Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 11, 2025, November 18, 2025, and June 12, 2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 12c, 121c, 122c, and 123c.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 131c, 132c, and 133c.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, “the plurality of isolation groove” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the plurality of isolation grooves”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an operating wavelength of the second radiation assembly" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to the previous “an operating wavelength of the second radiation assembly” or a new limitation.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to the previous “an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly” or a new limitation.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "an operating wavelength of the second radiation assembly" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to the previous “an operating wavelength of the second radiation assembly” or a new limitation.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to the previous “an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly” or a new limitation.
Claims 3-15 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claims 18-20 inherit the deficiencies of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zimmerman et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0280879 A1), hereinafter known as Zimmerman.
Regarding claim 1, Zimmerman discloses (Fig. 3-10C and 27) An antenna (Fig. 27), comprising: a first radiation assembly (126); a second radiation assembly (124), wherein an operating frequency of the second radiation assembly is less than an operating frequency of the first radiation assembly ([0088]); and a feeder assembly (30, 32, 34), in feeding connection to the first radiation assembly, wherein the feeder assembly comprises a first feeder (32), a ground cable (34), and a second feeder (30) that are stacked sequentially, and the feeder assembly has a length ranging from one-eighth to one-half of an operating wavelength of the second radiation assembly ([0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Zimmerman further discloses (Fig. 3 and 27) further comprising a backplane (20a), wherein one end of the feeder assembly (30, 32, 34) that is away from the first radiation assembly (126) is connected to the backplane (20a).
Regarding claim 6, Zimmerman further discloses (Fig. 3-4 and 27) wherein an avoidance groove (groove in 20a at 32) provided at one end of the ground cable (34) that is away from the first radiation assembly (126), and projections of the first feeder (32) and the second feeder (30) on the ground cable (34) are located in the avoidance groove (groove in 20a at 32).
Regarding claim 15, Zimmerman further discloses (Fig. 13-14) further comprising at least one director (50), wherein the at least one director is disposed in a radiation direction of the first radiation assembly (10b).
Regarding claim 16, Zimmerman discloses (Fig. 3-10C and 27) A communication device (Fig. 27; Abstract), comprising a controller ([0010] and [0087]) and an antenna (Fig. 27), wherein the controller ([0010] and [0087]) is connected to a feeder assembly of the antenna (Fig. 27), wherein the antenna (Fig. 27) comprises a first radiation assembly (126); a second radiation assembly (124), wherein an operating frequency of the second radiation assembly is less than an operating frequency of the first radiation assembly ([0088]); and the feeder assembly (30, 32, 34), in feeding connection to the first radiation assembly, wherein the feeder assembly comprises a first feeder (32), a ground cable (34), and a second feeder (30) that are stacked sequentially, and the feeder assembly has a length ranging from one-eighth to one-half of an operating wavelength of the second radiation assembly ([0056]).
Regarding claim 20, Zimmerman further discloses (Fig. 3 and 27) further comprising a backplane (20a), wherein one end of the feeder assembly (30, 32, 34) that is away from the first radiation assembly (126) is connected to the backplane (20a).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farzaneh et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0173186 A1), hereinafter known as Farzaneh.
Regarding claim 1, Farzaneh discloses (Fig. 2A) An antenna (200), comprising: a first radiation assembly (215-230); a second radiation assembly (255), wherein an operating frequency of the second radiation assembly is less than an operating frequency of the first radiation assembly ([0031]); and a feeder assembly (135, 155), in feeding connection to the first radiation assembly, wherein the feeder assembly comprises a first feeder (135), a ground cable (155), and a second feeder (135) that are stacked sequentially, and the feeder assembly has a length ranging from one-eighth to one-half of an operating wavelength of the second radiation assembly ([0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman in view of Asanuma et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0082898 A1), hereinafter known as Asanuma.
Regarding claim 2, Zimmerman does not specifically teach wherein the ground cable has an open-circuit stub, and a length of the open-circuit stub is one-quarter of an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly.
However, Asanuma teaches (Fig. 1 and 17) wherein the ground cable has an open-circuit stub (S0, S1, S2), and a length of the open-circuit stub is one-quarter of an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly ([0067]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Zimmerman with Asanuma to include “wherein the ground cable has an open-circuit stub, and a length of the open-circuit stub is one-quarter of an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly,” as taught by Asanuma, for the purpose of reducing size and improving flexibility in configuration (see also [0069]).
