DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and additionally do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 20, the claims depend on claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively, which all recite a lumen formed in the body. Claims 7, 11 and 20, then recite “an interior surface” which appears to be part of the lumen (e.g. the interior surface of the lumen). However, it is unclear if the recited “interior surface” intends to refer back to the lumen, a surface of the lumen or another surface. As best understood by the Examiner the term intends to refer back to the lumen or surface thereof and will be interpreted as such. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al (US 2017/0119497 A1) in view of Solnit et al (US 5195952) in view of Beiersdorf et al (US 2018/0303589 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Thomas et al discloses a tailpiece (see Figs. 1-2) for a dental valve device (capable of use therewith), the tailpiece comprising: a body (10) having a valve receiving end (14) having a circular collar (A) having a length extending from a first end closer to the body (where collar meets body) to a second free end (opposite end of collar), a hose receiving end (16) having an integral circular stop (B), an intermediate portion (C) between the valve receiving end and the hose receiving end, a first arm portion (D) between the valve receiving end and the intermediate portion, a second arm portion (E) between the hose receiving end and the intermediate portion, a first reinforcing rib (F) on the body between the first end of the collar closer to the body and the integral circular stop of the hose receiving end along the first arm portion and the second arm portion and having a first longitudinal axis along the first arm portion (see below, axis of F on first arm portion); and a lumen (26) formed in the body between the valve receiving end and the hose receiving end. Thomas et al further discloses wherein the integral circular stop has a surface against which a hose may be positioned (G; per claims 2, 9, 16); wherein the hose receiving end has a circular groove (20) therein that is adapted for receiving an O-ring (adapted to be used as such; see [0034], per claims 4, 10, 18); wherein the hose receiving end comprises a barb that is used to secure a hose to the tailpiece (capable of being used as such; see [0034], per claims 5, 12, 19); wherein the body has an interior surface (lumen surface) and the valve receiving end has a circular groove formed in the interior surface of the body (see [0034], per claims 7, 11, 20); and wherein the body further comprises a second reinforcing rib on the body (see Fig. 2 showing both extending ribs on body; opposite first rib; “third rib” as claimed) extending along the body from the first end of the collar closer to the body to the integral circular stop (e.g. rib opposite of first rib of body) and having a third longitudinal axis along the first arm portion (e.g. axis of opposite rib on first arm).
Thomas, however, does not teach wherein the intermediate portion is an elbow portion (per claims 1, 8 and 15), a second reinforcing rib on the circular collar separate from the first reinforcing rib on the body, with the second reinforcing rib extending entirely along the length of the circular collar and having a second longitudinal axis, the first longitudinal axis of the first reinforcing rib on the body and the second longitudinal axis of the second reinforcement rib on the collar extending entirely along a common straight line (per claims 1, 8, 15); a fourth reinforcing rib on the circular collar separate from the third (opposite) reinforcing rib on the body with the fourth reinforcing rib extending entirely along the length of the circular collar and having a fourth longitudinal axis, the first longitudinal axis of the first reinforcing rib on the body and the second longitudinal axis of the second reinforcing rib on the circular collar extending entirely along a common first straight line, the third (opposite) longitudinal axis of the third reinforcing rib on the body being and the fourth longitudinal axis of the fourth reinforcing rib on the circular collar extending entirely along a common straight line (per claim 8); or a third reinforcing rib on the circular collar separate from the first reinforcing rib on the body and the second reinforcing rib on the circular collar, with the third reinforcing rib extending entirely along the length of the circular collar, the first longitudinal axis of the first reinforcing rib on the body and the second longitudinal axis of the second reinforcing rib on the circular collar extending entirely along a common straight line (per claim 15) as required.
Solnit, however, teaches a dental tailpiece (10) comprising a hose receiving end (14) and a valve receiving end (16), and an intermediate elbow portion (e.g. bend between 16b and 12) between the ends, and first and second arm portions between the respective ends and the intermediate elbow portion (see Fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Thomas to include a bent intermediate elbow portion, as taught by Solnit, as such modification would allow for desired and/or required suction to be provided by allowing a straight tip to be used in a specific procedure or location where it otherwise may not be able to function, and improve ergonomics for the practitioner when using the device (see Solnit, col 4, lines 44-45). The Examiner notes that should the device of Thomas be modified with the bent intermediate elbow portion as taught by Solnit, as combined above, the rib(s) between the first and second arms portions would be angled at the intermediate elbow portions in order to extend along the arm portions as taught by Thomas.
