DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 4-16 have been amended as per Applicant’s amendment filed on February 27, 2026. No claims have been canceled. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2013/0321251 A1, Published December 5, 2013) in view of Oulee (US 2019/0279571 A1, Published September 12, 2019) and Kato (US 2023/0090509 A1, Published March 23, 2023).
As to claim 1, Kang discloses a light emitting apparatus comprising: a pixel array portion including (1) a plurality of pixels arrayed to form a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, and (2) a plurality of signal lines extending in a column direction (Kang at Fig. 1, in particular),
wherein each of the plurality of signal lines is divided into a plurality of sub-signal lines including a first sub-signal line and a second sub-signal line (Kang at Fig. 21 data lines 171; ¶ [0216] discloses “Referring to FIGS. 20 and 21, a data line 171 connected with a data driver 500 at the upper side of the display device and a data line 171 connected with a data driver 500 at the lower side of the display device are positioned in the same column or columns.”)
wherein for the pixels in a column included in the plurality of columns, (1) a signal generated using an output signal of a reference voltage generation circuit is provided via the first sub-signal line to a part of the pixels (Kang at Fig. 21, data driver 500 to data line 171 in upper portion of the display device) and (2)… is provided via the second sub-signal line to another part of the pixels (Kang at Fig. 21, data line 171 in lower portion of the display device),…
that the light emitting apparatus includes a first substrate (Kang at Fig. 21).
Kang does not disclose the signal provided via the second sub-signal line is generated using the output signal of the reference voltage generation circuit. Kang does not disclose (2) a signal line switching circuit configured to switch a connection destination of an output of the signal output circuit between the plurality of sub-signal lines.
However, Oulee does disclose the signal provided via the second sub-signal line is generated using the output signal of the reference voltage generation circuit (Oulee at Figs. 1, 3, source driver module Z including source driver C and switches S1 and S2; ¶ [0023], [0028]).
Oulee discloses (2) a signal line switching circuit configured to switch a connection destination of an output of the signal output circuit between the plurality of sub-signal lines (Oulee at Figs. 5, 7, in particular, M1 or M2 including switches S#).
Kang discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Oulee discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kang the teachings of Oulee for the predictable result of solving the problem of image non-uniformity (Oulee at ¶ [0027]).
The combination of Kang and Oulee does not disclose that the light emitting apparatus includes a first substrate and a second substrate, which are stacked on each other, wherein the first substrate includes the pixel array portion, and wherein the second substrate includes (1) a signal output circuit configured to output the signal generated using the output signal of the reference voltage generation circuit, and
However, Kato does disclose that the light emitting apparatus includes a first substrate and a second substrate, which are stacked on each other, wherein the first substrate includes the pixel array portion, and wherein the second substrate includes (1) a signal output circuit configured to output the signal generated using the output signal of the reference voltage generation circuit (Kato at Figs. 1, 4, in particular; ¶ [0025] discloses “The display apparatus DD can have a structure in which a first substrate 100 including a display region 110 or a pixel array PA where a plurality of pixels 101 are arrayed and a second substrate 200 including a driving circuit DC for driving the plurality of pixels 101 are stacked.”).
The combination of Kang and Oulee discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kato discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang and Oulee the teachings of Kato for the predictable result of reducing an uneven light emission intensity in a display region (Kato at ¶ [0078]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second substrate further includes the reference voltage generation circuit (Kato at Figs. 1, 4).
The combination of Kang and Oulee discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kato discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang and Oulee the teachings of Kato for the predictable result of reducing an uneven light emission intensity in a display region (Kato at ¶ [0078]).
As to claim 3, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the signal line switching circuit includes a plurality of selectors configured to select, for each pixel column, one of the plurality of sub-signal lines as the connection destination of the output of the signal output circuit (Oulee at Fig. 1, switches S1, S2).
