DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-18 and 20-21 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1, 10, and 11, cancelled claim 19, and added claim 21.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed June 24, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 regarding the limitation “and use the virtual points to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination fails to disclose “using the representative points and a designated algorithm and based on obtaining a parameter to correct heights of target points indicating a designated type, generate a profile with corrected heights of the target points, wherein the target points are within the ROI among the at least one point.” Applicant argues the Office has failed to show the claimed generation of “a profile with corrected heights of target points, wherein the target points are within the ROI among the at least one point” and that DUAN does not teach or suggest correct heights of target points to generate a profile of corrected heights, but instead describes an entirely different operation of performing feature expansion on each data point in each point cloud block for object detection purposes. Applicant further argues the feature expansion merely encodes the existing z-coordinates as additional features and does not correct or modify the heights of any points, and that the z-coordinate values remain unchanged and are simply encoded alongside other dimensional features for subsequent processing. Applicant further argues the data segmentation by height range does not perform a height correction operation and instead categorizes points based on their existing heights rather than correcting those heights (See Applicant’s Remarks, pages 7-8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the rejection, DUAN expressly expands each point-cloud feature to include z-Δz, where Δz represents the average coordinate value of the points in the point-cloud data block (See paragraph [n0049].) Thus, although DUAN retains the original z-coordinate as one feature, DUAN also generates a modified height value based on an obtained average-coordinate parameter, which reasonably corresponds to obtaining a parameter to correct heights of target points. DUAN further processes the point-cloud data based on vertical position coordinates and target height ranges (See paragraph [n0068].) and generates target feature maps from the processed point-cloud data (See paragraph [n0074].), which reasonably corresponds to generating a profile including the corrected height information.
Applicant lastly argues it is not clear which elements of GABRIEL are characterized as the claimed “representative points” and “virtual points” (See Applicant’s Remarks, page 9). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. GABRIEL expressly identifies the reference points positioned along the lane as “representative points” (See paragraph [0059].) and maps those representative points onto a lane grid map comprising grid points representing positions along the lane (See paragraph [0062].). GABRIEL further generates a traveling trajectory based on future positions of the vehicle and evaluates the trajectory using corresponding grid-point positions (See paragraphs [0111], [0112].). Accordingly, GABRIEL clearly identifies the claimed representative points and reasonably teaches the claimed virtual points as grid points corresponding to positions along the vehicle’s predicted traveling trajectory. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN (CN 115222941 A) and GABRIEL (US 20250157333 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, DUAN teaches An apparatus for controlling driving of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: a sensor configured to obtain a point cloud (See at least paragraph [n0002], “Point cloud data is a collection of point data on the surface of a target object detected by scanning devices such as LiDAR. In autonomous driving scenarios, point clouds acquired by LiDAR sensors are characterized by sparseness, closeness to the road surface, low height, and small sample size.”); a memory storing a neural network model (See at least paragraph [n0074], “The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: based on inputting the point cloud to the neural network model, form a plurality of grids in a region of interest (ROI) to map points of the point cloud to a grid map (See at least paragraph [n0047], “the point cloud data can be processed into a grid so that the spatially distributed point cloud data falls within the grid. When performing gridding processing on the spatial distribution of point cloud data, we can first take the horizontal plane where the vehicle's driving direction is located as the scene plane, without considering the vertical height data of the point cloud data, and divide it into several grids of the same size” and paragraph [n0074], “For example, for each pseudo-image, the set of point cloud data blocks corresponding to the pseudo-image is determined by the grid index value of the point cloud data. Then, based on the number of points in the point cloud data block set, and according to the preset correspondence between different point cloud numbers and the number of convolutional kernels, the number of convolutional kernels corresponding to the set of point cloud data blocks is determined. Then, the corresponding target feature extraction sub-model is determined based on the number of convolutional kernels. The pseudo-image can then be input into the target feature extraction sub-model to obtain the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo-image. The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); using the representative points and a designated algorithm and based on obtaining a parameter to correct heights of target points indicating a designated type, generate a profile with corrected heights of the target points, wherein the target points are within the ROI among the at least one point (See at least paragraph [n0049], “Optionally, feature expansion can be performed on each data point included in each point cloud data block to obtain multiple point cloud data blocks with completed feature expansion. One implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 9-dimensional feature [x,y,z,r,x-Δx,y-Δy,z-Δz,x-xc,y-yc], where [r] represents the reflection intensity value of the point cloud data itself, [x,y,z] represents the coordinate value of the data point in three-dimensional space, [Δx,Δy,Δz] represents the average coordinate value of all points in the point cloud data block, and [xc,yc,Δc] represents the center coordinate value of the point cloud data in the horizontal projection of the point cloud data in the point cloud data block. Another implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 16-dimensional or higher-dimensional feature”, paragraph [n0068], “Alternatively, in another possible implementation, the number of point cloud data at different heights can be determined based on the vertical position coordinates of multiple point cloud data in the direction perpendicular to the vehicle's driving direction, and the total height range can be divided into multiple target height ranges based on the preset set size and the number of point clouds”, and paragraph [n0074], “For example, for each pseudo-image, the set of point cloud data blocks corresponding to the pseudo-image is determined by the grid index value of the point cloud data. Then, based on the number of points in the point cloud data block set, and according to the preset correspondence between different point cloud numbers and the number of convolutional kernels, the number of convolutional kernels corresponding to the set of point cloud data blocks is determined. Then, the corresponding target feature extraction sub-model is determined based on the number of convolutional kernels. The pseudo-image can then be input into the target feature extraction sub-model to obtain the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo-image. The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); output, based on the profile, a signal (See at least paragraph [n0052], “It should be noted that after obtaining the (C, P) tensor, the (C, P) tensor generated in the previous step can be converted back to its original point cloud data block coordinates using the grid index value of each point, in order to create a pseudo-image of size (C, H, W). The height H and width W of the pseudo-image are determined by setting the range of point cloud coordinates on the XY plane and the size of each columnar point cloud grid when dividing multiple point cloud data into columnar point cloud grids. For example, assuming the X-axis range is [0, 69.12], the Y-axis range is [-39.68, 39.68], and the size of each columnar point cloud grid is 0.16*0.16, then if the X-axis represents the width, the Y-axis represents the height, and one columnar point cloud grid represents one pixel, then the width W = (69.12 - 0) / 0.16 = 432, and the height H = (39.68 - (-39.68)) / 0.16 = 496” and paragraph [n0054], “In this step, the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo image can be determined first. For example, multiple pseudo images can be input into a pre-trained feature extraction model to obtain multiple target feature maps output by the feature extraction model. The feature extraction model includes multiple feature extraction sub-models, and different pseudo images correspond to different feature extraction sub-models.”); and control, based on the signal, driving of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [n0139], “Optionally, the vehicle 800 or a sensing and computing device associated with the vehicle 800 (e.g., computing system 831, computing platform 850) can predict the behavior of the identified object based on the characteristics of the identified object and the state of the surrounding environment (e.g., traffic, rain, ice on the road, etc.). Alternatively, each identified object depends on the behavior of the others, so all identified objects can be considered together to predict the behavior of a single identified object. Vehicle 800 is able to adjust its speed based on the predicted behavior of identified objects. In other words, autonomous vehicles can determine what steady state the vehicle will need to adjust to (e.g., accelerate, decelerate, or stop) based on the predicted behavior of objects.”).
DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position (See at least paragraph [0059], “First, as illustrated in FIG. 3(b), a plurality of reference points corresponding to the lane L1 is set at predetermined distance unit intervals along the extension direction of the road on the center line 310 of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling. In the following description, the reference point of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling may be referred to as a “representative point”. Specifically, for example, a point closest to the vehicle 2 on the center line 310 of the lane L1 is obtained and set as an initial representative point 3101-1. Subsequently, a point at a predetermined distance unit, for example, 300 cm ahead of the initial representative point 3101-1 along the center line 310 is set as the next representative point. By repeating this predetermined number of times, a plurality of representative points are set at equal intervals for the lane L1”, paragraph [0062], “Next, as illustrated in FIG. 3(c), each reference point obtained by the processing of FIG. 3(b) is mapped on the lane grid map. Note that the lane grid map is expressed by an extension direction of each lane and an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the extension direction, which is different from the original road shape. That is, since the lane grid map is created for the purpose of representing the state of each position on each lane in the extension direction of the road regardless of the shape of the road on which the vehicle 2 actually travels, an expression like a grid-like map without a curve is used as illustrated in FIG. 3(c). For example, each grid point corresponding to the lane L2 in the lane grid map is a point 3201 to 3210 (each point indicated by a solid circle) in FIG. 3(c)”, paragraph [0111], “Here, for example, the traveling trajectory of the vehicle 2 to the target lane can be generated by determining the traveling state (position, vehicle speed, traveling direction, etc.) of the vehicle 2 for several seconds from the present in consideration of the road rules, safety, ride comfort, and the like”, and paragraph [0112], “Subsequently, in step S804, the travel control planning unit 16 evaluates the traveling trajectory on the basis of the road environment data group 32 acquired by the information acquisition unit 11, the lane risk map data group 37 generated by the lane risk map generation unit 15, and the traveling trajectory of the vehicle 2 generated in step S803. Here, for example, by collating risk information of each position (grid point) in the extension direction of each lane included in the lane risk map with the traveling trajectory, the degree of risk of the traveling trajectory is evaluated.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 2, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN teaches wherein the processor is configured to: based on an average value of x-coordinate values of each of the at least one point, an average value of y-coordinate values of each of the at least one point, and an average value of Z-coordinate values of each of the at least one point, determine the representative points (See at least paragraph [n0049], “Optionally, feature expansion can be performed on each data point included in each point cloud data block to obtain multiple point cloud data blocks with completed feature expansion. One implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 9-dimensional feature [x,y,z,r,x-Δx,y-Δy,z-Δz,x-xc,y-yc], where [r] represents the reflection intensity value of the point cloud data itself, [x,y,z] represents the coordinate value of the data point in three-dimensional space, [Δx,Δy,Δz] represents the average coordinate value of all points in the point cloud data block, and [xc,yc,Δc] represents the center coordinate value of the point cloud data in the horizontal projection of the point cloud data in the point cloud data block. Another implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 16-dimensional or higher-dimensional feature.” The average value of x-, y-, and z- coordinates of points in a point cloud data block corresponds to the representative point determined based on average coordinate values.).
