DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Examiner respectfully withdraws of Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 for claims 1-20 due to the amendment and persuasive arguments.
Examiner respectfully withdraws 112 (b) rejection due to the amendment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 10-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12249229 in view of Orris et al. US 20190215672. Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12 and 17-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 13-17 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11804122 in view of Orris et al. US 20190215672. Claims 1-9 and 12-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 12-16, 18-22 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 1152146 in view of Orris et al. US 20190215672. The instant application and above patents are teaching an alert system for a vehicle that using multiple sensors to determine the operational parameter and the environment condition inside the vehicle based on the operational state of the vehicle for determining whether to trigger the alert or not. However, the instant application disclose the further limitation “in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviate the dangerous condition.” and this limitation do not disclose in the above patent. Orris et al. reference teach a mobile device display a prompts associate with a dangerous condition and allow user to select a response to the dangerous situation (Orris et al. figure 6). Therefore, I would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Orris et al. reference with above patents in order to reject the instant application with non-statutory double patenting rejection. Please see the claims mapping in the non-statutory double patenting tables below:
Non Statutory Double Patenting Table 1:
Instant Application No. 19039266
US Patenting No. 12249229
1. An alert system for use with a vehicle, the alert system comprising: a passenger sensor; an environmental sensor; one or more processors; and a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via the passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside the vehicle;
1. An alert system configured for use with a vehicle, the alert system comprising: at least one sensor; a network interface; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via the at least one sensor, a living being inside the vehicle;
measuring, via the environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
measuring, via the at least one sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; and based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviate the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
4. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
2. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; and (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
2. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle; (ii) a seatbelt detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle; and (iii) a sound detection sensor inside the vehicle.
3. The alert system of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the environmental sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
3. The alert system of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the at least one sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
5. The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle.
15. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle.
6. The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; and (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
16. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; and (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
7. The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
17. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
8. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
4. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
9. A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside a vehicle;
10. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an alert system of a vehicle to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via at least one sensor of the alert system, a living being inside the vehicle;
measuring, via an environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
measuring, via the at least one sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; and based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
12. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
10. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; and (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
11. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the at least one sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle; (ii) a seatbelt detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle; and (iii) a sound detection sensor inside the vehicle.
11. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the environmental sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
12. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein measuring, via the at least one sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
13. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle.
18. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle.
14. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; and (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
16. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; and (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
15. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
17. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
16. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
13. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
17. A computer-implemented method comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor of a vehicle-based alert system, an operational parameter inside a vehicle ;measuring, via an environmental sensor of the vehicle-based alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle;
14. A method comprising: detecting, via at least one sensor of an alert system configured for use with a vehicle, a living being inside the vehicle; measuring, via at least one sensor of the alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle;
based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
and based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining, by the alert system, an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of:(i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; and (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
11. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the at least one sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle; (ii) a seatbelt detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle; and (iii) a sound detection sensor inside the vehicle.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein measuring, via the environmental sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
12. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein measuring, via the at least one sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
Non-Statutory Double Patent Table 2:
Instant Application No. 19039266
US Patenting No. 11804122
1. An alert system for use with a vehicle, the alert system comprising: a passenger sensor; an environmental sensor; one or more processors; and a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via the passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside the vehicle;
1. An alert system configured for use with a vehicle, the alert system comprising: at least one sensor; a network interface; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via the at least one sensor, a living being inside the vehicle;
measuring, via the environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
measuring, via the at least one sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviate the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
4. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
and wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle; and performing an alert action based at least on the determined alert condition.
2. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; and (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
2. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a weight detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
3. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a seatbelt detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
4. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a sound detection sensor inside the vehicle.
3. The alert system of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the environmental sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
5. The alert system of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the at least one sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
8. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
6. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
9. A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside a vehicle;
20. A non-transitory computer-readable medium, having stored thereon program instructions that, upon execution by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via at least one sensor of an alert system configured for use with a vehicle, a living being inside the vehicle;
measuring, via an environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
measuring, via at least one sensor of the alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining, by the alert system, an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
12. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
and wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle; and performing an alert action based at least on the determined alert condition.
17. A computer-implemented method comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor of a vehicle-based alert system, an operational parameter inside a vehicle ;measuring, via an environmental sensor of the vehicle-based alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle;
13. A method comprising: detecting, via at least one sensor of an alert system configured for use with a vehicle, a living being inside the vehicle; measuring, via at least one sensor of the alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle;
based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining, by the alert system, an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
and wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle; and performing an alert action based on at least the determined alert condition.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of:(i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; and (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a weight detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a seatbelt detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a sound detection sensor inside the vehicle.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein measuring, via the environmental sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
17. The method of claim 13, wherein measuring, via the at least one sensor of the alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
Non-statutory Double Patenting Table 3:
Instant application No. 19039266
US Patenting No. 11521476
1. An alert system for use with a vehicle, the alert system comprising: a passenger sensor; an environmental sensor; one or more processors; and a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via the passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside the vehicle;
1. An alert system configured for use with a vehicle, the alert system comprising: a first sensor; a second sensor; a network interface configured to communicate with at least one computing device that is remote from the alert system; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via the first sensor, a living being inside the vehicle;
measuring, via the environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle.
measuring, via the second sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviate the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
4. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
and wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle;
selecting a first computational action based at least on the determined alert condition; transmitting an instruction that causes a component of the vehicle to perform the selected first computational action; selecting a second computational action based at least on the determined alert condition; and transmitting, via the network interface, an instruction that causes the at least one remote computing device to perform the selected second computational action.
2. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; and (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
2. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the first sensor comprises a weight detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
3. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the first sensor comprises a seatbelt detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
4. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the first sensor comprises a sound detection sensor inside the vehicle.
3. The alert system of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the environmental one sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
5. The alert system of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the second sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
5. The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle.
12. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes of the second vehicle in common with the vehicle comprise the make and model of the second vehicle.
6. The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; and (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
14. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes of the second vehicle in common with the vehicle comprise an average interior temperature for the second vehicle wherein the second vehicle is in the same geographic region as the vehicle.
15. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes of the second vehicle in common with the vehicle comprise an average humidity range for the second vehicle wherein the second vehicle is in the same geographic region as the vehicle.
7. The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
13. The alert system of claim 12, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of a second vehicle having the same make and model of the vehicle while not in operation.
8. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
6. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
9. A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside a vehicle;
24. A non-transitory computer-readable medium, having stored thereon program instructions that, upon execution by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via a first sensor of an alert system configured for use with a vehicle, a living being inside the vehicle; measuring, via a second sensor of the alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle;
measuring, via an environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining, by the alert system, an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
12. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
and wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle;
selecting, by the alert system, a first computational action based at least on the determined alert condition; transmitting, by the alert system, an instruction that causes a component of the vehicle to perform the selected first computational action; selecting, by the alert system, a second computational action based at least on the determined alert condition; and transmitting, via a network interface of the alert system, to at least one computing device that is remote from the alert system, an instruction that causes at least one remote computing device to perform the selected second computational action.
13. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle.
12. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes of the second vehicle in common with the vehicle comprise the make and model of the second vehicle.
14. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; and (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
14. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes of the second vehicle in common with the vehicle comprise an average interior temperature for the second vehicle wherein the second vehicle is in the same geographic region as the vehicle.
15. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes of the second vehicle in common with the vehicle comprise an average humidity range for the second vehicle wherein the second vehicle is in the same geographic region as the vehicle.
15. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
13. The alert system of claim 12, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of a second vehicle having the same make and model of the vehicle while not in operation.
16. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
16. The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle is based on detections made by the second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
17. A computer-implemented method comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor of a vehicle-based alert system, an operational parameter inside a vehicle; measuring, via an environmental sensor of the vehicle-based alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle;
18. A method comprising: detecting, via a first sensor of an alert system configured for use with a vehicle, a living being inside the vehicle; measuring, via a second sensor of the alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle;
based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
based at least on the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature, determining, by the alert system, an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the detection of the living being and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle,
in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
and wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle;
selecting, by the alert system, a first computational action based at least on the determined alert condition; transmitting, by the alert system, an instruction that causes a component of the vehicle to perform the selected first computational action; selecting, by the alert system, a second computational action based at least on the determined alert condition; and transmitting, via a network interface of the alert system, to at least one computing device that is remote from the alert system, an instruction that causes at least one remote computing device to perform the selected second computational action.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of:(i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; and (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the first sensor comprises a weight detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
20. The method of claim 18, wherein the first sensor comprises a seatbelt detection sensor in one or more seats inside the vehicle.
21. The method of claim 18, wherein the first sensor comprises a sound detection sensor inside the vehicle.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein measuring, via the environmental sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
22. The method of claim 18, wherein measuring, via the second sensor of the alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; and (iv) carbon monoxide level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 8-11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labombarda et al. US 20190193590 in view of Orris et al. US 20190215672.
Regarding claim 1, Labombarda et al. teach An alert system for use with a vehicle, the alert system comprising: a passenger sensor; an environmental sensor; one or more processors; and a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via the passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside the vehicle; (Labombarda et al. US 20190193590 abstract; paragraphs [0018]-[0029]; [0032]-[0034]; [0042]-[0055]; [0061]-[0066]; figures 1-9;)
The electronic detection device 1 may further be provided with its own alarm warning means (not illustrated), via emission of sounds or light warnings, controlled by the processing unit 5 and activated upon detection of a condition of alarm (Labombarda et al. par. 28). In a possible alternative solution, illustrated schematically in FIG. 3B, the electronic detection device 1 may be incorporated in the electronic system of the vehicle 12. In this case, the processing unit 5 of the electronic detection device 1 may be incorporated in the ECU 14 of the vehicle 12 (the ECU being, in this case, itself provided with a non-volatile memory that stores computer instructions for implementing the aforementioned sensor-fusion algorithm for joint processing of the signals in order to determine the situation of danger). Furthermore, the audio, movement, and environmental sensors 2, 3, and 4, may in this case coincide with corresponding sensors on board the vehicle 12, which have further functions for controlling the general operation of the vehicle 12. In this embodiment, the communication unit 6 may be implemented by a communication module present inside the vehicle 12, for example having an own SIM card for GSM data communication, or else enabled for satellite communication, or designed to implement any other form of remote data communication (Labombarda et al. par. 32).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 as the passenger sensor.
