Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pedersen (US20230292030A1).
As to Claim 1, Pedersen teaches a charging device ( charging kit or assembly 1, Figures 1A to 3B) configured to receive a hearing device( rechargeable hearing devices 100, 110), wherein the hearing device has a hearing device housing having a side surface ( hearing device 100, 110 comprising BTE housing 103,113 configured to be placed behind the user’s left and right ear, [0086]), the hearing device being an ear level device, such as hearing aid or an earbud( One or each hearing device 100, 110 may further comprise a hook or an ear plug 104, 114 configured for placement at least partly inside the user’s left or right ear canal. See at least [0086]) the charging device (charging kit 1) comprises a base charger 10) comprising: a charger housing (base charger 10 comprises a charger housing that comprises a top/upper surface or housing 14, and a bottom/lower surface or housing 15, see FIGS. 1A to 1C, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, 5A, 5B, 6C, 8A and 8B. See at least [0086]), having a reception part configured to receive at least part of the hearing device housing, (the base charger 10 comprises one or more cavities 12 configured to mate with or receive the first model specific insert 200 and/or the second model specific insert 210, see FIGS. 1C and 6A to 14. See at least [0092] and [0093] teaches Each model specific insert 200, 210 comprises at least one model specific cavity 201, 211 configured to mate with the first or second model specific hearing device 100, 110, respectively, see FIGS. 1A to 5B, 6B, 6C, 7A to 7C, 8A to 8B, 10B, 11B, and 13A to 13B) wherein the reception part is detachable from the charger housing ( the model specific insert(s) 200, 210 is/are in some embodiments detachably attached to the frame 16, 16B and/or the top housing 14 and/or the bottom housing 15 of the base charger 10.See at least [0092]) the reception part(201, 211), [0093]) defining a cavity shaped complementary to at least part of the hearing device housing,( [0093] teaches Each model specific insert 200, 210 comprises at least one model specific cavity 201, 211 configured to mate with the first or second model specific hearing device 100, 110, respectively, see FIGS. 1A to 5B, 6B, 6C, 7A to 7C, 8A to 8B, 10B, 11B, and 13A to 13B. This mating is preferably provided by molding the model specific insert(s) 200, 210 and the model specific cavity(ies) 201, 211 according to the associated hearing device(s) 100, 110.” the reception part having a lower part which is received in the charger housing and releasably fastened thereto via a snap part, [0092] teaches the attachment 13 could be a snap fit locking or screw or adhesive bonding or similar, see FIGS. 1C and 8B. In FIG. 1C, the attachment 13 is shown as a snap fit lock comprising one or more hook(s) 13 protruding from the first or second model specific insert 200, 210 and corresponding one or more catch(es) 13 in the top housing 14 of the base charger 10 configured for receiving and/or holding and/or retaining the hook(s) 13. The model specific insert(s) 200, 210 is/are in some embodiments detachably attached to the frame 16, 16B and/or the top housing 14 and/or the bottom housing 15 of the base charger 10.
As to Claim 2, Pedersen teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein when the reception part (201, 211) is mounted in the charger housing (200,210, [0093], Figures 2A, 2B), a top part of the reception part (201,211) is substantially flush with an outer surface of the charger housing (200,210, Figures 3A, 3B).
As to Claim 3, Pedersen teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the snap part comprises a snap ramp, See at least [0091] on the components making up the base charger 10, such as the frame 16, 16B, the control unit 17 and the bottom housing 15 are in some embodiments, e.g. in FIG. 1C, detachably connected by means of attachments 13A, e.g. screws, but could also be connected via snap fit locking 13 or the like as shown in FIG. 8B. Further, [0092] teaches each model specific insert 200, 210 in all embodiments of the present disclosure is configured to be held in place in the base charger 10 after insertion therein to form the charging kit and hearing device charger 1 by means of at least one attachment 13, see FIGS. 1C and 8B. The attachment 13 could be a snap fit locking or screw or adhesive bonding or similar, see FIGS. 1C and 8B. In FIG. 1C, the attachment 13 is shown as a snap fit lock comprising one or more hook(s) 13 protruding from the first or second model specific insert 200, 210 and corresponding one or more catch(es) 13 in the top housing 14 of the base charger 10 configured for receiving and/or holding and/or retaining the hook(s) 13. The model specific insert(s) 200, 210 is/are in some embodiments detachably attached to the frame 16, 16B and/or the top housing 14 and/or the bottom housing 15 of the base charger 10.
