaches wherein said coolant is two or more selected from propane and propene (as modified the coolant is a mixture of propane/propene).
With respect to claim 6, Wei teaches a method of controlled cryogenic cooling at low pressure and low system vibration, said method comprising the step of:
providing a system that comprises a liquid nitrogen source (liquid nitrogen via inlet pipe 3, paragraph 21);
a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 11, paragraph 15)
a pump (propylene pump);
another heat exchanger (liquid nitrogen circulating water heat exchanger 14, paragraph 23);
and a coolant comprising an alkene (propylene is the coolant).
wherein said heat exchanger allows two fluids at different temperatures to exchange heat (heat exchanger 11 which condenses propylene against nitrogen, paragraph 15);
Wei does not providing teach a sensor and controller.
Kopko teaches that a cooling system can have sensors and a controller to provide feedback to regulate operation of valves and other processes (paragraph 33).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Kopko provide control circuitry (a controller) and a sensor in the system of Wei since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing a controller and sensor would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of more efficient operation of the system by being able to react to changes that occur in the system and maintain the desired operating conditions.
Wei does not teach the another heat exchanger is thin walled.
Twelves teaches that designing a thin walled heat exchanger can allow for increased heat transfer between heat exchange fluids (paragraph 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a thin walled heat exchanger as taught by Twelves as the another heat exchanger of Wei since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing a thin walled heat exchanger can increase the heat transfer between the fluids which would provide what is common knowledge in the art of an increase in efficiency of the heat exchanger which could result in less flow being needed or a smaller heat exchanger to achieve the same heat exchanger.
Wei does not teach providing insulated lines.
Kopko teaches that in freezing climates exposed piping should be insulated to prevent freezing damage (paragraph 89).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided insulated piping in the system of Wei based on the teaching of Kopko on any flow lines that could freeze if insulation was not provided in order to prevent freezing damage of those pipes.
Wei does not teach the coolant is a eutectic alkane or alkene as best understood in view of the rejection above.
Lindgren teaches a hydrocarbon refrigerant can be a mixture of propane and propene (abstract, paragraphs 11-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Lindgren provided in addition to propylene (propene and propylene are the same) to have also provided propane in the refrigerant that is being cooled in Wei as modified since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing a mixed refrigerant that includes both propane and propylene since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that using mixed refrigerants instead of single component refrigerants can result in improved overall performance of the refrigerant system.
With respect to claim 8, Wei as modified teaches wherein said coolant is two or more selected from propane and propene (as modified the coolant is a mixture of propane/propene).
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei/Kopko/Twelves/Lindgren and further in view of Anderson (US Patent No. 3312063), hereinafter referred to as Anderson.
With respect to claim 2, Wei as modified does not teach said pump is a centrifugal pump.
Anderson teaches that a pump for liquid propane is a centrifugal pump (Column 3, lines 1-3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Anderson for the pump of Wei as modified to have been a centrifugal pump since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that they are suitable pumps in refrigeration systems that are easy to maintain, and one having ordinary skill in the art would choose a specific pump type from ones that are known to be suitable for the application.
With respect to claim 7, Wei as modified does not teach said pump is a centrifugal pump.
Anderson teaches hat a pump for liquid propane is a centrifugal pump (Column 3, lines 1-3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Anderson for the pump of Wei as modified to have been a centrifugal pump since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that they are suitable pumps in refrigeration systems that are easy to maintain, and one having ordinary skill in the art would choose a specific pump type from ones that are known to be suitable for the application.
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei/Kopko/Twelves/Lindgren and further in view of Linner (US Patent No. 4807442), hereinafter referred to as Linner and Gofron et al. (US PG Pub 20110260064)
With respect to claim 4, Wei does not teach a test article.
Linner teaches that to cool a biological tissue a cryogenic surface can be used which is cooled by a fluid coolant such as propane (clm21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Linner to have instead of using the cooled mixture of propane and propene for the cooling for methanol as taught by Wei to have used to it provide cooling for a surface which cools a biological tissue since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a system which produces a cryogenic coolant could be utilized in a many ways and would provide a suitable method of providing the cryogenic coolant to any system that needs such a coolant.
Wei does not teach the test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror.