Beiersdorf et al, however, teaches a similar dental suction device (see [0026]) comprising a collar (portion of 12 from 30 to 14) with a plurality of reinforcement ribs (raised areas between grooves 24) that extend entirely along the length of the circular collar, which are aligned with and separate from a plurality of reinforcement ribs on a body (e.g. raised areas between grooves 24 on portion of 12 from 30 to 16) and each other, such that the respective ribs on the collar and body have longitudinal axes that are aligned and extending entirely along a common straight line (see Fig. 1 and [0033]-[0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Thomas/Solnit, as combined above, to include Beiersdorf’s teaching of providing the body and collar with aligned and separate ribs, with the ribs of the collar extending from one end to another end thereof, as such modification would provide a continuous aligned surface of ribs and grooves which would provide improved grip, reinforcement and ease of cleaning the device (see Beiersdorf, citations above).
Regarding claim 1, the Examiner notes that should the device of Thomas/Solnit be modified with the teachings of Beiersdorf, as combined above, a second reinforcing rib would be provided on the collar extending entirely along the length of the circular collar (Beiersdorf), and having a second longitudinal axis which is aligned and extending entirely along a common straight line with the first longitudinal axis of the first rib of the body (Thomas and Beiersdorf). Additionally, the Examiner interprets the rib of the collar to be separate from that of the body as they are located on different components.
Regarding claim 8, the Examiner notes that should the device of Thomas/Solnit be modified with the teachings of Beiersdorf, as combined above, a second reinforcing rib would be provided on the collar extending entirely along the length of the circular collar (Beiersdorf), and having a second longitudinal axis which is aligned and extending entirely along a common straight line with the first longitudinal axis of the first rib of the body (Thomas and Beiersdorf); and further a fourth reinforcing rib on the circular collar (e.g. another of the plurality of ribs as taught by Beiersdorf) with the fourth rib extending entirely along the length of the circular collar and having a fourth longitudinal axis (Beiersdorf), the third longitudinal axis of the third rib on the body (Thomas) and the fourth longitudinal axis of the fourth rib on the collar extending entirely along a common straight line (Thomas and Beiersdorf). Additionally, the Examiner interprets the rib(s) of the collar to be separate from those of the body as they are located on different components.
Regarding claim 15, The Examiner notes that should the device of Thomas/Solnit be modified with the teachings of Beiersdorf, as combined above, a second reinforcing rib would be provided on the collar extending entirely along the length of the circular collar (Beiersdorf), and having a second longitudinal axis which is aligned and extending entirely along a common straight line with the first longitudinal axis of the first rib of the body (Thomas and Beiersdorf); and further a third reinforcing rib on the circular collar (e.g. another of the plurality of ribs on the collar as taught by Beiersdorf), separate from the second reinforcing rib on the collar (plurality of collar ribs, Beiersdorf),with the third rib extending entirely along the length of the collar (see Beiersdorf). Additionally, the Examiner interprets the rib(s) of the collar to be separate from those of the body as they are located on different components.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 13-14 and 17, Thomas/Solnit/Beiersdorf, as combined above, disclose all the features of the claims, including wherein the first and second arm portions have lengths (see above, implicitly), but does not explicitly teach that the length of the first arm portion is greater than the length of the second arm portion (claims 3, 14, 17), or vice versa (claims 6 and 13) as required. Solnit, however, teaches wherein the arm portions have different lengths (see Fig. 5). Additionally, the Examiner notes that Applicant provides no criticality for the specific lengths of arm portions. Additionally, the Examiner notes that such modifications would merely involve a change in size of a known component of the device, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Thomas/Solnit/Beiersdorf, as combined above, to include a length of the first arm portion to be greater than that of the second arm portion, or vice versa, as such modification would merely involve a change of size of a known component of the device, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Additionally, the Examiner notes that a selection of one of finite number of identified predicable solutions (e.g. first length greater, second length greater or lengths the same) has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772