DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 582,412 hereinafter referred to as Chase in view of US Patent 5,305,705 hereinafter referred to as Gagliano further in view of US Patent 5,301,985 hereinafter referred to as Terzini.
Re-Claim 1
Chase disclose a spring module A, B fig.2 for making a spring cushion of furniture [page 1 lines 9-12], the spring module comprising: a conical spring A, B; and a spring bracket A1, B1 fig.3 configured to accommodate the conical spring therein, the spring bracket comprising: an end cover A1, B1; wherein the conical spring abuts against the end cover, and wherein a fixing device 2, 8 fig.3 on the end cover configured to fix two spring modules together and a spring fixing part 6 fig.5.
However does not discloses the spring bracket comprising: a base having a spring fixing part for seating an end of the conical spring; and a plurality of flexible straps, both ends of each flexible strap in the plurality of flexible straps being fixedly connected to the base and the end cover respectively, wherein when the end of the conical spring seats on the spring fixing part and wherein a rotary fixing device on the end cover configured to fix two spring modules together via rotation relative to each other with their end covers abutting each other.
Gagliano teaches a spring module (10 fig.1), the spring module comprising: a conical spring 14, 16 fig.1; and a spring bracket 12, 18 fig.1 configured to accommodate the conical spring therein, the spring bracket comprising: a base 12 fig.1 having a spring fixing part 53 fig.1 for seating an end of the conical spring [column 4 line 11-18]; and a plurality of flexible straps 54 fig.1, both ends of each flexible strap in the plurality of flexible straps being fixedly connected to the base [column 4 lines 11-18] and the end cover B fig.1 respectively [column 5 50-57], wherein when the end of the conical spring seats on the spring fixing part.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the interlocking spring module of Chase and the spring module having flexible straps of Gagliano and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at an interlocking spring module having flexible straps. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of securing the spring module in place and improving the stability of the spring as taught in Gagliano [see abstract].
Terzini teaches fixing device 10 fig.1 comprising an end cover 30 fig.1 wherein a rotary fixing device 34, 38 fig.1 on the end cover configured to fix two modules 20 fig.1 together via rotation relative to each other with their end covers abutting each other [column 3 lines 2-11].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of the coupled spring module of Chase and the coupler of Terzini before them, to have substituted the fixing device of Chase for the rotary fixing device of Terzini with a reasonable expectation of success. The substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution for the purpose on selectively securing structures together at an end cap of the structures with a strong and sturdy latch able of withstanding impacts as taught in Terzini [column 1 lines 6-30 and column 3 lines 2-11].
Re-Claim 2
Chase as modified by Gagliano and Terzini above discloses,
wherein the flexible straps are positioned outside the conical spring when the conical spring is held between the base and the end cover (see fig.1 Gagliano).
Re-Claim 3
Chase as modified by Gagliano and Terzini above discloses,
Terzini teaches wherein the rotary fixing device comprises: a pair of protrusions 34 fig.1 symmetrically arranged on the end cover around a center of the end cover; and a pair of arc openings 38 fig.1 symmetrically arranged on the end cover around the center of the end cover, wherein the protrusions and the arc openings are alternately arranged around the center of the end cover, and wherein when the end covers of two spring modules are arranged opposite to each other, the protrusions of one spring module are configured to pass through the arc openings of another spring module, and at the same time, the protrusions of the another spring module are configured to pass through the arc openings of the one spring module, and each protrusion configured to be locked within a corresponding arc-opening through the rotation [column 3 lines 2-11].
Re-Claim 8
Chase disclose a spring module A, B fig.2 comprising: a spring bracket A1, B1 fig.3 including an end cover A1, B1; a conical spring A, B having a second end on the end cover (via a spring fixing part 6 fig.5.); and a fixing device 2, 8 fig.3 on the end cover configured to attach two spring modules together.
However does not discloses the spring bracket including a plurality of straps attached to a base and an end cover, a conical spring having a first end on the base or a rotary fixing device on the end cover configured to attach two spring modules together via rotation relative to each other.