As to Claim 4, Pedersen teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the charger housing comprises snap ribs, [0092] teaches the attachment 13 could be a snap fit locking or screw or adhesive bonding or similar, see FIGS. 1C and 8B. In FIG. 1C, the attachment 13 is shown as a snap fit lock comprising one or more hook(s) 13 protruding from the first or second model specific insert 200, 210 and corresponding one or more catch(es) 13 in the top housing 14 of the base charger 10 configured for receiving and/or holding and/or retaining the hook(s) 13.
As to Claim 7, Pedersen teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and, wherein the charger comprises a charge supply configured to provide a charge current to the hearing device, either via contact pads or wirelessly, [0122] teaches the operation of the hearing device charger 1 are possible to implement by use of many different types of components and parts being common knowledge for a skilled person and are therefore not explained in detail herein. The control and charging control unit 17 for controlling the hearing device charger 1 and its charging are in some embodiments operatively connected to one or more built-in and rechargeable batteries to safely operate the hearing device charger 1 and/or charge the battery/-ies 102, 112 in each hearing device 100, 110 when the hearing device charger 1 is not connected to an external power source. Further, on [0094] teaches hearing devices 100 and/or at least one of the second model specific hearing devices 110 and/or each of the hearing devices 100, 110 is configured for wireless charging, e.g. by means of inductive coupling, capacitive coupling, magnetic coupling, radio frequencies, light waves and/or sound waves, etc. In some embodiments, one or both or more or all of the first and the second model specific hearing devices 100, 110 is/are inductively chargeable.
As to Claim 11, Pedersen teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and,, further comprising a replaceable battery, (the control and charging control unit 17 for controlling the hearing device charger 1 and its charging are in some embodiments operatively connected to one or more built-in and rechargeable batteries to safely operate the hearing device charger 1 and/or charge the battery/-ies 102, 112 in each hearing device 100, 110 when the hearing device charger 1 is not connected to an external power source. See at least Pedersen on [0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pederson et al. (US20230292030A1) in view of Chawan et al. (US 2020/0275184A1).
As to Claim 8, Pedersen teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and but does not explicitly teach wherein the charger housing and/or the reception part comprises one or more magnets configured to provide a retention force between the hearing device and the reception part and/or charger housing. However, Chawan in related field (casing for earbuds) teaches on [0118] case 100 can also include a charging system 125 configured to charge pair of earbuds 115a, 115b; one or more magnets 130 configured to orient and retain the pair of earbuds within one or more cavities 110a, 110b; and other features that are further described below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the charger housing and including magnets for retaining the earbuds within the receptive portion of the charger housing to securely retain the earbuds in place while charging.
2. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pederson et al. (US20230292030A1) in view of Avache et al. (US2020/0245079A1), hereinafter Avache.
As to Claim 12, Pedersen teaches the limitations of Claim 1 but does not explicitly teach further comprising a lid and a sensor, and wherein the charging device is configured to charge a hearing aid only when the sensor indicates that the lid is closed. However, Ayache in related field (charger for hearing device) teaches on [0079] teaches the universal charging and drying station may further comprise a magnetic switch 83 provided on the main casing 10. Specifically, the magnetic switch 83 may comprise a first magnetic member 831 provided on the lid 20 and a second magnetic member 832 provided in the receiving cavity 15 and electrically connected to the control circuitry 40, in such a manner that when the lid 20 is moved to close the universal charging and drying station, the first magnetic member 831 and the second magnetic member 832 may be magnetically attracted with each other to activate operation of the drying and/or the charging function. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a lid and switch or sensor that activates the charging when the lid is moved to close position to securely charge the hearing device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691