4-153DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on July 24, 2026. Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-15 remain pending, claims 2 and 13 have cancelled and claim 16 has been added in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on application filed in Korea on November 7, 2022 and December 27, 2022 has been acknowledged and considered by Examiner. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) that are placed on record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 10 in the Remarks section (pages 9-13) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kim does not teach a second mode where input signals for the sliding movement are ignored. However, while Kim teaches a first mode and conditions that affect sliding movement of a second housing with respect to a first housing, Seo was relied upon to teach a second mode specifically restricting power to a driving unit of a slideable display device. When functions such as listed such as signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication occurred, the sliding motion was in a restricted mode. Therefore, if the mode of Kim was added to the mobile terminal of Seo, even if the input touch greater than threshold was received, it would not cause a sliding movement in the electronic device, meeting claim limitations. If the second mode had additional stipulations, it is noted although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 3-9, 11-12 and 14-16 in the Remarks section (pages 10 and 13-14) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0188639 A1 by Kim in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0040057 by Seo et al. (“Seo.”)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device (Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) comprising:
a first housing; a second housing slidably coupled to the first housing (Fig. 3; first frame 101 and second frame 102; [0119], Such a second frame 102 is movably coupled to the first frame 101, and thus may slide in the predetermined first or second direction D1 or D2 relative to the first frame 101);
a flexible display having a visually exposed display region that is reduced or expanded based on sliding in or sliding out of the second housing; an input unit configured to receive an input (Fig. 6; [0138]-[0139], FIG. 6(b) is a diagram illustrating a state in which the display of the mobile terminal 300 is expanded by the physical key 321. The display includes a fixed display 311a in which a size thereof in (a) in FIG. 6 does not change and an extended display 311b extended by a user pressing the physical key 321. It is possible to use a touch input signal sensed by a sensing unit as well as in [0146]);
a processor ([0103], the controller 180 may be a circuit board including a processor); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to ([0077], It is common for application programs to be stored in the memory 170, installed in the mobile terminal 100, and executed by the controller 180 to perform an operation (or function) for the mobile terminal 100):
in case that a trigger signal for the second housing to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing is received via the input unit in a first mode, in which the second housing is allowed to slide in or slide out with respect to the first housing (Fig. 15; [0180]-[0181], the selection menu 465 may be displayed overlapping with a touch drag region. In this case, the user may select a size of the extended display desired by the user in the selection menu).
identify whether a condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing is satisfied ([0146], If the touch signal was not greater than or equal to a threshold, then the sliding did not occur),
based on the condition not being satisfied, drive the motor for the second housing to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing ([0146], if the touch signal was greater, then the sliding did occur, therefore, the signal may be transmitted to the controller 430, and the controller 430 may control the driving unit 440 to change sizes of the body 45 ); and
based on the condition being satisfied, refrain from performing the sliding movement by the second hosing with respect to the first housing ([0146], If the touch signal was not greater than or equal to a threshold, then the sliding did not occur), and
in the case the trigger signal is received via the input unit in a second mode, in which the second housing is disallowed to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing, refrain from performing the sliding movement by the second housing with respect to the first housing in response to receiving the trigger signal ([0148], Therefore, when a specific region of the first display 411 is touched, whether the threshold value is satisfied may be determined based on a touch region 421 to determine whether to extend the first display 411 of the mobile terminal 400. If the threshold wasn’t in specific region, this constituted a second mode).
However, Kim does not specifically call the specific region a second mode.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. 0133 When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is further configured to, in the second mode, in case that the trigger signal is received via the input unit, allow the flexible display to provide a pop-up message notifying that the second mode has been configured.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. 0133 When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). The processor 510 may output a notification for this through the flexible display 120 in response to an operation of restricting the movement of the second housing 112. In an example, the processor 510 may output a notification message 902 stating that ‘the display extension is restricted according to the device temperature adjustment’ through the flexible display 120 (Seo Fig. 9B; [0155]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
in case that a trigger signal for the second housing to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing is received via the input unit in a third mode, in which the second housing is allowed to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing, drive the motor for the second housing to slide in or slide out with respect to the second housing (Fig. 15; [0180]-[0181], the selection menu 465 may be displayed overlapping with a touch drag region. In this case, the user may select a size of the extended display desired by the user in the selection menu such as between multiple steps).
Regarding claim 7, Kim does not teach electronic device of claim 1, wherein the condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing is identified as being satisfied if a defined application is being executed.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. 0133 When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). The processor 510 may output a notification for this through the flexible display 120 in response to an operation of restricting the movement of the second housing 112. In an example, the processor 510 may output a notification message 902 stating that ‘the display extension is restricted according to the device temperature adjustment’ through the flexible display 120 (Seo Fig. 9B; [0155]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]) .
