DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to CLAIMS entered for patent application 19/039,084 filed on January 28, 2025.
Claims 52-71 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 52-56, 58-60, 62-66 and 68-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta et al. (Pub. No.: US 2005/0086703).
Regarding claim 52, Gupta discloses a method comprising: determining a plurality of summary segments within a portion of a media asset (Fig. 1, element 50, paras. [0038]-[0044]); determining a set of more important summary segments of the plurality of summary segments, wherein the set of more important summary segments is determined based at least in part on information in summary segment data for the each summary segment (paras. [0011], [0032], [0056]-[0059], [0064] and [0071]); generating a summary of the portion of the media asset including only the set of more important summary segments (paras. [0011], [0032], [0056]-[0059], [0064] and [0071]. Different skim levels will mean that different segments will be selected, and thus when fewer are selected, these can be seen as the “more important” summary segments.); and generating for display the summary (paras. [0026] and [0080]).
Regarding claim 53, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, and further discloses wherein the set of more important summary segments comprises highlights showing important moments of the portion of the media asset (paras. [0036], [0052] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 54, Gupta discloses the method of claim 53, and further discloses wherein the media asset depicts a sports game, and wherein the highlights are desirable video clips of sports events from the portion of the media asset depicting the sports game (paras. [0050], [0056] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 55, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, and further discloses wherein each of the more important summary segments comprises an identifier, a location within the media asset, a start time, and a stop time (para. [0040] and Fig. 3, paras. [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 56, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, and further discloses wherein each of the more important summary segments comprises a link to a location within the media asset (Fig. 1, element 40, para. [0028]. The desired segments are stored and can be retrieved from storage 40, and thus whatever storage indexing is used in order to properly retrieve the desired content can be seen as a link.).
Regarding claim 58, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, and further discloses wherein the generating the summary of the portion of the media asset including only the set of more important summary segments further comprises: retrieving, for the each summary segment in the summary, a link corresponding to a location of the each summary segment in the media asset; retrieving, using the each respective link, the each included summary segment; and generating the summary by combining the retrieved summary segments in chronological order (Fig. 1, element 40, para. [0028]. The desired segments are stored and can be retrieved from storage 40, and thus whatever storage indexing is used in order to properly retrieve the desired content can be seen as a link.).
Regarding claim 59, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, and further discloses wherein the generating the summary of the portion of the media asset including only the set of more important summary segments further comprises: retrieving, for the each summary segment, one or more start times and stop times, each pair of a start time and a stop time corresponding to the each summary segment (Gupta, para. [0040]); and storing both the portion of the media asset and the one or more start times and stop times for the each summary segment (Gupta, Fig. 1, element 40, para. [0028]; para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 60, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, and further discloses wherein the determining the plurality of summary segments within the portion of the media asset further comprises: transmitting a request that includes an instruction for receiving the summary segment data for media asset summary segments that are associated with the portion of the media asset (Fig. 1, element 50, paras. [0038]-[0044]); and receiving in response to the request, the summary segment data for the media asset summary segments that are associated with the portion of the media asset (Fig. 1, element 50, paras. [0038]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 62, Gupta discloses a system comprising: control circuitry configured to: determine a plurality of summary segments within a portion of a media asset (Fig. 1, element 50, paras. [0038]-[0044]); determine a set of more important summary segments of the plurality of summary segments, wherein the set of more important summary segments is determined based at least in part on information in summary segment data for each summary segment (paras. [0011], [0032], [0056]-[0059], [0064] and [0071]); generate a summary of the portion of the media asset including only the set of more important summary segments (paras. [0011], [0032], [0056]-[0059], [0064] and [0071]. Different skim levels will mean that different segments will be selected, and thus when fewer are selected, these can be seen as the “more important” summary segments.); and display circuitry configured to: generate for display the summary (paras. [0026] and [0080]).
Regarding claim 63, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, and further discloses wherein the set of more important summary segments comprises highlights showing important moments of the portion of the media asset (paras. [0036], [0052] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 64, Gupta discloses the system of claim 63, and further discloses wherein the media asset depicts a sports game, and wherein the highlights are desirable video clips of sports events from the portion of the media asset depicting the sports game (paras. [0050], [0056] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 65, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, and further discloses wherein each of the more important summary segments comprises an identifier, a location within the media asset, a start time, and a stop time (para. [0040] and Fig. 3, paras. [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 66, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, and further discloses wherein each of the more important summary segments comprises a link to a location within the media asset (Fig. 1, element 40, para. [0028]. The desired segments are stored and can be retrieved from storage 40, and thus whatever storage indexing is used in order to properly retrieve the desired content can be seen as a link.).
Regarding claim 68, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, and further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to generate the summary of the portion of the media asset including only the set of more important summary segments by: retrieving, for the each summary segment in the summary, a link corresponding to a location of the each summary segment in the media asset; retrieving, using the each respective link, the each included summary segment; and generating the summary by combining the retrieved summary segments in chronological order (Fig. 1, element 40, para. [0028]. The desired segments are stored and can be retrieved from storage 40, and thus whatever storage indexing is used in order to properly retrieve the desired content can be seen as a link.).
