DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshikawa et al. (US Patent Number 10737599).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa discloses a vehicle seating assembly comprising: a seat; a seatback including: a frame having: substantially horizontal frame members; substantially vertical frame members (see at least Figure 4 showing the seat and frame members); first and second support members (8 and 18, etc., and 9 and 19, etc., respectively) operably coupled to the substantially horizontal frame members; and first and second displacement limiters (at least 11 and 12) coupled to the first and second support members, wherein the first and second support members are movable between a stored position and a deployed position (as in Figure 5) in response to a force exerted on the seatback (at least via the sensors, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshikawa further discloses the first and second displacement limiters extend between the first and second support members and the frame (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshikawa further discloses the seat back has a back wall formed by adjacent first and second displaceable panels (8 and 9 provide such panels forming a back wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa in view of Merchant et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0070690). Yoshikawa discloses an assembly as explained above but does not disclose details of the support members. Merchant discloses a related device including support members including flanges (24, 25, etc.) extending orthogonally from the support members, and a back support member (22 and/or 86) disposed proximate a frame, wherein the back support member and other support members define a substantially flat load floor when the seatback is in a folded position (see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide support member details as taught by Merchant in Yoshikawa’s device because this could improve comfort and functionality for various users.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art (in addition to Yoshikawa, see in particular US 9358913 to Schurg, US 9187012 to Sachs, and US 7537286 to Walker) does not disclose, inter alia, a seat and seatback frame arrangement including support members arranged and pivoted at locations as claimed, nor would it have been obvious to provide such.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636