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not teach electronic device of claim 1, wherein the condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing is identified as being satisfied if the electronic device is being charged.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). The heating part 530 may include a resistance component when charge/power is provided to the heating part 530, part of power may be dissipated as thermal energy by the resistance component (Seo [0104]).. The processor 510 may output a notification for this through the flexible display 120 in response to an operation of restricting the movement of the second housing 112. In an example, the processor 510 may output a notification message 902 stating that ‘the display extension is restricted according to the device temperature adjustment’ through the flexible display 120 (Seo Fig. 9B; [0155]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]) .
Regarding claim 9, Kim does not teach electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises a sensor module, and wherein the electronic device is further configured to, in the first mode, detect an internal temperature or moisture of the electronic device by using the sensor module and, in case that the internal temperature of the electronic device exceeds a designated temperature or moisture is detected in the electronic device, refrain from performing the sliding movement of the second housing with respect to the first housing.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. 0133 When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). Any excessive heat increase in the temperature was able to have measured by the processor measuring the ambient temperature of the flexible display 120, detected through at least one internal temperature sensor 520. The processor 510 may output a notification for this through the flexible display 120 in response to an operation of restricting the movement of the second housing 112. In an example, the processor 510 may output a notification message 902 stating that ‘the display extension is restricted according to the device temperature adjustment through the flexible display 120 (Seo Fig. 6A and 9B; [0155]; [0099]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a method of controlling an electronic device (Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) comprising:
the electronic device comprising a first housing, a second housing slidably coupled to the first housing (Fig. 3; first frame 101 and second frame 102; [0119], Such a second frame 102 is movably coupled to the first frame 101, and thus may slide in the predetermined first or second direction D1 or D2 relative to the first frame 101),
a flexible display comprising a visually exposed display region that is reduced or expanded based on sliding in or sliding out of the second housing; an input unit(Fig. 6; [0138]-[0139], FIG. 6(b) is a diagram illustrating a state in which the display of the mobile terminal 300 is expanded by the physical key 321. The display includes a fixed display 311a in which a size thereof in (a) in FIG. 6 does not change and an extended display 311b extended by a user pressing the physical key 321. It is possible to use a touch input signal sensed by a sensing unit as well as in [0146]);
in case that a trigger signal for the second housing to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing is received via the input unit in a first mode, in which the second housing is allowed to slide in or slide out with respect to the first housing (Fig. 15; [0180]-[0181], the selection menu 465 may be displayed overlapping with a touch drag region. In this case, the user may select a size of the extended display desired by the user in the selection menu).
identifing whether a condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing is satisfied ([0146], If the touch signal was not greater than or equal to a threshold, then the sliding did not occur),
based on the condition not being satisfied, drive the motor for the second housing to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing ([0146], if the touch signal was greater, then the sliding did occur, therefore, the signal may be transmitted to the controller 430, and the controller 430 may control the driving unit 440 to change sizes of the body 45 ); and
based on the condition being satisfied, refrain from performing the sliding movement by the second hosing with respect to the first housing ([0146], If the touch signal was not greater than or equal to a threshold, then the sliding did not occur), and
in the case the trigger signal is received via the input unit in a second mode, in which the second housing is disallowed to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing, refrain from performing the sliding movement by the second housing with respect to the first housing in response to receiving the trigger signal ([0148], Therefore, when a specific region of the first display 411 is touched, whether the threshold value is satisfied may be determined based on a touch region 421 to determine whether to extend the first display 411 of the mobile terminal 400. If the threshold wasn’t in specific region, this constituted a second mode).
However, Kim does not specifically call the specific region a second mode.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. 0133 When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, comprising in case that the trigger signal is received via the input unit, providing, by the flexible display, pop-up message notifying that the second mode has been configured.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. 0133 When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). The processor 510 may output a notification for this through the flexible display 120 in response to an operation of restricting the movement of the second housing 112. In an example, the processor 510 may output a notification message 902 stating that ‘the display extension is restricted according to the device temperature adjustment’ through the flexible display 120 (Seo Fig. 9B; [0155]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
in case that a trigger signal for the second housing to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing is received via the input unit in a third mode, in which the second housing is allowed to perform the sliding movement with respect to the first housing, drive the motor for the second housing to slide in or slide out with respect to the second housing (Fig. 15; [0180]-[0181], the selection menu 465 may be displayed overlapping with a touch drag region. In this case, the user may select a size of the extended display desired by the user in the selection menu such as between multiple steps).
