DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 4/8/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-8, 11-18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In re pages 8-11, the applicant states “Applicant respectfully submits that the technical concept of classifying a light source depending on whether the reference value is greater than the first boundary value is not disclosed by Lee. … Lee merely describes a feature to classify the light source based on the visible light and the infrared light. Even considering FIG. 6 of Lee, it merely describes a graph for determining a color temperature based on a ratio between infrared light and visible light. However, Lee does not disclose the technical concept of classifying a light source based on whether the ratio of infrared light to visible light is greater a value determined based on a ratio of ultraviolet light to visible light, as in the claims. Independent claim 1 explicitly recites a feature of determining a type of a light source by comparing the reverence value (a ratio of infra-red data to visible data) with a first boundary value (determined based on a ratio of ultra-violet data to the visible data). In contrast, Lee merely describes feature that the light source classification ratio on the Y-axis may be one of a ratio (IR/VL) generated by dividing the IR by the VL. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Lee fails to disclose the feature of "determine that a type of a light source ..., based on whether the reference value is greater than or equal to a first boundary value determined based on a ratio of ultra-violet data acquired through the ultra-violet channel to the visible data," as presently recited.”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee teaches when the light source classification ratio (IR/(VL+IR)) corresponds to, for example, 70%, the AP may detect a first point on the correlation curve and acquire 3000 K as the color temperature of the source of the incident light sample. Although in this example, light source classification is performed based on the amounts of visible light and infrared light that are present in a sample of incident light, any other suitable type of spectral component of the sample can be used instead or in addition (e.g., ultraviolet light component) (e.g. See, Para.[0064], Para.[0049], [0050], [0068], [0072]) Ultravilovet light component can be used instead of infrared light component. Therefore, Lee disclosed determine that a type of a light source ..., based on whether the reference value is greater than or equal to a first boundary value determined based on a ratio of ultra-violet data acquired through the ultra-violet channel to the visible data as recited amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Lee
Claims 1, 9-11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (USPubN 2016/0165202).
As per claim 1, Lee teaches an electronic device comprising: a camera configured to acquire an image(“an electronic device 101 may be one of various types of electronic devices such as a smartphone, a tablet PC, a digital camera, and the like. The electronic device 101 may include a camera module for photographing an image and a sensor of light classification for detecting a type of an ambient light source which are installed on the front surface of the electronic device 101 or in surfaces opposite to each other” in Para.[0026]);
at least one sensor operating in an ultra-violet channel, a visible channel, and an infra-red channel, wherein the at least one sensor detects light in an ultra-violet band of the ultra-violet channel, detects light in a visible band of the visible channel, and detects light in an infra-red band of the infra-red channel(“The determining of the light source type may include determining an ambient light source by using ratios of two or more of whole light, a visible light, an infrared light, and an ultraviolet light classified by a sensor of light classification, and the sensor of light classification may be manufactured as a module including at least one of an illumination sensor, a proximity sensor, a Red-Green-Blue (RGB) sensor, a Time Of Flight (TOF) sensor, an Infrared (IR) sensor, and an image sensor.” in Para.[0083]);
memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; and at least one processor operatively connected to the camera, the at least one sensor, and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to(“an electronic device, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. The electronic device 201 may include at least one Application Processor (AP) 210, a communication module 220, a Subscriber Identifier Module (SIM) card 224, a memory 230, a sensor module 240, an input device 250, a display 260, an interface 270, an audio module 280, a camera module 291, a power management module 295, a battery 296, an indicator 297, and/or a motor 298” in Para.[0034]):
determine a reference value based on a ratio of infra-red data acquired through the infra-red channel to visible data acquired through the visible channel(“The SLC 320 may include a visible light sensor for identifying the amount of visible light that is present in an incident light sample and an infrared light sensor for identifying the amount of infrared light that is present in the incident light sample. In some implementations, the incident light sample may include any suitable type of data that is simultaneously, concurrently, and/or sequentially captured by the visible light sensor and the infrared light sensor.” in Para.[0049], “The correlation curve between the color temperature and the light source classification ratio may have the X axis of different color temperatures according to the light source type and may have the Y-axis which is set as the light source classification ratio differently calculated in various ways. For example, the light source classification ratio on the Y-axis may be one of a ratio (IR/VL) generated by dividing the IR by the VL, a ratio (VL/IR) generated by dividing the VL by the IR, a ratio ((VL+IR)/IR) generated by dividing a sum of the VL and the IR by the IR, a ratio (VL/(VL+IR)) generated by dividing the VL by the sum of the VL and the IR, and a ratio ((VL+IR)/VL) generated by dividing the sum of the VL and the IR by the VL.” in Para.[0068]);