Regarding Claim 3, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the designated type comprises a road type, and wherein the road type comprises at least one of a ground, a crosswalk, or a parking area (See at least paragraph [0058], “In the example illustrated in FIG. 3(a), the road on which the vehicle 2 is traveling includes three lanes (L0 to L2), and the vehicle 2 travels in the middle lane L1. Curved lines 300, 310, and 320 indicate center lines of the lanes L0 to L2, respectively. In this figure, there is an S-shaped curve on the road in front of the vehicle 2. The concept of generating a lane grid map based on the road shape, the position of the vehicle 2, and the like will be described with reference to FIGS. 3(b) and 3(c).” The road/lane surface corresponds to the claimed ground road type, which is a designated type of the target points.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position; wherein the designated type comprises a road type, and wherein the road type comprises at least one of a ground, a crosswalk, or a parking area, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0058], [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 4, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on a designated interval, the at least one point (See at least paragraph [0059], “First, as illustrated in FIG. 3(b), a plurality of reference points corresponding to the lane L1 is set at predetermined distance unit intervals along the extension direction of the road on the center line 310 of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling. In the following description, the reference point of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling may be referred to as a “representative point”. Specifically, for example, a point closest to the vehicle 2 on the center line 310 of the lane L1 is obtained and set as an initial representative point 3101-1. Subsequently, a point at a predetermined distance unit, for example, 300 cm ahead of the initial representative point 3101-1 along the center line 310 is set as the next representative point. By repeating this predetermined number of times, a plurality of representative points are set at equal intervals for the lane L1.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position; wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on a designated interval, the at least one point, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 6, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on driving data of the vehicle, a reliability value for the representative points (See at least paragraph [0115], “When the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory can be identified by collating the lane risk map with the traveling trajectory as described above, the traveling trajectory is evaluated using the risk value of the grid point. For example, when the risk state of the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory represents a state in which the risk of collision with an apparent obstacle or a potential obstacle is high, the traveling trajectory may be evaluated as the risk of collision with these obstacles. In addition, for example, in a case where a grid point having a risk of collision with a potential obstacle overlaps with the traveling trajectory, an evaluation value of the traveling trajectory may be calculated on the basis of the degree of risk, and the calculation result may be sent to the next step S805.” The risk value of the grid point corresponds to a reliability value of the representative points.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position; wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on driving data of the vehicle, a reliability value for the representative points, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112], [0115].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 7, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 6, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on types of the at least one point, the reliability value (See at least paragraph [0115], “When the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory can be identified by collating the lane risk map with the traveling trajectory as described above, the traveling trajectory is evaluated using the risk value of the grid point. For example, when the risk state of the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory represents a state in which the risk of collision with an apparent obstacle or a potential obstacle is high, the traveling trajectory may be evaluated as the risk of collision with these obstacles. In addition, for example, in a case where a grid point having a risk of collision with a potential obstacle overlaps with the traveling trajectory, an evaluation value of the traveling trajectory may be calculated on the basis of the degree of risk, and the calculation result may be sent to the next step S805.” Different types of obstacles correspond to different types of points, based on which the risk value (reliability) is determined.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position; wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on driving data of the vehicle, a reliability value for the representative points and determine, based on types of the at least one point, the reliability value, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112], [0115].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].).
Claim(s) 10, 11-14, 16, 17, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN (CN 115222941 A) and GABRIEL (US 20250157333 A1) and ZHAO (CN 116778262 A).
Regarding Claim 10, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN teaches wherein the processor is configured to: identify, based on points to which movement of wheels included in the vehicle is predicted, the position (See at least paragraph [n0139], “Optionally, the vehicle 800 or a sensing and computing device associated with the vehicle 800 (e.g., computing system 831, computing platform 850) can predict the behavior of the identified object based on the characteristics of the identified object and the state of the surrounding environment (e.g., traffic, rain, ice on the road, etc.). Alternatively, each identified object depends on the behavior of the others, so all identified objects can be considered together to predict the behavior of a single identified object. Vehicle 800 is able to adjust its speed based on the predicted behavior of identified objects. In other words, autonomous vehicles can determine what steady state the vehicle will need to adjust to (e.g., accelerate, decelerate, or stop) based on the predicted behavior of objects.” The predicted movement of the vehicle corresponds to movement of the wheels of the vehicle, based on which positions are identified.).
DUAN and GABRIEL do not explicitly disclose, however, ZHAO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and use the virtual points to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map (See at least paragraph [n0025], “The image data includes various types of images, including grayscale images, color images, and depth images. These images provide a view of the scene captured from different positions and angles of the vehicle. Point cloud data includes point cloud data collected by LiDAR, which provides accurate distance and shape information of objects in the scene”, paragraph [n0035], “The point cloud coordinate system transformation module projects the point cloud onto a spherical coordinate system to identify areas where the virtual point cloud may be occluded, resulting in missing points”, paragraph [n0037], “The auxiliary network label generation module first uses virtual point V to generate an approximately complete point cloud target A. During the training phase, it obtains the label of each object to perform mirroring and supplementing of virtual points. At the same time, it judges the similarity score of each object with other objects B in the training set and adds the point clouds of other objects to the object to be supplemented to obtain complete points”, and paragraph [n0038], “After obtaining an approximately complete object point cloud, the point cloud scene in the spherical coordinate system is first divided into a uniform grid. Then, the object point cloud is placed in the area where the point cloud may be occluded in the spherical coordinate system. If the point cloud exists in the grid, the object shape occupancy probability label of the grid is set to 1.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and ZHAO such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and use the virtual points to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].).
