DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-11, 13, 14, and 17-19 have been amended.
Claims 4, 12, and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Applicant's Remarks
35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant’s remarks, see Page(s) 9, filed 5 January 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of claims 17-19 for being directed to transitory media, have been fully considered, and are persuasive, in view of the claim amendments. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of claims 17-19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks, see Page(s) 9-11, filed 5 January 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-19 for being directed to a judicial exception, have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the claims of the current application are not directed to a judicial exception because the claims as a whole integrate any alleged abstract idea into practical application, such as improving the efficiency of picking and improving delivery robots.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the claim limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application, such as an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technical field, as considered below in view of MPEP 2106. In particular, an improvement in the judicial exception itself is not an improvement in technology. Applicant’s improvement in this case is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technological field.
The following are examples of eligible subject matter based on technological improvements: see, e.g., McRO, 837 F.3d at 1315 ("The claimed process uses a combined order of specific rules that renders information into a specific format that is then used and applied to create desired results: a sequence of synchronized, animated characters."); Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (finding patent eligible a claim drawn to a behavior-based virus scan that protects against viruses that have been "cosmetically modified to avoid detection by code-matching virus scans"); Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1330, 1333 (discussing patent eligible claims directed to "an innovative logical model for a computer database" that included a self-referential table allowing for greater flexibility in configuring databases, faster searching, and more effective storage); CardioNet, LLC v. InfoBionic, Inc., 955 F.3d 1358, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (explaining that the claims at issue focus on a specific means for improving cardiac monitoring technology; they are not "directed to a result or effect that itself is the abstract idea and merely invoke generic processes and machinery" (quoting McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314)).
To show that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology, the claims must recite the details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology (see MPEP 2106.05(a)).
Instead, the claims recite the following additional elements: ‘a delivery robot’, ‘a preset display interface’, ‘one or more processors’, ‘a storage apparatus’, ‘A non-transitory storage medium’, and ‘a computer processor’. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that in conjunction with the abstract limitations, they amount to no more than:
mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (i.e., generic computer components performing generic computer functions) (‘a preset display interface’, ‘one or more processors’, ‘a storage apparatus’, ‘A non-transitory storage medium’, and ‘a computer processor’). In their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional element(s) comprise(s) only a processor, instructions in memory, a display, a receiver, and a transmitter, being used to implement the functions of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception in a generic computing environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f) Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Thus, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim(s) is/are directed to the judicial exception.
generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (‘a delivery robot’).
35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s remarks, see Page(s) 11-15, filed 5 January 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections, have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection provided below, as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 13, 14, 17 are objected to for the inconsistent terminology of “goods storage compartment”, “good storage component”, and “goods storage component”. Examiner notes that the specification recites “goods storage compartment” and for reference consistency, the claims should consistently refer to the compartment as the “goods storage compartment”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 recite(s) a system and series of steps for determining and displaying a storage compartment position corresponding to a picking order, which under broadest reasonable interpretation, is analogous to concepts performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and commercial or legal interactions. These concepts are grouped as mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity.
The limitation(s) of, ‘obtaining a picking order…’; ‘determining a to-be-picked-item that corresponds to the picking order…’; ‘determining, as a to-be-used-compartment, a goods storage compartment…’; ‘displaying…compartment position prompt information…’, as drafted, recite a process that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, is/are mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity. Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim(s) recite(s) the additional element(s) of ‘a delivery robot’, ‘a preset display interface’, ‘one or more processors’, ‘a storage apparatus’, ‘A non-transitory storage medium’, and ‘a computer processor’. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that in conjunction with the abstract limitations, they amount to no more than:
mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (i.e., generic computer components performing generic computer functions) (‘a preset display interface’, ‘one or more processors’, ‘a storage apparatus’, ‘A non-transitory storage medium’, and ‘a computer processor’). In their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional element(s) comprise(s) only a processor, instructions in memory, a display, a receiver, and a transmitter, being used to implement the functions of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception in a generic computing environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f) Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Thus, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim(s) is/are directed to the judicial exception.
generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (‘a delivery robot’).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-16, 18, and 19 further recite(s) the system and series of steps for determining and displaying a storage compartment position corresponding to a picking order, which under broadest reasonable interpretation, is analogous to concepts performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and commercial or legal interactions. These concepts are grouped as mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity. Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea.