measuring, via the environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). Monitoring of the first state is implemented substantially using the movement sensor 3; the audio sensor 2 may be used, in addition to the movement sensor 3, for detecting the movement of the vehicle 12 and the condition of running of the engine of the same vehicle 12, or otherwise may be set in an inactive or low-consumption state; also the other unused components of the electronic detection device 1 (amongst which the environmental sensor 4, or the communication unit 6) may be set in the inactive state, so as to limit the overall power consumption (Labombarda et al. par. 48). In the second state 22, the processing unit 5 hence detects that the vehicle 12 is stationary (absence of movement and engine off), and hence enters a state of alert, in which it monitors the onset of conditions of alarm that may lead to the state of danger, i.e., the presence of the child (or animal or, in general, other occupant) left alone inside the vehicle 12, in the absence of the person responsible, namely, the driver (Labombarda et al. par. 50). From the second state 22 the processing unit 5 transitions or evolves to the third state 24, i.e., the state of alarm, when it determines the persistence of the condition of potential danger for the occupant, who is left alone inside the vehicle 12 in the absence of the responsible person, for a time interval the duration of which exceeds an alarm threshold of a pre-set value, for example of some minutes (e.g., five minutes); from the third state 24 the processing unit 5 returns to the second state 22, when the state of alarm is deactivated. In particular, it may be required that deactivation of the state of alarm should be carried out manually by the responsible person, for example by the driver of the vehicle 12, so as to increase safety and reliability of the electronic detection device 1 (Labombarda et al. par. 52). The processing unit 5, which continues to monitor the situation of danger, in real time, then determines the presence of a second level of alarm in the case where the signals supplied by the environmental sensor 4 indicate a harmful environmental condition, for example in the case where the temperature detected has a given relation with an alarm threshold (for example, it is higher than the upper threshold, T>T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H, indicating a condition of “too hot,” or lower than the lower threshold T<T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H, indicating a condition of “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 54).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 detecting the operational feature of the vehicle. For example determining whether the vehicle engine is running or the vehicle is stationary. The environment sensor 4 measuring the environment condition inside the vehicle like the temperature when the vehicle is not in the operation state (stationary or engine off) as mention in par. 50.
Labombarda et al. do not explicitly teach in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviate the dangerous condition.
Orris et al. teach in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviate the dangerous condition. (Orris et al. US 20190215672 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0005]; [0024]- [0029]; [0035]-[0036]; [0044]-[0047]; [0051]-[0059]; figures 1-8)
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to display a prompt notification on a user mobile device taught by Orris et al. reference into the modified system of Labombarda et al. reference in order to resolve a problem in a timely manner.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The alert system of claim 1, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; or (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
The audio sensor 2, in particular the MEMS microphone sensor, is designed to detect audio signals indicating the presence on board the vehicle 12 of the driver (i.e., of the adult, parent, or in any case person responsible for the occupant) and/or of the occupant, or occupants (for example, a child or an animal) (Labombarda et al. par. 34). The movement sensor 3, in particular including the accelerometer sensor 3a and the gyroscope sensor 3b, is designed to enable detection of movement of the vehicle 12. Furthermore, in addition to this function, the movement sensor 3, appropriately located, may also detect the movement of the occupant of the vehicle 12, for example the movements of the child, and/or the movement of the driver, in order to contribute to presence detection on board the same vehicle 12 (Labombarda et al. par. 42). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets audio sensor 2 as a sound detection sensor, movement sensor 3 as a motion sensor and pressure sensor as a weight detection sensor.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The alert system of claim 1, wherein measuring, via the environmental sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; or (iv) carbon monoxide level.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). Monitoring of the first state is implemented substantially using the movement sensor 3; the audio sensor 2 may be used, in addition to the movement sensor 3, for detecting the movement of the vehicle 12 and the condition of running of the engine of the same vehicle 12, or otherwise may be set in an inactive or low-consumption state; also the other unused components of the electronic detection device 1 (amongst which the environmental sensor 4, or the communication unit 6) may be set in the inactive state, so as to limit the overall power consumption (Labombarda et al. par. 48). In the second state 22, the processing unit 5 hence detects that the vehicle 12 is stationary (absence of movement and engine off), and hence enters a state of alert, in which it monitors the onset of conditions of alarm that may lead to the state of danger, i.e., the presence of the child (or animal or, in general, other occupant) left alone inside the vehicle 12, in the absence of the person responsible, namely, the driver (Labombarda et al. par. 50).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 detecting the operational feature of the vehicle. For example, determining whether the vehicle engine is running or the vehicle is stationary. The environment sensor 4 measures the environment condition inside the vehicle like the temperature.
Regarding claim 9, Labombarda et al. teach A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an alert system to perform a set of operations comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor, an operational parameter inside a vehicle; (Labombarda et al. US 20190193590 abstract; paragraphs [0018]-[0029]; [0032]-[0034; [0042]-[0055]; [0061]-[0066]; figures 1-9;)
The electronic detection device 1 may further be provided with its own alarm warning means (not illustrated), via emission of sounds or light warnings, controlled by the processing unit 5 and activated upon detection of a condition of alarm (Labombarda et al. par. 28). In a possible alternative solution, illustrated schematically in FIG. 3B, the electronic detection device 1 may be incorporated in the electronic system of the vehicle 12. In this case, the processing unit 5 of the electronic detection device 1 may be incorporated in the ECU 14 of the vehicle 12 (the ECU being, in this case, itself provided with a non-volatile memory that stores computer instructions for implementing the aforementioned sensor-fusion algorithm for joint processing of the signals in order to determine the situation of danger). Furthermore, the audio, movement, and environmental sensors 2, 3, and 4, may in this case coincide with corresponding sensors on board the vehicle 12, which have further functions for controlling the general operation of the vehicle 12. In this embodiment, the communication unit 6 may be implemented by a communication module present inside the vehicle 12, for example having an own SIM card for GSM data communication, or else enabled for satellite communication, or designed to implement any other form of remote data communication (Labombarda et al. par. 32).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 as the passenger sensor.
