DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 28 January 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 13, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoyerby (US 2017/0324321).
In re claims 1, 13 and 19, Hoyerby discloses a wireless device comprising a power management circuit (Fig. 6 and [0065]: “portable communication terminal” understood as a wireless device) comprising:
a dual output voltage conversion circuit and the corresponding method of its operation (see Fig. 2) comprising:
a main multi-level charge pump (MCP) (101 except Q4, Q5) configured to:
generate a first low-frequency voltage at a first voltage output (224, Pvdd) as a function of a battery voltage (Vdd) based on a first duty cycle (see waveforms of Fig. 4D and [0059]); and
output the first low-frequency voltage as a transfer voltage (Vcf_p) when the first low-frequency voltage is higher than the battery voltage (see waveforms of Fig. 4D: voltage Vcf_p reaches magnitude Pvdd which may be up to twice the battery voltage Vdd as taught at [0050], [0052]); and
a lightweight MCP (Q4, Q5; considered “lightweight” due to having fewer components than the main MCP) configured to:
receive the transfer voltage from the main MCP (see Fig. 2); and
generate a second low-frequency voltage at a second voltage output (225, 1/2Pvdd) as a function of the transfer voltage based on a second duty cycle (see waveforms of Fig. 4D and [0059]).
In re claims 2, 16 and 20, Hoyerby discloses wherein the main MCP is further configured to output the first low-frequency voltage as the transfer voltage when the first low-frequency voltage is substantially equal to twice the battery voltage (see waveforms of Fig. 4D: voltage Vcf_p reaches magnitude Pvdd which may be up to twice the battery voltage Vdd as taught at [0050], [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyerby in view of Khlat (US 2021/0226585)1.
In re claim 14, Hoyerby discloses the invention according to claim 13 as explained above, but does not further disclose a first power inductor coupled to the first voltage output and configured to generate a first low-frequency current based on the first low- frequency voltage; and a second power inductor coupled to the second voltage output and configured to generate a second low-frequency current based on the second low-frequency voltage.
Whereas Khlat discloses a power management circuit (Figs. 1 and 3A) in which a first power inductor (26A) is coupled to a first output (VDCA) and a second power inductor (26B) is coupled to a second output (VDCB) for the purpose of converting a low-frequency voltage output into a low-frequency current provided to a load ([0025]-[0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hoyerby by including a first power inductor coupled to the first voltage output and configured to generate a first low-frequency current based on the first low-frequency voltage; and a second power inductor coupled to the second voltage output and configured to generate a second low-frequency current based on the second low-frequency voltage as shown and taught by Khlat to provide filtering and smoothing of the low frequency voltages into low frequency currents.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, 15-16 and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/383,962 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the claims under rejection are wholly contained within the text of the claims of the reference application. For example, the limitations of the instant independent claims 1, 13 and 20 are found within the independent claims 1, 11 and 20, respectively, of the reference application. Likewise, the instant dependent claims under rejection are also found within corresponding, respective dependent claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5, 7-12, 15 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if a proper Terminal Disclaimer is filed to overcome the provisional rejection for non-statutory Double Patenting.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, the closest prior art in Hoyerby discloses the invention according to claim 1 as explained above, but does not further disclose wherein the second duty cycle is generated independently from the first duty cycle to thereby cause the lightweight MCP to operate independently from the main MCP. Instead, as shown in Hoyerby, Fig. 3, the duty cycles of the main and lightweight MCPs are generated in a functionally-dependent manner through the use of a single PWM circuit.
Furthermore, the additional prior art on record does not suggest an obvious modification that could be made to Hoyerby that would have resulted in the claimed features.
With respect to claim 4, the closest prior art in Hoyerby discloses the invention according to claim 1 as explained above, but does not further disclose wherein:the main MCP is further configured to toggle between a zero-times multiple (Ox), a one-times multiple (1 x), and/or a two-times multiple (2x) of the battery voltage based on the first duty cycle; and the lightweight MCP is further configured to toggle between a zero-times multiple (Ox), a one-half-times multiple (0.5x), and/or a one-times multiple (1 x) of the transfer voltage based on the second duty cycle. Instead, Hoyerby only discloses singular conversion ratios for each of the two output voltages.
Furthermore, the additional prior art on record does not suggest an obvious modification that could be made to Hoyerby that would have resulted in the claimed features.
With respect to claim 5, the closest prior art in Hoyerby discloses the invention according to claim 1 as explained above, but does not further disclose wherein the main MCP comprises a first buck-boost voltage converter and a second buck-boost voltage converter coupled in parallel between the battery voltage and the first voltage output and configured to alternately provide the transfer voltage to the lightweight MCP. Instead, Hoybery discloses the main and lightweight MCPs as part of a single boost voltage converter structure, rather than the parallel structure of claim 5 where the first and second converter alternately provide the transfer voltage.
Furthermore, the additional prior art on record does not suggest an obvious modification that could be made to Hoyerby that would have resulted in the claimed features.
Claims 6-12 each depend, either directly or indirectly, from claim 5 and so would be allowable for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 15, the closest prior art in Hoyerby discloses the invention according to claim 1 as explained above, but does not further disclose a first voltage modulation circuit configured to generate a first modulated voltage; a second voltage modulation circuit configured to generate a second modulated voltage; a switching circuit coupled to the first voltage modulation circuit, the first power inductor, the second voltage modulation circuit, and the second power inductor, the switching circuit is configured to: provide the first modulated voltage and the first low-frequency current to any one of a first output node and a second output node; and provide the second modulated voltage and the second low- frequency current to another one of the first output node and the second output node; and a first power amplifier coupled to the first output node; and a second power amplifier coupled to the second output node.
Furthermore, the additional prior art on record does not suggest an obvious modification that could be made to Hoyerby that would have resulted in the claimed features.
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 3, and would therefore be allowable for the same reasons as explained above.
Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 5, and would therefore be allowable for the same reasons as explained above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2005/0012542 discloses a Power Supply comprising charge-pump circuit with dual output voltages.
US 2013/0181521 discloses a SINGLE +82 C-BUCKBOOST CONVERTER WITH MULTIPLE REGULATED SUPPLY OUTPUTS.
US 2016/0241142 discloses an INTERLEAVED DUAL OUTPUT CHARGE PUMP.
/FRED E FINCH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838
1 Cited by Applicant in the 10 April 2025 Information Disclosure Statement.