Gagliano teaches a spring module (10 fig.1) comprising: a spring bracket 12, 18 fig.1 including a plurality of straps 54 fig.1 attached to a base 12 fig.1 and an end cover 18 fig.1, a conical spring 14, 16 fig.1 having a first end on the base.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the interlocking spring module of Chase and the spring module having flexible straps of Gagliano and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at an interlocking spring module having flexible straps. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of securing the spring module in place and improving the stability of the spring as taught in Gagliano [see abstract].
Terzini teaches fixing device 10 fig.1 comprising an end cover 30 fig.1 and a rotary fixing device 34, 38 fig.1 on the end cover configured to attach two spring modules together via rotation relative to each other [column 3 lines 2-11].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of the coupled spring module of Chase and the coupler of Terzini before them, to have substituted the fixing device of Chase for the rotary fixing device of Terzini with a reasonable expectation of success. The substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution for the purpose on selectively securing structures together at an end cap of the structures with a strong and sturdy latch able of withstanding impacts as taught in Terzini [column 1 lines 6-30 and column 3 lines 2-11].
Re-Claim 9
Chase as modified by Gagliano and Terzini above discloses,
wherein the end covers of the two spring modules abut each other when the two spring modules are attached to each other (see fig.1 Chase).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chase in view of US Patent 42,053 hereinafter referred to as Tylee further in view of Terzini.
Re-Claim 1
Chase disclose a spring module A, B fig.2 for making a spring cushion of furniture [page 1 lines 9-12], the spring module comprising: a conical spring A, B; and a spring bracket A1, B1 fig.3 configured to accommodate the conical spring therein, the spring bracket comprising: an end cover A1, B1; wherein the conical spring abuts against the end cover, and wherein a fixing device 2, 8 fig.3 on the end cover configured to fix two spring modules together and a spring fixing part 6 fig.5.
However does not discloses the spring bracket comprising: a base having a spring fixing part for seating an end of the conical spring; and a plurality of flexible straps, both ends of each flexible strap in the plurality of flexible straps being fixedly connected to the base and the end cover respectively, wherein when the end of the conical spring seats on the spring fixing part and wherein a rotary fixing device on the end cover configured to fix two spring modules together via rotation relative to each other with their end covers abutting each other.
Tylee teaches a spring module (see fig.1) for making a spring cushion of furniture [column 1 line 2-12], the spring module comprising: a conical spring (a fig.1); and a spring bracket A, B fig.1 configured to accommodate the conical spring therein, the spring bracket comprising: a base (A fig.1) having a spring fixing part [column 1 lines 48-49] for seating an end of the conical spring; and a plurality of flexible straps (D fig.1), both ends of each flexible strap in the plurality of flexible straps being fixedly connected to the base [column 2 lines 14-22] and the end cover B fig.1 respectively [column 2 lines 14-22], wherein when the end of the conical spring seats on the spring fixing part [column 1 lines 48-49].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the interlocking spring module of Chase and the spring module having flexible straps of Tylee and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at an interlocking spring module having flexible straps. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of securing the spring module in place and compressing the spring as taught in Tylee [column lines 23-43].
Terzini teaches fixing device 10 fig.1 comprising an end cover 30 fig.1 wherein a rotary fixing device 34, 38 fig.1 on the end cover configured to fix two modules 20 fig.1 together via rotation relative to each other with their end covers abutting each other [column 3 lines 2-11].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of the coupled spring module of Chase and the coupler of Terzini before them, to have substituted the fixing device of Chase for the rotary fixing device of Terzini with a reasonable expectation of success. The substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution for the purpose on selectively securing structures together at an end cap of the structures with a strong and sturdy latch able of withstanding impacts as taught in Terzini [column 1 lines 6-30 and column 3 lines 2-11].