measuring, via an environmental sensor, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle;
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). Monitoring of the first state is implemented substantially using the movement sensor 3; the audio sensor 2 may be used, in addition to the movement sensor 3, for detecting the movement of the vehicle 12 and the condition of running of the engine of the same vehicle 12, or otherwise may be set in an inactive or low-consumption state; also the other unused components of the electronic detection device 1 (amongst which the environmental sensor 4, or the communication unit 6) may be set in the inactive state, so as to limit the overall power consumption (Labombarda et al. par. 48). In the second state 22, the processing unit 5 hence detects that the vehicle 12 is stationary (absence of movement and engine off), and hence enters a state of alert, in which it monitors the onset of conditions of alarm that may lead to the state of danger, i.e., the presence of the child (or animal or, in general, other occupant) left alone inside the vehicle 12, in the absence of the person responsible, namely, the driver (Labombarda et al. par. 50). From the second state 22 the processing unit 5 transitions or evolves to the third state 24, i.e., the state of alarm, when it determines the persistence of the condition of potential danger for the occupant, who is left alone inside the vehicle 12 in the absence of the responsible person, for a time interval the duration of which exceeds an alarm threshold of a pre-set value, for example of some minutes (e.g., five minutes); from the third state 24 the processing unit 5 returns to the second state 22, when the state of alarm is deactivated. In particular, it may be required that deactivation of the state of alarm should be carried out manually by the responsible person, for example by the driver of the vehicle 12, so as to increase safety and reliability of the electronic detection device 1 (Labombarda et al. par. 52). The processing unit 5, which continues to monitor the situation of danger, in real time, then determines the presence of a second level of alarm in the case where the signals supplied by the environmental sensor 4 indicate a harmful environmental condition, for example in the case where the temperature detected has a given relation with an alarm threshold (for example, it is higher than the upper threshold, T>T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H, indicating a condition of “too hot,” or lower than the lower threshold T<T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H, indicating a condition of “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 54).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 detecting the operational feature of the vehicle. For example determining whether the vehicle engine is running or the vehicle is stationary. The environment sensor 4 measuring the environment condition inside the vehicle like the temperature when the vehicle is not in the operation state (stationary or engine off) as mention in par. 50.
Labombarda et al. do not explicitly teach in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Orris et al. teach in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition. (Orris et al. US 20190215672 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0005]; [0024]- [0029]; [0035]-[0036]; [0044]-[0047]; [0051]-[0059]; figures 1-8)
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to display a prompt notification on a user mobile device taught by Orris et al. reference into the modified system of Labombarda et al. reference in order to resolve a problem in a timely manner.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of: (i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; or (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
The audio sensor 2, in particular the MEMS microphone sensor, is designed to detect audio signals indicating the presence on board the vehicle 12 of the driver (i.e., of the adult, parent, or in any case person responsible for the occupant) and/or of the occupant, or occupants (for example, a child or an animal) (Labombarda et al. par. 34). The movement sensor 3, in particular including the accelerometer sensor 3a and the gyroscope sensor 3b, is designed to enable detection of movement of the vehicle 12. Furthermore, in addition to this function, the movement sensor 3, appropriately located, may also detect the movement of the occupant of the vehicle 12, for example the movements of the child, and/or the movement of the driver, in order to contribute to presence detection on board the same vehicle 12 (Labombarda et al. par. 42). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets audio sensor 2 as a sound detection sensor, movement sensor 3 as a motion sensor and pressure sensor as a weight detection sensor.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein measuring, via the environmental one sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; or (iv) carbon monoxide level.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle further comprises one or more previously determined operational states of the vehicle.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). Monitoring of the first state is implemented substantially using the movement sensor 3; the audio sensor 2 may be used, in addition to the movement sensor 3, for detecting the movement of the vehicle 12 and the condition of running of the engine of the same vehicle 12, or otherwise may be set in an inactive or low-consumption state; also the other unused components of the electronic detection device 1 (amongst which the environmental sensor 4, or the communication unit 6) may be set in the inactive state, so as to limit the overall power consumption (Labombarda et al. par. 48). In the second state 22, the processing unit 5 hence detects that the vehicle 12 is stationary (absence of movement and engine off), and hence enters a state of alert, in which it monitors the onset of conditions of alarm that may lead to the state of danger, i.e., the presence of the child (or animal or, in general, other occupant) left alone inside the vehicle 12, in the absence of the person responsible, namely, the driver (Labombarda et al. par. 50).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 detecting the operational feature of the vehicle. For example, determining whether the vehicle engine is running or the vehicle is stationary. The environment sensor 4 measures the environment condition inside the vehicle like the temperature.
