DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: Figures 1-10 have duplicate callouts for each element, wherein many elements have multiples located in the drawings, causing a cluttered appearance. It is suggested by the Examiner to have a single callout for just the first representative element (i.e. Fig 1 shows five callouts for reference character 137, when only a single would suffice, and result in a more readable Figure). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “in a case where” is cumbersome and it is suggested by the Examiner to change it to “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8, the recitation “more preferentially than” is indefinite, as it is unclear what is meant by it, or how one part can abut more than another. For the purposes of examining, Examiner has interpreted the limit as “and abuts”, for greater clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO-2007088969-A1 to Takeda et al. (“Takeda”).
Regarding Claim 1, Takeda (Example 5: Figs 12-15, Para 48-56) discloses a vehicle wheel structure (Fig 1, Para 17) comprising: a wheel (1) configured to support a tire (in bead in rim, Para 17) and be assembled to a vehicle (“vehicle wheel” Para 17); and a wheel mounting member (6 “decorative member”) that is mounted on the wheel, wherein the wheel mounting member includes a body section (formed by 60, 61, 62), a main engagement section (63 “thin portion”, Fig 14) that is provided to the body section and engages with an engagement target section 54 “protrusion” with hole 55, Fig 13) of the wheel, and a sub-engagement section (radially outer holes in 62 connected via 3 to 56, Para 56, Fig 14, 15) that is provided in a low-rigidity region (right left ends of 62, extending outward from either side of 60, being less rigid than inner part of 62 joined to 60) in which rigidity relatively decreases in the body section in a state in which the body section is fixed to the wheel by the main engagement section, the sub-engagement section engaging with an engageable target section (56, Para 56, Fig 14, 15) of the wheel, the engageable target section being different from the engagement target section.
Regarding Claim 2, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 1, wherein the low-rigidity region is a region adjacent to (fig 14) a region in which the main engagement section is provided in the body section.
Regarding Claim 4, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 1, wherein the low-rigidity region is a region including a hole formation section () having a through-hole (2 holes at each side of 60, between 60 and 61 Fig 12, 14) that is provided in the body section.
Regarding Claim 5, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 4, wherein the hole formation section has the through-hole that is provided to correspond to an air opening (53 a “decorative hole” between spokes, Para 18) provided to the wheel in a state in which the body section is fixed to the wheel, the air opening causing air to flow through the air opening.
Regarding Claim 7, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 1, wherein the low-rigidity region is a region including a decoration section (Para 20) in which a surface of the body section is decorated in the state in which the body section is fixed to the wheel, the surface corresponding to outside of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 8, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 1, wherein the sub-engagement section includes a support section (62 “arc portion”) that is provided to stand with respect to the body section, an engagement lug (3, Para 56) that is supported by the support section and provided to engage with the engageable target section, and an abutment section (radially outer ends of 61 “branch portion”, Para 56, Fig 14, 15), that abuts the engageable target section
Regarding Claim 9, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 8, wherein the abutment section is a rib (*61 like a arced rib, Fig 14) that is provided to couple (Para 56) the support section and the engagement lug.
Regarding Claim 11, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 1, wherein the wheel mounting member is provided by using a resin material (Para 19).
Regarding Claim 12, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 1, wherein the body section is provided to cover a whole of a surface of the wheel (as described in paragraphs 34-35 of specification, covers air openings in wheel; Takeda body formed by 60, 61, 62 fits in each 53 of wheel) in a state in which the body section is mounted on the wheel, the surface corresponding to outside of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 13, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 12, wherein the body section includes a plurality of body formation members (Fig 12 shows five of 6 upon wheel), and a coupling section (central portion in middle of wheel having 54 in each 53, Fig 13) that couples the body formation members along a circumferential direction of a disc (center of 5, Fig 13) included in the wheel in the state in which the body section is mounted on the wheel (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 14, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 13, wherein the coupling section couples the body formation members in a middle section (as described in paragraph 20 of this document) of the disc in the state in which the body section is mounted on the wheel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 2, wherein, a pair of the main engagement sections the low-rigidity region is present between respective regions in which the pair of the main engagement sections are respectively provided.
Takeda further discloses (embodiment Fig 20, Para 63) wherein the body section is provided with a pair of the main engagement sections (74 “protrusions”, radially inner right and left ), the low-rigidity region is present between (as described in Para 11 of this document) respective regions in which the pair of the main engagement sections are respectively provided.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the vehicle wheel structure and the vehicle wheel structure the pair of main engagement sections in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the vehicle wheel structure of Takeda and the teaching of the the vehicle wheel structure the pair of main engagement sections of Takeda embodiment of Fig 20, to modify the main engagement sections of Takeds such there were a pair of main engagement portions for each body, with the motivation to
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP-2003146002-A et al. (“Nakagawa”).
Regarding Claim 10, Takeda discloses the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 1, wherein the engagement target section is an engagement target hole (55 Fig 13 described in paragraph 10 of this document ), but does not disclose the engagement target hole having a long-hole shape, and the engagement target hole is provided to have a longitudinal direction along a radial direction of the wheel.
Nakagawa discloses a wheel cover connected via a hole (“elongated hole” (not shown) having a long-hole shape, i.e. having a longitudinal direction, Page 5, Para 3 beginning “Although not shown, in order to adjust…” and the engagement target hole is provided to have a longitudinal direction along a radial direction of the wheel.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the vehicle wheel structure having an engagement target hole and the teaching of the cover connection having an elongated hole allowing adjustment, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the vehicle wheel structure having an engagement target hole of Takeda and the teaching of the cover connection having an elongated hole allowing adjustment of Nakagawa, to modify the shape of the engagement hole (of Takeda) such that it has a long-hole shape, with a longitudinal direction (like Nakagawa) , aligned along a radial direction of the wheel (of Takeda), with the motivation to allow adjustment of the cover on the wheel to ensure proper fit within the wheel, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fails to disclose, teach or make obvious the following limits of Claim 6:
Regarding Claim 6, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the vehicle wheel structure according to claim 4, wherein the hole formation section has the through-hole that is provided to accommodate a portion of a spoke included in the wheel in the state in which the body section is fixed to the wheel.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon listed on PTO-892 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and discloses at least one of a wheel with a disc, spokes, air openings/spoke holes, an engagement target section/engagement hole and a resin wheel cover having a body that covers the spoke/air holes in wheel, a coupling section at least one main engagement section , a sub-engagement section having a low rigidity region, a decoration section, a support section, an engagement lug , an abutment section/rib having a through hole formation section having a through hole.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615