DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al. (US 6,563,693) in view of Na et al. (US 2011/0141658) and Kirita et al. (US 2012/0087062).
In regards to claim 1,
Nakada ‘693 discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising:
a sheet multilayer body having a plurality of flat film- shaped capacitor elements (11 – fig. 1; C4:L37-53) and a plurality of flat film-shaped cathode-electrode electrode foils (19 – fig. 1; C4:L37-53) alternately stacked with each other, each of the plurality of flat film-shaped capacitor elements comprising a flat film-shaped anode-electrode electrode foil (12 – fig. 1-2; C4:L64 to C5:L9) having a porous portion in a predetermined depth from the surface, a dielectric layer (13 – fig. 1-2; C5:L10-21) on the porous portion, and a solid electrolyte layer (14 – fig. 1-2; C5:L22-31) on the dielectric layer;
a first metal portion (20 – fig. 1; C5:L36-50) at an end portion of the anode-electrode electrode foil; and
an insulating resin (16 – fig. 1; C5:L51-55) sealing the sheet multilayer body. Nakada ‘693 fails to discloses wherein a first pore diameter of the first metal portion is larger than a second pore diameter of the porous portion of the anode-electrode electrode foil.
Na ‘658 discloses a first metal portion (120a/120b – fig. 2; [0023]) at an end portion of the electrode foil, wherein a first pore diameter of the first metal portion is 2-5 µm ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the metal portion of Nakada ‘693 to have a pore size as taught by Na ‘658 to prevent the permeation of plating solution and moisture into the capacitor while allowing for gas and binder components to be effectively released.
Kurita ‘062 discloses a second pore diameter of the porous portion of the anode-electrode electrode foil is 0.01-0.3 µm ([0029-0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the anode-electrode electrode foil of Nakada ‘693 as modified by Na ‘658 to have a pore size as taught by Kurita ‘062 thus obtaining a first pore diameter of the first metal portion is larger than a second pore diameter of the porous portion of the anode-electrode electrode foil (0.01-0.3 µm is less than 2-5 µm) to ensure a large surface area which allows for an increased capacitance.
In regards to claim 2,
Nakada ‘693 as modified by Na ‘658 and Kurita ‘062 further discloses further comprising a second metal portion (17 – fig. 1; C5:L56-64 of Nakada ‘693) covering a part of the first metal portion.
In regards to claim 3,
Nakada ‘693 as modified by Na ‘658 and Kurita ‘062 further discloses wherein the first metal portion has a portion thereof not covered by the second metal portion (fig. 1 of Nakada ‘693).
In regards to claim 10,
Nakada ‘693 as modified by Na ‘658 and Kurita ‘062 further discloses further comprising a second metal portion (20 – fig. 1; C5:L36-50) at an end portion of the cathode-electrode electrode foil.
In regards to claim 11,
Nakada ‘693 as modified by Na ‘658 and Kurita ‘062 further discloses further comprising a third metal portion (17 – fig. 1; C5:L56-64 of Nakada ‘693) covering a part of the first metal portion and a fourth metal portion (18 – fig. 1; C5:L56-64 of Nakada ‘693) covering a part of the second metal portion.
In regards to claim 12,
Nakada ‘693 as modified by Na ‘658 and Kurita ‘062 further discloses wherein the first metal portion has a portion thereof not covered by the third metal portion, and the second metal portion has a portion thereof not covered by the fourth metal portion (fig. 1 of Nakada ‘693).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-9 & 13-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the first metal portion and the second metal portion are bonded to each other with a conductive resin (claims 4-6), further comprising a non-conductive resin in partial contact with the first metal portion and the second metal portion (claims 7-9), further comprising a conductive resin bonding the first metal portion and the third metal portion to each other, and bonding the second metal portion and the fourth metal portion to each other (claims 13-15), & further comprising a non-conductive resin in partial contact with the first metal portion and the third metal portion and in partial contact with the second metal portion and the fourth metal portion (claims 16-18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0074485 – fig. 2 US 6,243,256 – C4:L64 to C5:L10
US 2019/0244765 – fig. 2
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847