DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the phrase “The present disclosure provides…” can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa (JP 2023104198).
Fig. 13
Fig. 2
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa discloses “a baseplate (Fig. 13, ref.# 2) in which at least one capture opening (Fig. 13, ref.# 2b) is disposed; and spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7; page 3 of translation, 5th paragraph: “elastic deformation characteristic”), wherein each capture opening corresponds to at least two spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7), the at least two spring members are arranged to be located on two sides (See Fig. 2), respectively, of an axis of the capture opening in the baseplate; and a camera (Fig. 13, ref.# 100) is sandwiched between the at least two spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7), and a lens (Fig. 1, ref.# 100b). of the camera faces the capture opening and aligns with the capture opening.”
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: the camera mounting device comprises a protruding portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 6) that is formed by extending along a direction away from a surface of the baseplate (Fig. 2, ref.# 2), wherein the spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7) are disposed on the protruding portion, and a recessed structure (Fig. 2: area at ref.# 3) is formed on the protruding portion and is configured to house the camera (Fig. 13, ref.# 100).”
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: the protruding portion comprises a first wall and a second wall (Fig. 2, ref.# 6) which are arranged to be located on two sides, respectively, of the axis of the capture opening in the baseplate, wherein the spring members are disposed, one on either of the first wall and the second wall, and the recessed structure (Fig. 2, ref.# 3) is formed between the first wall and the second wall.” (See Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: a rib (Fig. 2, ref.# 8) is formed inside the recessed structure.”
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa discloses “wherein the spring members are flat spring members.” (Fig. 2, ref.# 7; page 3 of translation, 5th paragraph: “elastic deformation characteristic”)
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: each of the flat spring members (Fig. 4, ref.# 7) comprises a first section and a second section, the first section (Fig. 4, ref.# 7f) of each of the flat spring members extends along a direction away from the surface of the baseplate, and the second section (Fig. 4, ref.# 7a, 7c) of each of the flat spring members extends from an end of the first section of the flat spring member towards the flat spring member on the other side of the axis of the capture opening.”
Fig. 4
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa discloses “wherein the vehicle (abstract) has a camera mounting device (Fig. 13, ref.# 1), and the camera mounting device comprises: a baseplate (Fig. 13, ref.# 2) in which at least one capture opening (Fig. 13, ref.# 2b) is disposed; and spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7; page 4 of translation, 5th paragraph: “elastic deformation characteristics”), wherein each capture opening corresponds to at least two spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7), the at least two spring members are arranged to be located on two sides (See Fig. 2), respectively, of an axis of the capture opening in the baseplate; and a camera (Fig. 13, ref.# 100) is sandwiched between the at least two spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7), and a lens (Fig. 1, ref.# 100b) of the camera faces the capture opening and aligns with the capture opening.”
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: the vehicle comprises a windshield (Fig. 13, ref.# W), and the camera mounting device (Fig. 13, ref.# 1) is attached to the windshield via the baseplate (Fig. 13, ref.# 2).”
Regarding claim 11, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: the camera mounting device comprises a protruding portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 6) that is formed by extending along a direction away from a surface of the baseplate (Fig. 2, ref.# 2), wherein the spring members (Fig. 2, ref.# 7) are disposed on the protruding portion, and a recessed structure (Fig. 2, ref. # 30 is formed on the protruding portion and is configured to house the camera (Fig. 13, ref.# 100).”
Regarding claim 12, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: the protruding portion comprises a first wall and a second wall (Fig. 2, ref.# 6) which are arranged to be located on two sides, respectively, of the axis of the capture opening in the baseplate, wherein the spring members are disposed, one on either of the first wall and the second wall, and the recessed structure (Fig. 2, ref.# 3) is formed between the first wall and the second wall.” (See Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 13, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: a rib (Fig. 2, ref.# 8) is formed inside the recessed structure.”
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa discloses “wherein the spring members are flat spring members.” (Fig. 2, ref.# 7; page 3 of translation, 5th paragraph: “elastic deformation characteristics”)
Regarding claim 17, Ishikawa discloses “wherein: each of the flat spring members (Fig. 4, ref.# 7) comprises a first section and a second section, the first section (Fig. 4, ref.# 7f) of each of the flat spring members extends along a direction away from the surface of the baseplate, and the second section (Fig. 4, ref.# 7a, 7c) of each of the flat spring members extends from an end of the first section of the flat spring member towards the flat spring member on the other side of the axis of the capture opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cywinski, et al. (US 11,906,883), Ma, et al. (CN 210062870), Lapugean, et al. (EP 330131), Sun, et al. (CN 206826553) and Carlson (US 2016/0215695) teach a camera mount to attach to a windshield of a vehicle that include spring attachment members.
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
July 13, 2026