DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the correspondence filed on 01/28/2025.
Claims 1-20 are considered in this Office Action. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 2, 4-6 and 9- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekka Astola (US 20250227239 A1) (hereinafter Astola) in view of Ramin Ghaznavi Youvalari (US 20240292005 A1) (hereinafter Youvalari) further in view of Kai Zhang (US 20210092396 A1) (hereinafter Zhang)
Regarding Claim 1, Astola teaches a method for decoding video data (video decoding and encoding method [0001]), comprising:
obtaining external chroma sample values of the external region (obtain chroma samples from a reference are outside the block [0214], [0217]);
a plurality of filter shape candidates (multiple alternative filter shapes are available as candidate [0259], [0261]) … for predicting internal chroma sample values of the video block (the candidate is used to predict samples inside the current block [0273]),
wherein the plurality of filter shape candidates correspond to different sets of weighting coefficients for predicting chroma sample values based on corresponding luma sample values ( each candidate filter shape has its own corresponding coefficient set that weights luma values to predict chroma [0007], [0010], [0214]);
predicting, with the selected filter shape candidate, the internal chroma sample values based on the internal luma sample values (the candidate is used to predict samples inside the current block [0273]).
Astola does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youvalari teaches selecting, based on the external luma sample values and the external chroma sample values, one filter shape candidate (select one predictor configured based on neighboring reconstructed luma/chroma sample performance Note: the filter shape is a prediction configuration [0006], [0007], [0215], [0224]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola to add the teachings of Youvalari as disclosed above to improve the image quality. (Youvalari [0086]).
Youvalari does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang
obtaining a video block from a bitstream (receive a bitstream representation of the current block and process it to generate the current block [0011], [0391], [0393]);
internal luma sample values of the video block (obtaining luma samples inside the current luma block corresponding to the chroma block [0007], [0009]), external luma sample values of an external region of the video block (obtain luma samples outside the current block [0007], [0009]);
obtaining decoded video block using the predicted internal chroma sample values (using the predicted chroma samples to obtain the decoded current block [0007], [0011]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola in view of Youvalari to add the teachings of Zhang as disclosed above to improve the compression efficiency (Zhang [0046]).
Regarding Claim 2, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 1. Astola further teaches determining the plurality of filter shape candidates for predicting the internal chroma sample values (determining the filter kernel choice data by adaptive decision, the multiple alternative filter shapes are candidate shape. The determined filter shape/coefficient candidates are used for predicting chroma samples inside the current block [0258]- [0261], [0223], [0273]).
Regarding Claim 4, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 1. Astola further teaches applying each of the sets of weighting coefficients for the plurality of filter shape candidates to the external region respectively, to predict chroma sample values in the external region based on corresponding luma sample values for the chroma sample values in the external region (multiple candidate coefficient sets are each applied to the reference area samples. And the external region chroma samples are predicted from corresponding samples using the candidate coefficient [0007], [0273], [0274], [0214], [0217], [0223]);
accumulating, for each of the plurality of filter shape candidates respectively, errors between the predicted chroma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values in the external region (for each candidate, compute an aggregated prediction error/cost over the external reference area samples [0273]- [0274]); and
selecting one filter shape candidate from the plurality of filter shape candidates based on the accumulated errors for predicting the internal chroma sample values (the candidate producing the smallest cost on the reference area test is selected and used [0273]- [0274]).
Regarding Claim 5, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 4. Astola further teaches applying each of the plurality of filter shape candidates to the external region respectively (the candidate filter shapes are used over the reference area/ external region [0217]- [0219], [0234]) to derive a set of weighting coefficients corresponding to each of the plurality of filter shape candidates (a candidate filter shape has corresponding derived set of filter/ weighting coefficients [0218]- [0220], [0235]) based on external luma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values in the external region (the coefficient derivation uses the external region/ reference area luma values and the corresponding external region chroma values [0217]- [0220]).
Regarding Claim 6, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 1. Astola further teaches applying each of the plurality of filter shape candidates to … the external region respectively (the candidate filter shapes are used over the reference area/ external region [0217]- [0219], [0234]) to derive a set of weighting coefficients corresponding to each of the plurality of filter shape candidates (a candidate filter shape has corresponding derived set of filter/ weighting coefficients [0218]- [0220], [0235]) based on external luma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values … in the external region (the coefficient derivation uses the external region/ reference area luma values and the corresponding external region chroma values [0217]- [0220]).
applying each of the derived sets of weighting coefficients for the plurality of filter shape candidates to … the external region respectively (multiple derived coefficient/weight sets are applied to reference area samples [0273]- [0274]), to predict chroma sample values in the … external region based on corresponding luma sample values for the chroma sample values in … the external region (multiple candidate coefficient sets are each applied to the reference area samples. And the external region chroma samples are predicted from corresponding samples using the candidate coefficient [0007], [0273], [0274], [0214], [0217], [0223]);
accumulating, for each of the plurality of filter shape candidates respectively (evaluation is performed across different candidate coefficient/weight sets [0274]) and
selecting one filter shape candidate from the plurality of filter shape candidates based on the accumulated errors for predicting the internal chroma sample values (select the best candidate by external region cost, then use it to predict samples inside the block [0273]- [0274]).