Regarding claim 17, Labombarda et al. teach A computer-implemented method comprising: detecting, via a passenger sensor of a vehicle-based alert system, an operational parameter inside a vehicle; (Labombarda et al. US 20190193590 abstract; paragraphs [0018]-[0029]; [0032]-[0034; [0042]-[0055]; [0061]-[0066]; figures 1-9;)
The electronic detection device 1 may further be provided with its own alarm warning means (not illustrated), via emission of sounds or light warnings, controlled by the processing unit 5 and activated upon detection of a condition of alarm (Labombarda et al. par. 28). In a possible alternative solution, illustrated schematically in FIG. 3B, the electronic detection device 1 may be incorporated in the electronic system of the vehicle 12. In this case, the processing unit 5 of the electronic detection device 1 may be incorporated in the ECU 14 of the vehicle 12 (the ECU being, in this case, itself provided with a non-volatile memory that stores computer instructions for implementing the aforementioned sensor-fusion algorithm for joint processing of the signals in order to determine the situation of danger). Furthermore, the audio, movement, and environmental sensors 2, 3, and 4, may in this case coincide with corresponding sensors on board the vehicle 12, which have further functions for controlling the general operation of the vehicle 12. In this embodiment, the communication unit 6 may be implemented by a communication module present inside the vehicle 12, for example having an own SIM card for GSM data communication, or else enabled for satellite communication, or designed to implement any other form of remote data communication (Labombarda et al. par. 32).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 as the passenger sensor.
measuring, via an environmental sensor of the vehicle-based alert system, an environmental feature inside the vehicle; based at least on the detection of the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature, determining an alert condition inside the vehicle, wherein determining the alert condition corresponding to a dangerous condition inside the vehicle comprises determining that the operational parameter and the measured environmental feature do not correspond to an anticipated operational state of the vehicle.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). Monitoring of the first state is implemented substantially using the movement sensor 3; the audio sensor 2 may be used, in addition to the movement sensor 3, for detecting the movement of the vehicle 12 and the condition of running of the engine of the same vehicle 12, or otherwise may be set in an inactive or low-consumption state; also the other unused components of the electronic detection device 1 (amongst which the environmental sensor 4, or the communication unit 6) may be set in the inactive state, so as to limit the overall power consumption (Labombarda et al. par. 48). In the second state 22, the processing unit 5 hence detects that the vehicle 12 is stationary (absence of movement and engine off), and hence enters a state of alert, in which it monitors the onset of conditions of alarm that may lead to the state of danger, i.e., the presence of the child (or animal or, in general, other occupant) left alone inside the vehicle 12, in the absence of the person responsible, namely, the driver (Labombarda et al. par. 50). From the second state 22 the processing unit 5 transitions or evolves to the third state 24, i.e., the state of alarm, when it determines the persistence of the condition of potential danger for the occupant, who is left alone inside the vehicle 12 in the absence of the responsible person, for a time interval the duration of which exceeds an alarm threshold of a pre-set value, for example of some minutes (e.g., five minutes); from the third state 24 the processing unit 5 returns to the second state 22, when the state of alarm is deactivated. In particular, it may be required that deactivation of the state of alarm should be carried out manually by the responsible person, for example by the driver of the vehicle 12, so as to increase safety and reliability of the electronic detection device 1 (Labombarda et al. par. 52). The processing unit 5, which continues to monitor the situation of danger, in real time, then determines the presence of a second level of alarm in the case where the signals supplied by the environmental sensor 4 indicate a harmful environmental condition, for example in the case where the temperature detected has a given relation with an alarm threshold (for example, it is higher than the upper threshold, T>T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H, indicating a condition of “too hot,” or lower than the lower threshold T<T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H, indicating a condition of “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 54).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the audio sensor 2 and movement sensor 3 detecting the operational feature of the vehicle. For example, determining whether the vehicle engine is running or the vehicle is stationary. The environment sensor 4 measures the environment condition inside the vehicle like the temperature when the vehicle is not in the operation state (stationary or engine off) as mentioned in par. 50.
Labombarda et al. do not explicitly teach in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition.
Orris et al. teach in response to determining the alert condition, generating one or more prompts via a graphical user interface of a remote computing device, wherein the one or more prompts are prompts to alleviate the dangerous condition; and receiving a user selection of the one or more prompts, wherein the user selection causes a component of the vehicle to perform an action that alleviates the dangerous condition. (Orris et al. US 20190215672 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0005]; [0024]- [0029]; [0035]-[0036]; [0044]-[0047]; [0051]-[0059]; figures 1-8)
Referring to FIG. 6A, an example screenshot of the push notification 602 displayed on the mobile device 210 from operation 412 of FIG. 4 is illustrated. The push notification 602 may include three major components. A brief word description 610 of the situation may be displayed on the upper portion of the notification 602. In this case, the description 610 may include “Your Smart Child Seat has detected your child is still in the vehicle under dangerous high heat conditions.” An icon demonstrating the situation may be displayed in the middle portion of the notification 602. At the lower portion, the notification 602 may provide options for the user to take actions. As an example, the options may include “On my way!” which indicates the user is coming to get the child shortly, and “Open windows” which instructs the computing system 104 to open windows to help reduce cabin temperature (Orris et al. par. 58).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to display a prompt notification on a user mobile device taught by Orris et al. reference into the modified method of Labombarda et al. reference in order to resolve a problem in a timely manner.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The method of claim 17, wherein the passenger sensor comprises one or more of:(i) a weight detection sensor; (ii) a seat belt detection sensor; (iii) a sound detection sensor; (iv) a motion sensor; (v) a thermal imaging sensor; (vi) a humidity sensor; (vii) an ultra-wide beam sensor; (viii) a capacitance sensor; (ix) a temperature sensor; (x) an oxygen sensor; or (xi) a carbon monoxide sensor.