With respect to claim 20, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 10, which is commensurate in scope to claim 20, with claim 10 being drawn to a vehicle control system and claim 20 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Regarding Claim 11, DUAN teaches A method performed by an apparatus for controlling driving of a vehicle, the method comprising: based on inputting a point cloud obtained by a sensor of the apparatus to a neural network model, forming a plurality of grids in a region of interest (ROI) to map points of the point cloud to a grid map (See at least paragraph [n0002], “Point cloud data is a collection of point data on the surface of a target object detected by scanning devices such as LiDAR. In autonomous driving scenarios, point clouds acquired by LiDAR sensors are characterized by sparseness, closeness to the road surface, low height, and small sample size”, paragraph [n0047], “the point cloud data can be processed into a grid so that the spatially distributed point cloud data falls within the grid. When performing gridding processing on the spatial distribution of point cloud data, we can first take the horizontal plane where the vehicle's driving direction is located as the scene plane, without considering the vertical height data of the point cloud data, and divide it into several grids of the same size”, and paragraph [n0074], “For example, for each pseudo-image, the set of point cloud data blocks corresponding to the pseudo-image is determined by the grid index value of the point cloud data. Then, based on the number of points in the point cloud data block set, and according to the preset correspondence between different point cloud numbers and the number of convolutional kernels, the number of convolutional kernels corresponding to the set of point cloud data blocks is determined. Then, the corresponding target feature extraction sub-model is determined based on the number of convolutional kernels. The pseudo-image can then be input into the target feature extraction sub-model to obtain the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo-image. The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); and using the representative points and a designated algorithm and based on obtaining a parameter to correct heights of target points indicating a designated type, generating a profile with corrected heights of the target points, wherein the target points are within the ROI among the at least one point (See at least paragraph [n0049], “Optionally, feature expansion can be performed on each data point included in each point cloud data block to obtain multiple point cloud data blocks with completed feature expansion. One implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 9-dimensional feature [x,y,z,r,x-Δx,y-Δy,z-Δz,x-xc,y-yc], where [r] represents the reflection intensity value of the point cloud data itself, [x,y,z] represents the coordinate value of the data point in three-dimensional space, [Δx,Δy,Δz] represents the average coordinate value of all points in the point cloud data block, and [xc,yc,Δc] represents the center coordinate value of the point cloud data in the horizontal projection of the point cloud data in the point cloud data block. Another implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 16-dimensional or higher-dimensional feature”, paragraph [n0068], “Alternatively, in another possible implementation, the number of point cloud data at different heights can be determined based on the vertical position coordinates of multiple point cloud data in the direction perpendicular to the vehicle's driving direction, and the total height range can be divided into multiple target height ranges based on the preset set size and the number of point clouds”, and paragraph [n0074], “For example, for each pseudo-image, the set of point cloud data blocks corresponding to the pseudo-image is determined by the grid index value of the point cloud data. Then, based on the number of points in the point cloud data block set, and according to the preset correspondence between different point cloud numbers and the number of convolutional kernels, the number of convolutional kernels corresponding to the set of point cloud data blocks is determined. Then, the corresponding target feature extraction sub-model is determined based on the number of convolutional kernels. The pseudo-image can then be input into the target feature extraction sub-model to obtain the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo-image. The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); outputting, based on the profile, a signal (See at least paragraph [n0052], “It should be noted that after obtaining the (C, P) tensor, the (C, P) tensor generated in the previous step can be converted back to its original point cloud data block coordinates using the grid index value of each point, in order to create a pseudo-image of size (C, H, W). The height H and width W of the pseudo-image are determined by setting the range of point cloud coordinates on the XY plane and the size of each columnar point cloud grid when dividing multiple point cloud data into columnar point cloud grids. For example, assuming the X-axis range is [0, 69.12], the Y-axis range is [-39.68, 39.68], and the size of each columnar point cloud grid is 0.16*0.16, then if the X-axis represents the width, the Y-axis represents the height, and one columnar point cloud grid represents one pixel, then the width W = (69.12 - 0) / 0.16 = 432, and the height H = (39.68 - (-39.68)) / 0.16 = 496” and paragraph [n0054], “In this step, the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo image can be determined first. For example, multiple pseudo images can be input into a pre-trained feature extraction model to obtain multiple target feature maps output by the feature extraction model. The feature extraction model includes multiple feature extraction sub-models, and different pseudo images correspond to different feature extraction sub-models.”); and controlling, based on the signal, driving of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [n0139], “Optionally, the vehicle 800 or a sensing and computing device associated with the vehicle 800 (e.g., computing system 831, computing platform 850) can predict the behavior of the identified object based on the characteristics of the identified object and the state of the surrounding environment (e.g., traffic, rain, ice on the road, etc.). Alternatively, each identified object depends on the behavior of the others, so all identified objects can be considered together to predict the behavior of a single identified object. Vehicle 800 is able to adjust its speed based on the predicted behavior of identified objects. In other words, autonomous vehicles can determine what steady state the vehicle will need to adjust to (e.g., accelerate, decelerate, or stop) based on the predicted behavior of objects.”).
DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points (See at least paragraph [0059], “First, as illustrated in FIG. 3(b), a plurality of reference points corresponding to the lane L1 is set at predetermined distance unit intervals along the extension direction of the road on the center line 310 of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling. In the following description, the reference point of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling may be referred to as a “representative point”. Specifically, for example, a point closest to the vehicle 2 on the center line 310 of the lane L1 is obtained and set as an initial representative point 3101-1. Subsequently, a point at a predetermined distance unit, for example, 300 cm ahead of the initial representative point 3101-1 along the center line 310 is set as the next representative point. By repeating this predetermined number of times, a plurality of representative points are set at equal intervals for the lane L1”, paragraph [0062], “Next, as illustrated in FIG. 3(c), each reference point obtained by the processing of FIG. 3(b) is mapped on the lane grid map. Note that the lane grid map is expressed by an extension direction of each lane and an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the extension direction, which is different from the original road shape. That is, since the lane grid map is created for the purpose of representing the state of each position on each lane in the extension direction of the road regardless of the shape of the road on which the vehicle 2 actually travels, an expression like a grid-like map without a curve is used as illustrated in FIG. 3(c). For example, each grid point corresponding to the lane L2 in the lane grid map is a point 3201 to 3210 (each point indicated by a solid circle) in FIG. 3(c)”, paragraph [0111], “Here, for example, the traveling trajectory of the vehicle 2 to the target lane can be generated by determining the traveling state (position, vehicle speed, traveling direction, etc.) of the vehicle 2 for several seconds from the present in consideration of the road rules, safety, ride comfort, and the like”, and paragraph [0112], “Subsequently, in step S804, the travel control planning unit 16 evaluates the traveling trajectory on the basis of the road environment data group 32 acquired by the information acquisition unit 11, the lane risk map data group 37 generated by the lane risk map generation unit 15, and the traveling trajectory of the vehicle 2 generated in step S803. Here, for example, by collating risk information of each position (grid point) in the extension direction of each lane included in the lane risk map with the traveling trajectory, the degree of risk of the traveling trajectory is evaluated.”).
