DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 06/12/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16, 19, and 20 are amended; claims 2, 17, and 18 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 03/09/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 06/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 15 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of McCrosky (U.S. Patent No. 1,700,234).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCrosky (U.S. Patent No. 1,700,234).
Annotated Figure 1 from McCrosky.
Regarding claim 1, McCrosky discloses:
An end cap (see annotated figure above) for a pipe section (11) of a Y-ball check valve having a valve ball (8), said end cap (see annotated figure above) including a stabilizer (12) to engage and stabilize the valve ball (8) when the valve ball (8) is pushed into the pipe section (11) toward the end cap (see annotated figure above) when a pressurized flow of fluid flows through the Y-ball check valve from an inlet (see annotated figure above) to an outlet (5), wherein the stabilizer (12) is a projection that extends from the end cap (see annotated figure above) into the pipe section (11) and has a closed side wall and a closed free end wall without openings (see Figure 1; page 1, lines 35-71, 105-112; page 2, lines 1-9)
Regarding claim 3, McCrosky discloses:
wherein the projection (12) is substantially cylindrical (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 4, McCrosky discloses:
A Y-ball check valve, comprising:
a Y-shaped pipe body (4) having an inlet (see annotated figure above), an outlet (5) opposite the inlet (see annotated figure above), and a pipe section (11) having a free end closed by an end cap (see annotated figure above; page 1, lines 35-71)
a valve seat (7) located within the pipe body (4) between the inlet (see annotated figure above) and the outlet 5 (see Figure 1; page 1, lines 35-71)
a valve ball (8) located within the pipe body (4) such that the valve ball (8) is pushed into the pipe section (11) toward the end cap (see annotated figure above) when a pressurized flow of fluid flows through the Y-ball check valve from the inlet (see annotated figure above) to the outlet (5) and such that the valve ball (8) engages the valve seat (7) to form a seal to close the Y-ball check valve when pressurized fluid flow ceases or is in a direction from the outlet (5) toward the inlet (see annotated figure above; page 1, lines 35-71, 105-112; page 2, lines 1-9)
wherein the end cap (see annotated figure above) includes a stabilizer (12)to engage and stabilize the valve ball (8) when the valve ball (8) is pushed into the pipe section (11) toward the end cap (see annotated figure above) when a pressurized flow of fluid flows through the Y-ball check valve from the inlet (see annotated figure above) to the outlet 5 (page 1, lines 35-71, 105-112; page 2, lines 1-9)
wherein the stabilizer (12) is a projection that extends from the end cap (see annotated figure above) into the pipe section (11) and has closed side and end walls (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 5, McCrosky discloses:
wherein the projection (12) extends concentrically within the pipe section 11 (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 6, McCrosky discloses:
wherein the projection (12) is substantially cylindrical without any openings (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 7, McCrosky discloses:
wherein an outer diameter of the substantially cylindrical projection (12) is less than a diameter of the valve ball 8 (see Figure 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCrosky in view of Couet (U.S. Patent No. 5,509,445).
Regarding claim 15, McCrosky discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein the valve ball is made of hard plastic.
Couet teaches a ball check valve wherein a valve ball (42) is made of hard plastic (Col. 3, lines 35-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified McCrosky to provide wherein the valve ball is made of hard plastic. Doing so would minimize heat loss (Col. 3, lines 35-40), as recognized by Couet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14, 16, 19, and 20 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753