The audio sensor 2, in particular the MEMS microphone sensor, is designed to detect audio signals indicating the presence on board the vehicle 12 of the driver (i.e., of the adult, parent, or in any case person responsible for the occupant) and/or of the occupant, or occupants (for example, a child or an animal) (Labombarda et al. par. 34). The movement sensor 3, in particular including the accelerometer sensor 3a and the gyroscope sensor 3b, is designed to enable detection of movement of the vehicle 12. Furthermore, in addition to this function, the movement sensor 3, appropriately located, may also detect the movement of the occupant of the vehicle 12, for example the movements of the child, and/or the movement of the driver, in order to contribute to presence detection on board the same vehicle 12 (Labombarda et al. par. 42). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets audio sensor 2 as a sound detection sensor, movement sensor 3 as a motion sensor and pressure sensor as a weight detection sensor.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. disclose The method of claim 17, wherein measuring, via the environmental one sensor, the environmental feature inside the vehicle comprises measuring one or more of the following environmental features inside the vehicle: (i) temperature; (ii) humidity; (iii) oxygen level; or (iv) carbon monoxide level.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
Claim 4, 6-7, 12, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labombarda et al. US 20190193590 in view of Orris et al. US 20190215672 and further in view of Garza et al. US 9845050.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. teach all the limitations in the claim 1.
The combination of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. do not explicitly teach The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle.
Garza et al. teach The alert system of claim 1, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle. (Garza et al. US 9845050 abstract; col. 1 lines 31-65; col. 4 lines 14-61; col. 9 lines 55-67; col. 10 lines 1-24; col. 11 lines 38-65; Col. 15 lines 28-50; col. 16 lines 28-31, 58-67; col. 17 lines 1-10 figures 1-23)
The head unit controller assembly 100 receives factory installed vehicle sensory data through a remote vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 connected to the vehicle on-board diagnostic connector 1116. The controller area network data includes, but is not limited to, a door lock indication, a door position indication (open or closed), an ignition switch position, an engine speed (generally provided in revolutions per minute), a transmission gear position, a driver's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a passenger's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a driver's side seat pressure sensor state, and a passenger's side seat pressure state. These indications are used to activate the head unit microprocessor 110 to monitor the vehicle interior 1102 for indications of a presence of at least one of a child or a pet within the vehicle 1100. The system also includes a capability to determine the likelihood of a presence of a parent, a caretaker, a pet owner, or any other suitable individual in the driver's seat or passenger's seat during operation of the vehicle 1100 or the likelihood of the same exiting the vehicle (Garza et al. col. 11 lines 38-57).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the likelihood of the same exiting the vehicle as the second vehicle with one or more attribute in common with the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a similar vehicle to apply the same monitoring system for determine the presence of a child or pet within the vehicle as taught by Garza et al. reference into the system of Labombarda et al. and Orris et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for the alarm system would be applied the same for another vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. disclose The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; or (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the temperature inside the vehicle as one of the attribute. For example, the temperature falls within the upper limit temperature threshold and lower temperature threshold as the normal range. The alarm is generated when the temperature inside the vehicle falls outside the threshold range.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. disclose The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
The head unit controller assembly 100 receives data acquired from the at least one micro electro-mechanical sensor 120, 122, 124, 126 via the Bluetooth wireless communication link 119 from the child safety monitoring apparatus 300, the child weight sensing apparatus 400, the pet safety monitor apparatus 500, the vehicle controller area network apparatus 600, and any other data source integrated into the system. The head unit controller assembly 100 orchestrates ramp-up warning and action signals according to the programmed intelligent logic, and delivers warnings and alarms to a mobile phone application 1210 and key FOB 1150 upon indications of at least one of a child or a pet has been determined to have been left behind in the vehicle 1100 (FIG. 9) by a parent, a caregiver, a pet owner, or any other individual as well as when at least one condition within an interior of the vehicle 1102 (FIG. 9) is determined to be potentially harmful or dangerous to life. The microprocessor 110 can also deliver action commands to the vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 to activate at least one of: a factory installed vehicle security alarm 1134 (FIG. 11) vehicle hazard lights 1130, vehicle interior lights 1132, motor actuators to open door locks 1140, window actuators to roll down power windows 1142, or any other life saving supporting task to gain the attention of others located nearby the vehicle 1100 (FIG. 9) and assist in accessing the vehicle interior 1102 to remove the child or the pet from dangerous conditions within the vehicle interior 1102 (Garza et al. col. 9 lines 64-67 and col. 10 lines 1-24.) Data stored on the controller area network and on-board diagnostic system 1110 include but are not limited to door lock indication, door position indication (open or closed), ignition switch position, engine speed (commonly obtained in revolutions per minute), transmission gear position, a driver's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a passenger's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a driver's side seat pressure sensor indication, and a passenger's side seat pressure sensor indication. The vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 is capable of receiving action signals from the head unit controller assembly 100 to perform functions such as remotely unlocking the vehicle doors and rolling down the automatic windows, in order to transfer outside air into the vehicle interior 1102 to lower the extreme temperatures therein or mitigate the likelihood of at least one of a child and a pet from being trapped or locked in an unattended vehicle 1100. Additionally, the vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 can engage the vehicle hazard lights 1130 and activate the factory installed vehicle security alarm 1134 in order to gain the attention of bystanders in the vicinity of the vehicle 1100 to investigate and take action to remove at least one of the child or the pet from the vehicle 1100 (Garza et al. col. 15 lines 28-50).