DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Fig. 4) and Species XVI (Fig. 19), claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 08/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are canceled. Claims 21-40 are pending. Claims 21-40 are examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 23-26, 35 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Versailles 2023/0130173.
Regarding Claim 21, Versailles teaches a combustion section 104 for a turbine engine 100, the combustion section 210 comprising:
a wall 216 (seen in Fig. 2) at least partially forming a combustion chamber 210 (Fig. 2); and
a fuel nozzle 400 that opens to the combustion chamber 210 through the wall 216 (seen in Fig. 2), the fuel nozzle 400 comprising ([0023-46]; Figs. 1-6):
a fuel nozzle body 402 defining a central channel (central channel surrounded by wall 402, seen in Figs. 4 & 6) exhausting into the combustion chamber 210 at a fuel nozzle outlet (fuel nozzle outlet seen at second end 408, seen in Figs. 2-4 & 6); and
a swirler 500, 510 (seen in Fig. 6) provided within the central channel 402, the swirler 500, 510 having a body centerline [a] (seen in annotated Fig. 6) and a helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36]) extending from the body centerline [a], the helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36]) wrapped circumferentially about the body centerline [a] greater than or equal to P/2 radians (swirler of helical shape in Fig. 6 is seen as being wrapped greater than P/2 radians about the body center line [a]) between a first end 406 and a second end 408 axially opposing the first end 406 ([0023-46]; Figs. 1-6; Annotated Fig. 6 below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 6 of Versailles (U.S. 2023/0130173)
Regarding Claim 23, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 21, and Versailles further teaches
the fuel nozzle 400 includes a fuel channel 506 extending through a portion of the swirler 500, 510, the fuel channel 506 opening into the central channel at a fuel orifice 508 (seen in Fig. 6) provided along the swirler 500, 510 ([0038]; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 24, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 23, and Versailles further teaches
the fuel orifice 508 is included within a plurality of fuel orifices 508 (seven openings 508, seen in Fig. 6) opening into the central channel 402 along the swirler 500, 510 ([0038]; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 25, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 24, and Versailles further teaches
the plurality of fuel orifices 508 are provided along the helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36], seen in Fig. 6) axially between the first end 406 and the second end 408 ([0038]; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 26, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 25, and Versailles further teaches
the plurality of fuel orifices 508 are arranged to emit a flow of fuel circumferentially (seen as arrows in Fig. 9) with respect to the body centerline [a] ([0038; 0044; 0056]; Figs. 5-6 & 9, Annotated Fig. 6 below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 6 of Versailles (U.S. 2023/0130173)
Regarding Claim 35, Versailles teaches a fuel nozzle 400 for a combustion section 210 of a turbine engine 100, the fuel nozzle 400 comprising ([0023-46]; Figs. 1-6):
a fuel nozzle body 402 defining a central channel (central channel surrounded by wall 402, seen in Figs. 4 & 6) extending between a fuel nozzle inlet 516 and a fuel nozzle outlet (fuel nozzle outlet seen at second end 408, seen in Figs. 2-4 & 6); and
a swirler 500, 510 (seen in Fig. 6) provided within the central channel 402, the swirler 500, 510 having a body centerline [a] (seen in annotated Fig. 6) and a helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36]) extending radially (seen in Fig. 6) from the body centerline [a] and wrapping circumferentially about the body centerline [a] greater than or equal to P/2 radians (swirler of helical shape in Fig. 6 is seen as being wrapped greater than P/2 radians about the body center line [a]) between a first end 406 and a second end 408 axially opposing the first end 406 ([0023-46]; Figs. 1-6; Annotated Fig. 6 below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 6 of Versailles (U.S. 2023/0130173)
Regarding Claim 37, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 35, and Versailles further teaches
the swirler 500, 510 comprises a fuel channel 506 extending through a portion of the swirler 500, 510 and opening into the central channel at a fuel orifice 508 (seen in Fig. 6) provided along the helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36]) ([0035-36; 0038]; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 38, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 37, and Versailles further teaches
the fuel orifice 508 is included within a plurality of fuel orifices 508 (seven openings 508, seen in Fig. 6) provided along the helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36], seen in Fig. 6) axially between the first end 406 and the second end 408 ([0035-36; 0038]; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 39, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 38, and Versailles further teaches
the plurality of fuel orifices 508 are arranged to emit a flow of fuel circumferentially (seen as arrows in Fig. 9) with respect to the body centerline [a] ] ([0038; 0044; 0056]; Figs. 5-6 & 9, Annotated Fig. 6 below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 6 of Versailles (U.S. 2023/0130173)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 28-32, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versailles in view of Chan 7416404.