Astola does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youvalari teaches dividing the external region into two or more parts (the neighboring external region is partitioned into at least two part, an immediate neighboring part and a further away part[0261]- [0262]);
a first part of the external region (the neighboring external region is partitioned into at least two part, an immediate neighboring part and a further away part[0261]- [0262]);
a second part of the external region (the neighboring external region is partitioned into at least two part, an immediate neighboring part and a further away part[0261]- [0262]);
errors between the predicted chroma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values in the external region ( compute the error on second part predicated neighboring chroma values verses corresponding reconstructed neighboring chroma values [0022], [0262]);
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola to add the teachings of Youvalari as disclosed above to improve the image quality. (Youvalari [0086]).
Regarding Claim 9, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 4. Youvalari further teaches accumulating the errors by Sum of Absolute Difference (SAD), Sum of Squared Difference (SSD), or Sum of Absolute Transformed Difference (SATD) (Sum of Absolute Difference is used for error determination [0222]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola to add the teachings of Youvalari as disclosed above to improve the image quality. (Youvalari [0086]).
Regarding Claim 10, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 4. Astola further teaches selecting one filter shape candidate from the plurality of filter shape candidates with the smallest accumulated error for predicting the internal chroma sample values (the smallest error candidate is used to predict the current block’s internal chroma [0259]- [0261], [0272]- [0273], [0213]- [0214]).
Regarding Claim 11, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 4. Astola further teaches sorting and selecting two or more filter shape candidates from the plurality of filter shape candidates with the smallest errors(the two smallest values of the samples are determined and used from smallest to largest [0178], the candidate producing the smallest cost on the reference area test is selected and used [0273]- [0274] Note: determining the smallest cost, requires sorting and comparison of the cost).; and
selecting one filter shape candidate from the two or more filter shape candidates based on a received signal indicating an applied filter shape candidate for predicting the internal chroma sample values (the candidate producing the smallest cost on the reference area test is selected and used [0273]- [0274]).
Regarding Claim 12, Astola teaches A computer system, comprising:
one or more processors ([0304] processor ); and
one or more storage devices storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors (memory that stores code that gives instructions to the processor [0304]) to:
obtain external chroma sample values of the external region (obtain chroma samples from a reference are outside the block [0214], [0217]);
a plurality of filter shape candidates (multiple alternative filter shapes are available as candidate [0259], [0261]) … for predicting internal chroma sample values of the video block (the candidate is used to predict samples inside the current block [0273]),
wherein the plurality of filter shape candidates correspond to different sets of weighting coefficients for predicting chroma sample values based on corresponding luma sample values ( each candidate filter shape has its own corresponding coefficient set that weights luma values to predict chroma [0007], [0010], [0214]);
predict, with the selected filter shape candidate, the internal chroma sample values based on the internal luma sample values (the candidate is used to predict samples inside the current block [0273]).
Astola does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youvalari teaches select, based on the external luma sample values and the external chroma sample values, one filter shape candidate (select one predictor configured based on neighboring reconstructed luma/chroma sample performance Note: the filter shape is a prediction configuration [0006], [0007], [0215], [0224]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola to add the teachings of Youvalari as disclosed above to improve the image quality. (Youvalari [0086]).
Youvalari does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang
obtaining a video block from a bitstream (receive a bitstream representation of the current block and process it to generate the current block [0011], [0391], [0393]);
obtain internal luma sample values of the video block (obtaining luma samples inside the current luma block corresponding to the chroma block [0007], [0009]), external luma sample values of an external region of the video block (obtain luma samples outside the current block [0007], [0009]);
obtain decoded video block using the predicted internal chroma sample values (using the predicted chroma samples to obtain the decoded current block [0007], [0011]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola in view of Youvalari to add the teachings of Zhang as disclosed above to improve the compression efficiency (Zhang [0046]).
Regarding Claim 13, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the computer system of claim 12. Astola further teaches determine the plurality of filter shape candidates for predicting the internal chroma sample values (determining the filter kernel choice data by adaptive decision, the multiple alternative filter shapes are candidate shape. The determined filter shape/coefficient candidates are used for predicting chroma samples inside the current block [0258]- [0261], [0223], [0273]).