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the unattended vehicle as the vehicle not in the operation. The child weight sensing apparatus 400 and seat pressure sensor are for detecting the weight that indicates the seat is occupied. For example, the system above detected the child left behind unattended vehicles by the child weight sensing apparatus and seat pressure sensor. In the scenario the driver seat does not detect the driver, and the child weight sensor detect the child. Therefore, the system generated the alarm indicated the child left behind.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. disclose The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle. (Garza et al. US 9845050 abstract; col. 1 lines 31-65; col. 4 lines 14-61; col. 9 lines 55-67; col. 10 lines 1-24; col. 11 lines 38-65; Col. 15 lines 28-50; col. 16 lines 28-31, 58-67; col. 17 lines 1-10 figures 1-23)
The head unit controller assembly 100 receives factory installed vehicle sensory data through a remote vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 connected to the vehicle on-board diagnostic connector 1116. The controller area network data includes, but is not limited to, a door lock indication, a door position indication (open or closed), an ignition switch position, an engine speed (generally provided in revolutions per minute), a transmission gear position, a driver's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a passenger's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a driver's side seat pressure sensor state, and a passenger's side seat pressure state. These indications are used to activate the head unit microprocessor 110 to monitor the vehicle interior 1102 for indications of a presence of at least one of a child or a pet within the vehicle 1100. The system also includes a capability to determine the likelihood of a presence of a parent, a caretaker, a pet owner, or any other suitable individual in the driver's seat or passenger's seat during operation of the vehicle 1100 or the likelihood of the same exiting the vehicle (Garza et al. col. 11 lines 38-57).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the likelihood of the same exiting the vehicle as the second vehicle with one or more attribute in common with the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. disclose The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) an average interior temperature of the vehicle; (ii) a sound of the vehicle; (iii) a humidity range of the vehicle; or (iv) a geographic region of the vehicle of the vehicle.
The environmental sensor 4 is designed to monitor the environmental conditions on board the vehicle 12 in order to identify a condition of danger for the occupant (or occupants). For instance, the environmental sensor 4, as mentioned previously, may include a temperature sensor, designed to detect the temperature in the vehicle 12, which, if higher than an upper threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.H), or lower than a lower threshold (designated in what follows by T.sub.LIM.sub._.sub.L), is indicative of a condition of environmental stress (e.g., “too hot” or “too cold”) (Labombarda et al. par. 43). In addition, or as an alternative, the environmental sensor 4 may include different and further sensors aimed at identification of the condition of danger inside the vehicle 12, such as a gas sensor (designed to identify harmful gaseous species in the air), a humidity sensor and/or a pressure sensor (Labombarda et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the temperature inside the vehicle as one of the attribute. For example, the temperature falls within the upper limit temperature threshold and lower temperature threshold as the normal range. The alarm is generated when the temperature inside the vehicle falls outside the threshold range.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. disclose The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises an average weight applied to one or more seats of the vehicle while not in operation.
The head unit controller assembly 100 receives data acquired from the at least one micro electro-mechanical sensor 120, 122, 124, 126 via the Bluetooth wireless communication link 119 from the child safety monitoring apparatus 300, the child weight sensing apparatus 400, the pet safety monitor apparatus 500, the vehicle controller area network apparatus 600, and any other data source integrated into the system. The head unit controller assembly 100 orchestrates ramp-up warning and action signals according to the programmed intelligent logic, and delivers warnings and alarms to a mobile phone application 1210 and key FOB 1150 upon indications of at least one of a child or a pet has been determined to have been left behind in the vehicle 1100 (FIG. 9) by a parent, a caregiver, a pet owner, or any other individual as well as when at least one condition within an interior of the vehicle 1102 (FIG. 9) is determined to be potentially harmful or dangerous to life. The microprocessor 110 can also deliver action commands to the vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 to activate at least one of: a factory installed vehicle security alarm 1134 (FIG. 11) vehicle hazard lights 1130, vehicle interior lights 1132, motor actuators to open door locks 1140, window actuators to roll down power windows 1142, or any other life saving supporting task to gain the attention of others located nearby the vehicle 1100 (FIG. 9) and assist in accessing the vehicle interior 1102 to remove the child or the pet from dangerous conditions within the vehicle interior 1102 (Garza et al. col. 9 lines 64-67 and col. 10 lines 1-24.) Data stored on the controller area network and on-board diagnostic system 1110 include but are not limited to door lock indication, door position indication (open or closed), ignition switch position, engine speed (commonly obtained in revolutions per minute), transmission gear position, a driver's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a passenger's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a driver's side seat pressure sensor indication, and a passenger's side seat pressure sensor indication. The vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 is capable of receiving action signals from the head unit controller assembly 100 to perform functions such as remotely unlocking the vehicle doors and rolling down the automatic windows, in order to transfer outside air into the vehicle interior 1102 to lower the extreme temperatures therein or mitigate the likelihood of at least one of a child and a pet from being trapped or locked in an unattended vehicle 1100. Additionally, the vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 can engage the vehicle hazard lights 1130 and activate the factory installed vehicle security alarm 1134 in order to gain the attention of bystanders in the vicinity of the vehicle 1100 to investigate and take action to remove at least one of the child or the pet from the vehicle 1100 (Garza et al. col. 15 lines 28-50).