Regarding claim 17, Zimmerman does not specifically teach wherein the ground cable has an open-circuit stub, and a length of the open-circuit stub is one-quarter of an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly.
However, Asanuma teaches (Fig. 1 and 17) wherein the ground cable has an open-circuit stub (S0, S1, S2), and a length of the open-circuit stub is one-quarter of an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly ([0067]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the communication device of Zimmerman with Asanuma to include “wherein the ground cable has an open-circuit stub, and a length of the open-circuit stub is one-quarter of an operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly,” as taught by Asanuma, for the purpose of reducing size and improving flexibility in configuration (see also [0069]).
Claims 3-4 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman in view of Wang et al. (CN 108172981 A), hereinafter known as Wang .
Regarding claim 3, Zimmerman does not specifically teach further comprising a shielding part, wherein the feeder assembly has a corner, and the shielding part is disposed in proximity to the corner.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 4) a shielding part (52, 53), wherein the feeder assembly has a corner (inner corner of 12), and the shielding part (52, 53) is disposed in proximity to the corner.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Zimmerman with Wang to include “a shielding part, wherein the feeder assembly has a corner, and the shielding part is disposed in proximity to the corner,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of improving stability (see also [0036] of machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, Zimmerman does not specifically teach wherein the shielding part is U-shaped, the shielding part is sleeved on a periphery of the feeder assembly, and two ends of the shielding part are grounded.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 4) wherein the shielding part (52, 53) is U-shaped, the shielding part (52, 53) is sleeved on a periphery of the feeder assembly (40), and two ends of the shielding part (30, 36) are grounded.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Zimmerman with Wang to include “wherein the shielding part is U-shaped, the shielding part is sleeved on a periphery of the feeder assembly, and two ends of the shielding part are grounded,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of insulation (see also [0048] of machine translation).
Regarding claim 18, Zimmerman does not specifically teach further comprising a shielding part, wherein the feeder assembly has a corner, and the shielding part is disposed in proximity to the corner.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 4) a shielding part (52, 53), wherein the feeder assembly has a corner (inner corner of 12), and the shielding part (52, 53) is disposed in proximity to the corner.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the communication device of Zimmerman with Wang to include “a shielding part, wherein the feeder assembly has a corner, and the shielding part is disposed in proximity to the corner,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of improving stability (see also [0036] of machine translation).
Regarding claim 19, Zimmerman does not specifically teach wherein the shielding part is U-shaped, the shielding part is sleeved on a periphery of the feeder assembly, and two ends of the shielding part are grounded.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 4) wherein the shielding part (52, 53) is U-shaped, the shielding part (52, 53) is sleeved on a periphery of the feeder assembly (40), and two ends of the shielding part (30, 36) are grounded.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the communication device of Zimmerman with Wang to include “wherein the shielding part is U-shaped, the shielding part is sleeved on a periphery of the feeder assembly, and two ends of the shielding part are grounded,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of insulation (see also [0048] of machine translation).
Claims 7-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farzaneh in view of Yokokawa et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0395676 A1), hereinafter known as Yokokawa.
Regarding claim 7, Farzaneh does not specifically teach wherein the first radiation assembly comprises a substrate, a first polarization strip, and a second polarization strip; the substrate has a first plate surface and a second plate surface that are disposed facing away from each other; a conductive layer is disposed on the first plate surface, and the conductive layer is provided with a first polarization radiation slot and a second polarization radiation slot; the first polarization radiation slot comprises a first slot segment and a second slot segment, and the second polarization radiation slot comprises a third slot segment and a fourth slot segment; the first polarization strip is disposed on the second plate surface, and the first polarization strip is configured to excite the first slot segment and the second slot segment in the first polarization radiation slot; the second polarization strip is disposed on the second plate surface, and the second polarization strip is configured to excite the third slot segment and the fourth slot segment in the second polarization radiation slot; and the first feeder is connected to the first polarization strip, the second feeder is connected to the second polarization strip, and the ground cable is connected to the conductive layer.