Additionally, the claims recite(s) the additional elements of receiving and transmitting data. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of receiving and transmitting data), and amount to mere data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, the claim(s) is/are directed to the abstract idea.
As discussed above, the additional elements amount to mere data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. As detailed in MPEP 2106, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the reception and transmission of data was considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
The generic functions of receiving and transmitting data are considered to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional elements previously known to the industry, because the functions can be summarized as the generic computer functions of receiving or transmitting data over a network. This is similar to how ‘using the Internet to gather data’ was found to be a well-known, routine, and conventional function in the decision of Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp. (Fed. Cir. 2015) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) Elements That the Courts Have Recognized as Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity in Particular Fields). Thus, these elements amount to well‐understood, routine, and conventional elements previously known to the industry, which does not add significantly more, and therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept, and therefore, the claim(s) is/are not eligible.
As analyzed above in step 2A prong 2, the limitations as an ordered combination, are merely applying the abstract idea in a generic computing environment. In addition, the claims do not improve functionality of a computer or improve any other technology. Thus, claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-19 are ineligible as the claims do not recite additional elements which result in significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyon (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 20150081088), in view of Song (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 20240278679).
In regards to claim 1, although Lyon teaches a warehouse management system and method configured to utilize robotic devices and display item location information on a map, the reference does not explicitly state executing the picking order by a robot.
However, Lyon and Song together teach:
A compartment display method, comprising: obtaining a picking order (Lyon: ¶21, ¶45-47, ¶59, ¶65-66 disclose the pick instructions may be assigned and/or transmitted to mobile computing devices of the pickers) that is being executed by a delivery robot (Song: ¶86, ¶93-96 disclose a delivery robot configured to perform the role of storing and delivering items);
determining a to-be-picked-item that corresponds to the picking order (Lyon: ¶21, ¶53 disclose the order filling systems can identify the location and quantity of order items to be picked by a picker during the order filling process), and that is to be delivered by the delivery robot (Song: ¶86, ¶93-96 disclose a delivery robot configured to perform the role of storing and delivering items);
determining, as a to-be-used-compartment, a goods storage compartment within the delivery robot, wherein the goods storage compartment is to be used for storage of the to-be-picked-item (Lyon: ¶42-48, ¶51, ¶83-86 disclose transmit pick instructions to the mobile computing device based on the configuration of the currently associated pick cart; Song: ¶40, ¶49, ¶65, ¶86, ¶93-96 disclose a delivery robot configured to perform the role of storing and delivering items using the delivery robot internal cargo compartments); and
displaying, in a preset display interface of the delivery robot (Song: ¶86, ¶93-96), compartment position prompt information that comprises a text description of an actual spatial position of the goods storage compartment within the delivery robot (Lyon: ¶51-52, ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶94-95, ¶97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11 disclose the mobile computing device may identify the bin into which the item is to be put, may display a location and/or item name or number in large text, and may highlight a box on the interface corresponding to the bin. In other words, the mobile computing device may include, function as, or execute a highlight module to graphically display the platform profile and to highlight a location on a map of the platform profile to which an item included in the plurality of orders is to be picked; Song: ¶40, ¶49, ¶65, ¶86, ¶93-96 disclose a delivery robot configured to perform the role of storing and delivering items using the delivery robot internal cargo compartments).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the delivery robot, as taught by Song, into the system and method of Lyon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “allow the pickup or delivery robot in the robot pickup or delivery system to achieve high delivery efficiency” (Song: ¶46).
In regards to claim 2, Lyon and Song teach the method of claim 1. Lyon and Song further teach wherein the compartment position prompt information further comprises a compartment distribution map for the delivery robot, wherein the to-be-used-compartment is highlighted in the compartment distribution map (Lyon: ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11), and wherein the compartment distribution map comprises a plurality of item storage compartments of the delivery robot (Song: ¶40, ¶49, ¶65, ¶86, ¶93-96) and a display position of each of the item storage compartments in the compartment distribution map corresponds to an actual spatial position of the item storage compartment (Lyon: ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11).