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the unattended vehicle as the vehicle not in the operation. The child weight sensing apparatus 400 and seat pressure sensor are for detecting the weight that indicates the seat is occupied. For example, the system above detected the child left behind unattended vehicles by the child weight sensing apparatus and seat pressure sensor. In the scenario the driver seat does not detect the driver, and the child weight sensor detect the child. Therefore, the system generated the alarm indicated the child left behind.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. disclose The method of claim 17, wherein the anticipated operational state of the vehicle comprises one or more previously determined operational states of a second vehicle with one or more attributes in common with the vehicle. (Garza et al. US 9845050 abstract; col. 1 lines 31-65; col. 4 lines 14-61; col. 9 lines 55-67; col. 10 lines 1-24; col. 11 lines 38-65; Col. 15 lines 28-50; col. 16 lines 28-31, 58-67; col. 17 lines 1-10 figures 1-23)
The head unit controller assembly 100 receives factory installed vehicle sensory data through a remote vehicle controller area network apparatus 600 connected to the vehicle on-board diagnostic connector 1116. The controller area network data includes, but is not limited to, a door lock indication, a door position indication (open or closed), an ignition switch position, an engine speed (generally provided in revolutions per minute), a transmission gear position, a driver's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a passenger's side seat belt status (engaged or disengaged), a driver's side seat pressure sensor state, and a passenger's side seat pressure state. These indications are used to activate the head unit microprocessor 110 to monitor the vehicle interior 1102 for indications of a presence of at least one of a child or a pet within the vehicle 1100. The system also includes a capability to determine the likelihood of a presence of a parent, a caretaker, a pet owner, or any other suitable individual in the driver's seat or passenger's seat during operation of the vehicle 1100 or the likelihood of the same exiting the vehicle (Garza et al. col. 11 lines 38-57).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the likelihood of the same exiting the vehicle as the second vehicle with one or more attribute in common with the vehicle.
Claim 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labombarda et al. US 20190193590, in view of Orris et al. US 20190215672, in view of Garza et al. US 9845050 and further in view of Li et al. US 20210304235.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. teach all the limitations in the claim 4.
The combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. do not explicitly teach The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle.
Li et al. teach The alert system of claim 4, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle. (Li et al. US 20210304235 abstract paragraphs [0031]-[0039]; [0054]; figures 1-4;)
The information describing a target vehicle may be obtained through one or more inputs of the user via a user device (e.g., user device 150). The one or more inputs may include any information provided by the user via the user device 150, including, but not limited to, one or more images of the target vehicle, or name of the target vehicle. The user device 150 may be capable of accepting inputs of a user via one or more interactive components of the user device 150, such as a keyboard, button, mouse, touchscreen, touchpad, joystick, trackball, camera, microphone, imaging device, or motion sensor. The information obtained in step 302 may be indicative of target-vehicle values for the one or more vehicle attributes. The values for the one or more vehicle attributes may be a description or a numerical value of the one or more vehicle attributes. For instance, if the one or more vehicle attributes include the model and make of the vehicle and the target vehicle is a Toyota Corolla, then the information describing the target vehicle may include a make of Toyota and a model of Corolla. Details of the one or more images or one or more vehicle attributes are described elsewhere herein. (Li et al. par. 54).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an attribute that indicating for specific vehicle make/models as taught by Li et al. reference into the modify system of Labombarda et al., Orris et al. and Garza et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for determining whether the alarm system would be work the same for another vehicle with the similar make/model.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Labombarda et al., Orris et al., Garza et al. and Li et al. disclose The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: (i) a make of the vehicle; and (ii) a model of the vehicle. (Li et al. US 20210304235 abstract paragraphs [0031]-[0039]; [0054]; figures 1-4;)
The information describing a target vehicle may be obtained through one or more inputs of the user via a user device (e.g., user device 150). The one or more inputs may include any information provided by the user via the user device 150, including, but not limited to, one or more images of the target vehicle, or name of the target vehicle. The user device 150 may be capable of accepting inputs of a user via one or more interactive components of the user device 150, such as a keyboard, button, mouse, touchscreen, touchpad, joystick, trackball, camera, microphone, imaging device, or motion sensor. The information obtained in step 302 may be indicative of target-vehicle values for the one or more vehicle attributes. The values for the one or more vehicle attributes may be a description or a numerical value of the one or more vehicle attributes. For instance, if the one or more vehicle attributes include the model and make of the vehicle and the target vehicle is a Toyota Corolla, then the information describing the target vehicle may include a make of Toyota and a model of Corolla. Details of the one or more images or one or more vehicle attributes are described elsewhere herein. (Li et al. par. 54).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Examiner respectfully withdraws of Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 for claims 1-20 due to the amendment and persuasive arguments.
Examiner respectfully withdraws 112 (b) rejection due to the amendment.
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that arts of record Labombarda et al. and Garza et al. failed to teach the amendment as cited in the independent claims 1, 9 and 17.
Examiner response: The presented arguments are rendered moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by applicant. Please see above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686