However, Yokokawa teaches (Fig. 7-8) wherein the first radiation assembly comprises a substrate (11), a first polarization strip (13), and a second polarization strip (15); the substrate has a first plate surface (top of 11) and a second plate surface (bottom of 11) that are disposed facing away from each other; a conductive layer (5) is disposed on the first plate surface (top of 11), and the conductive layer (5) is provided with a first polarization radiation slot (horizontal 17) and a second polarization radiation slot (vertical 17); the first polarization radiation slot (horizontal 17) comprises a first slot segment (left horizontal 17) and a second slot segment (right horizontal 17), and the second polarization radiation slot (vertical 17) comprises a third slot segment (top vertical 17) and a fourth slot segment (bottom vertical 17); the first polarization strip (13) is disposed on the second plate surface (bottom of 11), and the first polarization strip (13) is configured to excite the first slot segment (left horizontal 17) and the second slot segment (right horizontal 17) in the first polarization radiation slot (horizontal 17); the second polarization strip (15) is disposed on the second plate surface (bottom of 11), and the second polarization strip (15) is configured to excite the third slot segment (top vertical 17) and the fourth slot segment (bottom vertical 17) in the second polarization radiation slot (vertical 17); and the first feeder (14) is connected to the first polarization strip (13), the second feeder (16) is connected to the second polarization strip (15), and the ground is connected to the conductive layer ([0052]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Yokokawa to include “wherein the first radiation assembly comprises a substrate, a first polarization strip, and a second polarization strip; the substrate has a first plate surface and a second plate surface that are disposed facing away from each other; a conductive layer is disposed on the first plate surface, and the conductive layer is provided with a first polarization radiation slot and a second polarization radiation slot; the first polarization radiation slot comprises a first slot segment and a second slot segment, and the second polarization radiation slot comprises a third slot segment and a fourth slot segment; the first polarization strip is disposed on the second plate surface, and the first polarization strip is configured to excite the first slot segment and the second slot segment in the first polarization radiation slot; the second polarization strip is disposed on the second plate surface, and the second polarization strip is configured to excite the third slot segment and the fourth slot segment in the second polarization radiation slot; and the first feeder is connected to the first polarization strip, the second feeder is connected to the second polarization strip, and the ground is connected to the conductive layer,” as taught by Yokokawa, for the purpose of improving feeding efficiency (see also [0134]).
Regarding claim 8, Farzaneh does not specifically teach wherein the first polarization strip has a first connection point, a first feed point, and a second feed point; the first feeder is connected to the first connection point, the first feed point is configured to excite the first slot segment, and the second feed point is configured to excite the second slot segment; and a connection distance between the first connection point and the first feed point is equal to a connection distance between the first connection point and the second feed point.
However, Yokokawa teaches (Fig. 7-8) wherein the first polarization strip (13) has a first connection point (14), a first feed point (left 13b), and a second feed point (right 13b); the first feeder (14) is connected to the first connection point (14), the first feed point (left 13b) is configured to excite the first slot segment (left horizontal 17), and the second feed point (right 13b) is configured to excite the second slot segment (right horizontal 17); and a connection distance between the first connection point (14) and the first feed point (left 13b) is equal to a connection distance between the first connection point (14) and the second feed point (right 13b).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Yokokawa to include “wherein the first polarization strip has a first connection point, a first feed point, and a second feed point; the first feeder is connected to the first connection point, the first feed point is configured to excite the first slot segment, and the second feed point is configured to excite the second slot segment; and a connection distance between the first connection point and the first feed point is equal to a connection distance between the first connection point and the second feed point,” as taught by Yokokawa, for the purpose of improving feeding efficiency (see also [0134]).
Regarding claim 9, Farzaneh further teaches (Fig. 2B) and one end of the first feeder (135) is soldered to the first pad (235; [0030]) but does not specifically teach wherein a first pad is disposed on the first plate surface, and the antenna is provided with a first via that penetrates through the first plate surface and the second plate surface, and the first pad is connected to the first connection point through the first via.
However, Yokokawa teaches (Fig. 12) wherein a first pad (23) is disposed on the first plate surface (top of 21), and the antenna is provided with a first via (via at 14) that penetrates through the first plate surface (top of 21) and the second plate surface (bottom of 21), and the first pad (23) is connected to the first connection point (14) through the first via (via at 14).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Yokokawa to include “wherein a first pad is disposed on the first plate surface, and the antenna is provided with a first via that penetrates through the first plate surface and the second plate surface, and the first pad is connected to the first connection point through the first via,” as taught by Yokokawa, for the purpose of reducing cross polarization (see also [0166]).