Claims 22 and 36 are rejected, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 21 and 35, respectively. However, Versailles does not teach the swirler is included within a plurality of swirlers provided within the central channel.
Chan teaches a gas turbine engine power plant with gas feed injector 10 and
the swirler 46, 48 is included within a plurality of swirlers 46, 48 (seen in Fig. 4) provided within the central channel (central channel is the channel within body 12, seen in Fig. 4) (Col. 2, ll. 18-44, and Col. 2, l. 49-Col. 3, l. 7; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the swirler 500, 510 of Versailles to include a plurality of swirlers 500, 510, arranged as taught by Chan, in order to minimize “the chance of re-agglomeration of the blackwater in the fuel.” (Chan Col. 2, ll. 60-61). Note, Chan’s swirler 46, 48 that is included within a plurality of swirlers 46, 48 is applied for its stated and intended use of minimizing the chance of re-agglomeration of fluid flowing through the swirlers and not for its location in the prior art.
Regarding Claim 28, Versailles teaches a combustion section 104 for a turbine engine 100, the combustion section 210 comprising:
a wall 216 (seen in Fig. 2) at least partially forming a combustion chamber 210 (Fig. 2); and
a fuel nozzle 400 that opens to the combustion chamber 210 through the wall 216 (seen in Fig. 2), the fuel nozzle 400 comprising ([0023-46]; Figs. 1-6):
a fuel nozzle body 402 defining a central channel (central channel surrounded by wall 402, seen in Figs. 4 & 6) exhausting into the combustion chamber 210 at a fuel nozzle outlet (fuel nozzle outlet seen at second end 408, seen in Figs. 2-4 & 6);
a swirler 500, 510 (seen in Fig. 6) provided within the central channel 402, the swirler 500, 510 having a body centerline [a] (seen in annotated Fig. 6) and a helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36]) extending radially from and wrapping circumferentially about the body centerline [a] between a first end 406 and a second end 408 ([0023-46]; Figs. 1-6; Annotated Fig. 6 below);
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 6 of Versailles (U.S. 2023/0130173)
and a fuel channel 506 extending through a portion of the swirler 500, 510 and opening into the central channel 402 at a plurality of fuel orifices 508 provided along the helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36], seen in Fig. 6) axially between the first end 406 and the second end 408 ([0038]; Figs. 5-6).
Versailles does not teach a plurality of swirlers provided within the central channel, each swirler of the plurality of swirlers having a respective body centerline and a respective helical vane extending radially from and wrapping circumferentially about the respective body centerline between a respective first end and a respective second end.
Chan teaches
a plurality of swirlers 46, 48 provided within the central channel central channel is the channel within body 12, seen in Fig. 4), each swirler of the plurality of swirlers 46, 48 having a respective body centerline [m] and a respective helical vane 44 (seen in Fig. 4) extending radially from and wrapping circumferentially about the respective body centerline [m] between a respective first end [n] and a respective second end [p] (Col. 2, ll. 18-44, and Col. 2, l. 49-Col. 3, l. 7; Annotated Fig. 4, below).
Figure B: Annotated Fig. 4 of Chan (U.S. 7416404)
Versailles in view of Chan, as discussed so far, does not teach a plurality of swirlers provided within the central channel, each swirler of the plurality of swirlers having a respective body centerline and a respective helical vane extending radially from and wrapping circumferentially about the respective body centerline between a respective first end and a respective second end; and a fuel channel extending through a portion of a first swirler of the plurality of swirlers and opening into the central channel at a plurality of fuel orifices provided along the respective helical vane of the first swirler axially between the respective first end and the respective second end.
However, Versailles in view of Chan a combustion section 104 for a turbine engine 100 comprising a fuel nozzle 400 with a fuel nozzle body 402 defining a central channel (central channel surrounded by wall 402) and a swirler 500, 510 that includes Chan’s plurality of swirlers 500, 510. Each swirler 500, 510 of Versailles in view of Chan’s plurality of swirlers 500, 510 having a respective body centerline [a] and a respective helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape) extending radially from and wrapping circumferentially about the respective body centerline [a] between a respective first end 406 and a respective second end 408; and a fuel channel 506 extending through a portion of a first swirler 500,510 of the plurality of swirlers 500,510 and opening into the central channel (central channel surrounded by wall 402) at a plurality of fuel orifices 508 provided along the respective helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape) of the first swirler 500, 510 axially between the respective first end 406 and a respective second end 408.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the swirler 500, 510 of Versailles to include a plurality of swirlers 500, 510, arranged as taught by Chan, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claims 22 & 36 above.
