DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 3-11 in the reply filed on is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2025, 09/10/2025, 02/05/2026, 05/05/2026, 10/07/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reohr (US 9,613,699 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Reohr teaches a time-division multiplexed (TDM) lookup circuit for use in a superconducting cache, the TDM lookup circuit comprising:
a superconducting memory (Fig. 8, 802, 804, col. 3, lines 53-55, col. 6, line 42, JMRAM Data Cache 804; Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 19-27, Josephson Junction, superconductor, SQUID-based circuits); and
at least one comparator circuit (Fig. 8, 802, col. 6, line 42, CAM directory; col. 1, lines 52-60) operatively coupled to the superconducting memory, the comparator circuit including a first input (Fig. 8, Write ADDR to 808 and to 802) adapted to receive a first address corresponding to a requested data location in the superconducting memory (col. 6, lines 52-55) and a second input (Fig. 8, TAG IN to Read Port 814) adapted to receive a second address corresponding to a memory location external to the TDM lookup circuit, the comparator being configured to perform at least one compare process wherein the first address is compared with the second address (col. 6, lines 46-49) and an output signal is generated that is indicative of whether a match has occurred between the first and second addresses (col. 6, lines 49-52);
wherein the at least one comparator is configured to perform multiple compare processes per lookup access (col. 6, lines 46-49, evaluated against existing entries in CAM Directory 802).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Reohr.
Reohr further teaches the circuit, wherein the superconducting memory is configured as a directory (Fig. 8, CAM directory) or a translation lookaside buffer (TLB) (col. 3, lines 61-87).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Reohr.
Reohr further teaches the circuit, wherein the superconducting memory is configured as a fully associative TLB or a set associative TLB (col. 7, lines 46-50).
Regarding claim 9, all the limitations of claim 3 are taught by Reohr.
Reohr further teaches the circuit, wherein the directory comprises one of a set associative directory or a fully associative directory (col. 7, lines 46-50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a TDM lookup circuit, wherein the at least one comparator circuit is configured to perform serial bit-by-bit comparisons in an increasing time sequence, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a TDM lookup circuit, wherein the at least one comparator circuit comprises: a plurality of XOR logic gates configured to detect bit-by-bit mismatches between respective bits of the first and second addresses; a plurality of OR logic gates serially connected and configured to accumulate mismatch results generated by the plurality of XOR logic gates; and an output circuit configured to convert a miss signal, indicating that an overall mismatch has occurred, into a hit signal, indicating that a match was detected, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 is objected to due to its dependency to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 8, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a TDM lookup circuit, wherein the at least one comparator circuit comprises: an output circuit; and a plurality of mismatch circuits connected in parallel to the output circuit, wherein each of the plurality of mismatch circuits comprises: a plurality of XOR logic gates configured to detect bit-by-bit mismatches between respective bits of the first and second addresses; and a plurality of serially connected OR logic gates configured to accumulate mismatch results generated by the plurality of XOR logic gates, wherein the output circuit is configured to merge mismatch results generated by the plurality of mismatch circuits into a combined mismatch result indicative of an overall mismatch between the first and second addresses, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a TDM lookup circuit, comprising at least one copy delay circuit operatively coupled between the superconducting memory and the at least one comparator circuit, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a TDM lookup circuit, comprising a column-oriented TDM circuit operatively coupled between the superconducting memory and the at least one comparator circuit, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845