Regarding Claim 14, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the computer system of claim 12. Astola further teaches applying each of the sets of weighting coefficients for the plurality of filter shape candidates to the external region respectively, to predict chroma sample values in the external region based on corresponding luma sample values for the chroma sample values in the external region (multiple candidate coefficient sets are each applied to the reference area samples. And the external region chroma samples are predicted from corresponding samples using the candidate coefficient [0007], [0273], [0274], [0214], [0217], [0223]);
accumulating, for each of the plurality of filter shape candidates respectively, errors between the predicted chroma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values in the external region (for each candidate, compute an aggregated prediction error/cost over the external reference area samples [0273]- [0274]); and
selecting one filter shape candidate from the plurality of filter shape candidates based on the accumulated errors for predicting the internal chroma sample values (the candidate producing the smallest cost on the reference area test is selected and used [0273]- [0274]).
Regarding Claim 15, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the computer system of claim 14. Astola further teaches apply each of the plurality of filter shape candidates to the external region respectively (the candidate filter shapes are used over the reference area/ external region [0217]- [0219], [0234]) to derive a set of weighting coefficients corresponding to each of the plurality of filter shape candidates (a candidate filter shape has corresponding derived set of filter/ weighting coefficients [0218]- [0220], [0235]) based on external luma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values in the external region (the coefficient derivation uses the external region/ reference area luma values and the corresponding external region chroma values [0217]- [0220]).
Regarding Claim 16, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the computer system of claim 12. Astola further teaches applying each of the plurality of filter shape candidates to … the external region respectively (the candidate filter shapes are used over the reference area/ external region [0217]- [0219], [0234]) to derive a set of weighting coefficients corresponding to each of the plurality of filter shape candidates (a candidate filter shape has corresponding derived set of filter/ weighting coefficients [0218]- [0220], [0235]) based on external luma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values … in the external region (the coefficient derivation uses the external region/ reference area luma values and the corresponding external region chroma values [0217]- [0220]).
applying each of the derived sets of weighting coefficients for the plurality of filter shape candidates to … the external region respectively (multiple derived coefficient/weight sets are applied to reference area samples [0273]- [0274]), to predict chroma sample values in the … external region based on corresponding luma sample values for the chroma sample values in … the external region (multiple candidate coefficient sets are each applied to the reference area samples. And the external region chroma samples are predicted from corresponding samples using the candidate coefficient [0007], [0273], [0274], [0214], [0217], [0223]);
accumulating, for each of the plurality of filter shape candidates respectively (evaluation is performed across different candidate coefficient/weight sets [0274]) and
selecting one filter shape candidate from the plurality of filter shape candidates based on the accumulated errors for predicting the internal chroma sample values (select the best candidate by external region cost, then use it to predict samples inside the block [0273]- [0274]).
Astola does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youvalari teaches dividing the external region into two or more parts (the neighboring external region is partitioned into at least two part, an immediate neighboring part and a further away part[0261]- [0262]);
a first part of the external region (the neighboring external region is partitioned into at least two part, an immediate neighboring part and a further away part[0261]- [0262]);
a second part of the external region (the neighboring external region is partitioned into at least two part, an immediate neighboring part and a further away part[0261]- [0262]);
errors between the predicted chroma sample values and corresponding external chroma sample values in the external region ( compute the error on second part predicated neighboring chroma values verses corresponding reconstructed neighboring chroma values [0022], [0262]);
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola to add the teachings of Youvalari as disclosed above to improve the image quality. (Youvalari [0086]).
Regarding Claim 17, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the computer system of claim 14. Astola further teaches selecting one filter shape candidate from the plurality of filter shape candidates with the smallest accumulated error for predicting the internal chroma sample values (the smallest error candidate is used to predict the current block’s internal chroma [0259]- [0261], [0272]- [0273], [0213]- [0214]).
Regarding Claim 18, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the computer system of claim 14. Astola further teaches sorting and selecting two or more filter shape candidates from the plurality of filter shape candidates with the smallest errors(the two smallest values of the samples are determined and used from smallest to largest [0178], the candidate producing the smallest cost on the reference area test is selected and used [0273]- [0274] Note: determining the smallest cost, requires sorting and comparison of the cost).; and
selecting one filter shape candidate from the two or more filter shape candidates based on a received signal indicating an applied filter shape candidate for predicting the internal chroma sample values (the candidate producing the smallest cost on the reference area test is selected and used [0273]- [0274]).
Regarding Claim 19, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 1. Astola further teaches a computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream to be decoded by the method for decoding video data according to claim 1 (the encoder stores the data into the bitstream and the decoder parses the bitstream and decodes the video data [0307]; memory that stores code that gives instructions to the processor [0304]).