determine that a type of a light source for the image acquired through the camera is a first light source, based on whether the reference value is greater than or equal to a first boundary value determined based on a ratio of ultra-violet data acquired through the ultra-violet channel to the visible data(“the image signal processor 313, determine a type of a light source of the incident light based on the visible light and the infrared light classified by the SLC 320” in Para.[0050], “The AP may determine the light source type according to each color temperature as described above, and more accurately control the AWB by applying an optimal AWB gain control value to the current light source type with reference to the AWB gain control value (for example, R/G/B gain #) included in the determination information 700. The AWB gain control value may be pre-stored as a result value of an experiment implemented in advance or stored and updated in various ways through a user interface or a communication interface.” in Para.[0072], Para.[0049], [0068], [0064]); and
calibrate a color temperature of the image, based on the type of the light source(“control the AWB according to the type of the light source of the incident light” in Para.[0050], “adjusting a white balance of the image according to the light source type” in Abs, “the electronic device may identify a color temperature corresponding to the current light source type and then emit a flash having a color that is selected based on the color of the current light source, light in operation 1003. For example, when the current light source type corresponds to the white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 4000 K in the electronic device such as the smartphone in a state where a first flash and a second flash are installed, a color temperature of a light source of the first flash is 3000 K, and a color temperature of a light source of the second flash is 4000 K, the electronic device selects and makes the second flash of the color temperature 4000 K emit a light. Accordingly, due to the light emission from the flash, it is possible to efficiently prevent a color of a subject from being distorted” in Para.[0081]).
As per claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the at least one sensor is configured so responsivity decreases as wavelength increases or decreases from a specified wavelength within a band of the visible channel(“the lower the color temperature 500, the weaker the light intensity and the longer the light wavelength. For example, the light intensity of the white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 4000 K is stronger than the light intensity of the silver-white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 3000 K, and the light wavelength of the white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 4000 K is shorter than the light wavelength of the silver-white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 3000 K” in Para.[0060]).
As per claim 10, Lee teaches wherein the at least one sensor is configured so the responsivity follows a luminosity curve within the band of the visible channel(“FIG. 5 is a graph illustrating an example of a radiation spectrum based on each color temperature according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. The color temperature has a spectral radiative rate curve of an ideal black body radiator and corresponds to the absolute temperature of a color light generated by adding the absolute temperature 273° C. and the temperature in Celsius of the black body, which uses K (Kelvin) corresponding to the display unit. The color temperature has a blue color as the temperature becomes higher and has a red color as the temperature becomes lower. For example, the color temperature of 2200 K may correspond a light color of a candle, the color temperature of 3000 K may correspond to a silver-white color fluorescent lamp or a high temperature sodium lamp, the color temperature of 4000 K may correspond to a white color fluorescent lamp, a warm white color fluorescent lamp, or a halogen lamp, the color temperature of 5800 K may correspond to a cool white color fluorescent lamp, and the color temperature of 7000 K may correspond to a light source type such as a daylight color fluorescent lamp or a mercury lamp” in Para.[0050], “the lower the color temperature 500, the weaker the light intensity and the longer the light wavelength. For example, the light intensity of the white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 4000 K is stronger than the light intensity of the silver-white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 3000 K, and the light wavelength of the white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 4000 K is shorter than the light wavelength of the silver-white color fluorescent lamp of the color temperature 3000 K” in Para.[0060], Fig. 5).
As per claim 11, the limitations in the claim 11 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, the limitations in the claim 19 has been discussed in the rejection claim 9 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the limitations in the claim 20 has been discussed in the rejection claim 10 and rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484