Kang discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Oulee discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kang the teachings of Oulee for the predictable result of solving the problem of image non-uniformity (Oulee at ¶ [0027]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein where a first region is one of two regions obtained by dividing a region including the plurality of pixels into two parts by a line parallel to a row direction, and a second region is the other of the two regions, (1) the first sub-signal line is provided in the first region for a column, and (2) the second sub-signal line is provided in the second region for the column (Kang at Fig. 21).
As to claim 9, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of signal lines include: the plurality of sub-signal lines further include a third sub-signal line and a fourth sub-signal line, and wherein where a first region is one of four regions obtained by dividing a region including the plurality of pixels into four parts by lines parallel to a row direction, a second region is another of the four regions, a third region is another of the four regions, and a fourth region is another of the four regions, (1) the first sub-signal line is provided in the first region for a column, (2) the second sub-signal line is provided in the second region for the column, (3) the third sub-signal line is provided in the third region for the column, and (4) the fourth sub-signal line is provided in the fourth region for the column (Kang at Fig. 21. MPEP 2144.04(IV and VI) establishes the duplication of parts and changes in configuration are obvious)
As to claim 11, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a display apparatus (Kang at Fig. 1) comprising a light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above), and an active element connected to the light emitting apparatus (Kang at Fig. 1).1
Claims 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, Oulee, and Kato as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yueh (US 2021/0109700 A1, Published April 15, 2021).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a first sub-signal line connected to the second substrate via a first connecting portion provided on the first substrate; and a second sub-signal line connected to the second substrate via a second connecting portion provided on the first substrate, wherein the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are provided at end portions of the first sub-signal line and the second sub-signal line on sides close to each other (Yueh at Figs. 1, 4).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yueh discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Yueh for the predictable result of reducing impedance or signal delay so as to provide an electronic device having better quality (Yueh at ¶ [0024]).
As to claim 7, the combination of Kang, Oulee, Kato, and Yueh discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first sub-signal line connected to the second substrate via a first connecting portion provided on the first substrate; and wherein the second sub-signal line connected to the second substrate via a second connecting portion provided on the first substrate (Yueh at Figs. 1, 4),
wherein the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are provided at end portions of the first sub-signal line and the second sub-signal line on sides far apart from each other (Kang at Fig. 21).2
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yueh discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Yueh for the predictable result of reducing impedance or signal delay so as to provide an electronic device having better quality (Yueh at ¶ [0024]).
Claims 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, Oulee, and Kato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogura (US 2007/0216613 A1, Published September 20, 2007).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
The combination does not expressly disclose that the signal output circuit further includes a column DAC circuit configured to convert data corresponding to each pixel column into an analog signal, and wherein a signal based on an output signal from the column DAC circuit is supplied to the plurality of sub-signal lines.
However, Ogura does disclose that the signal output circuit further includes a column DAC circuit configured to convert data corresponding to each pixel column into an analog signal, and wherein a signal based on an output signal from the column DAC circuit is supplied to the plurality of sub-signal lines (Ogura at Fig. 4, D/A Converter 134).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Ogura discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Ogura for the predictable result of providing a display apparatus which allows an emission drive current having an adequate current value corresponding to display data to flow to light emitting devices to ensure light emission with an adequate luminance gradation and an excellent display quality even in a case of enlarging a display panel (Ogura at ¶ [0019]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Kang, Oulee, Kato, and Ogura discloses the apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the signal output circuit further includes a column driver circuit configured to output a luminance signal according to the output signal from the column DAC circuit, and a signal based on an output signal from the column driver circuit is supplied to the plurality of sub-signal lines (Ogura at Fig. 4).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Ogura discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Ogura for the predictable result of providing a display apparatus which allows an emission drive current having an adequate current value corresponding to display data to flow to light emitting devices to ensure light emission with an adequate luminance gradation and an excellent display quality even in a case of enlarging a display panel (Ogura at ¶ [0019]).
Claims 10, 12, 13, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, Oulee, and Kato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Endo (US 2023/0005400 A1, Published January 5, 2023).