DUAN and GABRIEL do not explicitly disclose, however, ZHAO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map (See at least paragraph [n0025], “The image data includes various types of images, including grayscale images, color images, and depth images. These images provide a view of the scene captured from different positions and angles of the vehicle. Point cloud data includes point cloud data collected by LiDAR, which provides accurate distance and shape information of objects in the scene”, paragraph [n0035], “The point cloud coordinate system transformation module projects the point cloud onto a spherical coordinate system to identify areas where the virtual point cloud may be occluded, resulting in missing points”, paragraph [n0037], “The auxiliary network label generation module first uses virtual point V to generate an approximately complete point cloud target A. During the training phase, it obtains the label of each object to perform mirroring and supplementing of virtual points. At the same time, it judges the similarity score of each object with other objects B in the training set and adds the point clouds of other objects to the object to be supplemented to obtain complete points”, and paragraph [n0038], “After obtaining an approximately complete object point cloud, the point cloud scene in the spherical coordinate system is first divided into a uniform grid. Then, the object point cloud is placed in the area where the point cloud may be occluded in the spherical coordinate system. If the point cloud exists in the grid, the object shape occupancy probability label of the grid is set to 1.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and ZHAO such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].).
Regarding Claim 12, DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO teach The method of claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN teaches further comprising: based on an average value of x-coordinate values of each of the at least one point, an average value of y-coordinate values of each of the at least one point, and an average value of Z-coordinate values of each of the at least one point, determining the representative points (See at least paragraph [n0049], “Optionally, feature expansion can be performed on each data point included in each point cloud data block to obtain multiple point cloud data blocks with completed feature expansion. One implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 9-dimensional feature [x,y,z,r,x-Δx,y-Δy,z-Δz,x-xc,y-yc], where [r] represents the reflection intensity value of the point cloud data itself, [x,y,z] represents the coordinate value of the data point in three-dimensional space, [Δx,Δy,Δz] represents the average coordinate value of all points in the point cloud data block, and [xc,yc,Δc] represents the center coordinate value of the point cloud data in the horizontal projection of the point cloud data in the point cloud data block. Another implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 16-dimensional or higher-dimensional feature.” The average value of x-, y-, and z- coordinates of points in a point cloud data block corresponds to the representative point determined based on average coordinate values.).
Regarding Claim 13, DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO teach The method of claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the designated type comprises a road type, and wherein the road type comprises at least one of a ground, a crosswalk, or a parking area (See at least paragraph [0058], “In the example illustrated in FIG. 3(a), the road on which the vehicle 2 is traveling includes three lanes (L0 to L2), and the vehicle 2 travels in the middle lane L1. Curved lines 300, 310, and 320 indicate center lines of the lanes L0 to L2, respectively. In this figure, there is an S-shaped curve on the road in front of the vehicle 2. The concept of generating a lane grid map based on the road shape, the position of the vehicle 2, and the like will be described with reference to FIGS. 3(b) and 3(c).” The road/lane surface corresponds to the claimed ground road type, which is a designated type of the target points.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and ZHAO such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points; wherein the designated type comprises a road type, and wherein the road type comprises at least one of a ground, a crosswalk, or a parking area, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0058], [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].).
Regarding Claim 14, DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO teach The method of claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, based on a designated interval, the at least one point (See at least paragraph [0059], “First, as illustrated in FIG. 3(b), a plurality of reference points corresponding to the lane L1 is set at predetermined distance unit intervals along the extension direction of the road on the center line 310 of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling. In the following description, the reference point of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling may be referred to as a “representative point”. Specifically, for example, a point closest to the vehicle 2 on the center line 310 of the lane L1 is obtained and set as an initial representative point 3101-1. Subsequently, a point at a predetermined distance unit, for example, 300 cm ahead of the initial representative point 3101-1 along the center line 310 is set as the next representative point. By repeating this predetermined number of times, a plurality of representative points are set at equal intervals for the lane L1.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and ZHAO such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points; and determine, based on a designated interval, the at least one point, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].).
Regarding Claim 16, DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO teach The method of claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, based on driving data of the vehicle, a reliability value for the representative points (See at least paragraph [0115], “When the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory can be identified by collating the lane risk map with the traveling trajectory as described above, the traveling trajectory is evaluated using the risk value of the grid point. For example, when the risk state of the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory represents a state in which the risk of collision with an apparent obstacle or a potential obstacle is high, the traveling trajectory may be evaluated as the risk of collision with these obstacles. In addition, for example, in a case where a grid point having a risk of collision with a potential obstacle overlaps with the traveling trajectory, an evaluation value of the traveling trajectory may be calculated on the basis of the degree of risk, and the calculation result may be sent to the next step S805.” The risk value of the grid point corresponds to a reliability value of the representative points.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and ZHAO such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points; and determine, based on driving data of the vehicle, a reliability value for the representative points, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112], [0115].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].).
Regarding Claim 17, DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO teach The apparatus of claim 16, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, based on types of the at least one point, the reliability value (See at least paragraph [0115], “When the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory can be identified by collating the lane risk map with the traveling trajectory as described above, the traveling trajectory is evaluated using the risk value of the grid point. For example, when the risk state of the grid point corresponding to the traveling trajectory represents a state in which the risk of collision with an apparent obstacle or a potential obstacle is high, the traveling trajectory may be evaluated as the risk of collision with these obstacles. In addition, for example, in a case where a grid point having a risk of collision with a potential obstacle overlaps with the traveling trajectory, an evaluation value of the traveling trajectory may be calculated on the basis of the degree of risk, and the calculation result may be sent to the next step S805.” Different types of obstacles correspond to different types of points, based on which the risk value (reliability) is determined.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and ZHAO such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points; determine, based on driving data of the vehicle, a reliability value for the representative points; and determine, based on types of the at least one point, the reliability value, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112], [0115].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].).