Regarding Claim 29, Versailles in view of Chan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 28. However, Versailles in view of Chan, as discussed so far, does not teach the respective helical vane of each swirler is wrapped circumferentially about the respective body centerline greater than or equal to P/2 radians between the respective first end and the respective second end.
Chan further teaches
the respective helical vane 44 of each swirler 46, 48 is wrapped circumferentially about the respective body centerline [b] greater than or equal to P/2 radians (180 degrees [P radians]) between the respective first end [n] and the respective second end [m] (Col. 2, ll. 18-44, and Col. 2, l. 49-Col. 3, l. 7; Annotated Fig. 4, below).
Figure B: Annotated Fig. 4 of Chan (U.S. 7416404)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of swirlers 500, 510 of Versailles in view of Chan to have the respective helical vane 44 of each swirler 46, 48 is wrapped circumferentially about the respective body centerline [b] greater than or equal to P/2 radians (180 degrees [P radians]) between the respective first end [n] and the respective second end [m] to include a plurality of swirlers 500, 510, as taught by Chan, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claims 22 & 36 above.
Regarding Claim 30, Versailles in view of Chan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 28, and Versailles further teaches
at least a portion of the fuel channel 506 extends along the respective body centerline [a] of the first swirler 500, 510 ([0038]; Annotated Fig. 5 below).
Figure C: Annotated Fig. 5 of Versailles (U.S. 2023/0130173)
Regarding Claim 31, Versailles in view of Chan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 28, and Versailles further teaches
at least two fuel orifices 508 of the plurality of fuel orifices 508 are axially spaced (seen in Fig. 6) along the respective helical vane 500,510 (500, 510 described as helical shape in [0035-36], seen in Fig. 6) of the first swirler 500,510 ([0038]; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 32, Versailles in view of Chan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 28, and Versailles further teaches
the plurality of fuel orifices 508 are arranged to emit a flow of fuel circumferentially (seen as arrows in Fig. 9) with respect to the respective body centerline [a] of the first swirler 500, 510 ([0038; 0044; 0056]; Figs. 5-6 & 9, Annotated Fig. 6 below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 6 of Versailles (U.S. 2023/0130173)
Claims 27 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versailles in view of Vise 2023/0212984.
Regarding Claims 27 and 40, Versailles teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 23 and 37, respectively. However, Versailles does not teach the fuel channel is configured to feed a flow of hydrogen-containing fuel to the central channel.
Vise teaches an engine fuel nozzle and swirler that different fuels, such as hydrogen fuels for hydrogen-based fuels can be used, in an engine fuel nozzle and swirler, in order to reduce or eliminate carbon emissions or improve efficiency ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the fuel nozzle 400 of Versailles to use Vise’s hydrogen fuels for hydrogen-based fuels, in order to reduce or eliminate carbon emissions or improve efficiency (Vise ([0065]).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versailles in view of Chan, and further in view of Quay 11946644.
Regarding Claim 33, Versailles in view of Chan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 28. However, Versailles in view of Chan does not teach the plurality of swirlers includes a central swirler and a plurality of peripheral swirlers circumferentially arranged about the central swirler.
Quay teaches
the plurality of swirlers 400A-400N includes a central swirler 400A and a plurality of peripheral swirlers 400B-400N circumferentially arranged (seen in Figs. 2 & 4) about the central swirler 400A (Col. 5, l. 60-Col. 6, l. 16; Figs. 2 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of swirlers 500, 510 of Versailles in view of Chan and arrange the plurality of swirlers 500, 510 such that the plurality of swirlers 400A-400N includes a central swirler 400A and a plurality of peripheral swirlers 400B-400N circumferentially arranged (seen in Figs. 2 & 4) about the central swirler 400A, as taught by Quay, because the arrangements and shapes of swirlers depend on the design objectives of a particular implementation (Quay, Col. 5, l. 60-Col. 6, l. 16).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versailles in view of Chan, and further in view of Vise.
Regarding Claim 34, Versailles in view of Chan teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 28. However, Versailles in view of Chan does not teach the fuel channel is configured to feed a flow of hydrogen-containing fuel to the central channel.
Vise teaches an engine fuel nozzle and swirler that different fuels, such as hydrogen fuels for hydrogen-based fuels can be used, in an engine fuel nozzle and swirler, in order to reduce or eliminate carbon emissions or improve efficiency ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify fuel nozzle 400 of Versailles in view of Chan to use Vise’s hydrogen fuels for hydrogen-based fuels, in order to reduce or eliminate carbon emissions or improve efficiency (Vise ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the fuel nozzle 400 of Versailles in view of Chan to use Vise’s hydrogen fuels for hydrogen-based fuels, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claims 27 & 40 above.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JACEK LISOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3741