As to claim 10, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses an image forming apparatus comprising…
wherein the exposure light source includes a light emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
The combination does not expressly disclose a photosensitive member; an exposure light source configured to expose the photosensitive member; a developing device configured to apply a developing agent to the exposed photosensitive member; and a transfer device configured to transfer an image developed by the developing device to a print medium.
However, Endo does disclose a photosensitive member, an exposure light source configured to expose the photosensitive member, a developing device configured to apply a developing agent to the exposed photosensitive member, and a transfer device configured to transfer an image developed by the developing device to a print medium (Endo at Fig. 7).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Endo discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Endo for the predictable result of providing a technique that suppresses a light emission variation of a light emitting element while suppressing an increase in circuit scale. (Endo at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses…, wherein the display unit includes a light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1.
The combination does not disclose a photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image captured by the image sensor.
However, Endo does disclose a photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image captured by the image sensor (Endo at Figs. 8-9; ¶ [0064]; Claim 19).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Endo discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Endo for the predictable result of providing a technique that suppresses a light emission variation of a light emitting element while suppressing an increase in circuit scale. (Endo at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses an electronic device comprising a display unit (Kang at Fig. 1) including a light emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
The combination strongly implies but does not expressly disclose a housing provided with the display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication.
However, Endo does disclose a housing provided with the display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication (Endo at Fig. 10; ¶ [0066]; Claim 20).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Endo discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Endo for the predictable result of providing a technique that suppresses a light emission variation of a light emitting element while suppressing an increase in circuit scale. (Endo at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 15, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses… comprising a lighting appliance including a light emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (See rejection of Claim 1 above).
The combination does not disclose a moving body and a main body provided with the lighting appliance.
However, Endo does disclose a moving body and a main body provided with the lighting appliance (Endo at Fig. 13).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Endo discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Endo for the predictable result of providing a technique that suppresses a light emission variation of a light emitting element while suppressing an increase in circuit scale. (Endo at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses…, wherein the display apparatus includes a light emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
The combination does not expressly disclose a wearable device comprising a display apparatus configured to display an image
However, Endo does disclose a wearable device comprising a display apparatus configured to display an image (Endo at Fig. 14; Claim 23).
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Endo discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Endo for the predictable result of providing a technique that suppresses a light emission variation of a light emitting element while suppressing an increase in circuit scale. (Endo at ¶ [0004]).
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, Oulee, and Kato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsuboi (US 2020/0143741 A1, Published May 7, 2020).
As to claim 14, the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses an illumination apparatus comprising a light source including a light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1 (See Rejection of claim 1 above).
The combination does not expressly disclose one of a light diffusing unit and an optical film, through which light emitted by the light source is transmitted.
However, Tsuboi does disclose one of a light diffusing unit and an optical film, through which light emitted by the light source is transmitted (Tsuboi at Fig. 24; Claim 18).3
The combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Tsuboi discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kang, Oulee, and Kato the teachings of Tsuboi for the predictable result of effectively diffusing light to illuminate a wide range (Tsuboi at ¶ [0122]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16have been considered but they are believed to be addressed above, and therefore, moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 2023/0215384 A1, Published July 6, 2023) is made of record for its relevance to claim 1 by its disclosure of the following at ¶ [0010]:
[0010] The data driver may include: a shift register configured to output a sampling signal in response to a data driving control signal output from a timing controller; a latch configured to sample the image data into a digital data signal in response to the sampling signal; a reference voltage generator configured to generate a reference voltage; a gamma voltage generator configured to generate gamma voltages based on the reference voltage; and a digital-analog converter (DAC) configured to convert the digital data signal into an analog data signal based on the gamma voltages, and output the analog data signal as the data voltage.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
03/23/2026
1 See also Endo at Claim 18 and Fig. 8.
2 See also Oulee at Figs. 1, 3; Chen at Fig. 4
3 See also Endo at Fig. 12; ¶ [0069]; Claim 21