Regarding claim 10, Farzaneh does not specifically teach wherein the second polarization strip has a second connection point, a third feed point, and a fourth feed point; the second feeder is connected to the second connection point, the third feed point is configured to excite the third slot segment, and the fourth feed point is configured to excite the fourth slot segment; and a connection distance between the second connection point and the third feed point is equal to a connection distance between the second connection point and the fourth feed point.
However, Yokokawa teaches (Fig. 7-8) wherein the second polarization strip (15) has a second connection point (16), a third feed point (top 13b), and a fourth feed point (bottom 13b); the second feeder (16) is connected to the second connection point (16), the third feed point (top 13b) is configured to excite the third slot segment (top vertical 17), and the fourth feed point (bottom 13b) is configured to excite the fourth slot segment (bottom vertical 17); and a connection distance between the second connection point (16) and the third feed point (top 13b) is equal to a connection distance between the second connection point (16) and the fourth feed point (bottom 13b).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Yokokawa to include “wherein the second polarization strip has a second connection point, a third feed point, and a fourth feed point; the second feeder is connected to the second connection point, the third feed point is configured to excite the third slot segment, and the fourth feed point is configured to excite the fourth slot segment; and a connection distance between the second connection point and the third feed point is equal to a connection distance between the second connection point and the fourth feed point,” as taught by Yokokawa, for the purpose of improving feeding efficiency (see also [0134]).
Regarding claim 11, Farzaneh further teaches (Fig. 2B) and one end of the second feeder (135) is soldered to the second pad (235; [0030]) but does not specifically teach wherein a second pad is disposed on the first plate surface, and the antenna is provided with a second via that penetrates through the first plate surface and the second plate surface, and the second pad is connected to the second connection point through the second via.
However, Yokokawa teaches (Fig. 12) wherein a second pad (23) is disposed on the first plate surface (top of 21), and the antenna is provided with a second via (via at 14) that penetrates through the first plate surface (top of 21) and the second plate surface (bottom of 21), and the second pad (23) is connected to the second connection point (14) through the second via (via at 14).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Yokokawa to include “wherein a second pad is disposed on the first plate surface, and the antenna is provided with a second via that penetrates through the first plate surface and the second plate surface, and the second pad is connected to the second connection point through the second via,” as taught by Yokokawa, for the purpose of reducing cross polarization (see also [0166]).
Regarding claim 14, Farzaneh does not specifically teach wherein the first polarization radiation slot and the second polarization radiation slot are provided orthogonally.
However, Yokokawa teaches (Fig. 8) wherein the first polarization radiation slot (horizontal 17) and the second polarization radiation slot (vertical 17) are provided orthogonally.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Yokokawa to include “wherein the first polarization radiation slot and the second polarization radiation slot are provided orthogonally,” as taught by Yokokawa, for the purpose of improving feeding efficiency (see also [0134]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farzaneh in view of Yokokawa as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Poussot et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0269400 A1), hereinafter known as Poussot.
Regarding claim 12, Farzaneh does not specifically teach wherein the conductive layer is further provided with a plurality of isolation grooves, and the plurality of isolation groove are provided along an edge of the conductive layer.
However, Poussot teaches (Fig. 1) wherein the conductive layer (14) is further provided with a plurality of isolation grooves (160-163), and the plurality of isolation groove (160-163) are provided along an edge of the conductive layer (14).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Poussot to include “wherein the conductive layer is further provided with a plurality of isolation grooves, and the plurality of isolation groove are provided along an edge of the conductive layer,” as taught by Poussot, for the purpose of improving isolation between feed points (see also [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Farzaneh does not specifically teach wherein a length of an isolation groove of the plurality of isolation grooves is one-quarter of the operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly.
However, Poussot teaches (Fig. 1) wherein a length of an isolation groove of the plurality of isolation grooves (160-163) is one-quarter of the operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Farzaneh with Poussot to include “wherein a length of an isolation groove of the plurality of isolation grooves is one-quarter of the operating wavelength of the first radiation assembly,” as taught by Poussot, for the purpose of improving isolation between feed points (see also [0033]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845