Regarding Claim 21, DUAN teaches An apparatus for controlling driving of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: a sensor configured to obtain a point cloud (See at least paragraph [n0002], “Point cloud data is a collection of point data on the surface of a target object detected by scanning devices such as LiDAR. In autonomous driving scenarios, point clouds acquired by LiDAR sensors are characterized by sparseness, closeness to the road surface, low height, and small sample size.”); a memory storing a neural network model (See at least paragraph [n0074], “The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: based on inputting the point cloud to the neural network model, form a plurality of grids in a region of interest (ROI) to map points of the point cloud to a grid map (See at least paragraph [n0047], “the point cloud data can be processed into a grid so that the spatially distributed point cloud data falls within the grid. When performing gridding processing on the spatial distribution of point cloud data, we can first take the horizontal plane where the vehicle's driving direction is located as the scene plane, without considering the vertical height data of the point cloud data, and divide it into several grids of the same size” and paragraph [n0074], “For example, for each pseudo-image, the set of point cloud data blocks corresponding to the pseudo-image is determined by the grid index value of the point cloud data. Then, based on the number of points in the point cloud data block set, and according to the preset correspondence between different point cloud numbers and the number of convolutional kernels, the number of convolutional kernels corresponding to the set of point cloud data blocks is determined. Then, the corresponding target feature extraction sub-model is determined based on the number of convolutional kernels. The pseudo-image can then be input into the target feature extraction sub-model to obtain the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo-image. The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); using the representative points and a designated algorithm and based on obtaining a parameter to correct heights of target points indicating a designated type, generate a profile with corrected heights of the target points, wherein the target points are within the ROI among the at least one point (See at least paragraph [n0049], “Optionally, feature expansion can be performed on each data point included in each point cloud data block to obtain multiple point cloud data blocks with completed feature expansion. One implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 9-dimensional feature [x,y,z,r,x-Δx,y-Δy,z-Δz,x-xc,y-yc], where [r] represents the reflection intensity value of the point cloud data itself, [x,y,z] represents the coordinate value of the data point in three-dimensional space, [Δx,Δy,Δz] represents the average coordinate value of all points in the point cloud data block, and [xc,yc,Δc] represents the center coordinate value of the point cloud data in the horizontal projection of the point cloud data in the point cloud data block. Another implementation approach is to expand the feature [x,y,z,r] for each point cloud data in the point cloud data block into a 16-dimensional or higher-dimensional feature”, paragraph [n0068], “Alternatively, in another possible implementation, the number of point cloud data at different heights can be determined based on the vertical position coordinates of multiple point cloud data in the direction perpendicular to the vehicle's driving direction, and the total height range can be divided into multiple target height ranges based on the preset set size and the number of point clouds”, and paragraph [n0074], “For example, for each pseudo-image, the set of point cloud data blocks corresponding to the pseudo-image is determined by the grid index value of the point cloud data. Then, based on the number of points in the point cloud data block set, and according to the preset correspondence between different point cloud numbers and the number of convolutional kernels, the number of convolutional kernels corresponding to the set of point cloud data blocks is determined. Then, the corresponding target feature extraction sub-model is determined based on the number of convolutional kernels. The pseudo-image can then be input into the target feature extraction sub-model to obtain the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo-image. The feature extraction model includes multiple target feature extraction sub-models. The target feature extraction sub-model can use an existing backbone network for target feature extraction. The backbone network can be the backbone network of RPN (Region Proposal Network). This part can be composed of a 2D convolutional neural network, which is used to extract high-dimensional features from the pseudo-image output by the first part of the network.”); output, based on the profile, a signal (See at least paragraph [n0052], “It should be noted that after obtaining the (C, P) tensor, the (C, P) tensor generated in the previous step can be converted back to its original point cloud data block coordinates using the grid index value of each point, in order to create a pseudo-image of size (C, H, W). The height H and width W of the pseudo-image are determined by setting the range of point cloud coordinates on the XY plane and the size of each columnar point cloud grid when dividing multiple point cloud data into columnar point cloud grids. For example, assuming the X-axis range is [0, 69.12], the Y-axis range is [-39.68, 39.68], and the size of each columnar point cloud grid is 0.16*0.16, then if the X-axis represents the width, the Y-axis represents the height, and one columnar point cloud grid represents one pixel, then the width W = (69.12 - 0) / 0.16 = 432, and the height H = (39.68 - (-39.68)) / 0.16 = 496” and paragraph [n0054], “In this step, the target feature map corresponding to each pseudo image can be determined first. For example, multiple pseudo images can be input into a pre-trained feature extraction model to obtain multiple target feature maps output by the feature extraction model. The feature extraction model includes multiple feature extraction sub-models, and different pseudo images correspond to different feature extraction sub-models.”); and control, based on the signal, driving of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [n0139], “Optionally, the vehicle 800 or a sensing and computing device associated with the vehicle 800 (e.g., computing system 831, computing platform 850) can predict the behavior of the identified object based on the characteristics of the identified object and the state of the surrounding environment (e.g., traffic, rain, ice on the road, etc.). Alternatively, each identified object depends on the behavior of the others, so all identified objects can be considered together to predict the behavior of a single identified object. Vehicle 800 is able to adjust its speed based on the predicted behavior of identified objects. In other words, autonomous vehicles can determine what steady state the vehicle will need to adjust to (e.g., accelerate, decelerate, or stop) based on the predicted behavior of objects.”).
DUAN does not explicitly disclose, however, GABRIEL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points (See at least paragraph [0059], “First, as illustrated in FIG. 3(b), a plurality of reference points corresponding to the lane L1 is set at predetermined distance unit intervals along the extension direction of the road on the center line 310 of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling. In the following description, the reference point of the lane L1 on which the vehicle 2 is traveling may be referred to as a “representative point”. Specifically, for example, a point closest to the vehicle 2 on the center line 310 of the lane L1 is obtained and set as an initial representative point 3101-1. Subsequently, a point at a predetermined distance unit, for example, 300 cm ahead of the initial representative point 3101-1 along the center line 310 is set as the next representative point. By repeating this predetermined number of times, a plurality of representative points are set at equal intervals for the lane L1”, paragraph [0062], “Next, as illustrated in FIG. 3(c), each reference point obtained by the processing of FIG. 3(b) is mapped on the lane grid map. Note that the lane grid map is expressed by an extension direction of each lane and an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the extension direction, which is different from the original road shape. That is, since the lane grid map is created for the purpose of representing the state of each position on each lane in the extension direction of the road regardless of the shape of the road on which the vehicle 2 actually travels, an expression like a grid-like map without a curve is used as illustrated in FIG. 3(c). For example, each grid point corresponding to the lane L2 in the lane grid map is a point 3201 to 3210 (each point indicated by a solid circle) in FIG. 3(c)”, paragraph [0111], “Here, for example, the traveling trajectory of the vehicle 2 to the target lane can be generated by determining the traveling state (position, vehicle speed, traveling direction, etc.) of the vehicle 2 for several seconds from the present in consideration of the road rules, safety, ride comfort, and the like”, and paragraph [0112], “Subsequently, in step S804, the travel control planning unit 16 evaluates the traveling trajectory on the basis of the road environment data group 32 acquired by the information acquisition unit 11, the lane risk map data group 37 generated by the lane risk map generation unit 15, and the traveling trajectory of the vehicle 2 generated in step S803. Here, for example, by collating risk information of each position (grid point) in the extension direction of each lane included in the lane risk map with the traveling trajectory, the degree of risk of the traveling trajectory is evaluated.”).