Regarding claim 14, Kim does not teach the method of claim 10,
wherein the condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing is identified in case the flexible display of the electronic device is facing down, in case that the flexible display is identified as having been flipped over toward a ground, in case that the electronic device is running a designated application or in case that the electronic device is being charged.
In the analogous art of slidable second housing relative to a first housing of a display device, Kim teaches when the processor 510 is performing or is scheduled to perform a function (e.g., signal transmission/reception through an antenna module, or communication through a wired/wireless communication circuit) through the heating part 530 disposed inside the electronic device 101, the processor 510 may restrict the supplying of the power to at least one of the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140. 0133 When the driving unit, metal plate, or support structure was restricted, the sliding movement of the second housing was restricted (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133] and [0086]). In an example, the processor 510 may output a notification message 902 stating that ‘the display extension is restricted according to the device temperature adjustment through the flexible display 120 (Seo Fig. 9B; [0155]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had disabled sliding when the processor was scheduled to perform certain functions in the slidable display of Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the driving unit 150, the metal plate 121, and the support structure 140 been restricted to reduce or prevent the electronic device 101 from an excessive increase in temperature since the processor produces or was scheduled to produce heat from by performing the function (Seo Figs. 1-2; [0133]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Seo renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 9 above.
Claims 5-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0188369 A1 by Kim in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/ A1 by 2023/0040057 by Seo, and further in view of Foreign Patent Publication WO 2022/042274 A1 by Li et al. (“Li.”)
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Seo does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing is identified as being satisfied if the flexible display of the electronic device facing down.
In the analogous art of electronic devices with display screens, Li teaches wherein there is an object occlusion within the preset distance of the screen, which may indicate that the screen is occluded, and the user does not need to watch the screen of the electronic device. For example, the electronic device is placed in a pocket, and the electronic device is placed on a table with the screen facing down (Li Page 37, last paragraph and Page 38, first paragraph). When the proximity light sensor detects that there is an object blocking within the preset distance of the screen, the electronic device 100 can keep the screen in an off-screen state (Li Page 38, third paragraph). Therefore, the touch input could not be performed on the flexible screen of the device to extend the display of Kim. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have turned off the screen in object occlusion settings for the mobile terminal with a flexible display of Kim in view of Seo. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated turning of the screen when it is determined that the user does not need to watch the screen, thereby saving power consumption and avoiding accidental touches (Li Page 44, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Seo does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing is identified as being satisfied if the electronic device is placed in a pocket.
In the analogous art of electronic devices with display screens, Li teaches wherein there is an object occlusion within the preset distance of the screen, which may indicate that the screen is occluded, and the user does not need to watch the screen of the electronic device. For example, the electronic device is placed in a pocket, and the electronic device is placed on a table with the screen facing down (Li Page 37, last paragraph and Page 38, first paragraph). When the proximity light sensor detects that there is an object blocking within the preset distance of the screen, the electronic device 100 can keep the screen in an off-screen state (Li Page 38, third paragraph). Therefore, the touch input could not be performed on the flexible screen of the device to extend the display of Kim. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have turned off the screen in object occlusion settings for the mobile terminal with a flexible display of Kim in view of Seo. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated turning of the screen when it is determined that the user does not need to watch the screen, thereby saving power consumption and avoiding accidental touches (Li Page 44, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, Kim does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the condition of the electronic device for disabling the sliding movement of the second housing in the first mode comprises at least one the electronic device facing down, the electronic device being placed in a pocket, a specific application is being executed, or the electronic device being charged.
While Kim teaches that the specific region of the first display was required to be touched, Kim did not teach what the region not being accessible to touch the electronic device is what specific condition, such as the electronic device facing down, the electronic device being placed in a pocket, a specific application is being executed, or the electronic device being charged.
In the analogous art of electronic devices with display screens, Li teaches wherein there is an object occlusion within the preset distance of the screen, which may indicate that the screen is occluded, and the user does not need to watch the screen of the electronic device. For example, the electronic device is placed in a pocket, and the electronic device is placed on a table with the screen facing down (Li Page 37, last paragraph and Page 38, first paragraph). When the proximity light sensor detects that there is an object blocking within the preset distance of the screen, the electronic device 100 can keep the screen in an off-screen state (Li Page 38, third paragraph). Therefore, the touch input could not be performed on the flexible screen of the device to extend the display of Kim. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have turned off the screen in object occlusion settings for the mobile terminal with a flexible display of Kim in view of Seo. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated turning of the screen when it is determined that the user does not need to watch the screen, thereby saving power consumption and avoiding accidental touches (Li Page 44, second paragraph).
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621