Regarding claim 69, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, and further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to generate the summary of the portion of the media asset including only the set of more important summary segments by: retrieving, for the each summary segment, one or more start times and stop times, each pair of a start time and a stop time corresponding to the each summary segment (Gupta, para. [0040]); and storing both the portion of the media asset and the one or more start times and stop times for the each summary segment (Gupta, Fig. 1, element 40, para. [0028]; para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 70, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, and further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine the plurality of summary segments within the portion of the media asset by: transmitting a request that includes an instruction for receiving the summary segment data for media asset summary segments that are associated with the portion of the media asset (Fig. 1, element 50, paras. [0038]-[0044]); and receiving in response to the request, the summary segment data for the media asset summary segments that are associated with the portion of the media asset (Fig. 1, element 50, paras. [0038]-[0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 57 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (Pub. No.: US 2005/0086703) in view of Deever (Pub. No.: US 2011/0293250).
Regarding claim 57, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, and further discloses wherein the determining the set of more important summary segments of the plurality of summary segments further comprises: retrieving a start time and a stop time of the portion of the media asset; determining, based at least in part on the start time and the stop time, a length of the portion of the media asset (Fig. 4, paras. [0040] and [0066]); but it could be argued that Gupta does not explicitly disclose and determining the set of more important summary segments based at least in part on the length of the portion of the media asset. However, in analogous art, Deever discloses that when creating a video summary of media content, the total time duration of the video summary may be automatically determined, and said total time of the video summary can be determined responsive to the time duration of the original video (para. [0122]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gupta to allow for determining the set of more important summary segments based at least in part on the length of the portion of the media asset. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system to accurately and consistently provide a video summary that was of a similar percentage of the length of the portion of the media asset, such that a user could start from a default level of video summary that contained a consistent relative amount of the missed portion, which could increase user satisfaction with the system.
Regarding claim 67, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, and further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the set of more important summary segments of the plurality of summary segments by: retrieving a start time and a stop time of the portion of the media asset; determining, based at least in part on the start time and the stop time, a length of the portion of the media asset (Fig. 4, paras. [0040] and [0066]); but it could be argued that Gupta does not explicitly disclose and determining the set of more important summary segments based at least in part on the length of the portion of the media asset. However, in analogous art, Deever discloses that when creating a video summary of media content, the total time duration of the video summary may be automatically determined, and said total time of the video summary can be determined responsive to the time duration of the original video (para. [0122]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gupta to allow for determining the set of more important summary segments based at least in part on the length of the portion of the media asset. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system to accurately and consistently provide a video summary that was of a similar percentage of the length of the portion of the media asset, such that a user could start from a default level of video summary that contained a consistent relative amount of the missed portion, which could increase user satisfaction with the system.
Claims 61 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (Pub. No.: US 2005/0086703) in view of Harvey et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0282759).
Regarding claim 61, Gupta discloses the method of claim 52, but it could be argued that Gupta does not explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the media asset is a missed portion of the media asset, the method further comprising: monitoring user interactions to detect when a user switches from the media asset while consuming the media asset; responsive to detecting a user switching from the media asset, storing a start time of the portion; monitoring user interactions to detect when the user switches back to the media asset; and responsive to detecting the user switching back to the media asset, storing a stop time of the portion. However, in analogous art, Harvey discloses that a plurality of buffers can continue to buffer and store video content being received on a given channel after a user has changed said channel, such that said user may come back at a later time and have access to the missed portion of content that was received while the user was tuned to a different channel, wherein the system keeps track of the times at which channel changes were made and thus the lengths of the segments of content that were missed (Figs. 4, 5A and 5B, paras. [0038]-[0050]), which shows that segment P2, for example, is missed while the user was watching channel 26 from time t1 to time t2, and thus it would be this segment, P2, for which a summary could be generated using the techniques as taught by Gupta and Deever. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gupta to allow for wherein the portion of the media asset is a missed portion of the media asset, the method further comprising: monitoring user interactions to detect when a user switches from the media asset while consuming the media asset; responsive to detecting a user switching from the media asset, storing a start time of the portion; monitoring user interactions to detect when the user switches back to the media asset; and responsive to detecting the user switching back to the media asset, storing a stop time of the portion. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for users to be given summaries of the portions of content missed while watching another channel, which could improve the user experience and save users time by allowing users to get caught up with relevant information without having to watch the entirety of the content that was missed.
Regarding claim 71, Gupta discloses the system of claim 62, but it could be argued that Gupta does not explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the media asset is a missed portion of the media asset, and wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: monitor user interactions to detect when a user switches from the media asset while consuming the media asset; responsive to detecting a user switching from the media asset, store a start time of the portion; monitor user interactions to detect when the user switches back to the media asset; and responsive to detecting the user switching back to the media asset, store a stop time of the portion. However, in analogous art, Harvey discloses that a plurality of buffers can continue to buffer and store video content being received on a given channel after a user has changed said channel, such that said user may come back at a later time and have access to the missed portion of content that was received while the user was tuned to a different channel, wherein the system keeps track of the times at which channel changes were made and thus the lengths of the segments of content that were missed (Figs. 4, 5A and 5B, paras. [0038]-[0050]), which shows that segment P2, for example, is missed while the user was watching channel 26 from time t1 to time t2, and thus it would be this segment, P2, for which a summary could be generated using the techniques as taught by Gupta and Deever. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gupta to allow for wherein the portion of the media asset is a missed portion of the media asset, and wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: monitor user interactions to detect when a user switches from the media asset while consuming the media asset; responsive to detecting a user switching from the media asset, store a start time of the portion; monitor user interactions to detect when the user switches back to the media asset; and responsive to detecting the user switching back to the media asset, store a stop time of the portion. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for users to be given summaries of the portions of content missed while watching another channel, which could improve the user experience and save users time by allowing users to get caught up with relevant information without having to watch the entirety of the content that was missed.
Conclusion
Claims 52-71 are rejected.
/Joshua D Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 June 12, 2026