In regards to claim 3, Lyon and Song teach the method of claim 2. Lyon further teaches highlighting the to-be-used- compartment in the compartment distribution map by performing at least one of the following operations: displaying the to-be-used-compartment in the compartment distribution map in a preset color; displaying a preset identifier at a preset position corresponding to the to-be-used-compartment in the compartment distribution map; displaying the to-be-used-compartment in the compartment distribution map in a preset form, wherein the preset form comprises a preset shape and/or a preset size; and displaying the to-be-used-compartment in the compartment distribution map in a dynamic form, wherein the dynamic form comprises a flashing form and/or a movement along a preset trajectory (Lyon: ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶94-95, ¶97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11).
In regards to claim 5, Lyon and Song teach the method of claim 1. Lyon further teaches wherein the displaying the compartment position prompt information that comprises a text description of the actual spatial position of the goods storage compartment within the delivery robot comprises: obtaining a compartment identifier corresponding to the goods storage compartment, obtaining, based on the compartment identifier, pre-stored position description text corresponding to the actual spatial position of the goods storage compartment, and displaying the position description text as the text description (Lyon: ¶42-48, ¶51-52, ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶94-95, ¶97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11).
In regards to claim 6, Lyon and Song teach the method of claim 5. Lyon and Song further teach wherein before the obtaining, based on the compartment identifier, pre-stored position description text corresponding to the actual spatial position of the goods storage compartment, the method further comprises: obtaining compartment layout information of a plurality of item storage compartments of the delivery robot (Song: ¶40, ¶49, ¶65, ¶86, ¶93-96), and determining, based on the compartment layout information, position description text corresponding to an actual spatial position of each of the item storage compartments; and storing the position description text corresponding to each of the item storage compartments in correspondence with a compartment identifier of the item storage compartment (Lyon: ¶42-48, ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11; Song: ¶40, ¶49, ¶65, ¶86, ¶93-96).
In regards to claim 7, Lyon and Song teach the method of claim 6. Lyon and Song further teach wherein the determining, based on the compartment layout information, position description text corresponding to an actual spatial position of each of the item storage compartments comprises: determining, based on the compartment layout information, relative position information of each of the item storage compartments and the other item storage compartments; and generating, based on the relative position information corresponding to each of the item storage compartments, the position description text corresponding to the actual spatial position of the item storage compartment (Lyon: ¶42-48, ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11; Song: ¶40, ¶49, ¶65, ¶86, ¶93-96).
In regards to claim 8, Lyon and Song teach the method of claim 5. Lyon further teaches wherein the position description text comprises orientation information and/or sorting information (Lyon: ¶42-48, ¶51-52, ¶83-86, ¶90-91, ¶94-97, ¶100, Figs. 9-11).
In regards to claim 9, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 1. Additionally, Lyon and Song teach A delivery robot, comprising: one or more processors; and a storage apparatus configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement a compartment display method (Lyon: ¶21, ¶45-47, ¶55-67, ¶126; Song: ¶40, ¶49-55, ¶65, ¶86-89, ¶93-96). Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 1 applies to the rejection of claim 9.
In regards to claim 10, Lyon and Song teach the delivery robot of claim 9. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 2 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 2. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 2 applies to the rejection of claim 10.
In regards to claim 11, Lyon and Song teach the delivery robot of claim 10. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 3 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 3. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 3 applies to the rejection of claim 11.
In regards to claim 13, Lyon and Song teach the delivery robot of claim 9. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 5 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 5. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 5 applies to the rejection of claim 13.
In regards to claim 14, Lyon and Song teach the delivery robot of claim 13. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 6 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 6. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 6 applies to the rejection of claim 14.
In regards to claim 15, Lyon and Song teach the delivery robot of claim 14. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 6 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 6. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 6 applies to the rejection of claim 15.
In regards to claim 16, Lyon and Song teach the delivery robot of claim 13. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 7 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 7. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 7 applies to the rejection of claim 16.
In regards to claim 17, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 1. Additionally, Lyon and Song teach A non-transitory storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, are used to perform a compartment display method (Lyon: ¶21, ¶45-47, ¶55-67, ¶126; Song: ¶40, ¶49-55, ¶65, ¶86-89, ¶93-96). Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 1 applies to the rejection of claim 17.
In regards to claim 18, Lyon and Song teach the non-transitory storage medium of claim 17. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 2 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 2. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 2 applies to the rejection of claim 18.
In regards to claim 19, Lyon and Song teach the non-transitory storage medium of claim 18. Additionally, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 3 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 3. Furthermore, the rationale to combine the prior art set forth above for claim 3 applies to the rejection of claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Wayne S. Murray/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/SHANNON S CAMPBELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628