Re-Claim 3
Chase as modified by Tylee and Terzini above discloses,
Terzini teaches wherein the rotary fixing device comprises: a pair of protrusions 34 fig.1 symmetrically arranged on the end cover around a center of the end cover; and a pair of arc openings 38 fig.1 symmetrically arranged on the end cover around the center of the end cover, wherein the protrusions and the arc openings are alternately arranged around the center of the end cover, and wherein when the end covers of two spring modules are arranged opposite to each other, the protrusions of one spring module are configured to pass through the arc openings of another spring module, and at the same time, the protrusions of the another spring module are configured to pass through the arc openings of the one spring module, and each protrusion configured to be locked within a corresponding arc-opening through the rotation [column 3 lines 2-11].
Re-Claim 8
Chase disclose a spring module A, B fig.2 comprising: a spring bracket A1, B1 fig.3 including an end cover A1, B1; a conical spring A, B having a second end on the end cover (via a spring fixing part 6 fig.5.); and a fixing device 2, 8 fig.3 on the end cover configured to attach two spring modules together.
However does not discloses the spring bracket including a plurality of straps attached to a base and an end cover, a conical spring having a first end on the base or a rotary fixing device on the end cover configured to attach two spring modules together via rotation relative to each other.
Tylee teaches a spring module (see fig.1) comprising: a spring bracket A, B fig.1 including a plurality of straps D fig.1 attached to a base A fig.1 and an end cover B fig.1, a conical spring (a fig.1) having a first end on the base [column 2 lines 14-22].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the interlocking spring module of Chase and the spring module having flexible straps of Tylee and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at an interlocking spring module having flexible straps. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of securing the spring module in place and compressing the spring as taught in Tylee [column lines 23-43].
Terzini teaches fixing device 10 fig.1 comprising an end cover 30 fig.1 and a rotary fixing device 34, 38 fig.1 on the end cover configured to attach two spring modules together via rotation relative to each other [column 3 lines 2-11].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of the coupled spring module of Chase and the coupler of Terzini before them, to have substituted the fixing device of Chase for the rotary fixing device of Terzini with a reasonable expectation of success. The substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution for the purpose on selectively securing structures together at an end cap of the structures with a strong and sturdy latch able of withstanding impacts as taught in Terzini [column 1 lines 6-30 and column 3 lines 2-11].
Re-Claim 9
Chase as modified by Tylee and Terzini above discloses,
wherein the end covers of the two spring modules abut each other when the two spring modules are attached to each other (see fig.1 Chase).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of US Patent 4,722,654 hereinafter referred to as Norton provides support for a protrusion (see fig.3) comprises: a base portion which is substantially cylindrical; and an end which is substantially frustoconical, a maximum cross-sectional size of the end is larger than that of the base portion; and each arc opening (see fig.6) comprises: an arc extending portion ; and an end opening portion positioned at one end of the arc extending portion, wherein a radial dimension of the end opening portion is greater than that of the arc extending portion; wherein the radial dimension of the end opening portion is designed to allow the end of the protrusion to pass through, and the radial dimension of the arc extending portion is designed to prevent the end of the protrusion to pass through, so that when the end covers of two spring modules are arranged opposite to each other, a pair of protrusions of one end cover are configured to pass through a pair of end opening portions of another end cover, and at the same time, a pair of protrusions of the another end cover are configured to pass through a pair of end opening portions of the end cover, by rotating the two spring modules in a locking direction, the base portion of each protrusion moves in a corresponding arc opening into the arc extending portion of the corresponding arc opening, and is locked within the arc extending portion by the end of each protrusion, such that the two spring modules are fixed together in an end cover-to-end cover manner. However it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the teachings of Norton to further modify the disclosure of Chase as modified by Tylee and Terzini or Chase as modified by Gagliano and Terzini above. Further modifying the prior art of Chase would potentially be considered a conclusion of obviousness based upon improper hindsight reasoning and includes knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure making such a reconstruction is proper. For at least the reason it is believe these claims overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited.
/IFEOLU A ADEBOYEJO/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679