Gofron teaches that a sample that has been harvested from a cryogenic bath (thus a cryogenically treated sample) is subject to examination using a microscope with mirrors using radiation beams (paragraph 85) which sample can be biological (paragraphs 76-79).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have when cooling the biological tissue of Wei to have done so that based on the teaching of Gofron so that it can be subjected to microscopy using a radiation beam and mirrors since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that cryogenically cooled biological tissue can be subjected to microscopy (which includes mirrors) in order to collect desired information from the biological tissue. Mirrors in microscopy are inherently known to be distortion sensitive as any distortion can have an effect on the operation of the mirrors. Further, as best understood in view of the rejection above, this modification results in the limitation of the test article being attached to the distortion sensitive mirror.
With respect to claim 5, Wei does not teach a test article.
Linner teaches that to cool a biological tissue a cryogenic surface can be used which is cooled by a fluid coolant such as propane (clm21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Linner to have instead of using the cooled mixture of propane and propene for the cooling for methanol as taught by Wei to have used to it provide cooling for a surface which cools a biological tissue since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a system which produces a cryogenic coolant could be utilized in a many ways and would provide a suitable method of providing the cryogenic coolant to any system that needs such a coolant.
Wei does not teach the test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror.
Gofron teaches that a sample that has been harvested from a cryogenic bath (thus a cryogenically treated sample) is subject to examination using a microscope with mirrors using radiation beams (paragraph 85) which sample can be biological (paragraphs 76-79).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have when cooling the biological tissue of Wei to have done so that based on the teaching of Gofron so that it can be subjected to microscopy using a radiation beam and mirrors since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that cryogenically cooled biological tissue can be subjected to microscopy (which includes mirrors) in order to collect desired information from the biological tissue. Mirrors in microscopy are inherently known to be distortion sensitive as any distortion can have an effect on the operation of the mirrors. Further, as best understood in view of the rejection above, this modification results in the limitation of the test article being attached to the distortion sensitive mirror.
With respect to claim 9, Wei does not teach a test article.
Linner teaches that to cool a biological tissue a cryogenic surface can be used which is cooled by a fluid coolant such as propane (clm21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Linner to have instead of using the cooled mixture of propane and propene for the cooling for methanol as taught by Wei to have used to it provide cooling for a surface which cools a biological tissue since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a system which produces a cryogenic coolant could be utilized in a many way and would provide a suitable method of providing the cryogenic coolant to any system that needs such a coolant.
Wei does not teach the test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror.
Gofron teaches that a sample that has been harvested from a cryogenic bath (thus a cryogenically treated sample) is subject to examination using a microscope with mirrors using radiation beams (paragraph 85) which sample can be biological (paragraphs 76-79).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have when cooling the biological tissue of Wei to have done so that based on the teaching of Gofron so that it can be subjected to microscopy using a radiation beam and mirrors since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that cryogenically cooled biological tissue can be subjected to microscopy (which includes mirrors) in order to collect desired information from the biological tissue. Mirrors in microscopy are inherently known to be distortion sensitive as any distortion can have an effect on the operation of the mirrors. Further, as best understood in view of the rejection above, this modification results in the limitation of the test article being attached to the distortion sensitive mirror.
With respect to claim 10, Wei does not teach a test article.
Linner teaches that to cool a biological tissue a cryogenic surface can be used which is cooled by a fluid coolant such as propane (clm21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Linner to have instead of using the cooled mixture of propane and propene for the cooling for methanol as taught by Wei to have used to it provide cooling for a surface which cools a biological tissue since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a system which produces a cryogenic coolant could be utilized in a many way and would provide a suitable method of providing the cryogenic coolant to any system that needs such a coolant.
Wei does not teach the test article is attached to a distortion sensitive mirror.
Gofron teaches that a sample that has been harvested from a cryogenic bath (thus a cryogenically treated sample) is subject to examination using a microscope with mirrors using radiation beams (paragraph 85) which sample can be biological (paragraphs 76-79).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have when cooling the biological tissue of Wei to have done so that based on the teaching of Gofron so that it can be subjected to microscopy using a radiation beam and mirrors since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that cryogenically cooled biological tissue can be subjected to microscopy (which includes mirrors) in order to collect desired information from the biological tissue. Mirrors in microscopy are inherently known to be distortion sensitive as any distortion can have an effect on the operation of the mirrors. Further, as best understood in view of the rejection above, this modification results in the limitation of the test article being attached to the distortion sensitive mirror.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wei (US PG Pub 20220026796) and Sugizaki (JPH1020099-A).
/BRIAN M KING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763