DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 1, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8, 11-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "an other revision value associated with the request" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Revision values had not been previously recited before the first instance of a revision value found in lines 2-3 of claim 3.
Claims 13 and 19 recite similar claim language and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claims 4-8, 12-16 and 20 are rejected as being dependent upon, and thus incorporating therein, the rejected subject matter of the respective parent claim.
The following prior art rejections are made in light of the aforementioned 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yelovitch et al. US# 2020/03202542).
Regarding claim 1, Yelovitch et al. teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by an object storage system, a request to delete any objects matching a key pattern from a bucket of the object storage system; and deleting, in response to the request, a plurality of objects matching the key pattern from the bucket of the object storage system [para 0028, lines 1-2: AWS S3; para 0036, Tables 1 and 2 (operations DeleteObject and DeleteObjectversion); Yelovitch et al. teaches use of the AWS S3:DeleteObject and s3:deleteObjectVersion. However, Yelovitch et al. does not explicitly recite how these two operations perform. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the AWS command S3:DeleteObject, when sent and initiated by the storage system, removes an object or objects from a bucket based on an object key matching the pattern, or key, specified in the command argument. Supplemental references have been provided to further explain the operation, including at least DeleteObjects and GetObject].
Regarding claim 2, Yelovitch et al. teaches receiving, while deleting the plurality of objects is in progress, an operation associated with an object key matching the key pattern; and denying the operation in response to the object key matching the key pattern [0028, lines 1-2: AWS S3; Yelovitch teaches inclusion of commands of AWS S3, including that of DeleteObject and GetObject, where one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that GetObject is used for getting objects from S3 buckets, and that for concurrent DeleteObject and GetObject operations, if DeleteObject concludes before GetObject finishes, GetObject will be not retrieve the data and return an error].
Regarding claim 3, Yelovitch et al. teaches wherein deleting the plurality of objects matching the key pattern comprises deleting the plurality of objects matching the key pattern and having a revision value less than an other revision value associated with the request [0036, Tables 1&2; s3:DeleteObjectVersion].
Regarding claim 4, Yelovitch et al. teaches further comprising incrementing a stored revision value in response to receiving the request, wherein the other revision value is equal to the incremented stored revision value [each iteration of DeleteObjectVersion may be iteratively increased on subsequent uses of the operation].
Regarding claim 5, Yelovitch et al. teaches further comprising allowing, while deleting the plurality of objects is in progress, one or more object storage operations targeting the bucket [as one of ordinary skill would recognize, a GetObject to one object and a DeleteObject or DeleteObjectVersion to a different object would be allowed to occur concurrently].
Regarding claim 6, Yelovitch et al. teaches further comprising receiving, while deleting the plurality of objects is in progress, an operation targeting an object stored in the bucket having an object key matching the key pattern [0028, lines 1-2: AWS S3; Yelovitch teaches inclusion of commands of AWS S3, including that of DeleteObject and GetObject, where one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that GetObject is used for getting objects from S3 buckets, and that for concurrent DeleteObject and GetObject operations, if DeleteObject concludes before GetObject finishes, GetObject will be not retrieve the data and return an error].
Regarding claim 7, Yelovitch et al. teaches further comprising allowing the operation in response to the revision value of the object being greater than or equal to the other revision value [separate DeleteObjectVersion operations with different version arguments would be allowed to occur].
Regarding claim 8, Yelovitch et al. teaches further comprising denying the operation in response to the revision value of the object being less than the other revision value [0028, lines 1-2: AWS S3; Yelovitch teaches inclusion of commands of AWS S3, including that of DeleteObjectVersion and GetObjectVersion, where one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that GetObjectVersion is used for getting objects from S3 buckets, and that for concurrent DeleteObjectVersion and GetObjectVersion operations, if DeleteObjectVersion concludes before GetObjectVersion finishes, GetObjectVersion will be denied concluding the operation by way of not returning the object as specified by the command].
Claims 9 and 11 recite similar claim language to that of claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 10 and 18 recite similar claim language to that of claim 2, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claims 11 and 19 recite similar claim language to that of claim 3, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claims 12 and 20 recite similar claim language to that of claim 4, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 13 recites similar claim language to that of claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim 14 recites similar claim language to that of claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claim 15 recites similar claim language to that of claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claim 16 recites similar claim language to that of claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Examiner has included several references corresponding to AWS S3 commands. Command definitions are reflected in the release notes of the latest version of the AWS S3 specification, where any prior version release notes dating back to 2015, which include the aforementioned operations, have proven difficult to obtain. Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any further questions.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
/BRIAN R PEUGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133