DUAN and GABRIEL do not explicitly disclose, however, ZHAO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map (See at least paragraph [n0025], “The image data includes various types of images, including grayscale images, color images, and depth images. These images provide a view of the scene captured from different positions and angles of the vehicle. Point cloud data includes point cloud data collected by LiDAR, which provides accurate distance and shape information of objects in the scene”, paragraph [n0035], “The point cloud coordinate system transformation module projects the point cloud onto a spherical coordinate system to identify areas where the virtual point cloud may be occluded, resulting in missing points”, paragraph [n0037], “The auxiliary network label generation module first uses virtual point V to generate an approximately complete point cloud target A. During the training phase, it obtains the label of each object to perform mirroring and supplementing of virtual points. At the same time, it judges the similarity score of each object with other objects B in the training set and adds the point clouds of other objects to the object to be supplemented to obtain complete points”, and paragraph [n0038], “After obtaining an approximately complete object point cloud, the point cloud scene in the spherical coordinate system is first divided into a uniform grid. Then, the object point cloud is placed in the area where the point cloud may be occluded in the spherical coordinate system. If the point cloud exists in the grid, the object shape occupancy probability label of the grid is set to 1.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and ZHAO such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].).
Claim(s) 5, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN (CN 115222941 A) and GABRIEL (US 20250157333 A1) and Schroeter (US 20230121226 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN and GABRIEL do not explicitly disclose, however, Schroeter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on a speed of the vehicle and a scan period of the sensor, the designated interval (See at least paragraph [0029], “Accordingly, a dynamic object may move its position or orientation from one lidar scan to another, even if the two lidar scans were captured within a short time interval. Furthermore, dynamic objects may be present in one lidar scan and not present in another lidar scan, even if the two lidar scans were captured by the same vehicle or by different vehicles but within a reasonably short time interval, for example, within a few days of each other, within a few hours of each other, within a few minutes of each other, or even within a few seconds of each other” and paragraph [0056], “The planning module 200 may also be configured to use the information from the prediction module 215 and the route 240 to plan a sequence of actions that the vehicle 150 may to take within a short time interval, for example, within the next few seconds. In some embodiments, the planning module 200 may be configured to specify a sequence of actions as one or more points representing nearby locations that the corresponding vehicle 150 may drive through next. The planning module 200 may be configured to provide, to the control module 225, the details of a plan comprising the sequence of actions to be taken by the corresponding vehicle 150. The plan may indicate the subsequent action or actions of the corresponding vehicle 150, for example, whether the corresponding vehicle 150 may perform a lane change, a turn, an acceleration by increasing the speed or slowing down, etc.” The time interval between successive LIDAR scans corresponds to a scan period of the sensor, and the vehicle operation including speed changes such as acceleration and deceleration. Accordingly, the effective interval associated with processing point cloud data depends on both the scan timing and the vehicle speed.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and Schroeter such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position; wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on a designated interval, the at least one point, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the processor is configured to: determine, based on a speed of the vehicle and a scan period of the sensor, the designated interval, as taught by Schroeter (See paragraph [0029], [0056].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and accurately maintaining maps to increase safe navigation of autonomous vehicles, as taught by Schroeter (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 8, DUAN and GABRIEL teach The apparatus of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN and GABRIEL do not explicitly disclose, however, Schroeter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the designated algorithm comprises at least one of an interpolation algorithm, principle component analysis (PCA), or a rotation transformation algorithm, and wherein the processor is configured to: apply the designated algorithm to the at least one point to obtain the parameter (See at least paragraph [0092], “Some embodiments may employ an ICP technique for performing localization. For example, when determining correspondences between point clouds. An ICP technique may be generally employed to minimize the difference between two point clouds. In some embodiments of the ICP technique, one point cloud (e.g., vertex cloud), called the target or reference point cloud, may be kept fixed, while the other point cloud, call the source point cloud, may be transformed to best match the reference point cloud. The ICP technique may iteratively revise the transformation (e.g., combination of translation and rotation) needed to minimize an error metric, usually a distance from the source point cloud to the reference point cloud, such as the sum of squared differences between the coordinates of the matched pairs. The ICP technique may align 3D models (e.g., point clouds) given an initial guess of the transformation required.” The ICP technique applies a transformation including rotation to point cloud data and determines transformation parameters for aligning points, corresponding to applying a rotation transformation algorithm to obtain a parameter.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and Schroeter such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the designated algorithm comprises at least one of an interpolation algorithm, principle component analysis (PCA), or a rotation transformation algorithm, and wherein the processor is configured to: apply the designated algorithm to the at least one point to obtain the parameter, as taught by Schroeter (See at least paragraph [0092].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and accurately maintaining maps to increase safe navigation of autonomous vehicles, as taught by Schroeter (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 9, DUAN, GABRIEL, and Schroeter teach The apparatus of claim 8, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN and GABRIEL do not explicitly disclose, however, Schroeter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: repeatedly apply the designated algorithm to exclude an outlier (See at least paragraph [0093], “In some embodiments, a system receives as input a reference point cloud and a source point cloud, an initial estimation of the transformation to align the source point cloud to the reference point cloud, and some criteria for stopping the iterations. For example, the reference point cloud may be the point cloud of an HD Map (OMap) and the source point cloud may be a LIDAR scan. The system may perform the ICP technique to generate a refined transformation, for example, the transformation to determine the pose of the vehicle (or the LIDAR) given the OMap of the region. For example, for each point in the source point cloud, the system may match the closest point in the reference point cloud (or a selected set). The system may then estimate the combination of rotation and translation which will best align each source point to its match found in the previous step. In some embodiments, the system may use a root mean square point to point distance metric minimization technique for estimating the combination of rotation and translation. The system may next weigh points and reject outliers prior to alignment. The system may then transform the source points using the obtained transformation. The system may next repeat these actions (e.g., by re-associating the points, and so on) until a predetermined stopping criteria is met.” The ICP technique includes rejecting outliers and repeatedly performing the transformation process until a stopping criterion is met, corresponding to repeatedly applying the algorithm to exclude outliers.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL and Schroeter such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generate representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, and wherein the virtual points corresponds to the position, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the designated algorithm comprises at least one of an interpolation algorithm, principle component analysis (PCA), or a rotation transformation algorithm, and wherein the processor is configured to: apply the designated algorithm to the at least one point to obtain the parameter, and repeatedly apply the designated algorithm to exclude an outlier, as taught by Schroeter (See at least paragraph [0092], [0093].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), and accurately maintaining maps to increase safe navigation of autonomous vehicles, as taught by Schroeter (See paragraph [0005].).
