DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's arguments filed on January 28, 2025. Claim(s) 1 is pending and examined herein.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/765,056 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aung-Din (US 2016/0256410) of record.
Aung-Din teaches a method of treating a disease state or condition in a mammal other than a human with a cannabinoid drug(s) comprising administering a cannabinoid drug(s) (claim 1), wherein the disease state or condition is selected from the group consisting of lameness and gait issues; elbow dysplasia; hip dysplasia; back and hind leg problems; arthritis; seizures; encephalopathy, including lethargy, focus/attentional problems, and cognitive issues: spasticity; epilepsy, among others (claim 23).
Aung-Din teaches the cannabinoid drug(s) is administered in a topical pharmaceutical formulation containing a therapeutically effective amount of the cannabinoid drug (claim 4), and wherein the cannabinoid drug is in the pharmaceutical formulation comprises at least about 80% cannabidiol (claim 10).
The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the teachings of Aung-Din, but such "picking and choosing" within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989). That being said, however, it must be remembered that "[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious". KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S, Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). "[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious", the relevant question is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." (Ida). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S, Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that "[a] person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have envisioned the topical pharmaceutical formulations of Aung-Din to be employed as a method of reducing seizure frequency in a subject having epilepsy. Aung-Din teaches treating both seizures and epilepsy among the ailments, thus the skilled artisan would expect, with a reasonable degree of success, that said formulation would be effective in reducing seizure frequency in a subject having epilepsy.
Based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited art.
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guy (GB 2531093A) of record in view of Aung-Din (US 2016/0256410) of record.
Guy teaches cannabidiol (CBD) for use in the treatment of epilepsy where the epilepsy is a treatment-resistant epilepsy (TRE) and where the CBD is present in an amount that reduces total convulsive seizure frequency by greater than 50% with respect to seizure frequency achieved on concomitant anti-epileptic drugs (AED). The TRE may especially be Dravet syndrome, myoclonic absence seizures, or febrile infection related epilepsy syndrome (FIRES). CBD may be administered in combination with two or more concomitant AEDs, especially clobazam, levetiracetam, topiramate, stiripentol, phenobarbital, lacosamide, valproic acid, zonisamide, perampanel, and fosphenytoin; especially preferred AED is clobazam (Onfi).
Guy teaches the reduction of total convulsive to be greater than 50%, through 70% to greater than 90% in a significant number of patients ([0001]; Table 2).
Guy teaches the patients then received a highly purified CBD extract (greater than 98% CBD w/w) in sesame oil, of known and constant composition, at a dose of 5 mg/kg/day in addition to their baseline anti-epileptic drug (AED) regimen [0070].
Guy does not teach transdermal administration.
Aung-Din teaches a method of treating a disease state or condition in a mammal other than a human with a cannabinoid drug(s) comprising administering a cannabinoid drug(s) (claim 1), wherein the disease state or condition is selected from the group consisting of lameness and gait issues; elbow dysplasia; hip dysplasia; back and hind leg problems; arthritis; seizures; encephalopathy, including lethargy, focus/attentional problems, and cognitive issues: spasticity; epilepsy, among others (claim 23).
Aung-Din teaches the cannabinoid drug(s) is administered in a topical pharmaceutical formulation containing a therapeutically effective amount of the cannabinoid drug (claim 4), and wherein the cannabinoid drug is in the pharmaceutical formulation comprises at least about 80% cannabidiol (claim 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered oral cannabidiol as a method for reducing seizure frequency in a subject having epilepsy as taught by Guy and also envisioned other routes of administration well-known to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation, provided by Aung-Din, teaches topical administration of cannabidiol in the treatment of epilepsy and seizures. Routes of administration and dosage regimen are considered to be a parameter well within the purview of the skilled artisan to manipulate in order to get optimum results.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 1 is not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622