Regarding Claim 20, Astola teaches a method for storing a bitstream, comprising
obtaining external chroma sample values of the external region (obtain chroma samples from a reference are outside the block [0214], [0217]);
a plurality of filter shape candidates (multiple alternative filter shapes are available as candidate [0259], [0261]) … for predicting internal chroma sample values of the video block (the candidate is used to predict samples inside the current block [0273]),
wherein the plurality of filter shape candidates correspond to different sets of weighting coefficients for predicting chroma sample values based on corresponding luma sample values ( each candidate filter shape has its own corresponding coefficient set that weights luma values to predict chroma [0007], [0010], [0214]);
predicting, with the selected filter shape candidate, the internal chroma sample values based on the internal luma sample values (the candidate is used to predict samples inside the current block [0273]).
Astola does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Youvalari teaches selecting, based on the external luma sample values and the external chroma sample values, one filter shape candidate (select one predictor configured based on neighboring reconstructed luma/chroma sample performance Note: the filter shape is a prediction configuration [0006], [0007], [0215], [0224]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola to add the teachings of Youvalari as disclosed above to improve the image quality. (Youvalari [0086]).
Youvalari does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang performing an encoding method to generate a bitstream (encoding to generate the bitstream [0651]); and
storing the bitstream on a computer readable storage medium (storing the bitstream on memory (0651)),
wherein the encoding method comprises:
obtaining a video block (receive a bitstream representation of the current block and process it to generate the current block [0011], [0391], [0393]);
internal luma sample values of the video block (obtaining luma samples inside the current luma block corresponding to the chroma block [0007], [0009]), external luma sample values of an external region of the video block (obtain luma samples outside the current block [0007], [0009]);
generating a bitstream comprising encoded video block by using the predicted internal chroma sample values (using the predicted chroma samples to obtain the decoded current block, the encoder generates the bitstream from the decoded video data [0007], [0011], [0651]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola in view of Youvalari to add the teachings of Zhang as disclosed above to improve the compression efficiency (Zhang [0046]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekka Astola (US 20250227239 A1) (hereinafter Astola) in view of Ramin Ghaznavi Youvalari (US 20240292005 A1) (hereinafter Youvalari) further in view of Kai Zhang (US 20210092396 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Jing Ye (US 20200045322 A1) (hereinafter Ye):
Regarding Claim 3, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 1 ; however, do not explicitly teach the plurality of filter shape candidates comprise at least one gradient filter candidate enabling calculation of sample differences between luma sample values.
However, in an analogous art, Ye teaches the plurality of filter shape candidates comprise at least one gradient filter candidate enabling calculation of sample differences between luma sample values (gradient filter that uses sample differences [0010]- [0012], [0014]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola in view of Youvalari, and Zhang to add the teachings of Ye as disclosed above to improve the quality of predictions (Ye [0011]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekka Astola (US 20250227239 A1) (hereinafter Astola) in view of Ramin Ghaznavi Youvalari (US 20240292005 A1) (hereinafter Youvalari) further in view of Kai Zhang (US 20210092396 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Li Zhang (US 20200382769 A1) (hereinafter Li):
Regarding Claim 7, Astola in view of Youvalari and Zhang teach the method of claim 6; however, do not explicitly teach wherein the first part of the external region includes even-numbered rows or columns of the external region, and the second part of the external region includes remaining odd-numbered rows or columns of the external region.
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the first part of the external region includes even-numbered rows or columns of the external region (a first group that is based on their location using modulo 2. Note: Modulo 2 determines if the position is even or odd [0266]- [0270], [0174]- [0177]), and the second part of the external region includes remaining odd-numbered rows or columns of the external region (a second group that is based on their location using modulo 2. And is not in group one that is even. Note: Modulo 2 determines if the position is even or odd [0266]- [0270], [0174]- [0177]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola in view of Youvalari, and Zhang to add the teachings of Li as disclosed above to improve coding efficiency (Li [0040]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekka Astola (US 20250227239 A1) (hereinafter Astola) in view of Ramin Ghaznavi Youvalari (US 20240292005 A1) (hereinafter Youvalari) further in view of Kai Zhang (US 20210092396 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Chen-Yen Lai (US 20180359486 A1) (hereinafter Lai):
Regarding Claim 8, Astola in view of Youvalari, Zhang, and Li teach the method of claim 6; however, do not explicitly teach the first part of the external region and the second part of the external region are interleaved parts of the external region.
However, in an analogous art, Lai teaches the first part of the external region and the second part of the external region are interleaved parts of the external region (the first group and the second group are interleaved with each other [0011]- [0013], [0121]), [0123]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of video coding and decoding as disclosed by Astola in view of Youvalari, and Zhang to add the teachings of Lai as disclosed above to improve the filter performance (Lai [0037]).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486