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN (CN 115222941 A) and GABRIEL (US 20250157333 A1), ZHAO (CN 116778262 A), and Schroeter (US 20230121226 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO teach The method of claim 14, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO do not explicitly disclose, however, Schroeter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, based on a speed of the vehicle and a scan period of the sensor, the designated interval (See at least paragraph [0029], “Accordingly, a dynamic object may move its position or orientation from one lidar scan to another, even if the two lidar scans were captured within a short time interval. Furthermore, dynamic objects may be present in one lidar scan and not present in another lidar scan, even if the two lidar scans were captured by the same vehicle or by different vehicles but within a reasonably short time interval, for example, within a few days of each other, within a few hours of each other, within a few minutes of each other, or even within a few seconds of each other” and paragraph [0056], “The planning module 200 may also be configured to use the information from the prediction module 215 and the route 240 to plan a sequence of actions that the vehicle 150 may to take within a short time interval, for example, within the next few seconds. In some embodiments, the planning module 200 may be configured to specify a sequence of actions as one or more points representing nearby locations that the corresponding vehicle 150 may drive through next. The planning module 200 may be configured to provide, to the control module 225, the details of a plan comprising the sequence of actions to be taken by the corresponding vehicle 150. The plan may indicate the subsequent action or actions of the corresponding vehicle 150, for example, whether the corresponding vehicle 150 may perform a lane change, a turn, an acceleration by increasing the speed or slowing down, etc.” The time interval between successive LIDAR scans corresponds to a scan period of the sensor, and the vehicle operation including speed changes such as acceleration and deceleration. Accordingly, the effective interval associated with processing point cloud data depends on both the scan timing and the vehicle speed.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL, ZHAO, and Schroeter such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points; and determine, based on a designated interval, the at least one point, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), and determine, based on a speed of the vehicle and a scan period of the sensor, the designated interval, as taught by Schroeter (See paragraph [0029], [0056].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].), and accurately maintaining maps to increase safe navigation of autonomous vehicles, as taught by Schroeter (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 18, DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO teach The method of claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. DUAN, GABRIEL, and ZHAO do not explicitly disclose, however, Schroeter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the designated algorithm comprises at least one of an interpolation algorithm, principle component analysis (PCA), or a rotation transformation algorithm, wherein the method further comprises: applying the designated algorithm to the at least one point to obtain the parameter (See at least paragraph [0092], “Some embodiments may employ an ICP technique for performing localization. For example, when determining correspondences between point clouds. An ICP technique may be generally employed to minimize the difference between two point clouds. In some embodiments of the ICP technique, one point cloud (e.g., vertex cloud), called the target or reference point cloud, may be kept fixed, while the other point cloud, call the source point cloud, may be transformed to best match the reference point cloud. The ICP technique may iteratively revise the transformation (e.g., combination of translation and rotation) needed to minimize an error metric, usually a distance from the source point cloud to the reference point cloud, such as the sum of squared differences between the coordinates of the matched pairs. The ICP technique may align 3D models (e.g., point clouds) given an initial guess of the transformation required.” The ICP technique applies a transformation including rotation to point cloud data and determines transformation parameters for aligning points, corresponding to applying a rotation transformation algorithm to obtain a parameter.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of DUAN with the teachings of GABRIEL, ZHAO, Schroeter such that the target detection system of DUAN is further configured to, based on identifying a position to which the vehicle is predicted to move among the plurality of grids and identifying grids in the grid map, generating representative points by using at least one point within the grids, wherein the grids are adjacent to virtual points, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0059], [0062], [0111], [0112].), and wherein the virtual points correspond to the position and are used to approximate missing or incomplete data in the grid map, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0025], [n0035]-[n0038].), and wherein the designated algorithm comprises at least one of an interpolation algorithm, principle component analysis (PCA), or a rotation transformation algorithm, and wherein the processor is configured to: apply the designated algorithm to the at least one point to obtain the parameter, as taught by Schroeter (See at least paragraph [0092].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be accurately evaluating travel risk of the host vehicle regardless of the number of surrounding vehicles, as taught by GABRIEL (See paragraph [0006].), to solve the difficulty in detecting target objects caused by the sparsity and incompleteness of point cloud data itself, as taught by ZHAO (See paragraph [n0005].), and accurately maintaining maps to increase safe navigation of autonomous vehicles, as taught by Schroeter (See paragraph [0005].).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666